Des Moines - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Just made this recipe tonight and it was pretty simple, definitely time consuming but that was expected with a bread recipe. I love that its made with Honey instead of sugar. I think next time I am going to split this recipe into 2 instead of 3 in hopes of making larger loaves that can be used as sandwich bread, the loaves split into 3 make fairly small loaves. Overall I really like it and will definitely make this again! Oh, and I followed the recipe exactly, didn't change a thing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rhowgo

Stuffed Peppers with Turkey and Vegetables

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Made this tonight for dinner and loved it! Of course, I improvised--used Brussels sprouts instead of spinach and zucchini, and spaghetti sauce instead of the diced tomatoes and tomato paste--and it was tasty. I have enough for another batch of peppers (since I cooked up two pounds of turkey instead of the one it called for) which is an excellent problem to have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhowgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larimore, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
The best quick homemade pizza dough I have ever had. Not overly thick and doughy but not crispy and thin either, just that perfect in between. I made this tonight and the whole family was raving about the dough. Only changes I made was I added just a smidge of garlic and herb seasoning, but even with that added this pizza dough recipe shines right through to show it would do just as well even without the added seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Conch Chowder

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I've been a member of All Recipes for seven-ish years and rarely rate recipes, although I've tried probably close to 100 from this site. This chowder is divine. Changes: tripled the veggies, cooked for about 45 mins because I like a real soft vegetable consistency, used tilapia instead of conch. This is a very special chowder and will truly wow any self respecting lover of delicious food. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nkgreco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

One Bowl Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
So easy to make and so good. Perfect for when you need a quick chocolate fix. Made this for a family dinner tonight, and they were well liked by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rhowgo

Chef John's Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This was a huge hit at the office! Everyone loved it and it was easy to make. The video to make it was informative and made making the bars a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhowgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larimore, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Photo by nicholio

Jelly Bean Nests

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
These really do look like little nests, and they taste like deep-fried crisp-rice treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicholio

Easter Basket Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Such a cute idea. I tried it two ways: once with the candies, and once with the forked basket weave look. Both were adorbs. If you're frosting challenged, the candy makes it all seem tidy and pretty, and if your cake is a little lopsided, well, that's just very basket-like, isn't it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Beer Margaritas

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Fruity and sweet, these go down way too easily, and they were a pretty hit for my office's happy hour. I found them a smidge too sweet, so I'll sub club soda and ice for the lemon-lime soda next time. A couple changes made them even easier: I marinated the strawberries in the tequila right in my blender pitcher in the fridge; I didn't strain the mixture (the Vita-Mix pretty much obliterated the seeds anyway); and I poured straight from the blender, 'cause that's just how I roll. Mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicholio

Instant Chocolate Covered Bunnies (On a Stick)

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
OK, I don't know why this is, but Peeps look infinitely cuter on sticks! These are super easy and somehow more than the sum of their parts. Make a bouquet of them for a centerpiece, or wrap them in cellophane and give as party favors. I melted 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips to get enough for dipping. You'll need to keep microwaving (or work fast) to keep the chocolate thin enough. As with cake balls, you're not so much dipping the bunnies in chocolate as spooning chocolate over the bunnies and then giving them a good tap-tap-tap on the side of the bowl to shake off the excess chocolate and help it smooth and settle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waffles I

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Numsers. I often make yeast or buttermilk waffles, but I tried this recipe when I had neither yeast nor buttermilk nor time to let them rise. I did make a couple changes: I used butter instead of oil, and I separated the eggs, whipped the whites and folded them in at the end. They puffed up nicely and got a great crisp and golden exterior in my waffle maker. With fig-lemon preserves, they made a lovely Christmas morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Much to my father-in-law's delight, I made this on New Year's Eve. It was dee-lish. I bought the roast too late to let it come to room temperature first, and my roast was between 7 and 8 pounds. I added 5 minutes to the 500-degree cook time to try to compensate, but it was still a bit too rare when I pulled it out, and so we all had another glass of champagne and it went back in the oven with a center cut for 40 minutes more at 425. The house smelled amazing, and we almost ate the whole darn thing that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I made this "as stated" and it made a wonderful, easy, tasty fish dinner. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynJudd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This makes an Awesome pizza! I made it exactly as written and would not change a thing! Very satisfying flavor and texture! This pizza knocks all others out of the ball park (or rather off the pizza stone!)! I won't be searching any longer for a better pizza recipe, this is the one! My entire family raved about it! Thanks for sharing this great recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pcskinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

BLT Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Aweso
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lucas, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Elena's Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
These are pretty awesome. I melted the butter and just mixed the wet and dry ingredients and combined the two. Then I spread the batter on a cookie sheet and cut into bars with a pizza cutter when cooled. I reduced the sugar to just 3/4 cup and only used brown. They freeze really well so I just leave out six bars at a time and when those are gone I pull six more bars from the freezer till it is all used up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Best Clam Chowder

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is awesome don't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lucas, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfect! Made a batch with my daughters and daycare kids and they all loved them and had fun :) found my go to sugar cookie cut outs recipe for life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe - The Lemon Bowl

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
So easy and tasty. Probably cooked a little too long. I did about 9 hours on low. Not super pretty, but tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Coconut-Almond Balls

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These are pretty delicious! I made a double batch as Christmas gifts for the neighbors. As others have suggested, the second rolling of the coconut balls is key, and I found that having wet hands helped with the process. I used a bag and a half of chocolate chips to coat the balls. I actually had better luck using the store brand chips - they seemed to melt into a runnier chocolate that coated the balls easier. Probably due to the higher oil content or whatever. I only had a few balls fall apart out of 55, so I would say this is a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States