Dayton - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pumpkin Zucchini Bread/ Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This turned out well. It was a bit dry, but otherwise tasted great. I will be making this again. It made an 8 X 8 pan and 11 muffins. I followed the recipe exactly as it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
My entire family, including grandchildren loved it, so that generates a 5 star rating. Easy to make! That would give it an additional star! I did follow the recommendations of Jeanine's review. Her changes made a big difference, especially adding the taco seasoning to the cooking meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pepper Jelly

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I followed the advice of others and added more peppers. It tastes great and I could see putting jalapenos in to add a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Without a doubt, these earned their 5 star staus from us. I last made these three days ago. I make no changes to this recipe. How can you improve on perfection. Reviewers should rate only the recipe as written, not on their changes. If changes are,in fact made, they are reviewing their recipe, not the recipe from amyappleseed. My favorite side with these is a baked sweet potato. Our BBQ sauce of choice is Sweet Baby Ray's Hickory & Brown Sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maryland Crab Cakes II

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I added 1/2 tbl of 'Old Bay' and pan fried with butter and olive oil. Next time I will use 2 1/2 tbl of Hellmann's mayo and Panko, each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham Breakfast Braid

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I've made this several times over the years. It is directly out of the 'Pampered Chef' cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ Paul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This is really, really good. I added an additional 6oz can of tuna and 1 1/2 tbl of jalapeno juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I have tried this recipe and loved it! It reminds me of what I had as a child. I love that it is baked firm and it can be cut with a knife; I would not change a thing. This is how it is done in parts of the south. If you want a wetter looser in texture rice pudding, this recipe is not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Apple Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This was wonderful. I did follow one reviewer's suggestion and baked it at 350 for 55 minutes. I got 2 8 x 4 loaves and 7 muffins from it. The bread was moist and the apple chunks added a nice flavor. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Noodle Bake

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
After reading the reviews it was evident to me that this needed to be kicked up some. I used 1/2 cup of tomato sauce and 1/2 cup of salsa, that really helped. I used minced garlic instead of powdered garlic with 1 tea of oregano. That did the trick for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. It turned out wonderful. It does take a while longer than stated - after checking, I added 10 minutes to the time. But that could easily be the temperature variation in ovens. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Diane Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This is a very good steak sauce. Will try with boneless thighs or breasts next time with these changes: Sub in chicken stock for the Bar-B-Que sauce and add a tbl of brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I usually don't like to review a recipe and then change the whole thing, but I did! We don't eat coconut, nor nuts, so then I had some fresh zuchinini slices, maybe 1/4 cup, so I threw them in! My newest thing is adding 2 tbsp of Vanilla instant pudding mix into the mixture before you cook it. I have never had so many raves about a cake! I could hardly control my self from nibbling on it. I'm making it again, but this time I'm insisting that my daughter take it home because this cake could be addicting. The pudding adds some flavor, but Ohhhh the moisture is outstanding! I did this vanilla custard to a pound cake and to chocolate chip cookies. Guess it's my new favorite ingredient! Yep, I know it adds calories and sugar, but hey! as long as I've gone this far, what the heck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwest Chicken Bake

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Very yummy!! To suit my family, I made it a one-dish dinner, combining everything except the cheese, which was added at the end of baking. I cooked the onion with the chicken and used chicken broth to cook the rice. This is an extremely versatile dish, so I'm sure I'll be using this frequently without it getting boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wonderful Banana Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I really liked it. I used lemon cake mix instead of yellow, because that is what I had in the cupboard. This is an easy-to-fix, tasty dessert. It has the right amount of sweetness and so-o-o-o moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I am not a big fan of fish. I am REALLY not a fan of white fish but this recipe was wonderful!!! I used Orange Roughy bc my grocery did not have tilapia, I used Avocado oil in place of olive oil and had to cook the fish twice as long bc my fillets were twice as big but otherwise I followed the recipe to the T and it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Peanut Butter Vegetable Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Omitted chicken and doubled veggies....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil Soup with Lemon

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Even my kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Butt Roast with Vegetables

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
My smoker gave out on July 3rd. I had a spareribs meal and Boston Butt meal planned for the weekend with out of town guests. Turned my Weber Grill into a smoker for the ribs and they turned out great. Boston Butt is a different problem because Butt must be cooked low and slow. The Butt had already been prepped with mustard and Mike Miles rub for 36 hours. I put carrots and celery in the bottom of my French Oven with 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth, topped with onion slices. I scored the fat cap and inserted garlic slivers into the cuts. Baked fat side up @ 200 degrees for 8 plus hours and temp reached close to the 200 degree mark I was looking for. I removed from the oven, wrapped tight with tin foil and put into an ice chest and covered the roast with bath towels for 2 to 2 1/2 more hours. Wow, what a great piece of pork!!! The time in the ice chest is essential because this is where the breakdown of this cheap cut of meat really gets tender. If you plan ahead, this is really an easy recipe. My family and friends thought I was a miracle worker this weekend. I didn't have the heart to tell them I just got lucky and a little research on the internet. My roast was 5 1/2 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ranch Burgers

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This was wonderful. It will be repeated. I do agree that it needs more ranch mix than what is suggested, but that is a matter of personal taste. I used part panko bread crumbs because I was short on saltines, and it added a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States