Des Moines - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by LucyFitz46

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I added quite a bit to this recipe, my favorite thing being mangoes. Yum!! I only used one can of beans, and added chopped mangoes and a bell pepper. The mangoes give it a great sweetness that goes well with the onions. The white quinoa I used didn't fluff up quite as much as I thought it would, but the rest of the ingredients kept it hearty enough that I didn't feel like it was missing anything (even with less beans). The spices were great, and really boosted the flavor. Next time I make this, I will definitely use mangoes again, and maybe add some avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyFitz46

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Easy and Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Great recipe, followed directions and turned out flawless! Only change I made was I added shallots to the butter. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Losenicky
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Indian-Style Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Husband loved this. Made it in the crockpot. Started by sautéing the onions and seeds in a skillet, threw everything else in the crockpot. Chicken breasts were frozen. Cooked it till chicken fell apart then adjusted the seasonings at the end. Put in about three times seasoning and also added the whole can of coconut milk. Sautéed veggies in coconut oil. Added a 14 oz can tomato sauce and water until it was a consistency that I liked. Served over basmati rice with cumin seeds and green peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I added 1/4 tsp cinnamon and replaced half the sugar with brown sugar, as suggested in other comments. I left it in the oven a little too long, but it still tastes great warmed up with some butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyFitz46

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken Tikka Masala

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I served mine over basmati rice. This chicken was delicious, but next time I'll make it spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyFitz46

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Pork Chops Italiano

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This was delicious. Next time I will make it on a weekend so the chops can slowly cook until they are fall apart tender. I'm going to get cravings for this, I can tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Honey Rosemary Carrots

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I have used raw local honey and fresh, frozen or dried rosemary. It depends on what I have had on hand. Each and every time carrots from this recipe came out delicious. It is also an easy recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynJudd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

From-Scratch Venison Stroganoff

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I have used this recipe many times just as written. It is delicious and the meat is so tender. The sauce is perfect, and has the right amount of tang from the combination of sour cream, Worcester, and tomatoe sauce. So good in fact that today I came back to this loved by all recipe, this time using beef stew cuts rather than the venison. Thank you for sharing your great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Skinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Comforting Chicken, Cranberry & Mushroom Risotto

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I made this as a covered dish for a friend—and sampled some (for quality control, of course!) during the making. It's so delicious and satisfying, not to mention a smart use of a rotisserie chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LucyFitz46

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I added some achiote paste for flavor, and also used cilantro instead of basil. The leftover sauce was poured over the shrimp while they were on the grill, which really boosted the flavor. Next time, I'll use more cayenne! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyFitz46

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Savory Turkey Meatballs with Tangy Mustard Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Mmm. These hold their own against beefier meatballs. Lots of flavor. We couldn't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Crepes

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
For more flavor (and browner color), I skipped the water and used a full cup of whole milk. I love how adaptable this recipe is: Add 1 tablespoon chopped herbs to make them more savory, or add 2 teaspoons sugar and a splash of vanilla or brandy to make them sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicholio

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Who needs fries when you can have roasted cauliflower. So nutty and garlicky (and low-carb to boot)! Betcha it'd be pretty with yellow, purple, and green cauliflower, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicholio

Grandmother's Lamb Recipe

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Very flavorful, even with just 3/4 teaspoon of the chile paste. (Leftover paste was nice in scrambled eggs another day. Spicy huevos!) The halal grocery store was closed the day I went to get my lamb, so I ended up making it with pork from the freezer instead. I served it over black rice, for a full-on Indian-Asian-American mashup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicholio

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Awesome. Great pumpkin flavor, and very moist. I made it in two loaf pans, and added chocolate chips to one, and cream cheese frosting to the other. I think my oven was running a little hot, because mine cracked and sank a little in the middle, but I kind of love those so-called "sad streaks."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I subbed in wheat flour for the white, and used this as a lower-carb, higher-fiber alternative to potato pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Back-Burner Ratatouille

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I usually make ratatouille with fresh tomatoes, but I'd tried this as is in the slow cooker and don't think it would have made much difference. For reviewers who said it came out a little bitter, try adding the tomato paste earlier (I added mine at the beginning, because I find that longer cooking softens its bitter notes), and be sure to use a large onion for sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chili II

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Mmm! Lots of good veg in here. I cut the chicken breast up while it was still partially frozen. That makes for neater cubes. I left out the roux. Mine was thick enough without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Peppers with Turkey and Vegetables

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Tasty, filling, healthy, and low-carb to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States