Racine, Wisconsin - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Tomato Basil Salmon

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This had good flavor and was SO quick and easy. Bonus points for quick clean up too. I think next time I'll use fresh basil and add some garlic salt to perk it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stroganoff III

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
What a stunner! I love beef stroganoff, and this was perfection. The only changes I made were to use the whole green onions instead of just the whites, and I subbed in fresh sliced baby Bella mushrooms for the canned. I had to force myself not to lick the plate clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This was easier to make than I'd ever thought it would be, and EXACTLY what I was craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackberry Cobbler II

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I think next time, I'd cut down the sugar in the blackberry mixture by 1/4 of a cup, since this was really, really sweet, but otherwise we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Apple and Parsnip Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I guess everyone has an off day, even Chef John, but we just HATED this. I made it as written, and it was bland, with a color and consistency that reminded us of baby food. We never throw away leftovers, but we agreed that neither one of us was going to eat any more of this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I used pumpkin pie spice instead of the individual spices, and upped the total amount to a few Tbls, and used a whole can of pumpkin. We loved these. So awesome on a winter weekend morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

California Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I changed up the seasoning to suit our tastes, and only used one avocado, since there really wasn't "room" for both on top of 4 chicken breasts. I cooked my chicken on the stove in my cast iron skillet, and then just left them in there, topped them with the tomatoes and cheese, and put in the oven that way. Less steps and easier clean up than transferring them to a cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Uglies

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Well, the name's accurate - they're not pretty - but the flavor was actually pretty good. We used a spicier BBQ sauce and it almost tasted like chili. Only problem was the need to use two biscuits per muffin cup - one each was just not working.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
We loved this. I made no changes, even though I was suspicious about adding the sour cream to the soup and almost left it to serve on top, but I'm glad I didn't. This soup was awesome, filling, and the leftovers fed us for a week. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shepherd's Pie I

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I started making this one per the recipe, with the exception of homemade mashed potatoes since we can't stand the boxed kind. But when I tasted the beef mixture, it occurred to me that I had just made...sloppy joes. I wound up adding a ton of veggies, peas, corn, mushrooms, carrots...pretty much whatever I had on hand...and after that, it was much better. But as written? No thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pistachio Crusted Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Kind of disappointing. The honey really overpowered the other ingredients and made this much sweeter than expected. If I make it again, I'll omit it entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This was fresh, light, and delicious. I can't wait to make it again in the summertime with garden tomatoes, which I think will take it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Even using a spicy brown mustard instead of Dijon didn't help this not be cloyingly sweet. We added some garlic salt at the table, and that helped a little, but not enough that I'd make it again, given the price of real maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Tenderloin Stuffed with Lobster

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I made this recipe over the last 40 years. I seasoned the tenderloin and placed whole cooked lobster tail to tail. I pored the melted butter and lemon over the lobster. I folded the filet over the lobster and wrapped with bacon strips. tying the roll about 1 inch apart. Follow the rest of directions. When done, let rest for 5/minutes...cut in 8 serving pieces.. very beautiful ..serve with a baked potato, special salad. I cut the lemons in half and scoop out the insides. mix butter and lemon and set on each plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

Dutch Leek Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Nothing revolutionary here, but pretty tasty. My one gripe is that, for being called "LEEK Casserole", the leeks really got lost in the potatoes, beef, cheese, and other, stronger flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Crispy Beef

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Good flavor, but a bit too sweet, and I had to add a cornstarch slurry to the sauce to keep it from being Crispy Beef Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tanya's Louisiana Southern Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This made a crispy coating and juicy meat, but I would double (or triple) the seasoning next time, since it was a little bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
WOW. These were a perfect, easy, elegant dinner for Valentines Day. The only change I made was to use lamb blade (shoulder) chops, since that was all my grocery store had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Onion Soup Gratinee

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
My fiance is a huge fan of French Onion soup, so I made this for him for Valentines Day dinner, and he said it was the best he'd ever had. He just kept whispering "ohmygod" between mouthfuls. I can't give it a better review than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Valentine Night Strawberries

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Easier than I thought they would be, and a great Valentine's Day dessert. We paired ours with a nice dry prosecco, and the combination was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States