Des Moines - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Grilled Vegetables in Balsamic Tomato Sauce with Couscous

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
This is a 5 star recipe if done with a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes with garlic, basil and oregano. That makes a huge difference in my opinion. Based on other reviewers, I did the tomatoes and balsamic vinegar in a sauce pan and let simmer on low until the vegetables were done! I cut up the veggies for the outside grill. Of course I had to use what I had on hand which was everything from the recipe except beans and eggplant. I substituted mushrooms and asparagus. Honestly you can use whatever you have on had.....but you definitely need the onion and peppers! They become so sweet when grilled on a medium setting. I also lightly garlic salted and peppered the veggies once while grilling them. Grilling veggies can always present a problem if you don't have some sort of way to keep them from going through the grill. I have a grill basket and a flat cast iron griddle that has the grill marks on one side. It took about at least 20 minutes to grill the veggies, but well worth the time! (The asparagus goes last because it cooks so fast) I served over brown rice but it is great with couscous as well! Assemble in the kitchen.... a ladle of rice or couscous, lots of veggies, a ladle or two of sauce, then I used the asparagus as a decoration. PS. I also served a grilled vegan Italian sausage brat with it and garlic bread! Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA
Photo by 5Tami2

Grilled Vegetables in Balsamic Tomato Sauce with Couscous

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
This is a 5 star recipe if done with a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes with garlic, basil and oregano. That makes a huge difference in my opinion. Based on other reviewers, I did the tomatoes and balsamic vinegar in a sauce pan and let simmer on low until the vegetables were done! I cut up the veggies for the outside grill. Of course I had to use what I had on hand which was everything from the recipe except beans and eggplant. I substituted mushrooms and asparagus. Honestly you can use whatever you have on had.....but you definitely need the onion and peppers! They become so sweet when grilled on a medium setting. I also lightly garlic salted and peppered the veggies once while grilling them. Grilling veggies can always present a problem if you don't have some sort of way to keep them from going through the grill. I have a grill basket and a flat cast iron griddle that has the grill marks on one side. It took about at least 20 minutes to grill the veggies, but well worth the time! (The asparagus goes last because it cooks so fast) I served over brown rice but it is great with couscous as well! Assemble in the kitchen.... a ladle of rice or couscous, lots of veggies, a ladle or two of sauce, then I used the asparagus as a decoration. PS. I also served a grilled vegan Italian sausage brat with it and garlic bread! Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA
Photo by nicholio

Double Crust Stuffed Pizza

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
The hubs was jonesing for Chicago-style deep dish, so I made this in my cast-iron skillet, without a top crust. It was terrific. My dough needed more flour (23/4 cups total, and I used spelt flour for 1 of those cups). I oiled the skillet and sprinkled it with cornmeal to keep it from sticking (worked great!). I added Canadian bacon beneath the sausage and skipped the pepperoni and other veg. And I spiked the fresh tomato sauce with a little crushed fennel seed and extra oregano, 'cause that's how we roll. I also temped the sausage just to make sure it was done, and it hit 160 degrees at 50 minutes. Sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I used eggs instead of tuna because I forgot we donated all the tuna to Stamp Out Hunger a couple of weeks ago. Turned out fantastic! Oh, and like another suggested, I used a red pepper instead of green. I'm sure it would have been great as written, but I used what was convenient and it turned out fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pea and Crab Salad

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I left the bacon out, just because every time I add bacon to a salad it gets gross and soggy and I didn't want to risk it. It tasted fabulous... the whole family thought so and it was gone within two hours of when I told folks it was in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
It really is the best! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Egg Salad with a Kick

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I made this as written with the exception of using green onion instead of red, just because that's what I had on hand. This was a wonderful recipe that my entire family enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
This was a-freakin'-mazing! We made it just as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot and Spicy Himalayan Tea (Chai Tea)

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
This recipe is PERFECT. It tastes like the best chai you've ever had. I substituted honey for the brown sugar cause that was all I had and drank it with monkey bread. Unfortunately I did this right before I went to bed so then I stayed awake really late but that was my own fault and frankly - it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Pesto Shrimp

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Great base, did a few extra things. I cooked mushrooms, 1 shallot, and 1 clove of garlic w/ olive oil. set that aside. I skipped the butter, just warmed heavy whipping cream for about 5 minutes, and then added diced tomatoes from a can. Continued the warming and stirring for another 5 minutes. Added pre-cooked shrimp, pesto (classico in a jar) and the cooked veggies to the mix. Added red pepper flakes/salt and pepper. And I stirred that on medium for about about 10 minutes. It was a bit watery still, but to solve that problem, I scooped my sauce and mixed it in a pot with the cooked noodles to my desired consistency. Worked perfectly, and tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen Barker
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Love, love the flavors in this dish! Added ginger based off some comments in the reviews, and about a cup of beef broth at the end of cooking during simmering. Big hit with the whole family, I served over simple white rice and it was a great, complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nkgreco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Yakitori

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
We used this on chicken...and I baked it for almost 30 min in the oven @ 350 degrees. It was absolutely delicious! My whole family loved it. I think this will replace teriyaki in our meal line up. I can't wait to try it on beef . We used light soy sauce and the flavor was perfect. I would be afraid regular soy sauce would be way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sesame Broccoli

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I added carrots (cut up matchstick style), strips of onion, and some garlic to the broccoli and bell pepper. This was very simple and was a great side to our chicken yakitori and baked brown rice! This one is going into regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Skinner

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Just tried the first slice, had to have a second one too! It is still slightly warm ( I know I should wait until it has cooled but just couldn't stand the temptation) This is by far the prettiest, soft and fluffiest, tallest, bread I have ever made. The aroma in our home is so wonderful too! Mine rose more than double in less than an hour and the second rise was a good 2 1/2 inches above the top of the loaf pan when I checked on it in 30 minutes. I was afraid it would fall in baking due to 'oven spring' but happily the loaves held their beautiful risen shape and turned a lovely golden color while baking ..... Very pleased with the outcome of this recipe. Made it strictly as written and used the breadguy's Kitchenaid directions for mixing and kneading. I will be using this wonderful recipe often. Thanks for sharing. I shared a photo of the bread before baking and how high it rose in the 30 min. time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Skinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LucyFitz46

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I added quite a bit to this recipe, my favorite thing being mangoes. Yum!! I only used one can of beans, and added chopped mangoes and a bell pepper. The mangoes give it a great sweetness that goes well with the onions. The white quinoa I used didn't fluff up quite as much as I thought it would, but the rest of the ingredients kept it hearty enough that I didn't feel like it was missing anything (even with less beans). The spices were great, and really boosted the flavor. Next time I make this, I will definitely use mangoes again, and maybe add some avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyFitz46

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Easy and Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Great recipe, followed directions and turned out flawless! Only change I made was I added shallots to the butter. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Losenicky
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Indian-Style Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Husband loved this. Made it in the crockpot. Started by sautéing the onions and seeds in a skillet, threw everything else in the crockpot. Chicken breasts were frozen. Cooked it till chicken fell apart then adjusted the seasonings at the end. Put in about three times seasoning and also added the whole can of coconut milk. Sautéed veggies in coconut oil. Added a 14 oz can tomato sauce and water until it was a consistency that I liked. Served over basmati rice with cumin seeds and green peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I added 1/4 tsp cinnamon and replaced half the sugar with brown sugar, as suggested in other comments. I left it in the oven a little too long, but it still tastes great warmed up with some butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyFitz46

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken Tikka Masala

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I served mine over basmati rice. This chicken was delicious, but next time I'll make it spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyFitz46

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States