Oconomowoc - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Tacos in Pasta Shells

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I rated this 5 stars with my modifications!!! I used taco seasoning instead of the salt and chili powder. I ommited the butter, definitely didn't need it. I added diced petite tomatoes, green chilis, and refried beans to the meat mixture. I didn't use the crushed tortilla chips either. I used an entire box of jumbo shells, because the meat mixture definitely makes enough for TWO 9 X 13 pans. I froze the other for later! VERY YUMMY and I will be making it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Shells IV

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
It was a lot of work for just an ok turnout. I appreciated the extra frozen pan though!! I also added Italian seasoning. I probably won't ever use the ground turkey for this recipe again, I really just like the taste of beef MUCH better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I followed the advice of the most helpful reviewer and this was just ok for me. I think what ruined it was the chuck roast. I would make again, but use a different type of beef. I added mushrooms, onions and green peppers to the slow cooker after shredding the meat so they made a nice compliment to the sandwich. I also used A LOT of pepperoncinis!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Of course I modified the recipe, as I always do to taste. Instead of dill pickle relish, I chopped up some dill pickles in little pieces. Instead of celery seed, I use actual celery chopped up. I also added some yellow pepper chopped up. Other than that I followed the recipes pretty exact. It was the first time I've ever made potato salad and I was extremely impressed! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baja Style Fish Tacos

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Downsdea-eliminating the Ranch dressing and the pickled jalapenos in this recipe you will loose much of the flavors. the vinegar in the pickled jalapeno give the salsa that extra zing and of course ranch dressing has much more flavor than sour cream,lime and garlic salt. tcmjem-the reason for stacking the tortillas (I always use 2) the first can become soggy, or saturated with the juices and the second helps keep it together for less mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the petite chef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I didn't have cocktail sauce so I used the original chili sauce. I also omitted the lemon juice. I didn't have ground dry mustard so I used spicy brown mustard! I didn't cook it nearly as long, it was ready in 40 minutes! I thought it was delicious! It reminded me of ribs! Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Pasta

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This was a good foundation, but I added different herbs to my taste likings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Easy and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campbell's® Beef and Mushroom Dijon

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This was not good at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Springtime Spaghetti

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
One word describes this recipe: Unbelievable!!! I normally stick to tomato based sauces with pasta, I am SO glad I branched outside of my comfort zone because this was amazing! I never measure anything exactly so I didn't follow it to a "T". I also added Italian seasoning, onion and mushrooms. My husband absolutely loved it, and my 4 year old gobbled it all up! Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato Vodka Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
WOW!!!! This recipe is among one of the best I've ever made!!!! I made some modifications, but other then that, spot on AMAZING!! I added a few cloves of minced garlic (I love garlic, you can never get enough!), I also used the "basil, garlic and oregano" diced tomatoes. I added some extra Italian seasonings as well, while cooking the water out of the tomatoes. But I think the key modification I made to this recipe was I used a cheese ravioli instead of penne pasta!!! SO YUMMY! It will be added to my regular rotation!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Style Sausage

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I used this recipe for italian sausage because I could only find pork sausage at the store. It was wonderful!! I added this to the pizza casserole recipe I made for dinner!!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Lasagna

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I loved everything about this recipe!! Will make again, but will add more beef :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Meatloaf

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This was fantastic!!! I sauteed the green pepper, onion, and added 2 cloves of minced garlic in olive olive or butter, until tender, then added the beef. Also, instead of putting the rest of the steak sauce on the top I mixed BBQ sauce, mustard and brown sugar together and poured it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I don't even know what I did with this recipe! I followed the ingredients of the original recipe, however I followed the directions of another reviewers'. It was just ok for me, it was fun to make though!! I agree with another reviewer that it's missing something and that something is meat! Maybe I'll add brats or polish sausage next time. My husband also thinks I need to cut down on the fat and calorie content, this recipe didn't help with that!!! **UPDATE** So I only gave this 3 stars with the original recipe, but what I did with the left overs is a 5 star!!!! I boiled up some potatoes and mixed them in with the soup and made BEER CHEESE MASHED POTATOES!!!! I know it sounds weird, but I dare you to try it!!! Awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage with Farfalle and Broccoli Rabe

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Huge hit at our house! I used frozen broccoli florettes and gluten free pasta. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

Kielbasa and Cabbage

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I was pleasantly surprised with with recipe. Although the taste was great, I agree with others by substituting for more healthier options. It was a little too greasy the tummy. All in all pretty good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I have made this recipie exacty as is and it is amazing plus I have used the leftover tenderloin medallions for the most amazing tenderloin sandwich. I have made this many many times and I am making it again tonight...thatnks for an awesome recipie as this is definitely a keeper...simple and fabulous....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Besser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I followed the recipe for the most part, but before placing roast in crock pot, I pierced the roast on the fat side 9-10 times, just enough to insert a slice of garlic. I then placed roast in the crock pot, fat side up on top of the onions, added a dozen baby carrots at the perimeter. I added two teaspoons of hot (chinese) mustard and one teaspoon coarse ground horseradish to the sauce. Blended well and poured over the roast and set to low temp on the crock pot. Well liked by all who tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rightmind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I have made this many times and everyone loves it. I also had the problem of too much filling, even with a deep-dish crust. What I have started doing, and it comes out perfectly, is using 2 regular (not deep dish) pie crusts. I keep the ingredients the same except I double the pecans and chocolate chips and split the filling between the two crusts. I line the bottom of the pan with the chips; if you want to mix them in with the filling, don't double them. The pie is good either way but is more like a custard or chess pie when the chips are mixed in and more of a traditional pecan pie when you don't. I just prefer not mixing them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Hartnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States