Dublin, Ohio - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Early Autumn Smoked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Here in Ohio we have no fall leaves available in July, so I simply skipped the leaves and grilled these. I made 1/4 of the amount of marinade listed, for two large pork chops. I thought that was plenty and even reserved some to baste on while grilling. The full amount of marinade is not necessary, in my opinion. I marinated these for 6-8 hours. Hubs said he liked this, but I thought the soy sauce flavor was too dominant. There are others we prefer, so I probably won’t be making this again, but it is always fun to try something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato Salad with Shallot Vinaigrette, Capers, and Basil Recipe at Epicurious.com

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
We are just beginning to get garden tomatoes this year, so I am on the lookout for new ways to prepare them. Hubs loves capers so I decided to give this recipe a try. We both loved it! I made about 1/3 of this recipe, using 1 T. each green onion, instead of shallots, and red wine vinegar. I used a generous 1/8 t. each of salt and sugar. And for my version, I used 1 T. plus 2 t. of vegetable oil, along with 2 t. of capers and 3 large basil leaves. I just eyeballed the tomatoes, using what I thought was enough for two servings. I layered the tomatoes, adding salt and pepper, the capers and along the green onions and then drizzled it with the dressing. The only change I’d make next time is to increase the capers a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
We had this last night and it was a hit, and easy too! I didn’t have shallots, so I used green onions instead. After removing the chicken to a warm oven, I sautéed the garlic and then added the wine and broth. I simmered that for about 5 minutes, but it wasn’t thickening, so I used a small amount of a cornstarch/water slurry to help give it some nice body. As I was adding the slurry, I also added the green onions as they cook very quickly in my opinion. I also added a few drops of browning sauce to get a richer color. I added the last of the butter and returned my chicken to the pan and coated it with the sauce. Very nice! I’d make it the same way next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lucky's Quickie Chickie

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I finally got around to making this and I’m glad I did! For about 10 ounces of chicken I doubled the sauce, which worked out very well for us. The honey, balsamic vinegar and fresh basil are a winning combination! I combined the honey and balsamic and then added it to the chicken and just sprinkled the basil on top when plating. Thank you Lucky! We’ll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Chicken Taco Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I made half of this recipe for Hubs and me last night. Hubs loved the seasoning on the chicken, but I felt after being grilled on a hot grill, the spices appeared to be burnt, however they didn’t taste burnt. We both loved the bean/salsa combo. Since cilantro isn’t a favorite of ours, I chose to use parsley instead, and only in the bean/salsa mixture, not in the salad. We skipped the corn tortilla but I did serve the salad with tortilla chips. We also opted to use some ranch salad dressing instead of the sour cream. This was a really good salad and I know we’ll be making it again. It’s great for these hot, humid summer days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I was looking for a recipe that called for radishes as I had some I needed to use, so I chose this recipe for dinner recently. I did make a few minor changes. I cut the sugar in the marinade in half and used three slices of bacon for two salads. I also added tomatoes as I had some fresh from the garden. This was good and we both enjoyed it. The only change I would make next time would be to omit the water in the marinade. I think it may have kept my chicken from browning nicely. Other than that a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fabulous Fruit and Feta Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
This was a tasty little salad. I only deviated from the recipe by adding some fresh raspberries, which added nice color. For the dressing I used Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing, by JAN W, also found here on AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Rub Rubbed and Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
This is a nice basic rub that I think could be used on most any type of meat. Since I was trying this for the first time, I just made a small amount using 1/4 t. of cayenne and 1/2 t. of each of the other ingredients, which amounted to cutting the paprika and sugar in half. I used the entire batch of rub on a one pound pork tenderloin. Rather than bake this, Hubs grilled it. It was great! I’ll make a larger batch and keep it on hand in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stir Fried Sesame Vegetables with Rice

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
I made this as written, but I added chicken to complete the meal. I used a mix of colored peppers and a red onion that I needed to use up. This was good, but next time I think I’d add a touch of sweetness and a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Foolproof Flat Iron Steaks

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
The weather didn¹t cooperate the night we were planning to have this steak, so I held it over until the next night. It marinated for a total of 32 hours. I made this as written, but omitted the thyme, as a personal preference. No problem, the flavor was great! Although I did make this with a flat iron steak, I’m not a big fan, so next time I'll make this using a different type of steak. This is a five star marinade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fabulous Orange Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
I made this, mostly following the recipe, but tweaking it just a bit. Because some reviewers didn’t think this had much orange flavor, I added the zest of one orange and a generous 1/2 t. of orange extract. That did the trick! I meant to dust the white chocolate chips with flour to prevent them from sinking, but I forgot. No problem, the chips disappear into the cake and they’re not at all visible once the cake is baked. This cake is nice and moist, and mine had great orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper

