Neenah - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Basic Pasta

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This dough was very easy to work with - not sticky at all. I needed to add all of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This is a pretty good recipe. I made a couple adjustments: 1) Reduced the flour to ~3/8 cup and added 2 Tbsp. cornstarch to filling mixture. Great filling consistency, not runny at all. 2) Some reviewers thought the pie was too sweet, so I used ~3/4 cup of sugar instead of the full cup. This was a little on the tart side (still good), but next time I'll probably go ahead and use the entire 1 cup of sugar. I rated the recipe a four because the filling tastes like it needs a little something extra. Not sure what that should be - lemon zest, ginger, or maybe just better strawberries. Next time I may try adding a little lemon zest and reducing the flour even more. I will definitely use this recipe again though - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Asparagus and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I loved this, but my kids didn't. I added a splash of balsalmic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

Lemony Garlic Shrimp with Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
My husband said it was the tastiest shrimp he ever had. The kids rated it 4 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
These are pretty good and got great reviews when I took them into work. I added a little vanilla (maybe 1/2 tsp) to the banana/sugar/egg mixture and about 1/4 tsp each of cinnamon and ground ginger to the flour mixture. I also doubled the cinnamon in the topping. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I am not a big fan of super sweet frostings, so this was a bit sweet for me, even after halving the sugar. The texture was really great, though! I made a variation using peanut butter (subbed butter and peanut butter for some of the shortening), and it was very smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Really 4.5 stars. Very good recipe. Cake has a great texture and is very moist. My only comment is that is wasn't quite chocolately enough, even though it seemed like there was plenty of cocoa powder. I think I might try decreasing the coffee next time (to 3/4 or 1/2 cup), in hope of making the cake a bit sweeter and letting the chocolate shine through a bit more. But still, this is the best chocolate cake I've ever made from scratch, and it's as good in texture and moisture as any boxed cake mix. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hearty Ham Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
The kids LOVED this and rated it 5 stars. My husband and I found it a bit bland and rated it 4 stars. The taste didn't justify how unhealthy it is. I topped with cheddar rather than american cheese. Perhaps different veggies would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
The kids loved this - they rated it 5 stars. The adults rated it 4 stars, but anything they'll eat is a winner in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

Italian Creme Layer Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
The cake was pretty good. Mine came out a little dense, but I left out the pecans and coconut, which might have helped the structure a bit more. My coworkers loved it though! Instead of adding the pecans and coconut to the batter, I toasted slivered almonds and coconut and added them to the outside of the cake, after frosting. I also doubled the frosting, and per the reviews, used less powdered sugar, probably 5-6 cups in the doubled recipe. This is only the second really good cake recipe I've found from scratch, so thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Parmesan Chicken Bake

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Husband and kids loved this. I halved 5 breasts. Next time I would cube them to make it easier to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

Hearty Hamburger Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Simple soup. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

Candied Almonds

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
These are pretty good. I followed the other reviewers advice and cooked the almonds in the sugar mixture until almost all the liquid was evaporated, but I could have cooked them a little less and been fine. If I make them again, I will wait to add the almonds until the syrup has reduced signficantly, as cooking the almonds in the syrup for that long gave them a slightly weird texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
A great cookie; these always get eaten up by lunchtime when I take them to work. I don't have any problem with the cookies spreading out, and I found that refridgerating the dough until chilled before rolling and lightly flattening the balls helped prevent too much spreading. The cookies stay nice and soft too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Cookies III

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
These tasted okay (far too sweet), but mine were crumbles after cooling. Maybe it's because I used real peanut butter or I didn't stir enough, but I couldn't let the kids eat them because they would turn into a pile of crumbs when we picked them up. They were not flat, cute, little, glossy cookies that were discussed or shown in pictures. And I know how to cook and make yummy hard candy so these should have been easy peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breadsticks with Parmesan Butter

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Great basic bread recipes. I cut it in half and found I had to add a bit more flour to get the dough workable, but the bread was sooo fluffy. Great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breadsticks with Parmesan Butter

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Great basic bread recipes. I cut it in half and found I had to add a bit more flour to get the dough workable, but the bread was sooo fluffy. Great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creme Brulee II

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Very good recipe; I followed the other reviewers and used 4 yolks. Very smooth with good flavor. I also used the wide flat ramekins, like I'd seen in restaurants, so the 25 minute cooking time was perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creme Brulee II

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Very good recipe; I followed the other reviewers and used 4 yolks. Very smooth with good flavor. I also used the wide flat ramekins, like I'd seen in restaurants, so the 25 minute cooking time was perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States