Neenah - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This was a home run for both my husband and myself. My only addition to the recipe was some sauted mushrooms, which I made ahead of time, then set aside, while I prepared the sauce as directed. Add the mushrooms just before serving. This will become a favorite sauce for us but, next time I plan on doubling the portion to have an extra portion to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mustang sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

Dill Sauce for Hamburgers

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I used this recipe for my baked salmon and it was great! Only added a couple of things just to spice it up. Depending on if you like horseradish. I added a tablespoon,and then a tsp. of lemon pepper. I also liked it with shrimp and crackers.I'm gonna try it in a bread bowl next time. All in all... a Great go to sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winneconne, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Anytime I bring these anywhere, multiple people ask for the recipe. That about sums it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilli Kroes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramelized Butternut Squash Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Very tasty! Reduced the cream by a little bit, but left everything else the same. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gary's Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I used real crab and reduced the butter to one stick (4 Tbsp went in the stuffing, 4 got melted and drizzled over the mushrooms). I also sauteed the reserved stems and garlic in the butter for the stuffing. Next time I may pre-roast the mushroom caps (to cook them more thoroughly and reduce liquid). The filling mixture is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage and Peppers Lasagna

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly but found that it really needed more sauce. It seemed a bit bland. Perhaps it would be better with more sauce. We did like the sausage instead of hamburger I usually put in my lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

Creamed Broccoli Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Per other reviewer comments, I made a few changes. I used chicken broth instead of water and bullion, used only two carrots, and cooked the broccoli for only about 10 minutes, then pureed everything together. I also added only a 1/2 cup of cream, instead of 2 cups half and half and left out the flour/water step. It was plenty creamy and thick. I actually forgot the soy sauce, but would add it next time as the soup needed salt - my fault. If I made it again I might even increase the amount of broccoli to get a stronger broccoli flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Penne, Sausage and Peppers

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Quick, easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

Kielbasa and Cabbage

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Great recipe; the normally dainty eaters we had over for dinner went back for seconds - and that's saying something. Following other reviewers, I browned the kielbasa first in the pan and then cooked the cabbage and onions in those drippings (didn't have any bacon, but that would be a great addition). Everything else was the same. Next time I will either reduce the water or cook the combined dish for awhile uncovered as there was a bit too much liquid left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chili Dog Casserole II

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Family loved it (except the daughter who dislikes tortillas and beans). Kids gave it 5 stars. I love that it is quick and easy. I used 2 cans of chili on the bottom and 2 on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

Red Rice and Sausage

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
It is good, but not great. I doubled the sausage, (actually 28 oz, since my store sells sausage in 14 oz, not 16 oz)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

Citrus Salmon in Parchment

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
My only addition was some sea salt as other reviews had indicated. My husband loved the citrus flavor of the salmon, so it's sure to become a regular. 450 degrees for 15 minutes was perfect timing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mustang sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

Jess's Edition of Wicked Good Veggie Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Really good! Did this in the slow cooker, sauteing the pepper, carrots, garlic, and onion with the fake meat first. I used the fake meat crumbles instead of TVP (no soaking, just looks like ground beef). I reduced the cayenne pepper by 1/2 (didn't want it to be too spicy for the average person) and only used 2 cloves of garlic. It was still pretty spicy and so good! I also added a can of corn. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wicked Good Veggie Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Really good! Did this in the slow cooker, sauteing the pepper, carrots, garlic, and onion with the fake meat first. I used the fake meat crumbles instead of TVP (no soaking, just looks like ground beef). I reduced the cayenne pepper by 1/2 (didn't want it to be too spicy for the average person) and only used 2 cloves of garlic. It was still pretty spicy and so good! I also added a can of corn. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spiced Slow Cooker Applesauce

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Loved it! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used all pears (I had a huge craving for them.) Will definitely put this down as a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Jalapeno Firecrackers

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Really good base recipe. I made just a few tweaks - I used maple bacon and mixed a couple tablespoons of brown sugar with an equal amount of barbecue sauce for basting the peppers right near the end of baking. I filled the whole peppers with cream cheese and wrapped with bacon, instead of doing half-peppers. I was worried about the poppers being too hot for a mixed crowd, so I baked them for about a half hour total, instead of broiling, and they came out sweet and mellow and delicious, but I don't know how hot the peppers were to start with. Next time I make them, I think I'll reduce the baking time to keep more of the heat and keep the peppers more crisp. At any rate, these were great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Bars I

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Delicious, tasted very similar to a Reese's Peanut Butter Cup. Much more like a candy than a traditional cookie bar. Followed the recipe exactly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pretzel Turtles

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
These were great - people couldn't stop eating them at the party I took them to. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Chocolate Oat Bars

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Great, easy, flexible recipe. Followed other reviewers' advice - for a double batch I cut the butter to 3/4 cup and cooked the oat/butter/sugar mixture for 5-10 minutes while stirring. Turned out great! I also subbed 1/2 cup oatmeal with 1/2 cup flax seed. I think these would be wonderful with some toasted coconut mixed into the oatmeal too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orzo and Tomato Salad with Feta Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I used canned sliced black olives and dried herbs it was yummy and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States