Des Moines - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I juiced one medium sized lemon and used all of the juice. I didn't add the lemon extract. I also used fresh raspberries (my 7 year old was happy to have the job of cutting each berry in half, that way we could spread the raspberry love). These were very tasty muffins! I think I'll bake the mix in a loaf pan next time, and top with a lemon glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gnocchi I

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
"Cook until tender but still firm" was hard for me to understand, too. I was able to pierce the potatoes with a fork, so I figured they were done. I ended up having hard potato chunks that made my dough dry, mealy, and difficult to work with. I mixed in the remaining mashed potatoes, but my gnocchi ended up dense and kind of hard. Judging from all the positive reviews, I'm chalking this up to a user error. I'll definitely give this recipe another shot, boiling my potatoes another five minutes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren0926

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Dijon Salmon

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I will definetely make this again. I think it is just a tad better if you skin salmon first and then coat all sides with the dijon mixture. I finished it off with a few minutes under the broiler. Absolutely delicious and great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pomeroy, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Belgian Waffles

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Delicious, nicely risen waffles! I used salted butter and only 1 teaspoon of salt and, like other reviewers, substituted whole wheat flour for half of the white flour and made them 8 hours ahead, letting them chill in the fridge after rising an hour at warm room temp. Tip: I find I get better browning on my waffles when I don't oil the iron between batches. I oil it only after cleaning. (There's enough butter in the batter; even without oil, the waffles don't stick.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Clusters

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Don't use unsalted raw Spanish peanuts - salted roasted peanuts would be much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cocktail Meatballs I

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made the meatballs per the recipe, but baked them instead of frying them. They came out moist and tender, no overwhelming flavor when they're plain. I've used this sauce on little smokies before, and it's always a hit with the adults. I thought it was very good with the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's French Toast

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This recipe was very easy to make, and I was happy with the texture of the end result. However, the allspice was a bit too much for my taste. I think I will keep the method, but tweak the spice ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicholio

Spicy Glazed Pecans

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Delicious, easy, and so addictive. Perfect for a holiday party. I used 2 teaspoons more water, added a pinch of cinnamon, simmered the leaves from a sprig of fresh rosemary with the sugar and water, and baked the nuts 10 minutes longer. Loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicholio

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I used a mixture of Gruyere, Emmenthaler, and Raclette for the cheese and New Glarus Apple Ale for the beer. Mine was a smidge too bitter, but I might have simmered the beer a little too long while greeting guests. It was still tasty with bread, apples, pears, cauliflower, and pretty much everything we dipped in it. Thanks, ScandoGirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seasoned Crackers

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I used 2 - 12 oz packages of oyster crackers. I also added 1/4 tsp lemon pepper seasoning. I left the other measurements the same. My kids and are a gobbling these up as I write this review...very tasty! I think if you only used one package of crackers, it would be too oily with too much seasoning. I baked them in my big roasting pan for 15 minutes at 200...perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Easy cookie to make...but it turned it a bit more crumbly than I like my shortbread to be. I used my small cookie scoop and got 18 cookies from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
So easy!!! I added corn for a veggie. The family was happy and so was I to be done so quickly :-) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynJudd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I tripled this recipe for our Thanksgiving dinner. The potatoes came out PERFECT. My husband was dubious that they would turn out without using our mixer to mash up the potatoes. However, I followed Chef John's instructions exactly and we were not disappointed! This will be our go-to recipe for mashed potatoes forevermore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Roast Turkey and Gravy

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
The turkey came out moist and had nice flavor. Nothing spectacular, but it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Beans

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I used fresh green beans instead of canned...I also partially cooked the bacon so that it would be nice and crisp once cooked. I wasn't sure if I should cover the pan before baking, so I didn't. The green beans came out very crisp. I think next time I make this I will cover the dish with aluminum foil so that the beans can steam. This probably wouldn't be a problem with canned beans, but I like the taste of fresh beans much more than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This dough is sweet and chewy, but also very thick. I think it would be excellent for cinnamon rolls. I made it at Thanksgiving as cloverleaf rolls...while they were tasty, they weren't as light and fluffy as I like my dinner rolls to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Salad II

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
THE BEST CRANBERRY SALAD EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Anne McAninch Carlson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This is absolutely delicious. Great mix of flavors. I was pressed for time, so I used canned sliced beets. I'm sure roasted fresh beets would provide a better texture and flavor, but mine was still darn good. I have failed miserably at glazing nuts on many occasions, but this maple syrup method on the stovetop is so easy. Love it. Can't wait to eat it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Made these today to take to church. Amazing they were gone in no time. You have to try these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lucas, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Biscuits

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and did half cold butter and half shortening. I made drop biscuits instead of rolling them out (the batter was far too moist), and they turned out deliciously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States