Des Moines - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by rhowgo

Easy Raspberry Lemonade

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I've made this three times now, and each time it was gone almost immediately. My only change--double the batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhowgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larimore, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

White Almond Wedding Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I have made this recipe 3 times and everyone thought it was delicious. Depending on your likes you may want to increase the vanilla or almond as my family loves almond!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

Oatmeal and Wheat Flour Blueberry Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made some adjustments according to what we had on hand. I used buttermilk instead of soy milk. I used vegetable oil instead of olive oil. I processed my oats in the blender first so the were more like flour. And, for the flour, I used a cup of white whole-wheat flour. I didn't add the blueberries directly to the batter, rather I dropped them into the pancakes as I put them on the griddle. Also, as with any pancake recipe, I did not over stir the batter - you want to stir just until everything is moistened. Once you have done that, let the batter rest a good 5 - 10 minutes before cooking; that will give you a fluffier pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal and Wheat Flour Blueberry Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made some adjustments according to what we had on hand. I used buttermilk instead of soy milk. I used vegetable oil instead of olive oil. I processed my oats in the blender first so the were more like flour. And, for the flour, I used a cup of white whole-wheat flour. I didn't add the blueberries directly to the batter, rather I dropped them into the pancakes as I put them on the griddle. Also, as with any pancake recipe, I did not over stir the batter - you want to stir just until everything is moistened. Once you have done that, let the batter rest a good 5 - 10 minutes before cooking; that will give you a fluffier pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
OMG, the best! Phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yum Yum Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Really good "close second" to high end sushi restaurants. Tad garlicky but otherwise exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant Style Egg Drop Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This recipe was phenomenal! We added mushrooms and snap peas just for fun and the entire family loved it, including my picky six year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Cake and Frosting I

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This was really, really good. The directions are based on cake, not cupcakes, so adjust baking time as needed. Oh, and I could not get the frosting to the right consistency. I don't know if it was me or the recipe but I kept tweaking it and it still came out runny- perhaps because of the amount of water in the frozen strawberries? Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I baked in a bundt pan for 1 hr 15 minutes. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding 1 c walnuts. I really liked the spice blend and enjoyed this with my coffee. My 7 yr old son liked it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koolaidemomstaci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Photo by lauren0926

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
My friends used to swear up and down that they hated brussels sprouts, until they tried this recipe. These are delicious! I learned the trick is to roast them until they are very dark brown--almost burnt--to get a rich, almost sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren0926

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lauren0926

Curried Quinoa

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Fast, easy, and delicious! I subbed a bit of extra curry powder for the chile, which worked nicely--there's still a good kick. I also doubled the recipe so that I could have leftovers, and they reheat perfectly. Will definitely make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren0926

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I made this tonight. It was excellent. I didn't have chicken broth, so used a tiny bit of Swanson's Flavor Boost, and a small splash of dry Sherry. The house smells wonderful. As another said, be sure to brush off excess salt, and I let it sit for over 15 minutes. I think if you stick to the basics on this It would be hard to mess up. Also be sure to check after 50 minutes. Mine was more than done, but still juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynicgal
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Yacolt, Washington, USA
Photo by rhowgo

Blueberry Crumb Bars

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I made a batch of these for a BBQ this weekend, and they were a huge it! I made with gluten-free flour, and everyone still raved about them! Next time, I'll adjust the crumble ratio to 2/3 crust, 1/3 topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhowgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larimore, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Photo by rhowgo

Creamed Onions and Peas

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I was skeptical I would like this, but it was actually quite tasty. I halved the recipe and used a mix of frozen peas/onion. Surprisingly yummy and super fast to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhowgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larimore, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Photo by rhowgo

Carrot Gelatin Salad

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Not gonna lie...this was MUCH better than I thought it would be. Next time, I'll swap out the carrots for coconut. It's basically a citrus explosion in your mouth...with a little carrot crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhowgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larimore, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Delicious Raspberry Oatmeal Cookie Bars

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Very good. Almost too much jam, making them gooey and hard to cut into bars, but they taste so good. Also made peanut butter bars to go with these. There is nothing better than peanut butter and jelly desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicholio

Mrs. Wheelbarrow's Pickled Green Onions

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
We thought these might get slimy in the jar, but ours were nice and crisp -- and very oniony! If you have onions in your garden, this is perfect to make with the thinnings (the onions you pull out to thin the patch).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wakula's First Attempt at Vegetable Stew

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
We loved this stew! Excellent flavor! I added some rice leftover from another dish and used only of the potatoes. I also used only 1/2 the amount of cabbage. We will definitely have this as one of our staple soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

Zucchini and Potato Bake

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is a very, very good dish - a GREAT way to use up the abundance of garden fresh zucchini, if you're fortunate enough to have that problem :) I made very close to original recipe, but used panko in place of regular breadcrumbs, probably quadrupled the amount of garlic, and had to up the amount of salt, pepper and paprika about half way thru when a taste test wasn't satisfactory. It's a simple but satisfying side that would be great paired with a grilled meat. Also relatively inexpensive ingredients - a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nkgreco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juicy Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is fantastic - I've made roast chicken dozens of times but will rate this five stars for the EASE + deliciousness of the end result. Used butter in place of margarine, and was very generous when salting, peppering and onion powdering the bird. Basted every 20 minutes. The highlights: the tasty, crispy skin at the end, and the milk gravy made with the drippings. To make gravy (DONT skip this!! You'll be glad you didn't): after letting chicken sit for 30 mins, transfer it to a plate and scrape all remaining brown bits and drippings into skillet. In a separate bowl (or mason jar with lid), mix 1 1/2 cups whole milk and 2 tbsp. flour together until blended. Pour into skillet with drippings and whisk constantly over medium heat. When bubbles appear, continue whisking for another minute then remove from heat. Taste and adjust seasoning as needed (mine needed salt). The gravy is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nkgreco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States