Kenosha - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Tomato Chicken Parmesan one pan

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This is quick and really flavorful! To make it even easier, after sautéing the chicken in a cast iron pan, I pour heated sauce right on top, top with the cheese (had and used provolone) and put it straight into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This is quick and really flavorful! To make it even easier, after sautéing the chicken in a cast iron pan, I pour heated sauce right on top, top with the cheese (had and used provolone) and put it straight into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Super! I made four loaves so doubled everything. Omitted the oil but I had a huge zucchini and pureed with blender so it is moist. I added 2 cups raisins and 2/3 C chia seeds. Baked at 350° for 1 hour 15 min or until edges start to pull away from sides and tooth pick comes out clean. Oops almost forgot..the huge pureed zucchini was 4 cups (for four loaves).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRolfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Toast Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Not sure what happened here but I followed the recipe and it was looking good; top browning, rising nicely but then after I pulled it out at 35 minutes, it fell. The inside was not completely done but the outside was just about overcooked. Will try again but at 300° for 45 minutes. That should do it. P.S. I also added 1 tsp of nutmeg, great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Colgate, Wisconsin, USA

Bombay to Bangkok Vegetable Curry

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I've made this twice now. Really I just use it as a reminder of the order of things. Usually I melt some coconut oil, saute onion, garlic and ginger in it, dumping in the curry powder, coriander/cumin, mustard seeds and extra tumeric. Then I'll add whatever kind of potato I have, some cut up carrots, cauliflower and garbanzos. I love either green beans or peas (or both) in this too. About 2 cups of veg stock boiled till carrots are done, add the beans cook a little longer til the desired "bite". Lastly turn to low and add 1-2 cans coconut milk. I have to admit I like it creamy so 2 is better to me. I'll probably end up adding more curry powder because I like it spicier than everyone else in my fam. And garlic salt. Everything is better w garlic salt. I never have lime leaves, dont add sugar, and if Im lucky I may have tofu in the house. It is still wonderful. Always serve with jasmine rice. I've gotta learn to make naan sometime. That would be the icing on the proverbial cake. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenocarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vietnamese Rice-Noodle Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I used 16 oz. of noodles (package size), boiled shrimp separately and added, doubled sauce, use shredded iceberg lettuce instead of cabbage and followed everything else exactly including garlic and cilantro quantities. Very yummy! Wish I had thai chilis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Cake II

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I should've realized that the amount of strawberries for the frosting was too much for the low amount of powdered sugar. Unfortunately, I used the rest of what I had and didn't have more to fix it. Fortunately, I had a block of cream cheese and it saved the icing and is so good! I will forever add cream cheese to this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Very good and easy with a moist final product. Add chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenocarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Crab-Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I used portobello mushrooms, and canned crab however I didn't have any eggs so I had to omit it. I just baked them for half the amount of time. They were so good my husband thought there was sausage in them. I may just omit the egg purposely next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Colgate, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Super easy and very yummy! I had to bake mine longer than 25 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Better Than Sex Cake II

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
It was OK, I guess I was expecting more. I didn't taste the caramel at all so I would definitely double that next time as well as the whipped topping. I didn't find the cake to be soggy as others noted. It was too much cake and not enough of anything else. Will probably make again with said changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Colgate, Wisconsin, USA

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Half of the topping recipe was plenty as this fit in a 10x7 pan. Had made previously with full amount and felt like we were eating more topping than fruit. As well, since my daughter is GF the GF flour can get too gritty in large amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Excellent! I did use half oil & half applesauce and a cup each of white and brown sugar. Probably closer to 3 c of zucchini--1 large one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Onion Jam

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Wow! Delicious. I think I would prefer thinly sliced (&perhaps halved) onions next time. My sugar seized even before I got the onions into the pan but thankfully I read reviews stating that this would melt back out. Mine is very thick--perhaps I overlooked but flavor is great. Next time I'm going to try balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mahogany Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
These were very good; a nice change from Buffalo style. I did double the sweet chili sauce to kick it up a bit. Just wish the sauce was thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
So easy and great! I must bake gluten free so used a double layer cake mix (Betty Crocker GF only makes one layer) and then followed everything else as written (making changes in prep as per other reviews. It was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lp

Bloody Broken Glass Cupcakes

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I made these for Halloween and they turned out pretty well I only had a few issues... The "blood" was WAY too dark but the recipe as read didn't make it dark enough. The broken glass didn't setup quite right and some of the pieces were a little bent and not as cleanly broken. Overall everyone thought there were awesome and most of them were gone by the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Colgate, Wisconsin, USA

Indian Chicken Curry II

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I've made it twice now and it always comes out amazing. The sauce is thick and full of flavor. My only issue is the yogurt doesn't blend completely into the sauce. I think maybe mixing the yogurt and coconut milk together before adding to the pan would work. It doesn't effect the texture at all just the presentation so I'm still giving it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Colgate, Wisconsin, USA

Suki's Spinach, Feta, chicken Pasta

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
excellent, one pan meal (as edited)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Monday Night Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
So good and so easy! I used gluten free pasta so added an additional cup of water to first step (GF pasta absorbs more water). I used rice thickener (slightly less than called for of flour for same reason). Didn't want to splurge so I used basic sharp cheddar. It was great and will become a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States