Des Moines - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by imatami

Sausage Mushroom Quiche

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
I added fresh spinach in addition to the parsley. Next time I will use 1/2 a pound of sausage rather than a full pound. Otherwise it's a very good quiche. Just felt there was way too much sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imatami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

Candied Almonds

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Fairly easy to make & my husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imatami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

Zucchini Bread IV

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Everyone in my family really loves this zucchini bread! I leave out the walnuts due to nut allergies in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imatami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Photo by imatami

Zucchini Lasagna With Beef and Sausage

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
I used all Italian sausage instead of 1/2 beef. I loved this dish and couldn't get enough of it! Just made it last Saturday for the first time and will be making it again this Saturday/Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imatami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

Baked Omelet Roll

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
This was just okay. I couldn't get it to roll so we ended up scooping out the baked eggs from the pan in squares. I reduced the flour by half and I probably should've reduced it farther - the eggs just had a weird texture that half my family didn't care for. We won't be making this one again. (I did try to line the baking sheet with parchment paper, but I could see all that was going to accomplish was to for the egg mixture to seep underneath the paper, meaning I'd end up with Parchment paper in the middle of my eggs.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
No calories here! But this pound cake is worth the splurge. I made it in a large bundt cake pan and baked it for just over an hour. The outside ended up golden and crispy while the middle stayed soft and fluffy. This cake is so buttery and delectable, it practically melts in your mouth. I served it with farmers market berries to help balance out the sweetness. Betcha this cake would be really good with a bit of lemon juice mixed in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren0926

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scrambled Egg Brunch Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Lesson learned: do not attempt braiding crescent roll dough in a super hot kitchen! Mine did not look pretty but tasted delicious. I will definitely make this again, but will probably wait until winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyFitz46

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

SAVORY TURKEY MEATBALLS WITH TANGY MUSTARD DIP

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Totally addictive! I was dipping the rest of my lunch in the sauce, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyFitz46

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Lentil Soup with Garlicky Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
So hearty and satisfying for a meatless recipe, and so yummy and good for you. Love the idea of the vinaigrette on top. I take it one further: Chop up some celery heart (the sweet-tasting, yellow-colored stalks at the core of your celery bunch, along with the leaves) and sprinkle on top of each bowl before adding the vinaigrette. It's like a little salad on top, and it adds a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Vegetables in Balsamic Tomato Sauce with Couscous

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
This is a 5 star recipe if done with a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes with garlic, basil and oregano. That makes a huge difference in my opinion. Based on other reviewers, I did the tomatoes and balsamic vinegar in a sauce pan and let simmer on low until the vegetables were done! I cut up the veggies for the outside grill. Of course I had to use what I had on hand which was everything from the recipe except beans and eggplant. I substituted mushrooms and asparagus. Honestly you can use whatever you have on had.....but you definitely need the onion and peppers! They become so sweet when grilled on a medium setting. I also lightly garlic salted and peppered the veggies once while grilling them. Grilling veggies can always present a problem if you don't have some sort of way to keep them from going through the grill. I have a grill basket and a flat cast iron griddle that has the grill marks on one side. It took about at least 20 minutes to grill the veggies, but well worth the time! (The asparagus goes last because it cooks so fast) I served over brown rice but it is great with couscous as well! Assemble in the kitchen.... a ladle of rice or couscous, lots of veggies, a ladle or two of sauce, then I used the asparagus as a decoration. PS. I also served a grilled vegan Italian sausage brat with it and garlic bread! Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA
Photo by 5Tami2

Grilled Vegetables in Balsamic Tomato Sauce with Couscous

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
This is a 5 star recipe if done with a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes with garlic, basil and oregano. That makes a huge difference in my opinion. Based on other reviewers, I did the tomatoes and balsamic vinegar in a sauce pan and let simmer on low until the vegetables were done! I cut up the veggies for the outside grill. Of course I had to use what I had on hand which was everything from the recipe except beans and eggplant. I substituted mushrooms and asparagus. Honestly you can use whatever you have on had.....but you definitely need the onion and peppers! They become so sweet when grilled on a medium setting. I also lightly garlic salted and peppered the veggies once while grilling them. Grilling veggies can always present a problem if you don't have some sort of way to keep them from going through the grill. I have a grill basket and a flat cast iron griddle that has the grill marks on one side. It took about at least 20 minutes to grill the veggies, but well worth the time! (The asparagus goes last because it cooks so fast) I served over brown rice but it is great with couscous as well! Assemble in the kitchen.... a ladle of rice or couscous, lots of veggies, a ladle or two of sauce, then I used the asparagus as a decoration. PS. I also served a grilled vegan Italian sausage brat with it and garlic bread! Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA
Photo by nicholio

Double Crust Stuffed Pizza

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
The hubs was jonesing for Chicago-style deep dish, so I made this in my cast-iron skillet, without a top crust. It was terrific. My dough needed more flour (23/4 cups total, and I used spelt flour for 1 of those cups). I oiled the skillet and sprinkled it with cornmeal to keep it from sticking (worked great!). I added Canadian bacon beneath the sausage and skipped the pepperoni and other veg. And I spiked the fresh tomato sauce with a little crushed fennel seed and extra oregano, 'cause that's how we roll. I also temped the sausage just to make sure it was done, and it hit 160 degrees at 50 minutes. Sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I used eggs instead of tuna because I forgot we donated all the tuna to Stamp Out Hunger a couple of weeks ago. Turned out fantastic! Oh, and like another suggested, I used a red pepper instead of green. I'm sure it would have been great as written, but I used what was convenient and it turned out fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pea and Crab Salad

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I left the bacon out, just because every time I add bacon to a salad it gets gross and soggy and I didn't want to risk it. It tasted fabulous... the whole family thought so and it was gone within two hours of when I told folks it was in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
It really is the best! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Egg Salad with a Kick

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I made this as written with the exception of using green onion instead of red, just because that's what I had on hand. This was a wonderful recipe that my entire family enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
This was a-freakin'-mazing! We made it just as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot and Spicy Himalayan Tea (Chai Tea)

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
This recipe is PERFECT. It tastes like the best chai you've ever had. I substituted honey for the brown sugar cause that was all I had and drank it with monkey bread. Unfortunately I did this right before I went to bed so then I stayed awake really late but that was my own fault and frankly - it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Pesto Shrimp

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Great base, did a few extra things. I cooked mushrooms, 1 shallot, and 1 clove of garlic w/ olive oil. set that aside. I skipped the butter, just warmed heavy whipping cream for about 5 minutes, and then added diced tomatoes from a can. Continued the warming and stirring for another 5 minutes. Added pre-cooked shrimp, pesto (classico in a jar) and the cooked veggies to the mix. Added red pepper flakes/salt and pepper. And I stirred that on medium for about about 10 minutes. It was a bit watery still, but to solve that problem, I scooped my sauce and mixed it in a pot with the cooked noodles to my desired consistency. Worked perfectly, and tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen Barker
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Love, love the flavors in this dish! Added ginger based off some comments in the reviews, and about a cup of beef broth at the end of cooking during simmering. Big hit with the whole family, I served over simple white rice and it was a great, complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nkgreco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States