Kenosha - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Highland Chef

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Won a chili cook off with this recipe. I use half spicy and half regular italian sausage. I also use whatever chilis are looking the best at the time (i.e. jalapeño, serrano, or habanero). This is one of those great recipes that is extremely flexible. I always seem to add more bacon bits, chocolate and some of whatever beer is in the fridge. This also makes for a killer topping on hot dogs with cheese. Get organic canned tomatoes for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Highland Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Scalloped Tomatoes 2

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was excellent. So glad to find a recipe with fresh tomatoes as I used to make a version with diced canned tomatoes. Only changes were that i used gluten free bread cubes and I misread the recipe and used 1/4 c brown sugar. For our taste that was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scalloped Tomatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was excellent. So glad to find a recipe with fresh tomatoes as I used to make a version with diced canned tomatoes. Only changes were that i used gluten free bread cubes and I misread the recipe and used 1/4 c brown sugar. For our taste that was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I love these cookies as does my entire family. I make a triple batch of them! I do a little different than the recipe. Instead of white sugar I use 1c brown, 1c confectioner's and 1c white with 3c peanut butter and 3 eggs. I like that the brown sugar gives them a little chewiness and the confectioner's cuts the white sugar so you don't get any gritty texture at all in these. It also stiffens the dough so they don't spread. You can do them with more confectioner's sugar if you like a really solid cookie. I also use a small scoop to form these and just put the flat side down on the cookies sheet-no rolling and rolling! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz

Pizza Pasta by Johnsonville®

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Have been making similar recipes to this one for years and they have been lacking in flavor. Using the Johnsonville sausage filled that gap. Added mushrooms, as is our flavor, and this is a WIN! recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
My kids never like what I make, so when they asked what was for dinner, I told them soup and that they could name it after they tried it. They decided it will forevermore be named "Delicious" soup. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenocarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz

Italian Layered Salad with Bison Pepperoni

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Family didn't care for fennel or basil in this recipe, but that is a personal choice. I thought the sausage was pretty good, maybe a little more spice would make it super tasty. Beautiful looking salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

Fruited Gelatin Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
My Great Grandma Velma used to make this as did my gramdma Roberta and my mom. Yes, cheese and jello and pineapple is actually delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenocarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Impossible Coconut Pie I

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Just like my mom used to make. I think it's best served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenocarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Actually I follwed this recipe and have to tell - it is not a good idea to make spicy chicken wings in the crockpot. Sauce became too watery, chicken too soft and taste not as good as baked chicken wings. Bake them in oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arnazas
Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbequed Peaches

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I did not like this at all. The combo of the peaches and BBQ sauce was not pleasant. I think that a simple grill on the peaches and maybe a little honey and brown sugar would have been much more appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Colgate, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by RAYRAYL

Winter Root Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
A local Irish restaurant in town serves root soup and I wanted to find the recipe. This is VERY close! It was delicious. The only thing I did different was I did add Garlic and I had some rutabaga that I added from our garden. Some are saying the texture was too 'baby food like'. That is exactly what root soup is! :) If you are adding more broth, then saying it is too bland - that is why. If you add too much broth you are watering down the taste of the veggies. I served this with some home made Irish Brown Bread. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYRAYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough + Cupcake = The BEST Cupcake. Ever.

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Made these with the grand girls and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

Classic Goulash

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This recipe has been a classic meal in our family as well as most people I know. We call it "Eat More".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz

Burgers with Grilled Onions

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Family consumed these burgers before I could even add the onions to the serving platter! I'm glad I have found the recipe for the "perfect burger". No need to add anything to the beef. Pure beef taste is amazing. Used 80/20 and cooked on the grill perfectly done. I did place formed patties in freezer for a few minutes to firm up. No need to add anything to meat. Grilled onions added depth of flavor. Thanks for bringing us back to the simple roots of beef burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

Glazed Meatloaf I

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Excellent! I had 3# of meat so increased proportions. Made fresh bread crumbs from some stale kaiser rolls so I winged it there. Doubled sauce but only used 1 1/2 tsp dry mustard. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glazed Meatloaf I

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Excellent! I had 3# of meat so increased proportions. Made fresh bread crumbs from some stale kaiser rolls so I winged it there. Doubled sauce but only used 1 1/2 tsp dry mustard. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz

JELL-O Patriotic Mini Fruit Tarts

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
What a fun dessert to make. Tasty and quick and cute! I used a doughnut cutter to cut pastry. Next time we'll change around pudding flavors and fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by ibbz

Pizza Supreme

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Daughter and I loved the pizza. She is not a green pepper lover but said she might just change her mind from now on. Just the right amount of topping and no chopping. Quick, easy, tasty,,what more can you ask for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

Cool Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This the recipe my German mother in law taught me using fresh garden ingredients. I add a squeeze of fresh lemon juice to brighten things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States