Dublin, Ohio - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I too salted the chicken in one pan and then transferred to another pan to cook. Not too salty that way. I baked the chicken until the cooking thermometer read 160 degrees F when inserted into the chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christie's Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Wow, this is a new favorite! A friend gave me some kale and not being that familiar with it, I went looking for a way to use it, and came up with this recipe. I already had Honey Garlic Vinaigrette by DAWNER119 (also on this site) made up and in the refrigerator, so I used that as my dressing, rather than the one indicated in this recipe. The only other change I made was to use toasted almonds instead of walnuts. I cut the kale into about 1/4” strips and tossed it with the dressing. I then sprinkled on the grapes, feta and almonds. It was delicious and one we’ll be enjoying again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Spinach Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This review is for the dressing only. I saw this mentioned on the Buzz the other day and thought it would be good as a chicken marinade and basting sauce. And I'm happy to report, I was right! We loved it! I made half the dressing as written, but cut back on the salt, adding it to taste. I made it a day ahead to allow the flavors to meld, and the next morning I poured some over skinless boneless chicken and let it marinate all day. When grilling, Hubs basted the chicken with some additional dressing, which gave it a beautiful sheen. Hubs couldn't stop raving about it, so I'm sure we'll be repeating this one and often! And, I'm sure I'll be trying the salad as well. It sounds wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Becky's Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was good. I would definitely make this one again! I made half of this as written, but omitted the whipping cream and subbed a little milk to achieve the consistency I was after. I added the salt to taste, probably not using the full amount. And I added a couple of chopped green onions. Next time I would cut back on the celery, probably by half and increase the grapes, again by half. Good chicken salad and especially nice on a hot humid day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tartar Sauce II

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I scaled this back to just two servings, which was plenty for two tilapia filets. I used dill relish because I didn't have sweet and I ended up using about half of a hard boiled egg (I ate the other half :)) We both really enjoyed this with Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets, also from his site. The capers make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I admit I did make some changes to this. For two filts, I used 3 T. parmesan cheese and 3 T. panko to ensure a crispy crust. I first dipped the tilapia in beaten egg, then in the parmesan/panko mixture. And I pan seared this in olive oil to obtain maximum crispiness on both sides. If you pan sear these, be careful not to burn them. The crumb mixture will burn easily at medium-high heat. Medium would have been better. I caught ours just in time. We served these with Tartar Sauce II, also from this site. Very yummy and I'd definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flavorful Grilled Pork Tenderloin Recipe | Taste of Home

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This was good, but not great. I'm not sure I'd make it again. It was easy, I'll give it that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato, Basil, and Feta Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Admittedly I changed this recipe, but came up with something that we really liked. I just eyeballed the ingredients, using tomatoes, no cucumber, green onions, fresh basil, Italian salad dressing, feta and toasted almonds. The second time I made it the same way, only subbing toasted pine nuts for the almonds. I'm sure the olive oil and balsamic vinegar called for in the recipe would be wonderful as well and I may do that next time. I like this best when served at room temperature. We'll be making this a lot this summer with fresh tomatoes from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ever Kabob Marinade

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I made this with skinless boneless chicken breast halves, but did not make it into kabobs. I scaled the recipe to two servings, which gave me plenty for my small amount of chicken. I used Heinz Chili Sauce for the tomato-based chili sauce, but I did add a generous 1/4 teaspoon of Thai Chili Garlic Paste for a little kick. In hindsight it could have used more as we could barely detect any heat. I also cut back on the cumin to 1/2 teaspoon, instead of 3/4 teaspoon, for my scaled version. I made the marinade in the morning and my chicken marinated for about nine hours. I did forget to reserve some for basting, but I will remember to do that next time. This was very good and not nearly as sweet as I thought it would be. In fact I may back off on the soy sauce to make it just a bit sweeter next time. Hubs and I both enjoyed this and it’s super easy to put together, so it looks like I’ll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef or Chicken Marinade

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I made 1/3 of this recipe for two large bone-in chicken breast halves, which looked to be an adequate amount. I used fresh minced garlic instead of powder and omitted the ginger, as I'm not a fan. I zapped this with my emersion blender to emulsify it and smooth it out, and I marinated the chicken for about 7 hours. I had high hopes for this and it did smell wonderful while grilling, but Hubs and I were both disappointed. There just wasn’t much flavor going on with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Honey Garlic Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This was good, but not great. It was a snap to put together; I’ll give it that! I would make it again if I were pinched for time and needed to put something together quickly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Drunken Noodles

