Wisconsin - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

World's Best Egg Salad Sandwich

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Add about 1 T pickle juice and fresh dill, and man-oh -man was it good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cudahy, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102

Pink Flamingo Yogurt Smoothie

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Purely subjective of course, but I am convinced that smoothies with mangoes in them are among the best. This one is particularly good and Hubs agrees - strawberries and mango are clearly a match made in heaven. Other than using strawberry yogurt rather than plain, I did not add or omit any ingredients. I did, however, change the amounts of them, using more fruit, less yogurt. It was a happy accident that in an effort to use up this perishable fruit I came up with a smoothie that, as Hubs put it, was pleasantly less sour than most. The only problem was that it could have been colder. I wonder if my forgetting to include the ice cubes had anything to do with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Easy and Quick Strawberry Summer Salad

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Great base recipe. I spiralized and marinated my cucumbers in the dressing with fresh chopped mint. Started with field greens, then topped with the cucumbers, sprinkled the sliced strawberries and garnished with feta cheese. I think my addition of mint and feta took this over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Summer Potato Salad

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I added lemon zest, radishes, sour cream,and fresh dill. Left out the oil and Worcestershire. I thought the Worcestershire might be why some said theirs was grey. Made this the night before. Best potato salad I've ever had. Served with Dr. Pepper slow cooker pulled pork sandwiches and a salad of field greens with marinated spiralized cucumbers sliced strawberries, red onions, feta and mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102

Big Bad Burgers

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This has such great flavor and the toppings magnificent, but Hubs and I both agree it would be much better prepared as meatloaf and then proceeding with the recipe and slicing it for sandwiches. I'd even go one step further and say it would be better without the dang bread crumbs but then it may not hold together well, given all the other liquid ingredients which the bread crumbs of course would absorb. As it was, Hubs found it a challenge to keep these from falling apart as he was grilling them. Also, adding the sugar to the onion-mushroom mixture just didn't appeal to me. I left it out, and the recipe didn't seem to suffer for it. Find a way to lose or reduce the bread crumbs without the mixture becoming too wet and you'll have yourself a 5-star burger (not meatloaf).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102

Not Thousand Island Dressing

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Yes of course, on Reubens, but this is an excellent salad dressing too. No mustard seed on hand, I substituted with about the same amount of ground mustard. If I were this recipe's submitter I'd be tooting my horn, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102

Onion and Mushroom Scrambled Eggs

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Eight oz. of mushrooms for 5 eggs? A whole onion? Even more startling, 1-1/2 TABLESPOONS of Italian seasoning? For 5 eggs? Especially regarding the seasoning, one could reasonably assume this has to be a typo! That said, if I were to rate this recipe according to these measurements, I would assign it one star, and according to AR’s guidelines, that means inedible. If I were to rate this, however, on more sensible measurements, I would rate this 5 stars. Not only did I not use 1-1/2 T. of Italian seasoning, I used none at all – because I don’t use “Italian” seasoning. But if I was to use it, I’d use a more reasonable 1/4-1/2 tsp. – “to taste” if you will. Besides, garlic and herb Boursin has quite a lot of flavor on its own and because of it you’d be pushing it with extra seasoning. I did, however, add some chopped fresh chives to compensate for omitting the “Italian” seasoning. As for the mushrooms and onions, I added what looked right to me, and it was far less than what the recipe directed. The Boursin added a pleasant, subtle, herby creaminess, and while the mozzarella didn’t contribute much flavor, it added a decadent gooiness. So in the final analysis, made as directed with at least one possible typo (the amount of Italian seasoning) this would be 1-star inedible. With more conservative amounts of everything, we loved it, 5 stars. In fairness, I’ll rate it midway in between at 3 stars, which assumes the reader takes into account these considerations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Toe's Best Salsa

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Why would you put tomato sauce in this salsa rather than diced tomatoes?? From looking at the picture, this looks like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Diabetic-Friendly Apple Muffins

