Kenosha - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

German Rouladen

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Living in Mexico, I could not find dill pickles, so I decided to 'Mexicanize' it a bit by using pickled Jalapeno peppers (Jalapenos en escabeche). My dinner guests, who are all used to 'picante' food (i.e. spicy hot), loved it, as did I. You can control the level of spiciness by the quantity of chiles you use. Also, instead of using beef bouillon, I used beef extract, which has a richer flavor, but don't salt the meat as the extract (and bouillon) has plenty of salt already. Finally, I added 3 tablespoons of flour to the sauce to thicken it. Everybody licked their plates! I served it with 'rot col' (Braised red cabbage with apples, German style) asparagus with Hollandaise sauce, homemade spaetzle (use club soda instead of water for a light spaetzle)and homemdade German Brochen (hard rolls).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PYandre

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz

Homemade Summer Sausage

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Family likes the flavor and texture of this recipe. I did add more mustard seeds as per our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
My family loved this. Mine was very soupy so next time I will add quite a few more tortillas (double layer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Vegetarian Minestrone

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is actually a little dull and I sautéed onions, etc., ahead of time to get every bit of flavor I could. Wanted to love this but didn't. That said it is satisfying enough and is providing an easy lunch as leftovers. But no one else in my family will revisit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple, Cranberry, and Pear Crisp

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Not too sweet. I did cut back a bit on the butter--I used 3/4 c in a doubled recipe. I knew making as is it would be wiped out in the blink of an eye! Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Followed the recipe pretty much as written but i did increase sausage to a full pound. And dont second guess amount of red pepper flakes like I did. The amount in recipe will be plenty! I doubled and it was very spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hearty Hamburger Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I pretty much followed this recipe as is but did not have the tomato soup on hand. I added some other vegetables I had that needed to be used (some leftover corn and a small zucchini I chopped) and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz

Halloween Fruit Apple Teeth Treats

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Grand girl had fun helping me with this one. Tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by ibbz

Bloody Hand Sandwiches

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Loved making this! So interchangeable with your meat addition. This one is with beef sausage bites. Will be adding black olive nails and serving on a bed of linguine and pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Highland Chef

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Won a chili cook off with this recipe. I use half spicy and half regular italian sausage. I also use whatever chilis are looking the best at the time (i.e. jalapeño, serrano, or habanero). This is one of those great recipes that is extremely flexible. I always seem to add more bacon bits, chocolate and some of whatever beer is in the fridge. This also makes for a killer topping on hot dogs with cheese. Get organic canned tomatoes for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Highland Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Scalloped Tomatoes 2

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was excellent. So glad to find a recipe with fresh tomatoes as I used to make a version with diced canned tomatoes. Only changes were that i used gluten free bread cubes and I misread the recipe and used 1/4 c brown sugar. For our taste that was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scalloped Tomatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was excellent. So glad to find a recipe with fresh tomatoes as I used to make a version with diced canned tomatoes. Only changes were that i used gluten free bread cubes and I misread the recipe and used 1/4 c brown sugar. For our taste that was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I love these cookies as does my entire family. I make a triple batch of them! I do a little different than the recipe. Instead of white sugar I use 1c brown, 1c confectioner's and 1c white with 3c peanut butter and 3 eggs. I like that the brown sugar gives them a little chewiness and the confectioner's cuts the white sugar so you don't get any gritty texture at all in these. It also stiffens the dough so they don't spread. You can do them with more confectioner's sugar if you like a really solid cookie. I also use a small scoop to form these and just put the flat side down on the cookies sheet-no rolling and rolling! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz

Pizza Pasta by Johnsonville®

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Have been making similar recipes to this one for years and they have been lacking in flavor. Using the Johnsonville sausage filled that gap. Added mushrooms, as is our flavor, and this is a WIN! recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
My kids never like what I make, so when they asked what was for dinner, I told them soup and that they could name it after they tried it. They decided it will forevermore be named "Delicious" soup. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenocarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz

Italian Layered Salad with Bison Pepperoni

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Family didn't care for fennel or basil in this recipe, but that is a personal choice. I thought the sausage was pretty good, maybe a little more spice would make it super tasty. Beautiful looking salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

Fruited Gelatin Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
My Great Grandma Velma used to make this as did my gramdma Roberta and my mom. Yes, cheese and jello and pineapple is actually delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenocarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Impossible Coconut Pie I

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Just like my mom used to make. I think it's best served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenocarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Actually I follwed this recipe and have to tell - it is not a good idea to make spicy chicken wings in the crockpot. Sauce became too watery, chicken too soft and taste not as good as baked chicken wings. Bake them in oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arnazas
Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbequed Peaches

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I did not like this at all. The combo of the peaches and BBQ sauce was not pleasant. I think that a simple grill on the peaches and maybe a little honey and brown sugar would have been much more appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Colgate, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States