Menomonee Falls - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Stuffed Sole with Imitation Crab

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Substituted Tilapia for Sole. Tasted great! Only thing was I couldn't roll up the tilapia, so I kind of just topped it with the crab mixture. Very nice & relatively healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Fredrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I am a huge fan of this recipe! I have probably made it 5 times. The only thing I do add (if I have it on hand) is chopped carrots or corn. Love that the calories are low in this one too. SO tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Fredrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Awesome Recipe!! I used ground venison, McCormick Chili Pkt, Chi Chi's Mild Chunky Salsa and Bush's brand Kidney beans. Everyone who has tried this wants more. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom and Swiss Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Really good. And easy! I followed the directions exactly and it turned out wonderful. The red wine vinegar gives it a nice tangyness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Fredrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Kiss Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I am giving it 3 stars because, although they tasted great, they were flat. Also, whatever you do, do NOT use a chocolate kiss that has a center to it (ie - caramel or mint). You'll have a huge gooey mess on your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Fredrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Needs a bit more seasoning, other than that I didn't change much. I went with fresh baby carrots and fresh sweet potatoes instead of canned. Once I tasted I added a good chunk of garlic powder and a little more salt and pepper. I would definitely make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

Low Carb Jambalaya

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Fantastic. Made my own cajun seasoning and probably went 1/4 cup on hot sauce other than that made as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Delicious. I decided to saute the onion prior to topping the chicken with it and the avocado and I don't think it would have been quite right raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

Slow-Cooker Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs Recipe - Cook’s Country

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Good, but not as good as I was hoping for. I wanted more infusion of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

Balsamic Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Good, but would be better w/ a little basalmic garlic injection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I've made this on a couple of occasions and I love it, especially when chilly fall days set in. I've made it as is with great results, I've doubled it with no issues and I've tweeked it to my particular tastes and each time it comes out great! In my most recent version, I changed up the spices a bit and included some smoked paprika and a teeny bit of chili powder and thyme. I also added about a tablespoon of my favorite hot sauce in with the eggs and beat them to mix it all together before adding it to the meat mixture. Rather than adding the onions with the meat to cook, I dice them and add them to the drippings with 8oz. of chopped mushrooms and 1-2 tablespoons of butter. Instead of sherry, I used Madiera wine. Increase the flour by 50% and after adding the broth and wine, I add 1/2-3/4 cups of milk. The little bit of extra richness is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Hamilton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

Roasted sweet potatoes with apples and maple-sage butter

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Great, but a bit more trouble than it might be worth. I would use more sage and at least double the syrup and ensure you toss the syrup lemon juice in the bowl, not the still hot pan or you'll melt off most of the flavor. It's a bit tough to time these to come out at the same time as 15min isn't enough time on the Sweet Potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

Apple Caramel Cheesecake Bars

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Really nice & rich! Definitely use Granny Smith apples, as they are so nice and tart. I only made one change and that was adding an 1/8 cup brown sugar to the cream cheese mix. For me, it just seemed like it needed a tad more sweetness & that did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Fredrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Shredded Beef for Tacos and Burritos

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I think it's a shame to make this using a taco seasoning mix (hence the 3 rating) and make my own blend of spices to add more than a salty flavor. Also, I shred the beef right in the crock pot, or even in a 9X13 pan, to make prep a lot less messy. You can't beat a crock pot dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Hamilton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

Hearty Hot or Cold Roasted Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This was great. Roasted the tomatoes with one whole head of garlic other then that I followed the recipe as is. I put cheesE tortellini in but you chould add anything if you wanted. WONDERFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pan Seared Tenderloin with Mushroom-Dill Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I was worried my meat was going to be overcooked as the outside was gray then dark during cooking, but it came out about perfect. The sauce was made w/ 5oz fresh shitake and some re-hydrated chanterelles. The sauce was flat out amazing, beef delicious. I served w/ some mini eggplant parm and an IIPA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

Chicken Burgers with Red Cabbage and apple slaw

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Very good. Served w/ a little mayo on the bun top and a slice of tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

Beer Barbeque Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Made w/ a Rodenbach Grand Cru. That was a tasty combination. A little extra garlic and a touch of apple cider vinegar in the front to thin it out a touch for the boil/simmer phase.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

Smokey Tequila-Lime Marinade

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
a nice marrinade. I didn't have enough cilantro and I missed that part, but the tequilla left a distinct little taste even after grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

Slow Cooker Sweet Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Delicious! Only change was subbing kidney beans for a can of hot chili beans, adding a couple tablespoons of my homemade chili powder, and adding a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes. (~2lbs of chicken breast was perfect)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States