Wisconsin - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Figs Oozing with Goat Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
What I made was more of an amalgamation of the reviews than the original recipe, so I don't know how fair my five stars is. I used prosciutto instead of grape leaves, dried figs instead of fresh, and did mine under the broiler instead of on the grill. But the flavor was amazing, and we were both REALLY happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops Stuffed with Smoked Gouda and Bacon

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Amazing flavor. The only changes I made were to cook mine indoors, starting them on the stove top and then finishing them in the oven, and instead of the olive-oil-salt-pepper combo, I used the grease from the bacon, some liquid smoke, and some steak seasoning. Loved the Gouda and bacon filling - will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102

Exchange Gang Pasta with Shrimp

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This recipe has been on the radar (at least mine anyway) for a loooong time and frankly I don't know why I haven't tried it until now - and I regret it. Keri, I'm impressed. You were certainly up to the challenge on this one. To be given a prescribed, predetermined set of ingredients, as was the case here, and come up with a dish - let alone one as good as this - takes a seasoned and creative cook so kudos to you! I changed the cooking method a little for my own comfort level, and didn't measure anything precisely. But aside from using heavy cream rather than half and half and a mix of butter and olive oil, I did not deviate from your creation. Hubs took my mom out for dinner tonight at a very nice restaurant in Milwaukee (I'm in Naples) and I can only hope their $$$$ dinner was even half as good as mine. This is just a simply beautiful dish all the way around, in presentation as well as taste. No need to deviate from your recipe at all. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102

Grilled Rosemary Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Instead of grilling this (my Grillmaster and I are separated by about 1500 miles right now, he in Wisconsin, me in Naples), I prepared this quickly in a sauté pan with the chicken cut into strips for quick cooking. I eliminated the mustard, and added some white wine. In my mind, this recipe is way too heavy on the lemon, so I eliminated the lemon zest completely and just gave the chicken a good squeeze of fresh lemon juice once it had browned. With flavors I'm accustomed to and love, there was no way this dish could go wrong (as long as you hold back on the lemon). I served this with "Summer Penne Pasta," another AR recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102

Summer Penne Pasta

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
With a simple recipe that includes good, fresh ingredients, you know you have a winner. I prepared this as the recipe directed but, just as I breathe, I gave it a good sprinkle of freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano upon serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Wow. Just awesome. I didn't have a fresh bell pepper on hand so used some frozen tri-color bell peppers, added them in at the end with the beans and potatoes. Used a whole tsp oregano too, I love the stuff. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. The texture was spot on, that step of roasting the sweet potatoes really makes a difference. I've never had ancho chili powder that was very hot so I used the recipe amount. The finished dish was not that hot to me. At first I was taken aback by the large caloric number here, until I realized this recipe thinks it's 4 servings. I'll get at least 6 servings out of this, it makes a pretty big pot. When I use my own software to determine nutrition for 6 servings I get 350 calories, 6g fat, 68g carb, 14g fiber, 12g protein. Now that makes more sense. Anyway, I love this dish and will make it often. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic Middle Eastern Hummus (Chummus)

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
THANK YOU for providing an authentic hummus recipe that does not used canned beans! I thought I would have to look elsewhere for a good recipe since it seemed that every one on this site was using canned chickpeas. This is a delicious hummus as written but can absolutely be adjusted with whatever spices/ingredients you wish to add to make it your own. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muurcuury

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cucumber Raita

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This is just what I was looking for. I added one small clove of garlic and it was perfect for what I remember from the Middle East. I used regular yogurt, which I strained, and I did salt the cucumbers and let them drain also. It was not too watery, just right. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

Thai Ginger Chicken (Gai Pad King)

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was AMAZING - tasted just like a Thai restaurant, but cheaper when made at home. I didn't change a thing, and I never would. SO perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102

