Des Moines - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pork Chops Italiano

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This was delicious. Next time I will make it on a weekend so the chops can slowly cook until they are fall apart tender. I'm going to get cravings for this, I can tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Honey Rosemary Carrots

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I have used raw local honey and fresh, frozen or dried rosemary. It depends on what I have had on hand. Each and every time carrots from this recipe came out delicious. It is also an easy recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynJudd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

From-Scratch Venison Stroganoff

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I have used this recipe many times just as written. It is delicious and the meat is so tender. The sauce is perfect, and has the right amount of tang from the combination of sour cream, Worcester, and tomatoe sauce. So good in fact that today I came back to this loved by all recipe, this time using beef stew cuts rather than the venison. Thank you for sharing your great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Skinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Comforting Chicken, Cranberry & Mushroom Risotto

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This was a big hit with my family -- particularly my daughter who has Type 2 diabetes, who's very picky. We loved the addition of kale and cranberries. Thanks very much, Nicholio!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Comforting Chicken, Cranberry & Mushroom Risotto

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I made this as a covered dish for a friend—and sampled some (for quality control, of course!) during the making. It's so delicious and satisfying, not to mention a smart use of a rotisserie chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LucyFitz46

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I added some achiote paste for flavor, and also used cilantro instead of basil. The leftover sauce was poured over the shrimp while they were on the grill, which really boosted the flavor. Next time, I'll use more cayenne! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyFitz46

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Savory Turkey Meatballs with Tangy Mustard Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Mmm. These hold their own against beefier meatballs. Lots of flavor. We couldn't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Crepes

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
For more flavor (and browner color), I skipped the water and used a full cup of whole milk. I love how adaptable this recipe is: Add 1 tablespoon chopped herbs to make them more savory, or add 2 teaspoons sugar and a splash of vanilla or brandy to make them sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicholio

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Who needs fries when you can have roasted cauliflower. So nutty and garlicky (and low-carb to boot)! Betcha it'd be pretty with yellow, purple, and green cauliflower, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicholio

Grandmother's Lamb Recipe

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Very flavorful, even with just 3/4 teaspoon of the chile paste. (Leftover paste was nice in scrambled eggs another day. Spicy huevos!) The halal grocery store was closed the day I went to get my lamb, so I ended up making it with pork from the freezer instead. I served it over black rice, for a full-on Indian-Asian-American mashup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicholio

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Awesome. Great pumpkin flavor, and very moist. I made it in two loaf pans, and added chocolate chips to one, and cream cheese frosting to the other. I think my oven was running a little hot, because mine cracked and sank a little in the middle, but I kind of love those so-called "sad streaks."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I subbed in wheat flour for the white, and used this as a lower-carb, higher-fiber alternative to potato pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Back-Burner Ratatouille

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I usually make ratatouille with fresh tomatoes, but I'd tried this as is in the slow cooker and don't think it would have made much difference. For reviewers who said it came out a little bitter, try adding the tomato paste earlier (I added mine at the beginning, because I find that longer cooking softens its bitter notes), and be sure to use a large onion for sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chili II

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Mmm! Lots of good veg in here. I cut the chicken breast up while it was still partially frozen. That makes for neater cubes. I left out the roux. Mine was thick enough without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Peppers with Turkey and Vegetables

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Tasty, filling, healthy, and low-carb to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beer Margaritas

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This is super easy and good for a crowd. I like that you can use the limeade can to measure the tequila and water, too. I made mine in the blender, with extra ice, and added a Corona beer after blending to avoid fizz-over. I also tried a version with frozen strawberries in place of some of the ice. Very fruity, and not beer-y at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Japanese-Style Sesame Green Beans

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
That nutty sesame seeds pair perfectly with nutty green beans makes good sense, of course, but it was kind of an "Oh, duh!" moment for me. I added some minced garlic, too, to ward off vampires and such. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic Enchiladas Verdes

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
The salsa verde is amazing. For an easy cheat on the chicken, I used the breast meat from a readymade garlic-lime rotisserie chicken and some low-sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicholio

Coriander and Cumin Rubbed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Loved the flavor—a little bit Indian, a little bit Mexican, and a whole lotta delicious for such a short contact time. We cooked them on the grill and shared them with the guys helping us build a garage. They were all: "How long did you marinate this?" "No way!" and " You should sell these, on a stick, at the fair!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicholio

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Mmmm. Rhubarb! I love the tang of the buttermilk in the batter, and the streusel on top is a particularly yummy touch. I subbed in 1 cup of whole-wheat flour for some of the white. Next time, I might put the walnuts in the topping, instead of tucking them in the batter, because they'll get toasted that way and I'm crazy like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States