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I prepared this as written, but instead of pappardelle pasta, I just used some egg noodles that I wanted to use up. I prepped all of this early in the day, keeping the sausage/pepper mixture separate from the cooked noodles and reserving the parsley and basil to be added when reheating. I covered everything and put it in the refrigerator. When it was time for dinner, I combined everything and reheated it and dinner was on the table in 10 minutes. We both really liked this. I served it with a tossed salad and garlic bread. And I added some red pepper flakes to mine! The only change I would make next time is after browning the sausage I would sauté the peppers first and then add the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chipotle Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I basically made half of this recipe for one pork tenderloin, cutting the chipotle powder back to just 1 t. I prepared this early in the afternoon and let the coated tenderloin marinate in the refrigerator until it was time to grill. This was good and still had a little heat. And it doesn’t get any easier than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Tenderloin with Raspberry Sauce Recipe

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I made this recipe, but since we wanted to grill it, I left my tenderloin whole. I skipped the cayenne and butter. I made the sauce early in the day and Hubs used it as a basting sauce while grilling. This turned out very well and I’d make it again. In hindsight, I should have thought to add the cayenne to the sauce. That would have given this just a bit of a kick. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Garlic Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I just made 1/4 of this recipe to try it out. I used an extra squirt of honey and a pinch of salt and pepper. We liked it and I’d make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I have two problems with this recipe. First the amount of buffalo wing sauce is way too much IMO. After shredding the chicken I poured off the liquid and added some back to the chicken, but probably only used about half of it. Had I used the entire amount, this would have been way too wet. I also thought the cooking time was way too long, at least for my slow cooker. My chicken was perfectly done in 4 hours on low. We weren’t huge fans of this. Maybe we’re just not buffalo wing fans. But that is no fault of the recipe. Four stars for the amount of sauce and cooking time. I used this to make Buffalo Chicken and Ranch Wraps, also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I made half of this seasoning blend for one 4+ lb. whole chicken. I did, however, cut the salt back even further to 1/2 t. I first put a thin coating of olive oil all over the outside of the chicken and then seasoned it inside and out using all of the seasoning. We decided to grill this and at a much higher temperature than called for in this recipe. We maintained a temperature of about 425 degrees and this was done in just about one hour. So my 5-stars is for the seasoning blend only. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

GrannyLin's Barbeque Ribs Made Easy

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Hubs wanted to try boneless country pork ribs, so I thought I’d do something similar to this recipe. I seasoned some ribs with garlic salt and pepper and instead of broiling them, I had Hubs sear them on the grill. I then threw some sliced onion in the bottom of my slow cooker and topped with the ribs. I cooked them on low and after 4 hours one of the ribs was fork tender, so I removed it. The others must have been a bit tougher and I needed to continue to cook them for two more hours. I refrigerated all the ribs until it was time for dinner. We finished the ribs on the grill, heating them through and basting with bbq sauce. We were both really pleased how these turned out, very tender, but still moist. We’ll be doing these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Southwest Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I spotted this a few days ago on a blog and thought it looked amazing. I wanted to freeze this, so I did not add the sour cream or heavy cream. Instead I started with the chicken broth and added the seasonings, salsa, beans, tomatoes and corn and simmered for 20 minutes uncovered. I had leftover rotisserie chicken so I shredded that and added it at the end. When cool, I packed it for the freezer. When thawing/reheating I added the sour cream and instead of heavy cream (which would have been wonderful) I used milk. I did make a slurry of a little water and a heaping teaspoon of corn starch to thicken it up a bit, which actually made it too thick, so I would cut back on that next time. When making this I thought some of the seasonings sounded excessive, so I cut them back as follows. I kept the oregano and black pepper the same, but used 1 t. cumin, 1/2 t. salt, 1 t. garlic powder and 1/4 t. cayenne. In hindsight I might use the full amounts next time. My version yielded close to 12 cups of soup. It’s quite chunky and filling. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hearty Bean Barley Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Well I had high hopes for this recipe but my version was disappointing. I’m glad I only made half the recipe. I used at least four cups of chicken broth, and cannellini beans instead of kidney. I used a can of Rotel for some kick instead of regular tomatoes. I cooked my barley ahead of time, and added it to the finished soup. I made this a day ahead, but when reheating I forgot to add the spinach and the parmesan and I did have to add some extra chicken broth. To us my version of this soup was sort of boring, no pizzazz. I also thought it had too much barley and would cut it in half if I were to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States