Wisconsin - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sad Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I brought this cake to work and it was the laughing stock of the day. No one believed that "sad cake" existed. Since I work in a kitchen and cooking is my career, I got a hold of this recipe and one of my team mates made this and BEHOLD!! Hers came out looking just like mine. So we ended up with two cakes that we all could enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA

Ceviche

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I'm kind of leery about eating raw scallops. I did some research and scallops can be eaten raw, but they will need to be extremely fresh, so you'll need to trust your supplier. Any time you eat 'raw' seafood you risk getting parasites. Since the scallops are marinaded, like lemon or lime juice, that actually "cooks" the scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA

Best Football Dip Ever

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I made this at the last Superbowl Party, my hubby and his 3 brothers were like ravaging animals! I had to make two more batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA

Yuma Salsa

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This sounds and looks delicious! I'm going to try this with grilled chicken breasts with twice baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I've made these forever! It is completely unnecessary to use other sugars. These are like eating heaven. I use Brach's chocolate stars instead if kisses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Spiced Granola Bars

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I made these using my mom's homemade canned applesauce. Nice fiber blast, I would make these again, but add more raisins. Also, I don't care for wheat flour, so I just used all purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Cashew Avocado Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
So Good! Will be making this again. Don't forget the fresh dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Bacon Risotto

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
We make it just as is and it's delish. We aren't chef's by any means so ours always turns out ugly but hey, it's delicious so who cares! It keeps well for left overs too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evenparabola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This is our go-to turkey burger recipe. I opt out the bread crumbs since I'm gluten free but I add Italian seasoning and use the whole egg. I typically make these with parmesan roasted potatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evenparabola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I usually make buttermilk pancakes but didn't have buttermilk on hand. This recipe is great using the soured milk and I loved the lightness and fluffiness (just like the name implies)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley P.
Living In: Cambria, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli and Carrots with Oranges

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This was a nice change. I did not add the cashews due to high calories in them but I'm sure that would make it extra yummy. I did melt down the marmalade to make it easier to coat the vegetables. Baked longer as we like our carrots softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar Pound Cake I

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Skipping the pecans didn't compromise any flavor, that's for sure! Hubs asked if there was maple syrup in the cake because it tasted just like waffles and maple syrup! Can't do any complaining about a cake that tastes like waffles and syrup, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102

Slow Cooker Spaghetti Squash

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
I wasn’t a big fan of this. Yes, it was easy – no muss, no fuss. But a slow cooker cooks with moist heat, and moist heat was not the best method for spaghetti squash, at least not for me. Moist heat resulted in too-moist squash. Not overdone at all mind you, but still almost on the soggy side - it simply retained too much moisture. And I even used a lot less water than called for, just enough to cover the bottom of the pot. Interesting to try, but I’ll stick to roasting my spaghetti squash in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102

Rockin Robin's Classic Potato Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
In spite of its simple and few ingredients, or maybe because of its simple and few ingredients, this was deceptively and surprisingly good. Basic and simple was just what I was after today (didn’t want to do a whole lot of monkeying around ) and this really panned out. How, I asked myself, does one run of out yellow mustard? I mean, think of the advance notice/warning one is given. Dijon had to take its place and it was a most pleasant substitution, tho’ I have no doubt the yellow mustard would have been equally as good as well as given the potato salad that characteristic creamy yellow color. I thought this would be too mayonnaise-y, preparing in advance to add some sour cream if necessary. It wasn’t. I thought it would be kind of blah, what with only salt and pepper for the seasoning, and was prepared to add other seasonings (dill was in the back of my mind). It was anything but. The flavor of the creamy potatoes I used coupled with the teensiest bite from the green onion, was all the good fresh flavor it needed. When I think of most potato salads, with all their add-ins, this one seems like the best kept secret in Idaho. (pun definitely not intended as I used small, new red potatoes) As this recipe’s first reviewer, I’m happy to give it two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102

Sliced Potatoes with Bacon and Parsley

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Julia Child’s recipe for French Potato Salad, which I’m very familiar with and like, is very similar to this recipe so I knew it had good bones. I knew that even if I had to tweak it a little I’d like it. Better to be safe than sorry, I thought, so I reduced the vinegar a smidge. When it came time to serving I really did like it a lot, but I also thought if I had it to do over I’d probably reduce that vinegar even more. As for Hubs, he said he liked it but left half his serving on his plate. The way I figure, actions speak louder than words. He did make the comment, however, that it was a little too tangy for his taste buds. So in hindsight, using just half the vinegar called for would have been just right. As for the sugar, I left it out and didn’t miss it. Cut the vinegar a tad and this recipe is elevated to five stars – and may even be better than Julia’s – hers doesn’t have bacon! Note: I used small, long red potatoes (not sure what they’re called) and didn’t bother to peel them. I sliced them 1/4” thick and they were cooked through but still pleasantly firm at about four minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Patches' Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This recipe sounds delicious, the grated beets?.... Are they cooked or raw?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Chocolate Chip and Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This was so easy to throw together, and delicious too! The only change I made was to make (3) 7" x 3" loaves and baked them for exactly 45 minutes. So good, slathered with a bit of butter and eaten while still warm. These are not going to last long in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Coconut Cashew Tuna Tartare

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Yummy! Added toasted black sesame seeds and then served on top of wonton triangles sprayed with olive oil spray, sprinkled with white sesame seeds, toasted about 5 minutes in the oven. Put a sprig of cilantro on each slice and serve! Rave reviews from guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cudahy, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tater Tot Bake

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
This is a solid base recipe. There are a few things I do to make it my own. I sauté the beef and onions together along with red pepper flake, garlic (or garlic powder), salt and pepper. Then I add a few "glugs" of Worcestershire sauce. This makes a huge difference. I then add whatever veg I have that is on its way out- I've used kale, carrots, peas, zucchini- I also mix the soup and milk together and pour it into the pan with the beef mixture and stir before putting it into the pan. Since I like my potatoes crispy, I layer the cheese on top of the meat mixture, then lastly layer with tots. I'll usually sprinkle just a little bit of cheese on the very top because I love those crispy cheese pieces. Overall, great recipe- just don't be afraid to make it suit your tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justkidney

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Hot Dog Boats

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
What a simple yet excellent meal! I used Costco Polish Beef Hot Dogs and split them down the middle and cooked them at 375 while the potatoes were boiling. I used cheddar cheese instead of American In the taters. While stuffing the "boats" I cranked the heat up to broil, then popped them in for 5 minutes and served with corn!! Such a family hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States