Ham, Garden Vegetable and Spring Mix Salad with Swiss Cheese

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I wanted a salad for dinner the other night, but I was tired of our usual chicken. I made the salad but had to omit the asparagus, as I didn’t have any. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. The salad was good and different, but the dressing just didn’t work for me! As written it was way too tart, and I ended up remaking it, using 1 T. of vinegar, along with 3 T. of oil, which is a standard vinaigrette. I ended up using 3 T. of mayonnaise to make it to our liking. The dressing I made ended up being ok, and we did use it, but I doubt that I’ll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

San Francisco Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Wow, we were impressed with this one! I knew dinnertime was going to be rushed, so I made this early in the afternoon, covered and refrigerated it, and simply reheated it when it was time for dinner. I did double the sauce and cut back just slightly on the lite soy sauce I used. My sauce thickened nicely, so I didn’t need to use all of the cornstarch/water slurry. I browned my chops on medium high heat for four minutes on each side. After browning, they were almost done, so I only needed to simmer them for a few minutes when I reheated them. The only change I’d made next time, would be to cut back the soy sauce a little further and just use 3 T. in my double recipe of sauce (for two chops). These were very good and the sauce gives the chops a beautiful sheen. I’d also like to try this sauce on grilled pork tenderloin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Chocolate Chip Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I made half of this recipe in an 8” springform pan. I used zucchini I had in the freezer and I had leftover buttermilk, so I used that instead of the milk and vinegar. My version baked for 36 minutes. Great way to use zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ginger Glazed Chicken with Pineapple Salsa

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
We enjoyed this one! I marinated it most of the day and made the salsa in the afternoon, adding a minced jalapeno, which was a nice and colorful addition. I also omitted the cilantro, because I didn’t have any. I didn’t refrigerate it, but left it at room temperature, because I'm not fond of cold salsa on my hot chicken. I would definitely make this again. It was flavorful and presented well. I’d love to try it with fresh pineapple sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Burger Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
We really liked a dollop of this on our burgers the other night! I just made a small amount (1/4 of the recipe). I used fresh onion and garlic finely minced. I also made this a day in advance to allow the flavors to meld. This was a nice change from our usual mayonnaise, and it would also be good as a dipping sauce for chicken fingers or fries. I’ll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bright Blue Monday Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I had some blueberries that I needed to use so I selected this recipe. I did tweak it just a bit. I added ½ t. of vanilla and tossed the berries in flour just before adding in the hopes that they wouldn’t sink to the bottom of the cake. I also added 1/3 cup of chopped pecans to the topping, which was a nice addition. Rather than the 9” square pan, I used a 9” springform pan. I sent this with Hubs to share with some of his buddies and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Hubs wanted something to take to his fishing buddies tomorrow. I had everything on hand to make half of this recipe, and it actually allowed me to use up half a cake mix and half a box of pudding mix that were leftover in the pantry. I could see no reason why this called for that tiny bit of butter so I left it out. I did however, add 2 T. of melted butter to the brown sugar/walnut mixture to moisten it up and I used half in the middle of the cake and half on top. I used a 9” springform pan and baked this for 32 minutes. I made Vanilla Glaze from this site to drizzle over the top, which worked out well. Hubs came home proclaiming the fishing guys loved this, so five stars it is. The only changes I would make next time, if making half he recipe, would be to make half again as much walnut/brown sugar mixture and I'd use an 8” inch pan to give this a little more height.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
This was good, but I think it could have been better. I did make a couple of changes. I didn’t have skin-on chicken breasts, so I had to use skinless, and I cut back on the oil by about half. I also skipped using the oven altogether and finished cooking the chicken in the pan, and kept it warm in the oven, while I sautéed the mushrooms and made the sauce. The sauce was very, very thin, so I would try to thicken that up next time. And I also thought that although the water worked, I think it would have been better using wine or a broth/wine combination. I will try this again with those alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
We really enjoyed this one! Admittedly, I did tweak this quite a bit but the end result was very good. I cut back on the cracker crumbs a little and the butter, and added a little parmesan cheese. I topped the fish with the cracker/parmesan mixture and sprinkled it with a little garlic salt. I was making half the recipe, but just used a squeeze of lemon juice, probably less than called for. I combined the lemon, wine and butter and poured it around the fish and baked for 22 minutes. I didn’t bother with the two-step baking process. It wasn’t necessary. The cracker crumbs browned and crisped up nicely and the fish stayed nice and moist. This is definitely a “do again!”
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States