Toledo - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by sassyoldlady

Chef Gerard's Award Winning Caesar Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Made for Recipe Group. This was just ok for me. It had a strong vinegar taste and I too added some sugar as it was a little tart. I blitzed it with the immersion blender. This is not at all what I thought a Caesar salad dressing is supposed to be as I thought they are usually white and have never heard of using tomatoes. But it was interesting. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Pork Carnitas with Cilantro Tomatillo Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawkbit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady

Savory Sausage Pancakes

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Made for Recipe Group. These were just ok for me and hubby. The batter is really thick. I thinned it out some with milk. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady

Saint Paddy's Irish Sandwich

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Made for Recipe Group. Seems like not one of us has made the recipe the way she wrote it LOL. I used seedless rye and some swiss cheese, because it's not any kind of reuben without those. And I really missed not having Thousand Island dressing on it, but the mustard was good. I had corned beef leftovers from the day before and just pan grilled the sandwiches. Love the quick pickle slaw recipe though. We ate leftovers of that just as a side dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady

Easy French Toast Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Made for Recipe Group. Very easy to put together, I put the sugar mix in the microwave. Lined the pan with foil and sprayed it well. When it came time to eat it after baking I found out I had evidently put a small hole in the foil somewhere, all my caramel was under the foil! Good taste though, thank for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Copycat Panera® Broccoli Cheddar Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This was very good! I followed the recipe except I didn't have any celery so I used celery salt to season. The texture was decent, but I think I will try like the others and wait until closer to the end to add the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Flounder Florentine

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Delicious...used regular fettuccini, and fresh spinach, and cheese on hand.....but it turned out very good, and rich. Had leftovers, which were also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baghdad Dave
Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Virginia, USA

Pasta e Fagioli I

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
It was okay...a little too much tomato taste for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Safford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Easy Raspberry Punch

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This is such a good punch recipe and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Fruit Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
subbed out a few fruits but it was wonderful! The recipe make a lot more than I was expecting. A loaf, two mini loafs, and a whole tray of muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kundra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Chicken with Lemon and Rosemary

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
this recipe is great and works well with just breasts instead of a whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kundra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Brine

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
My boys love this, it's always what they ask for when I pull out pork for the nights dinner, but we do use a little less salt than it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kundra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady

Ultimate Guinness® Beef Stew

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Made for Recipe Group. A good basic beef stew with bonus-Beer! Gives it a good flavor. I like that it preps on stovetop, then goes into the oven. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady

Buffalo Chicken Calzone

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Made for Recipe Group. I thought I had pizza dough, ended up with crescent sheet, so I used that. Worked out fine. Good taste, everyone liked it. I did add in some Ranch to the mix, only had mixed cheddar(thought I had the mozz too), and I used some previously baked shredded chicken I had in the freezer. Quick, easy, and tasty! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by zoltman

Slow Cooker Teriyaki Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
An excellent recipe. 4 hrs. on low was ample time in the slow cooker. I doubled the liquid and substituted an Asian chili paste for chilis. Added carrots to the mix. At the end, I strained the liquid and used it to create a thick mushroom gravy. Made rice and broccoli and smothered the pork tenderloin, broccoli and rice in mushroom gravy! The food was soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoltman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Slow Cooker Cinnamon Apple Steel Cut Oats

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This is excellent. The only thing I would change would be to add less water. This is somewhat runny. Next time I will try 6 1/2 c of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula Murray

Monkey Bread I

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I made this for the first time, and loved it! My family wants me to make this again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Murray
Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Northwood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zoltman

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Excellent recipe. I let my ribs sit in the refrigerator overnight in a dry rib rub. I also substituted a 12 ounce bottle of backs beer for water. Depending on your slow cooker, eight hours of low cooking may be too long. 6 1/2 hours on low was ample cooking time for me. The last step of caramelizing the barbecue sauce in the oven should not be skipped. It is amazing to have a slightly crusty exterior with a tender rib. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoltman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Quick Chicken Piccata

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Seriously, this is perfect as written. Like always with chef john you need to watch the video. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Classic Hash Browns

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Excellent! Finding the right cooking temperature is key. Total time is more than 20 min for crispy style. Loved the salad spinner idea. thank you Baking Nana. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States