Eau Claire, Wisconsin - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Belle's Hamburger Buns

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I thought these were really good, mine did turn out a little dense but I'm pretty sure I used too much flour and wish I would have read more of the reviews warning of this. Oh well, live and learn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahnomen, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bean Burgers

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe. It does take a quite a bit of work so if you're lazy in the kitchen..move on, lol. It does make a lot however so all that work pays off when you easily pull out leftovers from the freezer! I only made a couple changes, I doubled the garlic powder and hot sauce, and instead of corn meal I used bread crumbs I made from some old rye bread, also I fried in peanut oil (vegetable oil is not good for you!) The whole fam really enjoyed these, husband was pleasantly surprised, 10 yr old asked for seconds and 7 yr old was happy that no animals were harmed in the making of these burgers!! I will def make these again and might increase the spices a little more. Thank you Eveningstar24!!! **** Update: Just made these again from the leftovers in the freezer. We put them whole wheat wraps with lettuce, onion, cheese and the authentic thousand island dressing from this site, Best ever! We have dubbed them Big Mac Bean Wraps. Introduced this to some newcomers and it was a huge hit with them as well. Am now making more as my left overs are gone. I'm actually making a double batch because it's so handy in the freezer! I store it in an old sour cream 16oz containers and each one is enough to make burgers for 5. Might try a bbq sauce ensemble next...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahnomen, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheeseburger Soup I

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I thought this soup was really tasty and filling, the kids loved it too. Only made a couple changes, used 4 cups beef broth instead(by accident), which works for me because I like my soups, soupy lol. I used a pound of hamburger instead of 1/2 lb and then only added a little sea salt, pepper and 1/2 to 3/4 tsp of ground mustard. Also used plain yogurt in place of sour cream because I was out. Turned out great! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahnomen, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Rice

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This is a great one-pot meal that's fairly simple to make. I changed the amount of spice in the recipe, because we don't like really spicy food. I cut the chili powder, paprika, garlic powder, and black pepper in half, and it was still a bit spicy for my young kids. So...if you don't care for spicy food, you'll definitely want to tweak the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by contrachapado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Patty's Mom's Black Bean Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I've never tried making soup from dried beans or from using a leftover ham bone. But this was a great soup to do both of those things with for the first time! My whole family loved it. My kids' couldn't get enough of it and are already asking when we can have it again. I followed the directions as written. But at the end I made a few adjustments because it just tasted like it was missing a level of flavor somehow. I would suggest using some chicken stock or chicken flavor boost packs instead of just adding more and more water. I also added a little cumin, Old Bay seasoning, garlic powder, onion powder and lots more black pepper. It really brought the flavor up to where I thought it should be. I didn't blend any of the soup like it stated. Instead I used the back of the spoon and kind of smashed the beans up against the side of the pot and that gave just enough mashed beans to give it that soup substance. My husband discovered that once it was cooled that it made for a great dip for tortilla chips as well! Can't wait to make this again, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maureen's Baked Beans

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
These beans were very good! We ate them with rice as a main course. The only modification I made was to put 1/3 the amount of chili powder called for, since I don't like spicy food. It was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by contrachapado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Cranberry Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was soooo easy to make and tasted great! I've never made gravy before, but this method was super-easy. We had ours with mashed potatoes, and it was really good. Even the kids kept asking for more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by contrachapado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
These were a nice change from our normal quesadilla recipe. I halved the amount of red pepper, since I don't like spicy food, but will add a bit more next time. Very tasty and the filling is good all by itself if you have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by contrachapado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This was very yummy and everybody wanted seconds. I made it exactly as the recipe stated, but will change a couple of things next time. Will add more veggies, since there was a lot of meat, and will at least double the potato topping. It was a bit skimpy. We really did enjoy this meal and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by contrachapado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Colcannon

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Fantastic! Can't wait to make this in the fall with fresh from the garden produce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angel Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This is the best ever!!!! I made this last week and I never eat left overs and I ate this for 3 days I will make it again this week as I am having company. I used chardonay wine in it and I also doubled the sauce as I like things saucey. Next time I will use penne verses the angel hair and I did throw some cheese on the top just before pulling it out of the oven but it really didnt' need it. I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wjaag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twig, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Very Simple Spelt Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Pretty good bread. I made some changes based on the many recommendations. Honey instead of molasses, almond milk, xanthum gum, and cinnamon. I loved it and my baby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hong Kong Sweet and Sour Pork

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I generally try not to rate a recipe unless I've followed it to the letter, but like so many others, finding potato flour/starch where I live is either impossible or way too pricey. I used corn starch for the marinade and the sauce, and rice flour to coat the pork, but followed the rest as written and WHAT an excellent dish! It does take a little work to put together, but nothing most any other meal wouldn't also take. I've seen the double fry method used in a lot of Asian recipes, and I don't know what the exact trick is, but it sure makes for the light and crispy coating that can be so illusive, so it's worth the extra dip in oil (especially peanut oil). VERY good S&S; hubby went back for seconds (RARE) and I'll be making it again (and again, & again...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Ginger Snaps

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Fantastic cookie. Followed recipe exactly. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Fantastic! this is now my pumpkin pie recipe! I did follow the suggestion to use 2 cups of fresh pumpkin. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Fantastic! this is now my pumpkin pie recipe! I did follow the suggestion to use 2 cups of fresh pumpkin. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Chicken Breasts in Tasty Mirepoix Ragout

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Great alternative to the standard "cream of mushroom soup" crock pot roast, I used a pork loin roast and the meat was very moist and mildly flavored. I did double the spices and add in about 1 tsp of liquid smoke. This would make excellent roast pork sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rubbed and Grilled Pork Loin

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I put the rub on in the am and took this camping - cooked it over an open fire that night and it was fantastic. Definetely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bob's Blue Cheese Dressing

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This Blue cheese is very good, it wasn't quite what I was looking for but still a pleasant dressing. I agree with other viewers that it was very thick but that was fine for us as we used it for wings and it stuck to the chicken nicely. I followed the recipe as stated, I did not add any milk to thin it out, however the next day it was super thin and watery. I'm confused as to how this happened, maybe because I used light mayo? that's the only thing I can think of so if anyone else has a clue I'd love to know! It tastes fine, and goes easily on a salad now! Lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahnomen, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States