Wisconsin - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
YUMMM!!! This was a great recipe. I used canned peaches, 4-15 oz cans, drained. Which was about 4 cups total. I also used a 2 qt. baking dish that was deep and oval shaped. I used Judih's suggestion from her comment on Sep 15, 2008 to change how I made the batter for the topping. The topping was really thick and I had to cook it a lot longer. I think I could have avoided this by using a shallower and wider pan. Like a square 8 X 8 or 9 X 9. But it was delicious!!! Serve warm with some vanilla frozen yogurt ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saritah Helms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Deviled Eggs -- Mexican Devils!

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Of course I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Russell Neimy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bold and Simple Snack Mix

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I was looking for a snack mix that would be relatively inexpensive and this fit the bill (buying 4 boxes of cereal and 3-4 other add-ins like peanuts costs a fortune). It looked like too much butter after melting, but it did all bake in and the result was crunchy and not as greasy as I feared. Cooking directions worked spot on. I think that Crispix cereal is a tad too sweet for my tastes, but I still liked the end result quite a bit. Following the recipe for cayenne and hot sauce makes quite for almost no heat. If you like a spicy kick I suggest adding more, but the other flavors are quite bold as advertised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Original Irish Cream

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Excellent recipe. I didn't have syrup so I used 2 tsp cocoa powder, 2 tsp water, and 1 tsp sugar. I did start off light on the whiskey and added more to our taste. I only had half and half but it was relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Spaghetti Squash

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Very good and very easy. I added more pesto, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Despite being skeptical, I made this for Christmas Dinner. I put a rub of butter and Montreal Steaak Seasoning instead of Herbs de Provance. 4.5 roast, 22 minutes at 500, then l hr and 40 minutes until the therm. read 130. I took it out then as I didn't want to overcook it. It was perfect. I had enough drippings to make a thin gravy. I let it sit out overnight and the internal temperature was 63. I put bunjie cords on the oven door so I didn't open it by mistake. It was amazing to me that the meat actually cooked with the oven off. It was beautifully pink. I will use this recipe from now on. I can always rely on a recipe from Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

Easy Decadent Truffles

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Very smooth and decadent. I ran out of semisweet and had to use half white morsels. Still a nice brown color. Firmed it up in the freezer. Rolled mine in cappuccino Carmel powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cilantro-Topped Salmon Recipe | Taste of Home

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This is my favorite salmon topping. This has a hint of lime and the salmon is so moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRYS7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Perfect Way to Bake Salmon | The Pioneer Women

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This bar none the perfect way to cook salmon every time. You can season it anyway you would like and it turns out every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRYS7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buns In My Oven Roasted Sweet Potatoes With Honey and Cinnamon

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
These are awesome! I imagine a great addition to this dish would be roasted pecans! Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRYS7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blackbottomcupcake

Mom's Coleslaw

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Good coleslaw. Reminds me of KFC....I used a 12oz bag of shredded coleslaw & it was a little runny, but still very good. Thx for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackbottomcupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthy Bacon and Egg Muffins - Simple Green Moms

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was delicious, but I had to cook it about 25 minutes to get the bacon done enough for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRYS7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Italian Meatballs

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
The most flavorful meatballs I have ever had! I just had to leave out the cheese due to allergies., otherwise made them per the recipe. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRYS7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guinness® Corned Beef

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I get a corned beef round at my local butcher. (They make their own corned beef) I have made my corned beef ONLY this way since trying this recipe. It is the best recipe ever! On the side I serve Colcannon. Then some roasted carrots. The family cannot believe the fantastic flavor. I think using a round is the ticket. Worth every penny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Crockpot Turkey Chili (Paleo) - Simple Green Moms

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This was delicious, although for more of a kick I will use chipotle chile powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRYS7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buckeyes I

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Used 4 cups of sugar instead of 6, and they're still very very sweet. Might try reducing it further next time, or using a peanut butter with no added sugar. Otherwise a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESJESSI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stir-Fried Sweet and Sour Vegetables

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
The sauce in this recipe has become a new family favorite for vegetable stir-fry side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Arrowood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Somerset, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage and Tortellini Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This was awesome! I used ground Italian Sausage, and browned it with the garlic and onion. Didn't have zucchini, so substituted green beans. Delicious, and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Rum Balls I

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I would go with a gold or dark rum, just to intensify the flavor. I don't think I'd go with aged or pricey rums, though, because I don't think they would stand out among the other flavors, namely the sweetness. I think I used Appleton Estates the last time I made them. ALSO you could go with a dark rum. Like Goslings Black Seal to make rum balls (and other desserts) because the flavor is stronger than the light or gold rums, and adds a nice caramel note as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA

Cheesy Baked Cauliflower

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Love this dish ! Followed other reviews and doubled the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States