Eau Claire, Wisconsin - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Cranberry Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was soooo easy to make and tasted great! I've never made gravy before, but this method was super-easy. We had ours with mashed potatoes, and it was really good. Even the kids kept asking for more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by contrachapado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
These were a nice change from our normal quesadilla recipe. I halved the amount of red pepper, since I don't like spicy food, but will add a bit more next time. Very tasty and the filling is good all by itself if you have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by contrachapado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This was very yummy and everybody wanted seconds. I made it exactly as the recipe stated, but will change a couple of things next time. Will add more veggies, since there was a lot of meat, and will at least double the potato topping. It was a bit skimpy. We really did enjoy this meal and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by contrachapado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Colcannon

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Fantastic! Can't wait to make this in the fall with fresh from the garden produce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angel Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This is the best ever!!!! I made this last week and I never eat left overs and I ate this for 3 days I will make it again this week as I am having company. I used chardonay wine in it and I also doubled the sauce as I like things saucey. Next time I will use penne verses the angel hair and I did throw some cheese on the top just before pulling it out of the oven but it really didnt' need it. I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wjaag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twig, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Very Simple Spelt Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Pretty good bread. I made some changes based on the many recommendations. Honey instead of molasses, almond milk, xanthum gum, and cinnamon. I loved it and my baby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hong Kong Sweet and Sour Pork

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I generally try not to rate a recipe unless I've followed it to the letter, but like so many others, finding potato flour/starch where I live is either impossible or way too pricey. I used corn starch for the marinade and the sauce, and rice flour to coat the pork, but followed the rest as written and WHAT an excellent dish! It does take a little work to put together, but nothing most any other meal wouldn't also take. I've seen the double fry method used in a lot of Asian recipes, and I don't know what the exact trick is, but it sure makes for the light and crispy coating that can be so illusive, so it's worth the extra dip in oil (especially peanut oil). VERY good S&S; hubby went back for seconds (RARE) and I'll be making it again (and again, & again...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Ginger Snaps

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Fantastic cookie. Followed recipe exactly. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Fantastic! this is now my pumpkin pie recipe! I did follow the suggestion to use 2 cups of fresh pumpkin. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Fantastic! this is now my pumpkin pie recipe! I did follow the suggestion to use 2 cups of fresh pumpkin. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Chicken Breasts in Tasty Mirepoix Ragout

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Great alternative to the standard "cream of mushroom soup" crock pot roast, I used a pork loin roast and the meat was very moist and mildly flavored. I did double the spices and add in about 1 tsp of liquid smoke. This would make excellent roast pork sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rubbed and Grilled Pork Loin

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I put the rub on in the am and took this camping - cooked it over an open fire that night and it was fantastic. Definetely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bob's Blue Cheese Dressing

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This Blue cheese is very good, it wasn't quite what I was looking for but still a pleasant dressing. I agree with other viewers that it was very thick but that was fine for us as we used it for wings and it stuck to the chicken nicely. I followed the recipe as stated, I did not add any milk to thin it out, however the next day it was super thin and watery. I'm confused as to how this happened, maybe because I used light mayo? that's the only thing I can think of so if anyone else has a clue I'd love to know! It tastes fine, and goes easily on a salad now! Lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahnomen, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
YUM! Followed recipe and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Pork Chops

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Not bad at all, but it could use a little tweaking to make it an awesome dish. The meat needed a little more cook time, about 15 minutes more. I was out of soy sauce and substituted worcestershire sauce, which moved it further into the realm of sweet, but it was still good. It needed something zippy, though: cayenne pepper or garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by contrachapado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Zucchini Sheet Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is an awesome cake!!! Made great cupcakes--good texture good shape wonderful! After reading other reviews I added a heaping 1/2 cup of Hersey's Special Dark unsweetened cocoa--UMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Root Beer Float Cake I

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
taste was good-texture was marginal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
very delicious! I would definitely recommend this! the only weird thing is that when stored in the fridge, it gets very thick. it's good but just use it up right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefHayley:)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Al's Cocktail Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
It was a good tasting sauce, but it DEFINITELY needed more ketchup. I would do at least 3/4 cup ketchup. Also, when i stored it in the fridge, it turned into a jell-o-like substance. very weird. the brown sugar maybe? sorry, but i won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefHayley:)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States