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
These are a nice option for a diabetic or someone watching calories/sugar intake. If I ever become one of those people, I'd make these again. I prefer a sweeter muffin, personally. No fault of the recipe, just my opinion. I did make this exactly as directed. I'll be eating them dunked in my sweet morning coffee! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by naples34102

German Beef Rouladen

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Authentic, traditional or not, I don’t care. What matters to me is if it tastes good. I’ve made “Roll Mops” for years, but never with Dijon or sour cream and both seemed interesting ingredients to try. From the start, however, I knew I would use all broth, no water, to ensure a rich gravy. Also, 30 minutes is not nearly long enough to cook round steak to tenderness. It must be braised for more like an hour and a half. While Hubs and I both enjoyed this (because of a gravy prepared with all broth), we both agree it’s better without the Dijon and without the sour cream. Perhaps we’re just stuck in our ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102

Rockin' Good Smashed Cauliflower with Garlic

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Of all the variations of “fake mashed potatoes” cauliflower recipes I’ve tried, this is one of the best. Most are good but most aren’t quite as sturdy as you’d want your “mashed potatoes” to be. This recipe, however, takes care of that issue by essentially drying them out with extra cooking time once combined with the other ingredients. (Though I did not cook it nearly as long as the 12 minutes the recipe directed) That step, and probably the Parmesan cheese too, made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102

Asparagus Side Dish

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
This asparagus is too pretty, too good, to be called just “Asparagus Side Dish.” It simply doesn’t do it justice. One criticism on the recipe itself, however – 10 minutes cooking time would have turned this to an army green mush. Just a few minutes is plenty, given you’re going to continue cooking for another couple of minutes once you add the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102

Boursin® Cheese Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I would never have thought in a million years I could pass this off on Hubs. He dislikes so many cheeses, Boursin being one of them. He never said a word as he was eating them and, when asked, admitted he liked the potatoes and didn’t even know the Boursin was in there. It then begs the question, “So why include the Boursin if you can’t taste it anyway?” Trust me, you can taste the Boursin. And it’s good. So Hubs just THINKS he doesn’t like Boursin. I prepared this as written but did not precisely measure any of the ingredients, particularly the amount of buttermilk. I really doubt I used as much as called for. As this recipe’s first reviewer I regret having to say I didn’t get an immediate “yum” factor with these. I missed the creaminess and richness that butter provides. So I added the butter and…yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Home Made Top Tarts!

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I love this idea and they look too cute to eat! I had some extra pie crust in my fridge to use up and this was definitely a great way to use it! The only negative thing I have to say is some of mine opened up and leaked a bit while baking but they still tasted amazing and once topped with the icing and sprinkles they looked sooo cute! So much better than pop tarts, after eating these you wont want to eat a regular pop tart ever again lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pooky2005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA

Slow Cooker Pork and Sauerkraut

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
My pork was really overcooked. Next time I will add the potatoes first, then the pork, then the sauerkraut. It was really tasty, so I will give it another go with that change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

Turkey Mushroom Stew

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
1/2 c. pepper sauce?? WOW!!! I thought my tongue was going to fall out! I didn't make this, hubby did and he said, "I followed the recipe." Next time I MAKE this, I will put 1/2 t. pepper sauce. Then this will be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA

Artichoke Spinach Lasagna

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Wonderful. Pretty much followed the recipe. Drizzled five ounces of Alfredo sauce on each cheese layer. Will keep in my box of tricks! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Steak Dry Rub

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
I made a half a recipe, because I wasn't sure how we were going to like it. We liked it! We used it on rib eyes tonight, that hubs grilled to a perfect medium rare. I think this would be really good on chicken or ribs too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Mom's Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
I didn't measure the sauce ingredients. Just made to taste. Used fresh dill. Next time I would add thinly sliced onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Best Salsa

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
I love salsa and will try any salsa including this one. Where are the tomatoes in here?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States