Eau Claire, Wisconsin - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I really love this recipe. Not too finicky, just good flavorful ingredients that I generally have on hand. I make a double batch, flash freeze right on the cookie sheets. I then place them in freezer bags so that I can pull them out of the freezer as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarterCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal Johnson

White Bean Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
My boyfriend and I both loved it. I substituted a green pepper for the tomatillos. I also added a small can of sliced mushrooms. This recipe wonderful and I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Made this as is (didn't read reviews first--my mistake) and the amount of pepper called for made it inedible. No one could eat it. It was a shame, since I could tell it would have been delicious. I will make again using only 1 teaspoon of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Rust

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wisconsin Girl

Gluten Free Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
OMG.... this is theeeee best zucchini bread EVER!!!! It seems I've tried a zillion Zucchini bread recipes and they either raise up way to high and then flop when they cool, or they turn out rubbery!!! You wouldn't even think this is Gluten Free!!!! The only changes I made were... Instead of canola oil I used coconut oil and instead of sugar I used coconut palm sugar. I also added 1 tsp each of ginger, cloves and nutmeg (we like a total fall tasting bread). I never would have thought that blending the liquid ingredients and zucchini(I used my food processor) would make the bread so soft... but man oh man!!! This is now going to be my go to recipe for all my sweet breads!! Going to try pumpkin next!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wisconsin Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
really liked this, though ended up adapting the recipe to suite what I had on hand. I use alot of " plain" recipes as a starting off place. The proportions here were right on. My changes were... I added Two Tbls lemon juice. 1/4 c. yellow cornmeal. and 1 cup blueberries. Another change I made was i smashed my bananas with a fork. After my additions i gave it another star!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn A Jaskowiak

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Lemon Curd

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
a classic curd would use only the yolks.I too,thought the instructions less than complete. When making a curd one generally makes the custard in the top of a double boiler, gently thickening the curd and avoiding the possibility of scoarching. If you are just looking for an ingredient list this recipe will suffice. Look further though for instruction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn A Jaskowiak

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I just made this my crust didn't get crispy but it stayed together I will do some things different next time. It was ok but I think I need to figure out how to get it crispy and a better taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wjaag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twig, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I tried the same récipé but it was called Stanford Hospital cookies. We love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by macmom6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread and Celery Stuffing

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Great and easy. This is much better than buying the box from the store! I added some craisins and it was gone! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Eye of Round Roast With Vegetables

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made this tonight and the whole family really liked it. I added mushrooms, though, and that was my husband's favorite part. I will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Rust

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Great recipe! I tried half cooking half of the bacon and use raw for the other to see if it made a difference...it didn't. Great filling I made as directed but also tried with feta...delish! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Squash Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Yum! Perfect creaminess and the cayenne gives it a nice little kick. I am not a spicy fan, so this is just perfect. I didn't have any cream cheese, so I used whole milk instead. I would imagine it would be even better with cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dragon Eggs

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I have a different twist on this one. After boiling and cooling the eggs, roll them on the counter to crack the shell all over but do not peel, return the eggs to the cold water with just the tea and soy sauce in the water. Let them soak over night, then peal the eggs. You will be delighted with wonderful individual patterns on each egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roadstarv98

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juicy Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
very juicy! I used butter instead. Geat easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pizza Sauce III

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
we use all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Champion Espeseth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peach Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I followed this recipe to a T...and it never set up. There was way to much juice to cut it. The taste of if was still pretty good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Soup with Herbs

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Great recipe. I added knorr® concentrated stock and 2 cups water instead of 1 cup chicken broth. When done cooking used submersion blended to partially cream. I also added some spinach asiago cheese chicken sausages. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Oh So Spicy Kielbasa

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Only problem with this recipe? Not enough! Quite the hit at a recent potluck. I toned down the heat just a little for that, but as is, this is excellent. Second time I made it, I didn't have maraschino's or grape jelly, but I did have cherry jelly and chopped up a handful of fresh cherries. (Cmon. I live in Washington. People look at you suspiciously if you buy maraschino's...) Just as savory sweet. Also very good with meatballs, and there's actually enough sauce to handle the 2 pounds of Kielbasa and a couple dozen meatballs as an appy. With just the kielbasa, this would be a great meal over rice with a fresh salad on the side. Thanks, abrusky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Scones

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Wow. I'm not familiar with how scones are supposed to taste, but I needed something fairly quick so I used my processor as suggested by one reviewer to whip these up. From the time I started collecting ingredients to when we were eating them was less than 45 minutes. I added orange zest and craisens, then drizzled with a little powdered sugar/oj glaze and they were wonderful. Not too syrupy sweet, crumbly but bisquit-like: Just a really good treat. Will DEFINITELY be making these more often, and can't wait to try different flavor combo's... BTW: I only had salted butter on hand so I halved the salt and they turned out great. Also, I put them on parchment paper and baked them on my pizza stone. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waffles I

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Amazing!! Extra sugar and vanilla are a must. These were SO yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States