Cincinnati - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This is excellent (spicy) chili! I had to make a few changes, due to dietary needs. I used no green prpper, no green chilis and no beer. And it was still fabulous! If I was making this for myself, I'd have used everything but the kitchen curtains, but sometimes we are forced to be considerate of our fellow human beings. Thanks for posting MIGHTYPURDUE22!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This recipe is one (of two) recipes I always use. This one is a "man and kid" pleaser. It always gets yumms all around! This is the one I always serve when my grandchildren are in town. There is never a morsel left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Healthy Chocolate Mug Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I would strongly recommend that you pour this mixture into 2 mugs because my single regular-size mug overflowed big time. Scooped and scraped it all up and put into a bowl, but it would make more sense just to make this 2 servings which also makes it "healthier." It was eaten, but I did not think the flavor was rich chocolate, and I doubt I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Spicy Salmon Salad Sandwiches

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I drained the salmon, reserved the juice and would do that in the future. I would suggest you do the same, and add more of the liquid if needed. Even without the liquid, the consistency was "very" moist, but with the liquid, would have been soupy. On the positive side, we enjoyed the sandwich, and although you do get a little kick of heat, it by no means overwhelms. This was a nice break from traditional tuna salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Easy Pressure Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Easy as peezy and that's how I like my recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lonnie Robinson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elsmere, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Chicken Orzo Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Homemade stock always makes for a better soup but some soups absolutely need it. I think that this is one of them. The thin broth did not stand up to all the lemon. Also, I had forgotten the strange color that lemon can turn spinach so mine did not end up being a pretty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Sweet and Spicy French Dressing

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
We love french/catalina-style salad dressings, and this is a good one. Our tastes lean toward "less sweet" these days, so I did cut back on the sugar to suit our personal taste preference. The nutritional breakdown is already pretty good on this dressing, but I used Truvia® instead of sugar, so the calories were even fewer. Thanks for sharing your recipe Grandma39!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

NO YOLKS® Creamy Chicken Noodle Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I like that I didn't have to cook the noodles separately, making clean-up easier. I used roasted turkey instead of chicken and used Italian panko bread crumbs which added great flavor! I also added extra flour to thicken, since it seemed pretty liquid-y. Good casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

NO YOLKS® Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Made one change; I used roasted turkey instead of chicken. I love the simplicity of this recipe, and these 0 cholesterol noodles were tasty. I used Kitchen Basics Chicken Stock which IMO is the best. Just be sure to use a really good-quality stock/broth if you're not using homemade. This comes together quickly, and I definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Spicy Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Followed this recipe to the letter and wouldn't change a thing. Don't be afraid of that little bit of cayenne, it really won't smack you in the face. It gives you a hint of spiciness without overwhelming, and it's an important ingredient to what makes this cookie special. I rolled the cookie dough balls in Turbinado sugar, and the cookies' texture was just about perfect. The only thing that I did differently was to bake for 11 minutes instead of 9. Thanks, Anisa, for sharing your unique and delicious cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Tasty Lentil Tacos

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
We used 6 inch flour tortillas (warmed at 350 for 10 minutes), and topped the lentil mix with shredded cheese, sour cream, and chopped cilantro. Excellent and filling at 3 tacos each, and the size we made them, it was enough for 9 tacos. Very affordable, too: my cost was maybe $5 for the entire dish. I will definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Blueberry and Banana Steel Cut Oats

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This was cooked at 4 hours and had started to stick a bit, so watch your time. I'm not a huge fan of steel cut oats, but decided to use them for this recipe. The fresh blueberries really held their shape and give you a real pop of sweetness. Be sure to mash your bananas well; I didn't, thinking they would break down when cooking, but they didn't. It was a little thick, so I did thin out after I took the photo by adding some water to get the consistency we like. I've tried a number of slow cooker oatmeal recipes, and this one actually might be my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

PB and J Mini Mug Cakes

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
What a pleasant surprise. This took 1 minute 10 seconds in the microwave, and it was GOOD! Many mug cakes are dry, but not the case with this one. It's a little spongy, but plenty moist. Thanks, emignance, for sharing the best mug recipe that I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Kristy's Spicy Mustard

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I used this today on a grilled jalapeño-cheddar sausage, and it was too sweet even after adding more horseradish. If you're looking for a sweet-slightly spicy mustard/dipping sauce, this would be good. It just didn't worked too well on the sausage, but that's not to say it isn't tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Spicy Thai Shrimp Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I didn't have rice vermicelli, so I used spaghetti, added some additional veggies, and garnished with black sesame seeds. The recipe author doesn't give you a recipe for a Thai peanut sauce, so just be sure you use a good one; there are a number of good peanut sauces on this site. That sauce on its own will make or break this dish for you. And if the peanut sauce isn't "spicy enough," add some red pepper flakes. We enjoyed it as a cold salad, chilled for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Apricot Jam Pots

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Absolute buttery-apricot deliciousness! I didn't use paper liners, but did butter the mini muffin cups, and they came out beautifully, no sticking whatever. Wouldn't change a single thing. Scaled this down to 12, and these will be gone SHORTLY! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Tomatoes with Seafood Dressing

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Used fresh shrimp rather than canned and cut back a bit on the carrots, otherwise, followed the recipe. Used a specialty tomato called a Kumato which has brownish skin instead of red, but very sweet. The shrimp salad was runny, so I would try less lemon juice in the future. This is VERY mild, a little light on flavor for us so I would try adding additional seasoning next time, maybe Old Bay or a shot of hot sauce (could be personal taste preference). Enjoyed for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I'm giving this 5 stars, but my oddball hubby thought these didn't even taste like Brussels sprouts, so he didn't care for them. I'm thinking that the LESS they taste like Brussels sprouts, the BETTER! Sweet and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Blueberry Anadama Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I used fresh blueberries and added about another 1/2 cup of flour; it was a very easy dough to work with. I know this will make great breakfast toast, and I think it will be perfect for french toast (will find out tomorrow morning). It was a little "wet" (from the blueberries) for lack of a better term, and if I were to make any change in the future, I'd cut back about 1/4 cup or so on the blueberries. I'd never had anadama bread, hubby wasn't wow'd by it, but it certainly was different, and I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
We tried this tonight to increase our vegetarian meal choices because meat has gotten so expensive. It was super easy and far more flavorful than I expected. Definitely a keeper. We used dry black beans (1/2 cup of dry beans = 1 can) that we simmered until tender. Also frozen corn instead of canned. I also used about half a 16 oz jar of medium salsa, and olive oil instead of butter. I forgot the sugar but will probably add it next time. Really loved it like it is, though! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States