Youngstown, Ohio - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Delicious!! Cooked in my cast iron pan, like my grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerlo, New York, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Biscuits

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This is the first biscuit recipe I was able to get a light fluffy biscuit. They have been a challenge for me for years! Very happy to have found this recipe. I followed exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerlo, New York, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
FINALLY after years of NOT being able to get fudge to turn out right I have a recipe that actually worked out AND tasted good. Thank you... I can do just about anything when it comes to cooking,baking,cake decorating,sugar work, and even some candy, but fudge was my nemesis. I may try some of the suggestions from others at another time.....BUT TONIGHT WE CELEBRATE AND EAT FUDGE!!!!! Thanks again...(pic later)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

The Best Meatballs You'll Ever Have

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Use the "Cajun seasoning recipe" from this website, rather than store bought. You won't regret it. Also, used a mix of ground pork, beef and veal (a meatloaf mix) which made the meatballs even more tender. I bake them at 375 for 30-40 minutes. My family likes them plain, but you can add a red or white sauce after they're cooked. Absolutely the best meatballs I've ever cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Microwave Popcorn

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Made this today and LOVED it! I used hierloom red popcorn kernels which pop WHITE. They popped perfectly using this method and I hardly had any unpopped kernels. I used: 1/3 cup of the red corn kernels, 1/2 tsp of vegetable oil, put in regular brown paper lunch bag, and I popped them in an 1100 wt microwave for approximately 1 minute and 40 seconds. This was so easy, and so delicious, that I don't know if I will ever go back to brand-name pre-packaged microwave popping corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebOh68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This is a delicious, super easy recipe. I loved it, and have made it twice already, everyone loved it. The only thing I did differently was I made it sugar free, substituting ALL the sugar with Splenda. I am dietetic so I had to try it, no one knew it, and couldn't believe it when I told them . Thank you for a great, tasty, easy recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joe Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I like this....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

White Chili with Ground Turkey

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
We just had this for dinner. I used a mix of cannellini, northern and black beans. We also used ground chicken. It was very tasty, but we would all definitely prefer shredded chicken. May use this recipe again for Thanksgiving leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callie Harding

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic German Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I just made this for the first time. As some suggested, I cut the sugar and used apple cider vinegar. It is amazing! My problem is trying not to eat it before dinner! I don't usually like potato salad but I sure do now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Had to cook mine about 12 min at 350, but good cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerlo, New York, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Over the Fire Scalloped Potatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I cut the recipe way down for the two of us and made just two packets. Only ingredient I didn't have was the mushrooms (but might use them next time). These came out just great. Best part was that on a hot,humid day the entire dinner was on the grill! Love it and will be making these all summer long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
It was in the All Recipes magazine and thought I'd try it. Made it just as described, except I used unsalted butter and fat free milk....and I don't think this hurt the recipe at all! Like others, I am discarding my other potato soup recipes because not only is this perfect by itself, you can also use it as a base for any other potato soup and add other items such as cheese, spinach, bacon, carrots, etc. Bottom line is that it's the roux that makes this so much better than other similar recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Blue Cheese Herb Spread

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
So, so easy! Made for a party and it was gobbled up. I also used fat free cream cheese and subbed feta because we ALWAYS have feta in the house. I know I'd love this with bleu as well. Definitely my "go to" dip as I always have these ingredients on hand. Well done, roxandmike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Hashbrown Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Made just like it calls for and my family raved about it...delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kosfelt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Di's Stuffed Green Peppers

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
very easy and full of favor adjusted to 2 servings it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kosfelt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I agree in the sense of added a cup of milk as well as some veggies...all in all a good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kosfelt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Bananna Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Super moist, great tasting bread. A unique flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Zucchini

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I've tried this recipe. I didn't use the bread crumbs and used my homemade marinara sauce to be carbohydrate free. I added more garlic, crushed red pepper seeds and used hot Italian sausage which I browned first. And of course, salt and pepper to taste. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna3362

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugaSuga

Easy Spinach Lasagna with White Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This is a fantastically easy starter recipe. I did take the advice of another viewer and skipped the milk. It would have definitely made the sauce too thin. I doubled the spinach and ricotta mixture because it didn't seem like what was called for would have been enough. I did not add the carrots either. I could tell right away that the spinach was from frozen and will take the time to wilt from fresh next time. Loved the mushrooms and will add much more also. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugaSuga

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Pasta Primavera

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
delicious, varied this since I did not have leeks or fresh basil, I used a pasta seasoning. I added extra green onions,fresh broccoli, brussel sprouts and extra parmesan cheese (I love cheese and wanted extra veggies). Also used chopped garlic instead of cloves aside from that it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States