Wisconsin - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by naples34102

My Fly Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
I ate this, and it filled my belly, but it was a real disappointment. When I try a new recipe I sure do expect more from it than it just being edible. I backed off on the marinade by half and that sure worked better for me than the full amount would have. Still, the amount of soy sauce was enough to color the vegetables as well as somewhat obscure the flavor of them, and there was still enough of the vinegar for it to impart a slight, but unpleasant, tang. I included the ginger, even tho' I typically don't care for it, but believed I could tolerate it if I reduced the amount indicated in the recipe. That, too, was unpleasant. The ginger should add just a hint of its flavor, not announce itself boldly. A little soy sauce, a little mirin, and a little garlic and I would have liked this dish far better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Oatmeal Toffee Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Love this recipe! I add a tbs of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanverona

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102

Shrimp Verde

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
My suggestion is simply to disregard the measurements, use all ingredients to taste, and you'll love this simple preparation of shrimp. What's missing is salt, pepper and maybe a squeeze of lemon. (And I don't add the Parmesan)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102

Pasta Ai Fiori Di Zucca (Pasta With Zucchini Blossoms)

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
While this was very good, I can’t honestly say that the addition of the zucchini blossoms made it any more special. It was pretty, for sure, as well as fun and interesting to try. But given that zucchini blossoms in most instances would be difficult to come by, don’t hesitate to prepare this without them. If I hadn’t prepared this myself and had been blindfolded, I wouldn’t even have known they were in there. Still, a delicious dish nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

New York Pushcart Onions (For Hot Dogs)

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
I've never had a New York pushcart hot dog - but gave these a try, and they were really good! No need for any other toppings really, except maybe a bit of mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Healthy Turkey Loaf

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
This is a perfect meatloaf to satisfy those old school comfort food cravings. To make it a bit more healthy I substitute the breadcrumbs with 1/4C quinoa (and then I cook it) as well as adding another few tablespoons of uncooked quinoa to the mixture to soak up all of the juices. Wow, it tastes fab and has a totally normal texture. You dont miss the breadcrumbs at all and you have just saved yourself a bunch of carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy E. Boles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by naples34102

Basic Buttermilk Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Given some reviewers' remarks that these were dry, floury and/or had a chemical aftertaste, I experimented with some modifications to this recipe that I believe they would be as happy with as I was. I reduced the flour from 2-1/4 cups by a quarter cup, to 2 cups. This took care of the too dry and floury problem as did increasing the butter from 1/4 to 1/3 cup. More important, as for the chemical aftertaste, the unnecessary and excessive amounts of baking powder and baking soda explained why. I reduced both by half. One half tsp. of baking soda and 1 tsp. baking powder eliminated any potential for an unpleasant aftertaste and the muffins still rose very nicely with that significantly reduced amount. I added a good cup of blueberries and eliminated the nutmeg. Mine needed a few minutes more than the 18 minutes indicated in the recipe. I (as well as Hubs and a breakfast guest this morning) was very pleased with the results. These were pretty to look at, making them very inviting. They rose well with nicely rounded tops and had absolutely no chemical aftertaste. The reduced amount of flour and the extra bit of butter ensured these would be moist. Buttery good and chock full of plump blueberries (I used frozen), this is easily a 5-star recipe with the above-mentioned modifications. As is, however, a chemical aftertaste from too much leavener would not be "ok" (a 3-star rating) - hence, my rating of two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Because I had it on hand I used butter which I had previously clarified. (Ohhhh, yeaaah, good!) I used purple cauliflower, so the presentation was quite different! It turned almost black from the roasting process - unfortunately. I really liked this - the ends of the florets were a little crispy, contrasting with the more meaty parts of the cauliflower. Unfortunately, this preparation did not change Hubs' unfavorable opinion of cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Fajita Seasoning

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I really enjoyed this & thought it was a good substitute for packaged fajita seasoning. I like to know what's in the food I serve my family. My fiance, however, did not like this and said that the fajitas were very bland. I even cut up 2 limes and garnished with cilantro, so needless to say I didn't think they were as flavorless as my future hubs. This may have been a fluke so in the future when I make this again. I will be increasing the seasoning at least 50%. Thanks for submitting trmeeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connorsmommy83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: East Troy, Wisconsin, USA

Sweet Washington Cherry Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Skipped the cherry juice since I didn't have any on hand and cut the cherries in half. Turned out wonderfully, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jimmy Carter Dessert

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
This is delicious. We're peanut butter fiends in this house, so I upped the pb to somewhere near a full cup, and we're devouring it at an alarming rate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tikka Masala

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
SO GOOD. I cut the salt way down - 1 tsp in the marinade and less than that in the sauce - because as written it would have been inedible, but I still think it deserves 4 stars because the rest of the recipe was spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Added a little brown sugar to the mixture and poured over, then refrigerated overnight (covered in tin foil). Baked 20 min covered in foil, took foil off last 10 min more. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cudahy, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Mustard Dressing II

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I added a couple tablespoons of balsamic vinegar and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamOHe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baxter, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Good recipe, my family enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connorsmommy83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: East Troy, Wisconsin, USA

Chicken Breast Stuffed with Spinach Blue Cheese and Bacon

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Just awesome. I always have trouble with the mechanics of pound/stuff/roll/secure when stuffing chicken breasts, so I just cut a pocket in mine and stuffed them that way instead. I took another reviewer's advice and instead of breading/frying first, I just wrapped my chicken breasts in bacon and baked them that way. The bacon held them together without the need for toothpicks. Easier prep PLUS more bacon. Win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne Pasta with Spinach and Bacon

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I cooked the bacon and cut up the night before. Used to fresh plum tomatoes instead of canned. I thought it was very good. Easy to make. Next time I might add some black olives. 4 stars only because the left- overs didn't taste as good as the first time around. recipe says it makes 8 servings but it was so good we only got 6 out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Johnson
Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Freezer Slaw

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
I made this recipe a couple of weeks ago. We had some for dinner the day I made it, and I liked it. I put the rest in the freezer, and was so curious to find out what it would be like after having been frozen. I thawed it out for dinner last night, and served it with our Turkey Avocado Paninis (also from this site). No one in my family cared for this after having been frozen. It was soggy (even after draining all the liquid) and limp. I tried adding a little mayo to it, to see if that would help, but it only made it worse. It ended up in the garbage. I would give it 4 stars before freezing, but 1 star after being frozen - so I'm settling on 2 stars, considering it's supposed to be "freezer slaw".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Turkey Avocado Panini

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
Really good sandwich! I don't have a panini press, so I just placed our 4 sandwiches on my cast iron griddle and placed my baking stone on top. Only took a couple of minutes to get some nice grill marks. The kids said I put too many peppers on them (note to myself for next time - go sparingly with the peppers)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
Pudding was excellent , will stick with my own recipe for the sauce not bad but recipe was for a thicker sauce,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Potter- Blackburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States