Des Moines - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Asian-American Slaw With Peanuts and Jalapenos

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was very good. I substituted the onion for green onion and used blanched salted peanuts instead of dry roasted because that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
These pancakes are amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by court0424

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This is my staple buttercream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by court0424

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ganache II

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This recipe is amazing!! I did use semi-sweet chocolate chips Ghirardelli brand.. Tasted great as is and I did whipp it up and use between layers on a cake... it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by court0424

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Heavenly White Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I have made this cake many times and definitely need to add the 1/2 cup of extra milk otherwise the cake is too dry. I also have attempted to use this cake and make a chocolate chip cake however due to the lateness of the cake and the weight of the chocolate chips I have been unsuccessful. I have tried to wait between five and seven minutes and then add the chocolate chips but they still sink to the bottom. I have not attempted to use mini chocolate chips yet I think those may work better. Just food for thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by court0424

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Made this for my dads birthday.. everyone LOVED IT!! very moist and the frosting was great. WILL be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by court0424

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultra Creamy Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was delish... I didnt use any butter because I used heavy whipping cream (all I had on hand) and I didnt have any canned/boxed chicken broth but I had chicken paste type stuff that you add to water. Very good taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by court0424

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Seasoning Blend

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Tried this tonight, without the boullion granules, and it was absolutely fantastic. Will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lordofthenuggets

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Clive, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mediterranean Snow Peas

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Really liked this recipe. Was happy to find a snow pea recipe that wasn't Asian food oriented for once. I used a bit more Italian seasoning than called for, but that was just personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lordofthenuggets

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Clive, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maxine campbell

Beef Nacho Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Just made this recipe with my own twist ....... Browned hamburger add 1 1/2 TBS taco seasoning Instead of chili powder. 1 cup sour cream mixed with 1/2 cup ranch dressing instead mayo. And one small corn sweet corn Pico de gallo mix Real bacon bits bout 1/4 cup. Layered just like recipe but broke up chips for top layer then added shredded cheese........ Topped it off with a few nacho chips, olives, sour cream .........was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine campbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grant City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lordofthenuggets

Salmon with Dill

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
The seasoning worked wonderfully, I tried a suggestion on here of cooking with tin foil over the salmon to keep moisture in, but 20 minutes is still too far long for this recipe. Dries out the salmon. Next time I'll have to try it for a shorter time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lordofthenuggets

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Clive, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This is the easiest chili recipe I have ever made. The taste is fantastic. My family loves it. You could win a chili cook off with this recipe. This is now the recipe I use when making chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was wonderful perfect for a chilly fall night. Don't change a thing great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lucas, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ashley's African Peanut Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This soup is really delicious! Tons of veggies, and great flavor. Picky boyfriend didn't care for it (said it was too healthy, and probably a little too exotic for him), but that just means there's more for me! I only used 1 C of carrots, 1 red bell pepper, increased broth to about 7 cups, and decreased peanut butter to one half cup. I also didn't include the rice - this soup is so thick and chunky, it's not needed at all. Served with cornbread, and I can't wait for the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Oh my gosh, this was delicious! I had a craving for cabbage, which I never cook and my man won't eat, and found this recipe. I made it for a family gathering around Octoberfest, and I'm so glad I tried it! Healthy and so yummy. I put everything in my crockpot on low for about 4 hours, and it was perfect. And so easy! I only had to stir it a few times, and I had to stop myself from eating it all before my dinner party. A little cloves go a long way IMO, so I only used 1/8 teaspoon, and it was perfect. Also subbed applesauce for the sliced apples, and added half a sliced onion. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Russian Tea

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Made this. Used Trader Joe's White Pomegranate tea, it gave it a lovely red color. Followed the recipe exactly except that I did not have a family sized tea bag so I just used four single-serve tea bags per family bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Beef Flavored Gravy

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
So easy and so good. I left out the onion, and used beef broth that I had left over from cooking a pot roast that had onions in it. This will now be my new go-to gravy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Butter Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I've made this twice. The first time with apple butter (homemade) and according the the recipe. It was delicious. The second time with pear butter and a tsp. of orange extract. It was exquisite! I also changed the technique and did it Sarah Jo's way because I was tired and in a hurry and and it worked just as well. I recommend experimenting with different fruit butters and extracts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campbell's® Slow-Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I love this recipe only thing I did was instead of fresh Vegs. used frozen mixed and it was great also no thyme just some adobo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schnauzermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Townsend, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Korma

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This was pretty darn good. I love Indian food, and this replicates it pretty well with staples from your pantry. I made this for a friend who is vegetarian, and her husband cannot have dairy, so I was looking for an easy vegan curry recipe. This worked out great! I doubled the recipe, and subbed a can of coconut milk for the cream. Even the man liked it, and he's not into adventurous eating. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States