Des Moines - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Fire-Roasted Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Delicious! I only puréed half of it. Enjoyed the thicker texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Corn and Zucchini Saute

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Made this tonight...I used two T of olive oil instead of butter. I added some diced green pepper. It was delicious and tasted so fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta Primavera with Italian Vegan Sausage

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This was Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

Grilled Vegetable Salad with Fresh Herb Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This was absolutely wonderful. Everyone loved it at the party, and I was asked for the recipe several times. I used only basil instead of all the other herbs, and grilled asparagus, yellow squash, red bell peppers and a red onion. Definitely a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rhowgo

Candied Lemon Peel

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I thought these were going to be harder to make than they were. I felt like a fancy chef and all I did was essentially boil lemon peels and coat them with sugar. I'm totally making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhowgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larimore, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Beets and Greens

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I am adding this to my keep list. I had goat cheese on hand if people wanted to sprinkle a little on top but did not need it. I just prefer beets paired with goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabbitha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
These burgers are a delicious, healthier version of comfort food. I used 1/2 ground chicken and 1/2 ground turkey to decrease the cost. I also added an egg to bind the meat mixture. I needed a side dish, so I searched allrecipes and found Asian Cucumber and Peanut Salad (submitted by tammyn316). The two dishes paired perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mykidsthinkIcancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Photo by rhowgo

Easy Raspberry Lemonade

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I've made this three times now, and each time it was gone almost immediately. My only change--double the batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhowgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larimore, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

White Almond Wedding Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I have made this recipe 3 times and everyone thought it was delicious. Depending on your likes you may want to increase the vanilla or almond as my family loves almond!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

Oatmeal and Wheat Flour Blueberry Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made some adjustments according to what we had on hand. I used buttermilk instead of soy milk. I used vegetable oil instead of olive oil. I processed my oats in the blender first so the were more like flour. And, for the flour, I used a cup of white whole-wheat flour. I didn't add the blueberries directly to the batter, rather I dropped them into the pancakes as I put them on the griddle. Also, as with any pancake recipe, I did not over stir the batter - you want to stir just until everything is moistened. Once you have done that, let the batter rest a good 5 - 10 minutes before cooking; that will give you a fluffier pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal and Wheat Flour Blueberry Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made some adjustments according to what we had on hand. I used buttermilk instead of soy milk. I used vegetable oil instead of olive oil. I processed my oats in the blender first so the were more like flour. And, for the flour, I used a cup of white whole-wheat flour. I didn't add the blueberries directly to the batter, rather I dropped them into the pancakes as I put them on the griddle. Also, as with any pancake recipe, I did not over stir the batter - you want to stir just until everything is moistened. Once you have done that, let the batter rest a good 5 - 10 minutes before cooking; that will give you a fluffier pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
OMG, the best! Phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yum Yum Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Really good "close second" to high end sushi restaurants. Tad garlicky but otherwise exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant Style Egg Drop Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This recipe was phenomenal! We added mushrooms and snap peas just for fun and the entire family loved it, including my picky six year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Cake and Frosting I

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This was really, really good. The directions are based on cake, not cupcakes, so adjust baking time as needed. Oh, and I could not get the frosting to the right consistency. I don't know if it was me or the recipe but I kept tweaking it and it still came out runny- perhaps because of the amount of water in the frozen strawberries? Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I baked in a bundt pan for 1 hr 15 minutes. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding 1 c walnuts. I really liked the spice blend and enjoyed this with my coffee. My 7 yr old son liked it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koolaidemomstaci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Photo by lauren0926

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
My friends used to swear up and down that they hated brussels sprouts, until they tried this recipe. These are delicious! I learned the trick is to roast them until they are very dark brown--almost burnt--to get a rich, almost sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren0926

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lauren0926

Curried Quinoa

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Fast, easy, and delicious! I subbed a bit of extra curry powder for the chile, which worked nicely--there's still a good kick. I also doubled the recipe so that I could have leftovers, and they reheat perfectly. Will definitely make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren0926

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I made this tonight. It was excellent. I didn't have chicken broth, so used a tiny bit of Swanson's Flavor Boost, and a small splash of dry Sherry. The house smells wonderful. As another said, be sure to brush off excess salt, and I let it sit for over 15 minutes. I think if you stick to the basics on this It would be hard to mess up. Also be sure to check after 50 minutes. Mine was more than done, but still juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynicgal
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Yacolt, Washington, USA
Photo by rhowgo

Blueberry Crumb Bars

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I made a batch of these for a BBQ this weekend, and they were a huge it! I made with gluten-free flour, and everyone still raved about them! Next time, I'll adjust the crumble ratio to 2/3 crust, 1/3 topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhowgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larimore, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States