Green Bay, Wisconsin - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Zucchini Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
These are yummy but are more like little cakes than cookies. As long as you want a very cake-like cookie, then you'll love these. I followed the recipe to a T except that I halved the sugar (they were still perfectly sweet), used butter instead of margarine, and omitted the cloves because I didn't have any. Oh, I did add a handful or two of chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Barbequed Steelhead Trout

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
This is an easy and tasty way to make lake trout. We did think that it was a tad sweet so the next time we make this we are trying it without the barbecue sauce finish. We grilled for about 12 minutes at 400 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
The first time it turned out absolutely brilliant, the second time - it was too runny and the cheese was curdled a bit. What was the difference? The white sauce. Make sure when you mix the flour and butter together, you have a fairly thick roux. The first time, I added a bit of extra flour to accomplish this - the second time, I followed the recipe exactly. I added the milk and stirred and stirred - but the white sauce never got as thick as it should, and then couldn't hold the cheese together once it was baking in the oven. I'll be making this again - with minced onions and keeping an eye on the consistency of the flour and butter mixture - because it's a great basic recipe for au gratin potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
People just gobble this up, very good! I'm giving four stars because I use an 8 oz can of water chestnuts- and the whole box of spinach, so it's probably thicker than intended, but can't imagine it would be as flavorful any other way. We used sourdough bread, which was great - also great with a more hearty loaf of bread - like rye. The bread runs out fast, so we served with whole grain crackers on the side, but you could also cut up some extra bread. Really tasty, try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
Very good recipe. Cooked the ribs in root beer in the slow cooker, let them cool, and put them in the refrigerator overnight. Then it was an easy matter to finish them the next day for a party. I just put them back in the slow cooker with Baby Ray's BBQ sauce - never bothered to finish them on the grill or in the oven. They were still good, although next time I will not skip the last step. Just ran out of time with a house full of people. One note - the suggested serving means each person will get about two or three ribs - so plan accordingly if you have hungry folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

Baked Chicken and Zucchini

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
made it for my 20 something kids. EVERYBODY loved it. I did add more salt, pepper and seasonings (really needed it)... threw in a few slices of bell pepper that I had on hand but otherwise followed the direction exactly as it is. Can't wait to make this again. No starch was needed at all - it was perfect just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Army SOS Creamed Ground Beef

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
Even my picky kids like this, it is my go to when I am running out of groceries...or looking for some comfort food. Tastes good over pasta, rice or mashed potatoes. I do like to season with extra pepper and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mousefrei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Cod with Boursin Herb Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
This was a nice dish that agreed with everyone at the dinner table, but did not have any "wow." I read a lot of the reviews and ended up using the laughing cow cheese. Next time I will try the recipe with the boursin and spice it up with some red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma Moyer's Rhubarb and Strawberry Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
I made this exactly as called for, it is perfect. The whole family loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mousefrei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smothered Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
Really good!!!!! Everyone said they real loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tangy Grilled Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
I have made this recipe twice, following the directions exactly, and it is awesome! I put it on the grill, but used a roasting pan instead of putting it right on the grate. It makes a nice centerpiece for a holiday or company dinner and is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Ranch Broiled Chicken

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
This was amazing and ridiculously simple. Mother-in-law says it's the best chicken she's ever had. The chicken was frozen when I started marinating it and was still very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Zephyr Cove, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Better-Than-Olive Garden® Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Family gobbled it all up! I sauteed garlic and onions in olive oil and butter for a bit more flavor, used the Italian blend shredded cheese, then a pinch of nutmeg. A definite must do again recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Boyer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brandy Slush I

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This turned out very well. It was easy to make and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Deviled Eggs -- Mexican Devils!

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Of course I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Russell Neimy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Laura's Unbelievable Chicken and Pasta

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Excellent. It's a little bland though so I added some Garlic pepper and salt to give it a little more flavor. Otherwise a very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Steenburgh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country-Style Steak

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I made this with venison steak & venison chops that had to get eaten up and it was absolutely fantastic! I added sautéed onions and mushrooms because we love them and thought it would be a great addition! I was hesitant about the amount of time in the oven but it was perfect! I couldn't believe how tender it was and the flavor was to die for! My boyfriend took one bite and he said "Omg, don't lose this recipe"! LOL Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bling

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Suamico, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Very basic and not very flavorful as written. I added Worcestershire sauce, peppers and garlic as some had suggested, and it was still not that flavorful - can't imagine what it would have been like without. I would have liked a little direction as to the quantity of salt and pepper, since you can't taste a raw hamburger mixture to gauge how much to add as you would soup. As for the sauce on top, you can do as well with a good barbecue sauce - or for that matter - dabbing some ketchup on top. I did like the suggestion to add milk, had never heard of that, and it did add some moisture to the recipe. Will continue to look for a meatloaf recipe that's got a little more going for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

Quick Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Very good quick and easy tuna casserole. The only thing I changed was using frozen peas instead of canned. We though it was very tasty and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smothered Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
WOW! This was just amazing! Cook your chicken however you'd like, add the toppings as the recipe describes, and enjoy. Simply amazing. I can't wait to make this for my folks in November when they come from out of state!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Schneider

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States