Brookfield, Wisconsin - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
After years of using a box mix for pancakes and in an effort to save some money by cooking from scratch, I searched for a simple pancake recipe that would satisfy my picky kids. This recipe is a keeper! The pancakes are so light and fluffy and come out perfectly golden brown every time! No box mix for me ever again!! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

English Muffin Breakfast Strata

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I followed the recipe as written (except I used 1 package of english muffins), and it was fantastic. I will make this again and not change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Out of this World Turkey Brine

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Da Polish Guy say's- that this is OUTSTANDING! Adding some apple juice concentrate is an added bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Pudding III

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I just made this using the heals from 5 loaves of bread and it turned out perfect! It had the right amount of moistness and sweetness. I really don't see how this recipe could be improved. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Salsa

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I never heard of a fresh salsa without cilantro in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Mushroom Thighs

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Skin on or off the chicken??????????????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rissa P.

Sour Cream Mushroom Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Simple and impressively good. Works great with pretzels, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rissa P.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kris' Amazing Shredded Mexican Beef

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Sounds xlent! Looks like there's corn in the picture but not in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fabulous Fargozas

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Did anyone ever try making this into a loaf of bread????? Sounds like it would be really good for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Turkey Legs

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I made this yesterday. I used 1 pkg of legs & 1 pkg of thighs. I sprayed the foil with nonstick spray. Also I sprayed the turkey pieces a little so the seasonings would stick better to the meat. I tried 4 different seasonings out of my cabinet put a different seasoning on each piece of turkey to see which one turns out the best. After removing the pieces from the slow cooker & removing the foil, the turkey fell right off the bone. The bottom of the slow cooker was full of juices from the turkey pieces. I do believe that the turkey was in the slow cooker TOO long. The skin on the turkey was almost completely gone. When the bones were removed from the turkey they looked like they were all cooked out & dry. The meat was juicy & tender. Next time I make this I'll take the turkey out when the internal temp is 170 degrees in the thickest part of a thigh. Yes, I would make this again. Tom, from Wisconsin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

English Roast Beef

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This sounds really good & reading the reviews looks like everyone enjoys it. I only have one question- does this turn out like the Roast Beef you would get from a Deli? Nice & Med Rare in the center. Thanks, Gutpyle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbecue Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I wasn't a fan of this recipe. I double-checked the sauce ingredients to figure out what I could've done wrong but I measured everything exactly and the sauce just tasted weird and too sweet. It didn't taste like bbq; it tasted too strongly of ketchup. If I ever made it again, I'd definitely leave out some ketchup. It also wasn't spicy at all, and I had even added extra hot sauce. Instead it just tasted peppery. My husband liked it, though, so I'll give some stars for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANIENOEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breakfast Sausage

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
When making sausage of any kind being, Italian,Brats or Breakfast Patties. It is always best to let your seasoned meat rest in the fridge over night to flavor thru before putting it in casings or making patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Cupcakes

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
These were delicious. Made just as written and LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamed Chipped Beef On Toast

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This also is xlent if you use Pork Breakfast Sausage. Fry it, drain it & crumble it into the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

End of the Line Ham Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I loved this casserole but instead of using celery soup, I made my own sauce. 2 T butter, 2 T flour, 1/4 cup half & half, 3/4 cup skim mlk and 1/2 cup vegetable broth. Sauted flour in melted butter over medium heat. Added milks and broth, and cooked until thickened. Seasoned with salt and herb blend (like basil, thyme, oregano, etc.) and lots of pepper. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I came across this recipe after having a piece of toffee at work. I tried it today and it is awesome. I couldn't believe how easy it was. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny Mentzel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mandi's Cheesy Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
omw! I sauteed the veggies in the bacon fat before simmering in beef broth instead of the water, added 1/2 parmeasn cheese, 2tsp of franks red hot sauce...and wow! very savory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bemijo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portales, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cilantro Lime Cod

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Excellent dish - I recommend marinating it in lime juice, olive oil, cilantro, salt, and pepper for awhile before baking. I also added some cayenne since I love spice which turned out pretty well. Again, used only 1 pound of fish so 20 minutes cook time (even less perhaps) worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rissa P.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemonade Cake II

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I made the cake as instructed. Only change I made was I added a glaze of lemonade and powder sugar and drizzeled it over the top. The sauce you pour over the cake after it bakes - well the part that got on the outside of the cake was gritty when you ate it. I did not think the cake was more moist than any other box cake. Although it was liked by those who ate it, I feel it fell short of my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States