Eau Claire, Wisconsin - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Scalloped Cabbage

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I made this recipe as written with a couple of minor changes due to our diet, I used crushed cornflakes instead of bread crumbs as our family is gluten free, and used olive oil instead of butter, almond milk instead of regular milk due to we limit our dairy as well. I am a cabbage enthusiast so I loved it (I usually just eat it steamed with olive oil/salt/pepper), My husband whom doesn't care for it as much even enjoyed this recipe as did the kids who normally complain. I see that some have added cheese and whatnot but I feel if you truly love cabbage, these additions would just cover up the flavor of it. So if you are a cabbage lover, make it as is!!! Thank you for the great recipe GrammyRose! I will make this again, and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahnomen, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
i have been making this for years. it is basic stew and its never fail. i always omit salt when using wine. i do add extra pepper.and a bay leaf..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
A rose by any other name!! Crispy without being breaded. I used Louisiana Wing Sauce (Franks is more vinegar-y to me) with the butter and they are just the right heat for a pot luck. I just put hotter sauce on the side for the sadists, like me. :) Call 'em whatever you want, Buffalo, these are really really good. I did a trial run for Superbowl tomorrow and the OM has eaten almost half already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Spring Vegetable Risotto

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
i do believe the coments of many cooks , have to do with the temps of their stoves, i have made this many times with great results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tasty Buns

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Fantastic. After mixing in the last flour I knead for 10 minutes...just like regular bread then the buns will not be dense. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Homemade Beans

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Very simple recipe which is great but there was no depth in the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wine Baked Potato

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
i have made a variation of this for years. i simply cut a canoe shaped wedge . discard insert butter s&p, garlic onion and table wine of the day. in the oven or on the grill.. always a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Toasted Pumpkin Seeds

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Easy to prepare, easy to make. Excellent flavor. I have been requested to make this 'exact' recipe again this fall from our Halloween pumpkins as I did last season. Everyone who tasted them couldn't get enough of them! Five Stars!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karolyn Zuehlke
Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hide the Veggies Please! Summer Squash and Zucchini Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Moroccan Chicken Medley

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
simple and makes the chicken breast very moist. would be good served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Deluxe Waffles

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Super yummy! Just added some vanilla. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
kids loved them! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Roll Ups

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
These are amazing!!!! So easy to make and taste fantastic. I cooked over indirect heat until mostly done then put the heat under them to crisp up the bacon. Thanks everyone, even my kids, loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Cheesecake Dessert

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Crepes

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I would personally take the butter out of the recipe since it's already used to fry the crepes. when it's refrigerated, the butter hardens into little clumps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefHayley:)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Sirloin Tip Roast

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Onions

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Replace butter and chicken bouillon with 2 shots of Jack Daniels. Great addition to grilled steak and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJinAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cake Doughnuts

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Read all reviews and wanted them to turn out the 1st time. My son wanted donuts for his birthday "cake", so I choose these. I tripled the recipe to get enough and ended up with 43 donuts and holes. So, I used 2/3 cup of milk and room temperature, soft butter and I did use some whole wheat flour. Everything else as stated. Had a nice stiff dough and refrigerated them overnight. Rolled out great in the morning. No problems. For those new to donut making...it may be helpful for you to roll and cut all donuts out while oil is heating up to get that done and have enough ready to cook and also really slick to put freshly fried donuts on flat paper grocery bags spread out. The trickiest part for me in frying is getting that oil to stay the right temp, lots of waiting, don't rush and use oil that's not at temp. (oily donuts) or too hot (burnt, dark donuts). Good recipe with those adjustments, not frustrating as some have experienced. Not too sweet, just right with cinn/sugar and glazes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA

Blueberry Crisp II

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Very sweet! I liked it warm but thought it was much better chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahnomen, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Belle's Hamburger Buns

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I thought these were really good, mine did turn out a little dense but I'm pretty sure I used too much flour and wish I would have read more of the reviews warning of this. Oh well, live and learn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahnomen, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States