Kenosha - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chocolate Coffee Buttercream Icing

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Used Hershey's Dark Chocolate powder and a bit less sugar and it is perfect. Used on Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes and it was a perfect compliment. Rich, smooth and very chocolatey tasting. Big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by ibbz

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Made these as written. Everyone loved them. Texture is great, smell is wonderful, flavor is top notch. We could taste the chocolate, hint of coffee, bacon on top was a great touch. Chocolate Coffee Buttercream Icing recipe on this site was perfect topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This is good and simple. Made exactly as directed though I did cover with foil for the first 30 minutes of cooking just to keep moisture in. Hubby really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Goldenrod Egg

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Grew-up eating this ("eggs a la goldenrod") in the Midwest-- love it!!!! You can make this fairly simple recipe even easier by just mincing up the yolks with a knife. This was ways a family favorite-- thanks for the reminder! You can also replace the eggs with a chopped "Buddig"-brand type of sliced beef and it turns into a yummy chipped beef recipe over toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devine Dessert Diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz

Homemade Pizza Sauce with Olive Oil

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Excellent balance of herbs and tomatoes, adding olive oil at ends gives great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

Family Banana Nut Bread Recipe

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Wow! This was so moist and it had a nice dense yet fluffy texture. I will absolutely switch out my current recipe and make this my go to. The only thing I did different is added some pecans in with the walnuts as my husband is a nut freak :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Colgate, Wisconsin, USA

Sesame Beef Bites

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Excellent recipe; I would have given 4.5 stars, but I made many substitutions and simplified a few things . Overall the sauce was perfect and after using the tenderloin will spend the money and use this in all Asian inspired dishes. My primary changes are as follows: - the marinade effective penetrates the beef after only a few minutes of shaking the bag and light tenderizing on counter. I had very little prep time and was pleased the marinade worked in 5-10 mins. - instead of broiling the meat I own fried on high heat including marinade. Marinade cooked away for the most part. -added broccoli while cooking meat; I only had frozen florets but hey turned out with excellent taste and texture. -Multiple marinade ingredient substitutes, only because I lack many traditional Asian go-to's. Primarily consisted of Apple cider vinegar, soy sauce, liquified coconut oil, half a white onion and added garlic (5 small cloves)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz

Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Used my own rub but the cooking method was spot on, wonderful! Adding the sauce, cooking, adding sauce made these soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

German Rouladen

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Living in Mexico, I could not find dill pickles, so I decided to 'Mexicanize' it a bit by using pickled Jalapeno peppers (Jalapenos en escabeche). My dinner guests, who are all used to 'picante' food (i.e. spicy hot), loved it, as did I. You can control the level of spiciness by the quantity of chiles you use. Also, instead of using beef bouillon, I used beef extract, which has a richer flavor, but don't salt the meat as the extract (and bouillon) has plenty of salt already. Finally, I added 3 tablespoons of flour to the sauce to thicken it. Everybody licked their plates! I served it with 'rot col' (Braised red cabbage with apples, German style) asparagus with Hollandaise sauce, homemade spaetzle (use club soda instead of water for a light spaetzle)and homemdade German Brochen (hard rolls).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PYandre

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz

Homemade Summer Sausage

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Family likes the flavor and texture of this recipe. I did add more mustard seeds as per our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
My family loved this. Mine was very soupy so next time I will add quite a few more tortillas (double layer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Vegetarian Minestrone

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is actually a little dull and I sautéed onions, etc., ahead of time to get every bit of flavor I could. Wanted to love this but didn't. That said it is satisfying enough and is providing an easy lunch as leftovers. But no one else in my family will revisit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple, Cranberry, and Pear Crisp

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Not too sweet. I did cut back a bit on the butter--I used 3/4 c in a doubled recipe. I knew making as is it would be wiped out in the blink of an eye! Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Followed the recipe pretty much as written but i did increase sausage to a full pound. And dont second guess amount of red pepper flakes like I did. The amount in recipe will be plenty! I doubled and it was very spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hearty Hamburger Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I pretty much followed this recipe as is but did not have the tomato soup on hand. I added some other vegetables I had that needed to be used (some leftover corn and a small zucchini I chopped) and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz

Halloween Fruit Apple Teeth Treats

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Grand girl had fun helping me with this one. Tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by ibbz

Bloody Hand Sandwiches

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Loved making this! So interchangeable with your meat addition. This one is with beef sausage bites. Will be adding black olive nails and serving on a bed of linguine and pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Highland Chef

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Won a chili cook off with this recipe. I use half spicy and half regular italian sausage. I also use whatever chilis are looking the best at the time (i.e. jalapeño, serrano, or habanero). This is one of those great recipes that is extremely flexible. I always seem to add more bacon bits, chocolate and some of whatever beer is in the fridge. This also makes for a killer topping on hot dogs with cheese. Get organic canned tomatoes for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Highland Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Scalloped Tomatoes 2

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was excellent. So glad to find a recipe with fresh tomatoes as I used to make a version with diced canned tomatoes. Only changes were that i used gluten free bread cubes and I misread the recipe and used 1/4 c brown sugar. For our taste that was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scalloped Tomatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was excellent. So glad to find a recipe with fresh tomatoes as I used to make a version with diced canned tomatoes. Only changes were that i used gluten free bread cubes and I misread the recipe and used 1/4 c brown sugar. For our taste that was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States