Cleveland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

My Big Fat Greek Omelet

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This is a great breakfast or lunch! Pretty and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This was great, I actually took suggestions from other reviews and used sesame seed oil to saute the beef. I didnt have hosin sauce, so I used oyster sauce instead. Not sure how that affected the taste, but we enjoyed it an I'm sure to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Fletcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This was really good. I used a little less that the two quarts of water and did not include diced tomatoes in part based on what I had on hand. I also used a whole split fryer and prepared it in a crock pot instead of boiling. I added 1/2 t cumin seeds and 1/2 t red pepper flakes to the spice blend listed. This is a soup I'm sure I'll make again, love that after a hearty meal, we have enough leftover for a second meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Fletcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rich Hot Fudge Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
WOW!!!! So easy and so amazing. I wanted to make it dairy free so I used coconut cream in place of the condensed milk (no added sugar needed - this is very sweet), and margarine in place of butter. Like others, I added a dash of salt and a splash of vanilla. Both the consistency and the flavor were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Onion and Pineapple Chicken Teriyaki

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This was a pretty and tasty supper. I didn't have frozen pineapple, so I used canned. I also left out the nuts and the cheese. There seemed to be too much liquid. I used half the teriyaki sauce and half the broth called for, and that was perfect. Great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj

Cheesy Bacon Jalapeno Skillet Cornbread

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Great recipe! Loved the flavors. Used AP flour instead of gluten-free. Subbed one of the jalapenos for sweet red pepper and used cheddar cheese instead of pepper jack. This is not a very sweet cornbread, which is a nice change from what I am used to making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

Herbed Chickpea Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This was an absolute 5 star dish after adding some salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper. I also switched out basil for cilantro (my own preference) and added some cucumber for crunch. Delicious! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki_kaldas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hawaiian Fruit Crumble

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I would have just given this three stars. The bottom part is good, but the crumble part doesn't have nearly enough liquid. Even though I added a few tablespoons of water, it was still very dry and fell apart. But my family liked this enough for me to up my rating to four stars. If I'd make it again though, I'd use a topping from a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Microwave Baked Potato

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
It has been my experience that microwaving a potato on high for a long period of time creates hard spots that are over-cooked. I like to set my microwave to cycle in two stages. The first stage is high for 2 to 4 minutes depending on the size of the potato, then set the oven to half power for a remaining 3 to five minutes (again depending on the size of the potato). Then I wrap them in a clean dish towel to continue cooking and to stay warm until the meat is ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BillyG2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waffles I

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
After skimming a few reviews, I seperated my egg whites, whipped them, & folded in at the end; doubled the white sugar, and tripled the vanilla (because my family and I really LOVE vanilla). These came out so delicious I won't try another recipe! First time using the waffle iron too! Highly recommend. No leftovers. Definitely serve hot! I like melted butter, powdered sugar, and a little whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Grilled Zucchini

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I loved this but the kids wouldn't touch it, hence the four stars. I don't have a grill so I mixed all the ingredients with the spears, then oven-roasted on 400 for 40 minutes. The result was a really sophisticated side with a strong flavor of balsamic vinegar that was a hit with the adults but not at all child-friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joes II

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Wow - I see why this has so many great reviews. It's fabulous. I sauteed the onion (and two heads of garlic) until translucent, then added ground chicken (healthier than meat, and with the sauce, no one noticed) and red pepper, then the seasoning. It was as easy as it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herbed Cream Cheese Omelet

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This was simple and delicious. I'm not the biggest cilatnro fan, so I used a little cilantro, and then a mix of scallions, chives, and basil. Be sure to spice (salt, pepper, and garlic powder) to the eggs as well. The result is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic and Herb Pull Apart Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
AMAZING!! This bread is so incredible — moist, fragrant, soft, and so flavorful. I didn't have biscuit dough so I used fresh bread dough (challah dough to be exact). We aren't rosemary fans, so I subbed oregano. And to keep it dairy free I used olive oil instead of butter. I served it with a big Greek salad and my entire family was raving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Salad I

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This salad was very good. The addition of peppers to the classic Greek Salad ingredients made for an interesting twist. The dressing is a bit bland - like others I jazzed it up. I added 3 T. wine vinegar, a dash of sugar, some crushed garlic, 1 tsp. each of salt, oregano, and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandad's Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Wow! These are great. I make pancakes every week and have tried many recipes on this site. This is one of the best yet! Because people complained of the pancakes being too liquidy, I used a bit less milk. This recipe yields very little; I got only 7 smallish pancakes from a single recipe - which is a lot less than 4 servings in this house particularly with pancaked so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetable Lovers' Fried Rice

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Five stars for the base recipe; it allows adjustments for taste preferences. I don't fancy bamboo shoots, but do fancy cabbage and water chestnuts. Not a big fan of soy sauce-colored eggs either, so I left the soy sauce in the bottle for last seasoning step. I loved one reviewer's idea of julienning the carrots--keeps 'em crunchy. I seasoned the rice with a quarter teaspoon of "Five Spice" (contains ginger and star anise) at the last 5-minute heating/stirring step. Perfect rice, great veggie textures, and mouth-watering flavor. I served it as a side to lemon/pepper-seasoned chicken thighs (had to serve separately to accommodate my vegetarian dinner attendees). I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Old Fashioned Raisin Pie I

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
You have to really like raisins to enjoy this one, but it is good. Like others, I used lemon juice instead of vinegar and would recommend making it that way. I also doubled the recipe since I had a deep dish pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Garlic Green Beans

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I started by heating toasted sesame oil, then added the garlic. Meanwhile I blanched the beans for 3 minutes, then followed recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAKGAMBIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clark's Quiche

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I wanted a spinach quiche and only had some of the ingredients called for. With all the 5 star ratings, I figured how bad could it be? I only had one pie shell and no ham or mushrooms, so I scaled the recipe for 1 pie. This was fantastic! I have used several quiche recipes from this site, but this was the best by far. I think the sour cream and parsley add to the flavor. Will try it again soon with all the required ingrediences -minus the ham, just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Fletcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States