Cleveland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Dump and Go Cheesy Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Very good and super easy to make. I didn't have 2 cans of Cheddar cheese soup so I used 1 can and 1 can cream of mushroom soup. I made everything else the same, but omitted the salt since there is so much in the canned soups. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj

Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Love this dressing. Just the right amount of sweet and sour. Subbed onion powder for fresh onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

Turkey Cheeseburger Meatloaf

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Loved the recipe. Instead of onions used an envelope of Lipton soup,Also used seasoned bread crumbs. I have a loaf pan made out of some type of rubber material
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duba811

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil Chili

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This is now a regular in my house. I do have hot chili powder and half mild chili powder- lots of flavor! This time I added 3 stalks celery and I sautéed the onions and garlic in real butter. It's best to cook the lentils first as noted before doing this recipe. Fabulous! Love this and so does everyone else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Potato Cakes

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
If you know what potato pancakes are SUPPOSE to taste like you will not like this recipe. I had some leftover sauerkraut in the 'fridge from a pork roast I made and some kielbasi in the freezer so I thought potato pancakes would be great. The only problem was that I had worked a full shift on my feet and didn't feel like standing by the counter grating potatoes, so I took a chance with these. The texture was all wrong, and the flavor of the potato is lost from the boiling. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breakfast Sausage

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
My family loved this and has already requested again!! I used exact recipe but used 1/2 the salt per other reviews. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohiocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Country Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Looks like a good recipe for me to try, but I will have to cut way back on the pepper. Pepper is not my favorite spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BillyG2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
My husband was craving a bread pudding with a vanilla sauce since he had some at a hotel he had stayed at. I tried this recipe and it hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooked Corned Beef for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Being from Cleveland I am a huge fan of corned beef. I have tried many recipe versions, mixing this spice with that beer and this cooking method with that cooking method. All produced acceptable corned beef, but nothing reminiscent of that taste I get from back home. When I saw this simple recipe with all the peppercorns and garlic cloves, color me dubious at best. As the hours ticked by (I used my crockpot), curiosity got the best of me and I tasted the pot liquor from the brisket. Immediately I was impressed by the flavor. About the 8 hour mark, my fork test passed so I turned off the crock-pot and allowed the brisket to sit in the liquid for about another hour or so. I then removed the brisket and put it in the fridge to cool. The next day I broke out my meat slicer and sliced the cooled brisket thin against the grain. I had reserved the cooking liquid and defatted it, thinking the brisket may need extra juice – wrong. When the meat was gently warmed it gave off enough liquid so my slices and sandwiches were very juicy. I used one bottle of Guinness Stout, one brisket – about 3.5 pounds, 1/8 C cup of peppercorns, half of a bulb of garlic -about 10 cloves, and I did use the entire spice packet from the brisket. Everything else was prepared to recipe. Perfect. I am no longer looking for the best recipe. This is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UZIMIKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Cheesy Scrambled Eggs with Basil

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Yum! These were good! I used less cheese, and mixed half of it in the egg mixture, and sprinkled the rest in as it cooked. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No-Mayonnaise Ranch Dressing

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
My teens have become very health conscious so I'm always looking for lower-cal recipes. This dressing is great consistency, and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Excellent. I tinted this recipe green and unlike other buttercreams that "break" this one held up beautifully. And I love that it is an all-butter recipe and does not include shortening. I think it needs to be refrigerated since it is all butter. I only had buttermilk on hand and it worked out fine. It piped like a dream onto cupcakes. This yielded enough to frost 12 cupcakes. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Simple and superb! Just beware: this doesn't make 5 servings; I doubled it for my eight eaters and it still wasn't quite enough. To stretch it, I added 10 oz. of tomato paste and 1 cup of whole milk. The final result was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Excellent! It looked, smelled, and tasted exotic and delicious. My husband said he felt he was in a restaurant and even my picky kids had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Spice Mix

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Excellent spice mix! I needed cajun seasoning in a recipe and didn't have any, so I made this. I didn't love that dish, but did love this blend. It's great when mixed with mayo or sour cream and then used as a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jon's Corn and Zucchini

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
This sounded interesting, but didn't taste all that great. We felt the various flavors didn't meld well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Tilapia in Garlic and Olive Oil

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
excellent...used fresh lemon garlic cloves..after baking for 15 minutes placed under the broiler to brown. M:;;;;y husband;nd loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duba811

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Big Fat Greek Omelet

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This is a great breakfast or lunch! Pretty and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This was great, I actually took suggestions from other reviews and used sesame seed oil to saute the beef. I didnt have hosin sauce, so I used oyster sauce instead. Not sure how that affected the taste, but we enjoyed it an I'm sure to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Fletcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This was really good. I used a little less that the two quarts of water and did not include diced tomatoes in part based on what I had on hand. I also used a whole split fryer and prepared it in a crock pot instead of boiling. I added 1/2 t cumin seeds and 1/2 t red pepper flakes to the spice blend listed. This is a soup I'm sure I'll make again, love that after a hearty meal, we have enough leftover for a second meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Fletcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States