Dayton - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

All American Apple Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Nice pie. I cooked it for 1 1/2 hours though. I started it in a 375 degree oven then dropped it to 350 for the remaining 45 minutes. I started with raw apples. The crust did not get burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin MaLoon Rowley

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Spinach Enchiladas

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
The filling was excellent but the choice to pour canned enchilada sauce over this dish ruined it. Will try again with a different sauce topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Faler

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Pork Chops and Sauerkraut

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
My picky fiance loved this!! I didnt use the caraway seeds and only abojt a tablespoon of brown sugar anf cooked in the crock pit for 8 hours on low. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Southern Fried Chicken Livers

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I used my electric fry pan that has a lid and fried at 375 degrees. The garlic really makes a difference and I always put hot sauce (Franks) in my milk dredge. Served over rice with peppermill gravy. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buckeye Balls II

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
They were O.K. I guess I wouldn't make them again. No rave reviews! That's my barometer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Christmas Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Love these! They look pretty and they are easy. I make them for the holidays, place them in the freezer after they are cooked, and they come out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Winner! Even my 4 yr old grandson requested this for his birthday! What did I change??? Not much. I added a carrot just because I was shy a bit with the zucchini. I did add my new favorite addition to cakes.... two or 3 tbls of instant vanilla pudding mix. It makes every cake just a bit moist and even more delicious. I finished the cake with a cream cheese frosting that I put 1 ounce of melted unsweetened chocolate in the mix. I'm salivating about thinking of having it tonite for the birthday party!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This was sooooo good! It was for sure too salty, so the second time I made some plain white rice to go with it, and it "washed" some salty flavor away. I also did it in a frying pan (with chicken breast cut into pieces) colored the chunks, then took them out and used the pan to make a sauce and put the chunks back in to finish cooking... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Pumpkin Zucchini Bread/ Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This turned out well. It was a bit dry, but otherwise tasted great. I will be making this again. It made an 8 X 8 pan and 11 muffins. I followed the recipe exactly as it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
My entire family, including grandchildren loved it, so that generates a 5 star rating. Easy to make! That would give it an additional star! I did follow the recommendations of Jeanine's review. Her changes made a big difference, especially adding the taco seasoning to the cooking meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pepper Jelly

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I followed the advice of others and added more peppers. It tastes great and I could see putting jalapenos in to add a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Without a doubt, these earned their 5 star staus from us. I last made these three days ago. I make no changes to this recipe. How can you improve on perfection. Reviewers should rate only the recipe as written, not on their changes. If changes are,in fact made, they are reviewing their recipe, not the recipe from amyappleseed. My favorite side with these is a baked sweet potato. Our BBQ sauce of choice is Sweet Baby Ray's Hickory & Brown Sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maryland Crab Cakes II

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I added 1/2 tbl of 'Old Bay' and pan fried with butter and olive oil. Next time I will use 2 1/2 tbl of Hellmann's mayo and Panko, each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham Breakfast Braid

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I've made this several times over the years. It is directly out of the 'Pampered Chef' cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ Paul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This is really, really good. I added an additional 6oz can of tuna and 1 1/2 tbl of jalapeno juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I have tried this recipe and loved it! It reminds me of what I had as a child. I love that it is baked firm and it can be cut with a knife; I would not change a thing. This is how it is done in parts of the south. If you want a wetter looser in texture rice pudding, this recipe is not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Apple Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This was wonderful. I did follow one reviewer's suggestion and baked it at 350 for 55 minutes. I got 2 8 x 4 loaves and 7 muffins from it. The bread was moist and the apple chunks added a nice flavor. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Noodle Bake

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
After reading the reviews it was evident to me that this needed to be kicked up some. I used 1/2 cup of tomato sauce and 1/2 cup of salsa, that really helped. I used minced garlic instead of powdered garlic with 1 tea of oregano. That did the trick for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. It turned out wonderful. It does take a while longer than stated - after checking, I added 10 minutes to the time. But that could easily be the temperature variation in ovens. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Diane Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This is a very good steak sauce. Will try with boneless thighs or breasts next time with these changes: Sub in chicken stock for the Bar-B-Que sauce and add a tbl of brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States