Eau Claire, Wisconsin - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Wisconsin Girl

Gluten Free Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
OMG.... this is theeeee best zucchini bread EVER!!!! It seems I've tried a zillion Zucchini bread recipes and they either raise up way to high and then flop when they cool, or they turn out rubbery!!! You wouldn't even think this is Gluten Free!!!! The only changes I made were... Instead of canola oil I used coconut oil and instead of sugar I used coconut palm sugar. I also added 1 tsp each of ginger, cloves and nutmeg (we like a total fall tasting bread). I never would have thought that blending the liquid ingredients and zucchini(I used my food processor) would make the bread so soft... but man oh man!!! This is now going to be my go to recipe for all my sweet breads!! Going to try pumpkin next!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wisconsin Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
really liked this, though ended up adapting the recipe to suite what I had on hand. I use alot of " plain" recipes as a starting off place. The proportions here were right on. My changes were... I added Two Tbls lemon juice. 1/4 c. yellow cornmeal. and 1 cup blueberries. Another change I made was i smashed my bananas with a fork. After my additions i gave it another star!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn A Jaskowiak

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Lemon Curd

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
a classic curd would use only the yolks.I too,thought the instructions less than complete. When making a curd one generally makes the custard in the top of a double boiler, gently thickening the curd and avoiding the possibility of scoarching. If you are just looking for an ingredient list this recipe will suffice. Look further though for instruction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn A Jaskowiak

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I just made this my crust didn't get crispy but it stayed together I will do some things different next time. It was ok but I think I need to figure out how to get it crispy and a better taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wjaag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twig, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I tried the same récipé but it was called Stanford Hospital cookies. We love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by macmom6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread and Celery Stuffing

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Great and easy. This is much better than buying the box from the store! I added some craisins and it was gone! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Eye of Round Roast With Vegetables

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made this tonight and the whole family really liked it. I added mushrooms, though, and that was my husband's favorite part. I will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Great recipe! I tried half cooking half of the bacon and use raw for the other to see if it made a difference...it didn't. Great filling I made as directed but also tried with feta...delish! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Squash Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Yum! Perfect creaminess and the cayenne gives it a nice little kick. I am not a spicy fan, so this is just perfect. I didn't have any cream cheese, so I used whole milk instead. I would imagine it would be even better with cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dragon Eggs

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I have a different twist on this one. After boiling and cooling the eggs, roll them on the counter to crack the shell all over but do not peel, return the eggs to the cold water with just the tea and soy sauce in the water. Let them soak over night, then peal the eggs. You will be delighted with wonderful individual patterns on each egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roadstarv98

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juicy Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
very juicy! I used butter instead. Geat easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pizza Sauce III

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
we use all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Champion Espeseth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peach Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I followed this recipe to a T...and it never set up. There was way to much juice to cut it. The taste of if was still pretty good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Soup with Herbs

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Great recipe. I added knorr® concentrated stock and 2 cups water instead of 1 cup chicken broth. When done cooking used submersion blended to partially cream. I also added some spinach asiago cheese chicken sausages. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Oh So Spicy Kielbasa

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Only problem with this recipe? Not enough! Quite the hit at a recent potluck. I toned down the heat just a little for that, but as is, this is excellent. Second time I made it, I didn't have maraschino's or grape jelly, but I did have cherry jelly and chopped up a handful of fresh cherries. (Cmon. I live in Washington. People look at you suspiciously if you buy maraschino's...) Just as savory sweet. Also very good with meatballs, and there's actually enough sauce to handle the 2 pounds of Kielbasa and a couple dozen meatballs as an appy. With just the kielbasa, this would be a great meal over rice with a fresh salad on the side. Thanks, abrusky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Scones

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Wow. I'm not familiar with how scones are supposed to taste, but I needed something fairly quick so I used my processor as suggested by one reviewer to whip these up. From the time I started collecting ingredients to when we were eating them was less than 45 minutes. I added orange zest and craisens, then drizzled with a little powdered sugar/oj glaze and they were wonderful. Not too syrupy sweet, crumbly but bisquit-like: Just a really good treat. Will DEFINITELY be making these more often, and can't wait to try different flavor combo's... BTW: I only had salted butter on hand so I halved the salt and they turned out great. Also, I put them on parchment paper and baked them on my pizza stone. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waffles I

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Amazing!! Extra sugar and vanilla are a must. These were SO yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scalloped Cabbage

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I made this recipe as written with a couple of minor changes due to our diet, I used crushed cornflakes instead of bread crumbs as our family is gluten free, and used olive oil instead of butter, almond milk instead of regular milk due to we limit our dairy as well. I am a cabbage enthusiast so I loved it (I usually just eat it steamed with olive oil/salt/pepper), My husband whom doesn't care for it as much even enjoyed this recipe as did the kids who normally complain. I see that some have added cheese and whatnot but I feel if you truly love cabbage, these additions would just cover up the flavor of it. So if you are a cabbage lover, make it as is!!! Thank you for the great recipe GrammyRose! I will make this again, and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahnomen, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
i have been making this for years. it is basic stew and its never fail. i always omit salt when using wine. i do add extra pepper.and a bay leaf..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
A rose by any other name!! Crispy without being breaded. I used Louisiana Wing Sauce (Franks is more vinegar-y to me) with the butter and they are just the right heat for a pot luck. I just put hotter sauce on the side for the sadists, like me. :) Call 'em whatever you want, Buffalo, these are really really good. I did a trial run for Superbowl tomorrow and the OM has eaten almost half already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States