Kenosha - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Tomato and Bacon Jam

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Great over a block of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No-Frying Eggplant Parmesan

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Great way to make eggplant parm. I cut recipe in half for two of us and only needed one egg. Used homemade sauce I keep in the freezer. Also Italian shredded cheese vs plain mozzarella added more flavor. Serve with a side of Italian sausage. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Kale Crisps

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Holy Cow was this good! We had this at our work as part of our health and wellness program and I couldn't get enough. I've had many different types of kale chips but this one was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Colgate, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Raymundo "Da'Heat" Fernandez

Mom's Apple Fritters

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This is a great recipe. The cinnamon sugar gives it just the right sweetness. A good number of them didn't make it to the serving plate. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raymundo "Da'Heat" Fernandez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
These cookies were excellent and disappeared at a party I took them to. I had to laugh because my husband claims to not like pumpkin in any form except pie but when he tried these he claimed they were exactly like the spice cookies his grandmother made. We won't tell him they are pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Noodles

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Inedible salty as written. Not sure how to fix as I'll look for a different recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raymundo "Da'Heat" Fernandez

Habanero Hot Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This recipe was excellent. The only thing I did different was to double the recipe, added 10 deseeded, fresh from my garden Devil's Tongue Pepper, and added 6 teaspoons of sugar. It had a great flavor that everybody loved. I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raymundo "Da'Heat" Fernandez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

Southern Fried Apples

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I cut down butter to 1/3 c and used 1/3 c brown sugar. There was enough liquid left over to cook two more apples after dinner. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Peas Au Gratin Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Despite looking pretty bland, this is actually good stuff! I needed a "can sit for awhile" sort of recipe, since everyone comes home at a different time tongiht, and this worked perfectly. I LOVED that it calls for making a simple sauce rather than opening yet another can of "cream-of-something" soup. I did make a few tweaks, like other reviewers.....I had to use a bit more bread, since I think my pan was a bit larger, and I added cheese to the layers and the top----I DO live in Wisconsin, after all. Next time, will definitely change the bread to croutons, I think, and perhaps add just a bit of onion powder to the sauce, but otherwise, this is a quick, easy, "most people will like it" sort of recipe that is perfect at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAParker333

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Comfort food at its best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Eggplant Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I couldn't see wasting the energy to roast the eggplant whole. I peeled and diced it and roasted for 30 min. While I'm sure it would be delicious as is as a salad, I mashed the roasted cubes and added in enough of the dressing to make a spread. Also would be very sweet--in error we used 2 tbsp vinegar and even that is a bit on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Apricot Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Good recipe, the husband thought it was awesome! I used chicken breast instead of thighs because that's what I had. I cut the cook time in half to keep it moist. I thought I had apricot preserves but it turned out to be Apple Jelly. I know, not really the same but at this point I was not about to drive 30 minutes round trip for the preserves so I went with it and also added some dried garlic to the marinade. I put it in the oven covered with foil to get the chicken cooking without having the sauce get burnt. It worked a little too well because the sauce didn't get thick. 10 minutes before I took the chicken out I pulled out the dish and poured 90% of the liquid into a sauce pan and thickened it up with cornstarch. It really came out nice, the chicken was moist and the thick, sweet, onion flavored sauce complimented it. Served with roasted butternut squash and a salad. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Colgate, Wisconsin, USA

Tomato Chicken Parmesan one pan

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This is quick and really flavorful! To make it even easier, after sautéing the chicken in a cast iron pan, I pour heated sauce right on top, top with the cheese (had and used provolone) and put it straight into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This is quick and really flavorful! To make it even easier, after sautéing the chicken in a cast iron pan, I pour heated sauce right on top, top with the cheese (had and used provolone) and put it straight into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Super! I made four loaves so doubled everything. Omitted the oil but I had a huge zucchini and pureed with blender so it is moist. I added 2 cups raisins and 2/3 C chia seeds. Baked at 350° for 1 hour 15 min or until edges start to pull away from sides and tooth pick comes out clean. Oops almost forgot..the huge pureed zucchini was 4 cups (for four loaves).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRolfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Toast Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Not sure what happened here but I followed the recipe and it was looking good; top browning, rising nicely but then after I pulled it out at 35 minutes, it fell. The inside was not completely done but the outside was just about overcooked. Will try again but at 300° for 45 minutes. That should do it. P.S. I also added 1 tsp of nutmeg, great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Colgate, Wisconsin, USA

Bombay to Bangkok Vegetable Curry

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I've made this twice now. Really I just use it as a reminder of the order of things. Usually I melt some coconut oil, saute onion, garlic and ginger in it, dumping in the curry powder, coriander/cumin, mustard seeds and extra tumeric. Then I'll add whatever kind of potato I have, some cut up carrots, cauliflower and garbanzos. I love either green beans or peas (or both) in this too. About 2 cups of veg stock boiled till carrots are done, add the beans cook a little longer til the desired "bite". Lastly turn to low and add 1-2 cans coconut milk. I have to admit I like it creamy so 2 is better to me. I'll probably end up adding more curry powder because I like it spicier than everyone else in my fam. And garlic salt. Everything is better w garlic salt. I never have lime leaves, dont add sugar, and if Im lucky I may have tofu in the house. It is still wonderful. Always serve with jasmine rice. I've gotta learn to make naan sometime. That would be the icing on the proverbial cake. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenocarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vietnamese Rice-Noodle Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I used 16 oz. of noodles (package size), boiled shrimp separately and added, doubled sauce, use shredded iceberg lettuce instead of cabbage and followed everything else exactly including garlic and cilantro quantities. Very yummy! Wish I had thai chilis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Cake II

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I should've realized that the amount of strawberries for the frosting was too much for the low amount of powdered sugar. Unfortunately, I used the rest of what I had and didn't have more to fix it. Fortunately, I had a block of cream cheese and it saved the icing and is so good! I will forever add cream cheese to this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Very good and easy with a moist final product. Add chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenocarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States