Cleveland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

New Red Potato Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I found this salad really bland. It was only with a lot of doctoring (dill, parsley, and celery seed helped, mustard made it even better) that we were able to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glazed Dijon Carrots

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I'm a fan of mustard, but I found the mustard/carrot combo odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese and Tomato Omelet with Chives

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Delish! My family was getting very sick of scrambled eggs, but I like having eggs for lunch once a week. This recipe made all of us happy. Go easy on the cream cheese - 1.5 T. is more than enough for two eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj

NO YOLKS® Noodles Romanoff

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I served this as a side dish to baked fish. We liked it, but agree with the other reviews, that it is a bit bland as written. I increased all the seasonings to make it more our speed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

Jan's Chipotle Roasted Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
What a great mix of sweet and spicy! I cut the sweet potatoes into cubes to get the maximum flavor, and used 3 T. olive oil rather than 5 T. of butter. The whole family enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Better Morning Glory Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
It's so nice to hand you child a muffin for breakfast and know you're giving him a nutritious treat. These muffins pack in the flavor. I didn't have flax seed so I used wheat germ instead. I also cut the oil even more by using 1/3 cup oil, 2/3 cup applesauce, and I omitted the nuts. The contributor must have jumbo muffin tins because this made me 24 regular-sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mashed Parsnips

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Love this recipe! I'm following the Blood type diet and all potatoes are an 'avoid' for me. I had three parsnips, but used almond-milk (unsweetened) rather than whole milk, and enough to cover the 'snips. Cooking time was about 20 minutes, so keep an eye on the pot if adjusting from original numbers. The almond milk gave a little nutty flavor in addition to the 'snips, but the thyme was a nice enhancement in the mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cave Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Corned Beef Brisket

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This was my first time making corned beef/brisket and I followed the directions to a " T". It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohiocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Grandma's Gingerbread Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
If you like gingerbread, you'll like these pancakes. But you must cut down on the liquid. I used 1 cup of milk (rather than water, for a richer taste), and the batter was still very loose but the final pancakes were nice and fluffy. I didn't have quite enough molasses so I subbed some brown sugar for the remaining molasses. I also added a dash of nutmeg. The smell of these cooking was amazing but the actual pancakes were a bit bland. Still worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj

NO YOLKS® Lamb Stew

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I could not find lamb stew meat, so as a variation on this recipe, I used ground lamb and made it into meatballs. I ended up doubling the sauce, which was delicious. We liked this recipe a lot. Lots of good flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

Buttercream Icing

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Very respectable little buttercream that came together in no time! I added a pinch more vanilla to counteract the confectioner's sugar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Cream Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Easy and delicious. To ramp up the coconut flavor, I used a can of coconut milk in place of two cups of the milk, and soy milk for the rest. The pie isn't pretty, so I whipped a small container of Richs Whip and spread it over the pie. That left it pretty and added a great creaminess. The whole family liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Tangy and tasty. But do NOT add the water. Without the water it's the perfect consistency; with it, it will not stick on the chicken. I added a clove a crushed garlic which was a nice addition. Mine wasn't cooked in an hour. I cooked an hour, and then uncovered and cooked for an additional half an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meringue Kisses III

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
The jello offers a faint strawberry flavor and a touch of pink that's very pleasing. This is a lot of sugar - I used four egg whites and that was prefect for the other ingredients listed. The texture wasn't quite right when they were fresh, but the next day they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alter Aries

Squasage (Sausage-stuffed Squash)

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
It was okay. Wanted to try acorn squash and ran across this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagus Roll Ups

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Made this because asparagus was only $1.99 a bunch. I heated the asparagus spears in the microwave for 2 minutes in a glass tray and plunged in ice water. Superb color. I used seedless rye bread because it was heartier. After flattening I spread bread with cream cheese and sprinkled with freeze-dried chives (I felt mixing cream cheese with chives was not needed). Didn't have bacon, but I used ham slices and gruyere cheese to wrap asparagus. I followed the rest of the recipe. Came out great! Served with chicken noodle soup (no chicken, just broth, noodles, mushrooms, carrots and peas. Great dinner--will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Guzauskas Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Beef Tips

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Very salty. I think using low sodium soy sauce and low sodium gravy would help this. I simmered the beef for an hour and added water to it to keep it covered. I added the packet of gravy with 2 Tbsp. Of water and simmered 30 min longer. The flavor of this recipe is very good. Next time I will make this with the above notes and in the crockpot. Cooking in thr crockpot will make the meat much more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Cinnamon Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This was fabulous! I cut the maple syrup down to 2/3 cup - no more was needed - and rather than use chili peppers, which I felt would be too hot for the kids, I used a shake of red pepper flakes. This came out super flavorful, and created lot of gravy, which went wonderfully over couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Potato Pancakes

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I was intrigued at the thought of potato pancakes/latkes with apple. You can't fully discern the apple, but it adds mild sweetness. However, they were a little bland. I didn't have any green onions so I used a small regular onion and it was fine. My family all enjoyed these with both low-fat sour cream and applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States