Wisconsin - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Oven Baked Jambalaya

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I give this 5 stars for flavor. I made the creole seasoning which was perfect! I added 2 more green peppers to which thank goodness I did! Next time I make this I will only put in 2 cups of rice, as all the rice absorbed to much of the juice. I will certainly make this again, but only with 2, maybe.....2 1/2 cups rice tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cudahy, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Truffle Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
These are truly decadent. Wonder of wonders-I brought them to a family get together, and my mother demanded the recipe. If you need a chocolate cookie to round out an assortment, these are fab. If you just need a death-by-chocolate fix, these are your cookies. To make the struggle with the richness of the dough somewhat smoother, definitely chill it down. And I use a small cookie scooper to make it easier to get dough to baking sheet without so much sticking to my palms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchengal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Cheddar Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
It was alright. A little bland, and couldn't taste the cheddar at all. Maybe with some doctoring it would be more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Easy Pasta

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I followed this recipe and my sauce would not thicken. I did use heavy cream. I also added the peas to the pasta water, or they would not have been cooked. It was flavorful - how could it not be with heavy cream, Parmesan, and bacon - but I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Excellent. Made to recipe specifications except no peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tom's Down To The Bone Pork Chops!

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Neither Hubs nor I cared for these much. The meat itself was tender and moist, but the coating was thick, soggy, fairly tasteless, and didn’t brown as effectively as I would have liked. Ended up scraping the panko and mayonnaise mix off the cooked chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Beets and Greens

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This is something I’m quite familiar with and have always loved. The difference with this recipe, for me, is the preparation – roasting the beets vs. boiling them. Both work of course, but it sure seemed that roasting them better preserved their vibrant color. Unfortunately, however, they were more difficult to peel than when boiled. It also was a lengthy process, taking much longer than I expected (delaying my dinner). I added some fresh minced garlic along with the onion, just because I typically do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Strawberry Cobbler II

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This was delicious but too juicy, so in hindsight I’d add less water, maybe even half as much – either that or more strawberries and cornstarch. The brown sugar/butter topping was different, interesting and gave this cobbler a unique flavor I enjoyed. I used butter, not margarine, but forgot to dot the strawberry mixture with it. Glad for that, as it didn’t need it. While the flavor of this was nice, this recipe in my view needs too much tweaking to rate it any better than average; specifically, less water, or more strawberries and cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Cottage Cheese Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This was a very tasty recipe, especially on the second day. I slow-cooked the chicken in beer, onions, pepper, cumin and garlic as another reviewer suggested. I also only added the taco seasoning to only half of the enchiladas for comparison. I actually originally cringed at the thought of adding the taco seasoning; I thought the chicken and green chili pepper combination was very good on its own and didn't want to ruin it. After all was said and done, my suspicions were correct. I had a strong preference for the enchiladas without the extra seasoning; they just tasted so much more authentic.(..as my tongue would define authenticity.) I would suggest trying both variations. I will definitely be making these enchiladas again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Refried Beans Without the Refry

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I made this as stated except I used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mustang sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

Perfect Sesame Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
The name says it all - PERFECT. I can't believe I made this - it tastes just like my favorite Chinese delivery place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pig Picking Cake III

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Simple, moist, and delicious. I made a 13x9 instead of layers, and used the mandarin orange juice in place of the water in prepping the cake. I'll happily make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Pumpkin and Feta Risotto

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I used a butternut squash because my grocery store didn't have any fresh pumpkin, but this was AMAZING. I needed a bit more broth to get it the right consistency, but otherwise, made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Chicken II

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Good flavor and simple prep - but it doesn't need anywhere NEAR that much BBQ sauce. We only used half of a bottle, and it STILL felt like a lot wasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102

Calabacitas con Elote (Zucchini with Corn)

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Proof that there are delicious and healthier Mexican side dish alternatives for enchiladas other than rice and beans. (Due to Hubs’ sensitive innards I was forced to modify this recipe by significantly reducing the amount of corn so he could easily pick it out)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Baked Macaroni and Cheese II

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Quite bland, however, I think kids might like it. If i were to make it again, i'd use fresh tomatoes and I'd use all the white cheddar at once in order to make it taste fresher, otherwise, the soup is over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runner736
Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Hearty Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This was a very hearty meal, and filled our tummies. It was not great, but not bad either (thus, my 3 star rating). It did help me clean out the pantry of a few canned items that needed to be used up, so that is a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Garlic, Spinach, and Chickpea Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I would blend everything before the last step of adding the spinach. As written, the different textures together are strange. Also, I did not add any additional salt at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I am rating this a 4 only because the heat level was a bit much for us; however, cutting back on the red pepper and eliminating the hot sauce makes these the best meatballs. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cudahy, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orwell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Rum Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I did not change a thing. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States