Cleveland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Butternut Squash Risotto with Crispy Prosciutto

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I add finely chopped button mushrooms to the onion sauté, which adds to the richness of the flavor. I also top the risotto with fresh basil, parmesan cheese, and crumbled fried prosciutto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gustatorian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Squash Risotto

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I add finely chopped button mushrooms to the onion sauté, which adds to the richness of the flavor. I also top the risotto with fresh basil, parmesan cheese, and crumbled fried prosciutto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gustatorian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pearl Barley Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This was a tasty, different side dish. I used 1 T. oil instead of 3 T. marg, and subbed the green pepper with a red one. That made it a bit sweeter and added a splash of color. I didn't have a Dutch Oven so I just cooked the dish entirely in a pot and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raisin Rice Stuffed Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Exotic and delicious! A number of reviewers complained that the chicken itself was a bit bland, so I sprinkled the outside not just with pepper, but also with granulated garlic and cumin. With that addition it was fabulous. I also used brown rice, and under a tablespoon of oil. I found it odd that some people substituted the turmeric with other spice; the turmeric is what makes the dish. Go out and get some, it's great on roast chicken, roasted potatoes, and lots of other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alter Aries

Paleo Chicken Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Pretty good, since I didn't have spinach but had a package of kale I was going to use it but totally forgot to add it. I already added broccoli and cauliflower and wanted it to be super veggie stew. Definitely a keeper. One thing that I should have done was brown the meat first then add to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Squasage (Sausage-stuffed Squash)

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Made as written using italian turkey sausage. We LOVED IT!!! This stuffing is excellent and could be used to stuff just about any thing. It's really good with the squash. Thank you for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

White Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Tracy is 100% correct! Must cook the flour first! I didn't make this I just know it would be an unpleasant taste the way it's written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIPPIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Coconut Bars

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
The batter was good, but I found the actual bars kind of bland, and a bit dry. I don't think I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by l337jacqui

Lebkuchen VI

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
i made these for my opa's 84th birthday a few weeks ago, and he loved them (so did everyone else, but i wanted to make them special for him since he came over from germany when he was 25). i told him i couldn't remember the name of them, but when he bit into one, he immediately said, "lebkuchen!" and he said how they reminded him of germany. success! that is exactly what i wanted i made the recipe exactly as stated, but i did do packed cups of flour. also, instead of cookies, i rolled out the dough on parchment paper on a cookie sheet and baked them for 8 minutes. they stayed chewy soft and were REALLY good. i made the mistake of brushing on the sugar syrup over the whole rolled out sheet of cookie (thinking it would save time than brushing each one), but it dries so fast, that when i cut them into bars, the sugar coating cracked all over the place hahaha...still tasted super good! just next time i would take the extra time and brush each cut-out bar. i am going to add a photo to the gallery so you can see what i mean! these were fabulous though, and everyone loved them, especially my german native opa! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by l337jacqui

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Using good flavorful olive oil instead of butter, more onion and brown rice instead of orzo, this needed additional seasoning. A little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj

Mini Cheesecakes I

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Very good recipe. I reduced the oven temp to 325 degrees F and baked for about 12 minutes. Perfect. Do not overbake and do not use reduced fat cream cheese if you are looking for perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

Fried Rice II

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was a nice, colorful dish. I sauteed the onions and a few cloves of garlic, then scrambled in the egg. Then I added frozen veggies (carrots, green beans, and corn), and then the bean sprouts. Last I added the cooked rice and the seasonings. It goes very nicely with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Happy Roast Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
YUM!!!! This chicken was bursting with flavor and so moist! I didn't have a oven-proof skillet so I just made it a metal pan. Like others, I squeezed the lemon juice over the chicken before flavoring. I also seasoned first (and used garlic powder in addition to the salt and pepper) and then rubbed on the mustard. In addition to the lemons and garlic, I tucked a quartered onion into the chicken. It was so delicious, next time I'll use two. My family doesn't like mustard, but none of them tasted it. The little ones did find the chicken too tart, but the rest of the fam loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Tried this using steel cut oatmeal and egg whites. The burger did not hold together well, so I "cemented" it to the bun with a slice of Monterey Jack cheese. Very tasty. Will use whole egg and bread crumbs next time, just to see if the firmness improves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Fast Creamy Tomato Penne

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Made as directed and it was kind of bland. I then added garlic, crushed red pepper flakes and Italian seasonings and that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAKGAMBIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This pie is beautiful, and has a light, creamy texture. But I won't be making it again. We found it rather bland. Despite subbing half the milk with additional coconut milk, the coconut flavor is very subtle. And the chocolate flavor wasn't all the strong either. If you want an incredible coconut cream pie, try old fashioned coconut cream pie on this site. If you do make this, I recommend using a graham cracker crust; it's a great foil for the custard. Replace half the milk with coconut milk, and reduce the cornstarch to 1/3 cup — no more is needed. To save a step, use mini chocolate chips and simply pour half the custard mixture over them and stir; it will melt right in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Coney Dogs

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
These are sandwiches are fabulous! We don't like cooked green peppers, so I left them out and used more pickles and olives (we like it with rings). I used grated cheese, and put just a bit on top of the filling to stretch it. You can place all the sandwiches in one pan and then wrap the pan tightly in foil, if you want to skip the bother of individual wrapping. My family loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Modified the recipe based on previous reviews and personal preferences. Added more onion / added a flour and water mix to thicken the sauce / used only 1/2 cup sour cream. Would have given it 5 stars if I didn't need to thicken the sauce. Otherwise, great recipe / easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Great recipe. Will become my new standard for rolled sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I - Modified

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Made these cookies several times and typically use half white sugar and half brown sugar. Have used different extracts for flavoring (almond once, mint once with mint chips). Always get asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States