Cincinnati - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Austrian Pancake

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I replaced the heavy cream with half n half. Very tasty and easy to prepare too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This is a good recipe, but for us, needs a little tweaking. It had W-A-Y too much salt and just a little too much sugar (maybe personal taste preferences). I'd start with 1/2 tsp salt, cut the sugar in half the next time and then adjust those ingredients as necessary. At least for us, I think that will give us the correct balance of sweet-sour-savory that we're looking for. I chopped the apple, and liked the way it cooked down and incorporated itself into the red cabbage. I've tried a number of red cabbage recipes on this site, and I must say that this one is right there at the top of my list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Delicious BBQ Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
We thought this was pretty good, served it over grilled sirloin patties. Little bit of an Asian twist to it with the tamari.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Mom's Scalloped Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I cooked for 70 minutes, and it still had quite a bit of milk that needed to cook down. Since the potatoes already were cooked, and I didn't want it getting too brown, I just spooned off some of the liquid. One thing I'll do in the future is add more salt, since I didn't sprinkle enough on each layer. Sliced the potatoes and onions in the food processor, so not having to make a sauce (saved myself a dirty pan) made this pretty simple and quick to pull together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

French Toast Roll-Ups

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Added some very ripe raspberries to the cream cheese filling and baked for 15 minutes. Not sure exactly why the roll-ups need to be frozen (maybe keeps the filling from oozing out?), but I froze them overnight. Must say it was nice this morning just to pull them out of the freezer and into the oven. These rolls are just crisp enough that you can hold them and eat, no fork necessary. They’re not overly sweet, and although I ate them hot, I think they’d be equally good at room temperature or even chilled. They'd be a terrific addition to a brunch buffet. Thanks jessnay for a quick and tasty breakfast today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Best cole slaw ever. I used generic miracle whip and a small bit of fat free mayo when I ran out of miracle whip. The only other change was no poppy seeds. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Jordan Marsh Style Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
The batter was almost like a dough, and I ended up adding probably almost double the milk to get it even close to a muffin batter consistency. They turned out OK, the texture is a little heavy but still very moist, You get a pop of juicy blueberries in just about every bite. If I were to change anything, I might cut back the amount of blueberries just a bit. Watch your cooking time on these because mine were done at 20 minutes instead of 30. I did use Truvia® instead of sugar, and I liked the fact that these were not super-sweet muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Orange Pecan Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Followed the recipe to the letter, but had a little difficulty with the filling setting even after 60 minutes baking. It was just a little runny, but the flavor was spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Eggnog Whipped Cream

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Used rum extract and freshly grated nutmeg. And, yes, it really does taste like eggnog. Served today on Orange Pecan Pie, but this would be an outstanding topping for a pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Great Northern Bean and Ham Soup -- Cooking School

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
You rarely see bean soup served at restaurants anymore. It'll always be one of my favorite soups, and this is a good recipe for it. It's also a great way to use up some of my Christmas baked ham from yesterday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Brown Sugar n' Bacon Green Beans

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I cut back the brown sugar a little bit, but would cut in half in the future, since it was just a little too sweet for us. This well could be just a personal taste preference, since we seem to like food less sweet these days. I bought a bottle of the McCormick Vegetable Seasoning just for this recipe, and I can see using it a lot on steamed veggies which often can use a little flavor boost. This was a very good side dish to a baked Christmas ham, and I would make again. Dana P, thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Berry Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I typically don't like foods too sweet, but this was just a little too tart for me (that's certainly easy enough to fix) I liked using 3 different type berries in this sauce, and the change in texture they bring. Also liked that little bit of the pumpkin spice flavor peeking through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Apple-Cheese Tart

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
What a nice combination of flavors, and to think it starts with a can of cinnamon-y apple pie filling...how easy is that??? The cheddar is sharp, but it’s mellowed out by the ricotta resulting in a mild cheesy creamy filling that doesn't take anything away from the apple flavor. The only thing that I would do differently in the future is cut the salt in half. We enjoyed this both warm and cold. Nice change for a quick-and-easy dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Vegetable Dill Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is one of my favorites! My mom made this, and I make it often. Beau Monde is definitely one of those spices that you don't use very often, but definitely makes the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle C McDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Orange Summer Cooler

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I had a little bit of peach-mango-passion sherbet left in the freezer, so I used it instead of the orange sherbet, otherwise, followed the directions. I had concerns that it would be too sweet with the 10xx sugar in it, but it provided the perfect amount of sweetness and did not overwhelm. Don’t just think “summer/hot weather” for this; at least in this house it’ll be served all year. The texture was spot on, and the serving amount just what we were looking for. Bright & fresh with a good pop of citrus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Spicy Hot Corn

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I cut this recipe in half, and although we liked it, I was expecting something that had more zing (its name is SPICY HOT Corn). For us, there was too much of a mild/mellow cream cheese flavor. I think it would have benefitted from the addition of a small can of green chiles or maybe more jalapeños. It was just a little bland, but that may be a personal taste preference. We did enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Country Apple Dessert

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I was out of town for a week and upon returning, realized I had a lot of fresh fruit that needed to be used. Followed the recipe except I used fresh pineapple and sprinkled some brown sugar on top when serving. Good, wouldn't say "wow," and it sort of reminded me of a warm fruit cocktail, and that's not to say that's a bad thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Chef John's Bacon Jam

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Everyone really loved this! I served it with sliced baguette that I toasted with a little garlic butter. Does anyone know how long it will keep in the fridge? As usual Chef John is awesome! Making his lasagna for a Christmas Party on Sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Birthday Bones

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Oh yeah, they're good. Holiday treats if they last that until then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Stef's Super Cheesy Garlic Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This was delicious! Only thing I probably did differently was to add more garlic and green onions. That's it! This is the only way I'll make garlic bread now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States