Menomonee Falls - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Thai Steamed Mussels

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
My family's newest favorite! They at first balked at me steering away from our usual tomato based mussels....but now....Thai Mussels are all they want. If it's not spicy enough add more red curry paste. Cooking is a science...experiment...I don't know how people cannot like these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIALAW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
"Best Breakfast Casserole you have ever served." and considering the number of breakfast casseroles I have made that is a compliment! I used sourdough bread just for fun but otherwise followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Rivers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by M. Rivers

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Dice the onions small for less crunch. Perfect recipe that will be used many times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Rivers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Broccoli Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
A very tasty soup. My only issue w/ it would be the thickness, but I'm not sure I could thicken it much w/ out making the calorie count go up a lot. Adjustments per suggestions: 6T butter, most of 1 28oz bag broccoli, 1.5lbs fresh cheddar cheese none of that processed loaf . Additionally used the mushrooms & wine w/ the onions along w/ 4 cloves garlic. Pureed w/ the immersion blender prior to adding the broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

Turkey a la King

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I used my Thanksgiving turkey leftovers. I took the advice of others and did not use heavy cream, but 2% milk instead. Also, in the place of actual flour I used Wondra. For more flavor, I added garlic powder. Pepperidge Farm sells puff pastry shells which were amazing with this. Thanks for a nice recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Fredrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M. Rivers

Veronica's Hot Spinach, Artichoke and Chile Dip

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I added some garlic but it would have been great as is. I got rave reviews at the family Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Rivers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by M. Rivers

Broccoli Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Needed some real cheddar cheese for more flavor. Added about 3-4 cups of shredded cheese to make it truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Rivers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Soft Chocolate Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Made these on a whim last night and boy am I glad I did. I added three different kinds of chocolate chips and that only made this recipe better. I also had to substitute shortening for the butter as that was all I had on hand ... and I'm sure this helped make the cookies even better. I didn't bother setting a timer, I just watched them closely and removed from oven when small cracks started to appear on the tops of the cookies. I was also sure to only soften the shortening (not melt it) and use cold cookie trays for each batch. The dough did not flatten or spread while in the oven. Finally, with some chocolate frosting, these cookies are tonic to a PMSing girl's soul.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Tarrin Storsved

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crescent Dogs

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
An excellent unhealthy lunch, football party snack, or potluck appetizer. These are quick and easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Rivers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by M. Rivers

Whipped Cream Biscuits

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I will add a little more salt next time based on personal preference, but this recipe is definitely a keeper. They were light and fluffy and fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Rivers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Mini Tacos

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Delicious...I added some refried beans and these were a hit. Even my toddler enjoyed these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Rivers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Breakfast Pies

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Made these this morning and my family loved it. It was a fun departure from other things we do for Sunday brunches. This recipe is so very versatile that vegetarian friends can enjoy their pies prepared at the same time as the meat eaters. A word of caution: use only half of the preportioned biscuit and have tinfoil ready below for the inevitable overflow. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Tarrin Storsved

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raspberry and Serrano Sangría

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Could add a shot or two of Brandy or tripple sec to up the potency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is such a great place to start. I won't bother mentioning how I tweaked this recipe since I've done it so many times. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Tarrin Storsved

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Manicotti Shells

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
It took a couple of tries to figure out (likely since I'd started at 11pm and had had two glasses of wine), but once I did these shells were amazingly easy. I wasn't sure if they would have the same texture and flavor of regular pasta and was pleasantly surprised to find that they didn't. These shells are BETTER than regular pasta: more delicate and excellent flavor. Next time (and there will DEFINITELY be a next time!) I'm going to add finely chopped fresh herbs to the shell batter and likely go with a gentler sauce -- I whipped up my own red sauce to cover these once they were filled, and while that was delicious with the three-cheese and meat filling, I'm anxious to experiment! So fun, so delicious. My mother passed her "cook crown" to me upon eating these. Thank you DianeW!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Tarrin Storsved

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chili with Ground Turkey

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Good, but I feel like it was missing something.. I think a healthy addition of diced fresh chili peppers would add some depth... I think using 99% lean ground turkey breast may have robbed it of some of the richness that I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

Positively Addicting Pepper Jelly

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I LOVE this Pepper jelly!!! No need to tweak this recipe at all. It stands on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamOHe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baxter, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Chicken II

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
fantastic bacon not required, lowfat creme cheese no problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
num!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Very very good. I'll definitely make these more often now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States