Pub Chops

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I knew when I set out to make these that these chops were waaay too big, and I already had intentions of heating the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. That is, until I started eating it. So good I cleaned every bite and I confess without shame to picking it up with my fingers and gnawing on the bone to get every bit of it. Soooo tender, so flavorful, and I don't think the little bit of Montreal Steak Seasoning I seasoned them with or the chicken broth I substituted for the water were make or break additions. I'm confident that with bacon, garlic and white wine in the ingredients list I would have been happy with this just as is. I would just say watch the cooking time - I had relatively thick chops and simmering them for just several minutes, not 20 as indicated, kept them moist and tender and still cooked through. There are so many side dishes that would complement this (the gravy is excellent so buttered noodles immediately comes to mind) but I served this tonight with two other AR recipes, Spinach and Rice Alfredo, and Mushroom and Bacon Green Beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102

Spinach and Rice Alfredo

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Interesting, pretty, and very easy to make for a side dish that is a little different, a little special. Creamy, uniquely delicious flavor for a simple rice dish, and very, very satisfying. A big pay-off for little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102

Mushroom and Bacon Green Beans

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
If I had prepared this recipe strictly as written I'm fairly confident I would have had a problem with it. A whole 8 oz. package of mushrooms to a mere cup of green beans would be just a tad heavy on the mushrooms - unless this was a mushroom side dish and not a green bean side dish! That said, I chose to substitute fresh green beans, cooking them in simmering water for five minutes, then transferring them to an ice bath. I used a combination of butter and bacon grease to sauté my desired amount of mushrooms, onions and, at the last, the garlic, and cooked bacon - then tossed in the cooked green beans and heated them through. All of the additions - the garlic, onion, bacon, mushrooms and lemon-pepper seasoning all contributed great flavor to this unordinary green bean side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Mini Cheesecakes III

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Oh my goodness - what little gems these are! I love the fact that you can make 6 mini cheesecakes - just the right amount to not feel guilty about - because let me tell you, if I make an entire 9" or 10" cheesecake, it will be calling my name breakfast, lunch and dinner until gone! I can't wait to share this with my sister. She makes a cheesecake only once a year, for exactly the same reason I just mentioned. These are absolutely perfect. I had no problem with them sticking (I just sprayed my muffin pan generously with Wilton® Bake Easy). They were craked a bit when I took them out of the oven, but as they cooled, they shrunk back down and the cracks were barely noticeable. I topped ours with fresh berries and a blueberry sauce. Delicioius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Unbelievable Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This is soooo good It's like the prime of chicken, it is my new favorite way to make chicken! I,m thinking of trying it with pork too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMKALMERTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pine River, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Frittatas

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Because of what I had on hand, I used cottage cheese instead of ricotta, left out the sour cream, and cooked up some fresh spinach instead of frozen. That amount of cumin seemed way too much (and other reviewers seem to agree) so I used a bit less than half. Added some finely chopped onion since onion, cheese and eggs are made for each other. These are delicious! Great texture, salty cheesy goodness. Very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mrs. Sigg's Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I love this cookie. I am a fan of a chewier peanut butter cookie vs. crumbly and this was perfect. The only thing I changed was that I used all butter. I also dipped my fork into flour to make the criss-cross pattern easier. I baked these on parchment paper for 9 min and they baked up so nice- picture perfect! Will be my go-to peanut butter cookie recipe from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justkidney

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagus with Gorgonzola and Roasted Walnuts

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
WOW. So simple, but SO perfect. I toasted the walnuts in a dry skillet on the stove instead of in the oven so I could keep a closer eye on them, but other than that, made no changes. What an awesome side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pogaca (Feta Dumplings)

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
These were easy and delicious, but a little dry. We made up a quick garlic butter to dip them in, and that made them fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alaska Salmon Bake with Pecan Crunch Coating

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Really liked the combo of flavors in this dish. The squeeze of lemon at the end is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Vanilla Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
These were really good - loved the strong vanilla flavor. The batter was a little bit thin, but overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States