Milwaukee - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sloppy Joes II

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This recipe was awesome! I used Heinz's Balsamic Ketchup and added some red pepper flakes but think that it would still taste pretty good as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Peters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheese and Olive Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
This was fabulous. I'm not a huge fan of olives but I wanted to try this because it looked different. I didn't have the onion powder so I left it out. Served with Bolognese over angel hair. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Mom's Peach Crisp

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
This was good. I used thawed frozen sliced peaches and I added cinnamon and cornstarch to the peaches as suggested by reviewers. I only used about 1/3 c brown sugar and it was still very sweet. Next time try 1/4 c brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102

Checca

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
A familiar way in our family to dress pasta, but a particular summertime favorite with garden fresh basil and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102

Take Out-Style Fried Rice

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
So good, so simple, so colorful and pretty. As I always do, I cooked the egg separately like a crepe, then rolled it up like a cigar and sliced it into ribbons, chiffonade style. I cooked the rice and carrots ahead of time as well, the carrots nuked in a bit of water. After cooking the rice I spread it out on a cookie sheet and refrigerated it until it was good and cold (the best way of doing fried rice). Once I was ready to put this together for supper, it was an absolute snap. For really authentic and delicious flavor, I added a wee drizzle of toasted sesame oil. Topped with sautéed shrimp and scallops, with some steamed asparagus on the side, this was a dinner I'll probably dream about - or at least think about the next time I get hungry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Coconut Macaroons III

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
These taste pretty good but perhaps a bit plain for me. I do have a process tip though: first combine the liquid ingredients and the flour to make a smooth paste. Only then should you add the coconut. This will let you simply focus on coating the coconut rather than trying to mix everything at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Peters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102

Luscious Lemon Triangles

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I'm not sure why the flour and baking powder are necessary (some lemon bar recipes call for it, other don't), but no matter - these are delicious. As I always do with lemon bars, be it a 2-egg recipe in an 8" square pan (as I made), or a 4-egg recipe for a 9x13" pan, I used 1-1/2 times the filling, as I prefer a higher filling to crust ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Uncle Sam Banana Split

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I was skeptical when I decided to make this,I favor my own lasagna recipe over anything Ive ever had at a restaurant and certainly made from frozen. But I wanted to give it a shot since there were SO MANY rave reviews. I followed the many recommendations of increasing the amount of ricotta. I doubled in and I should have only done a total of 24 ounces instead of 32. Here are the changes that I made: 1 full pound of lean ground beef in addition to the 1 pound of Italian sausage. Dried minced onion to replace fresh. Omitted the fennel, Italian sausage has plenty. Doubled the amount of tomato sauce since I had a bit more meat to work with. I DID NOT reduce the 1 tbsp of salt, you need this for flavor. It will not alter the taste, unless you add too much and or garlic salt, onion salt, broth or anything else that has added salt. Also, if you boil your pasta, do not salt the water. I added 3 tbsp white granulated sugar instead of 1, since I added more tomato sauce I had to add more sugar to balance the acid. Used dried parsley flakes in the ricotta instead of fresh, also added a dash of nutmeg (sounds odd but its great!), you can also omit salt here as well. I used oven ready lasagna shells. Next time I will use regular lasagna and I will not boil NOR soak in water. If the assembled lasagna has enough sauce which I LOVE, the pasta will cook to al dente in the extra sauce. It comes out perfect! Used all shredded mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Mini Ham And Cheese Rolls

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Very good. I've made these a few times now. Turkey works well too if you want a variety. The first time with the butter mixture on the top of bun. Too greasy to hold onto. This last time I buttered the inside only and that worked better but I only did one side of the bun. Next time: try butter mixture on both insides of the buns. Made with 7 layer salad for a nice make ahead dinner. 6 of these are good for the 2 of us with a hearty side for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Seven Layer Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Great! I used half mayo and sour cream and added a splash of cider vinegar to the dressing. I subbed garbanzos for the peas and hard boiled egg for the cauliflower. I really liked the parm cheese in the dressing. I sprinkled salt and pepper in the salad layers. Next time I will add salt and pepper to dressing as well. Served with mini ham and cheese rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Cherry Fluff

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Try with chopped walnuts!!!! YUMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Morales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy German Coleslaw

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
SO easy! I added a shredded carrot for color. Didn't measure any ingredients. I made the dressing in a large Pyrex dish that has a cover. Then I added the cabbage and carrot and just put the lid on and shook it all up. Served it right in the glass Pyrex dish. red bell pepper or purple cabbage would be great too for more color. Served with BBQ chicken and lemon roasted veggies and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Jen Pahl

Chorizo Stuffed Chicken Breasts with Raspberry Mole

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I will admit this took me 2 days to make. I made the sauces and pounded/stuffed the chicken one night and cooked the next night. BUT this recipe is awesome and well worth the effort. On the advice of other reviewers I increased the cocoa powder to 1 TBLS and the raspberry jam to 1/3 cup. I would add that I recommend using seedless jam. Also, on the advice of other reviewers I skipped the cheese and guacamole. Hot guacamole doesn't sound good to me anyway. I this is more of a Sunday dinner type of dish, since there are so many components, but you won't be disappointed. In fact, I just made the sofrito again yesterday and froze it for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Jen Pahl

Sausage with Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This was super easy to make, so I think 4 stars makes the most sense. I ran out of cilantro before I made this, so I put some adobo seasoning in the rice with the lime. Also, I used bulk Italian pork sausage, about 1/4 to 1/3 of a pound. Really fresh tasting. The cilantro would be wonderful in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

High-Fiber, High-Protein Breakfast Bars

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
My husband really likes these. Good way to get more fiber. I did use mocha cappuccino flavored hazelnut spread on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Peanut-Ginger Marinade

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I absolutely loved this. I didn't add the red pepper (cayenne) because the chili sauce I used was a really hot sambal oelek, and when I tasted the marinade after mixing it tasted quite spicy. After sitting overnight, however, I found the heat had mellowed quite a bit. Next time I think I'll add more of the chili sauce. Instead of skewering and cooking on a grill, I cooked the chicken under the broiler. That gave a nice char. This is a winner for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cuban Black Beans I

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I followed the recipe ingredients but decided to change the cooking method and saute the vegetables separately and add them at the end. That's more traditional (sofrito) and I thought I would like the texture better. Turns out that was a good idea, because my beans must have been very old. Soaked overnight and simmered > 3 hours and still not tender. Decided to toss them and opened a couple cans of black beans instead. Added the seasonings and a bit of water, simmered for a bit and added the sofrito. Left out the hot chile since I was serving this with a meal of a couple other spicy items. Served on white rice. This was very good; the bell peppers, garlic, and these spices are awesome with black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cucumber Chili Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Delightful! Went very well with a spicy meal. Even though this has hot chile (I used a jalapeno instead of serrano, it's what I had) it is still a cool and refreshing salad with the cucumber and mint. I think I'll use a bit less sugar next time, but still enjoyed this quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Adobo Pork Loin

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
After following the recipe for the rub, it didn't seem like enough to me, so I added another tablespoon of adobo. I'm glad I did, I think the balance was perfect. I didn't use Goya brand, but made my own from "Traci's Adobo Seasoning" also on this site. Very good stuff. I loved this, the slight hint of cinnamon and deep flavors of all those herbs and spices was warm and satisfying. The sugar and high oven temperature made for a lovely dark caramelized roast. This will be a regular around my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States