Cincinnati - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by lutzflcat

Fruit Salad Smoothie

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I really like how this one breaks down nutritionally. Many smoothies, although tasty, can end up being very high in calories, fat & carbs. This one does not, AND it tastes good! We like our smoothie texture a bit on the thick side and since this does not call for any frozen fruit, I did cut back on the milk (used skim) and added crushed ice. I had fresh pineapple on hand, so I used that, and next time, I'll add a banana (WTH, it is a fruit salad smoothie!). Thanks, Adri7077, for a new breakfast smoothie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Chris

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
This has the potential to be a great recipe. I tasted a little too much chicken broth and it made the taste a lil overbearing. Instead perhaps I'll add more salsa. I used fresh salsa and I liked that. Perhaps I'll use a combination of salsas and less broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Egg Salad with Chopped Gherkins

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Enjoyable lunch served inside a medium-size tomato with pulp scooped out. That little bit of dry mustard gives this a tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Chicken Mango Salsa Salad with Chipotle Lime Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
This is delicious! A nice mix of sweet and heat. My only criticism is that this will not serve 6 as a main dish. I think you could stretch it to feed 4. My hubby and I had two generous servings, and I have a large portion to take to work tomorrow. This is definitely a "keeper" and well worth all the chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sudie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: York, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Pepper Vodka Cherry Tomatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I couldn't find pepper vodka, so I just infused some vodka with chopped jalapeños and some dried chilis (and this way you can control how hot your vodka is) and then strained them out. These are fast & quick little appetizers; be sure to serve them in the vodka so your salt-lemon pepper mixture sticks to the tomato. Can't say that I like the sodium content on this recipe, but like everything, moderation is key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Easy Key Lime Pie I

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Great recipe! I like it a bit more tart, and you can add whipped cream or a dusting of powder sugar (if you're not a big whipped cream fan)as a garnish if it's not sweet enough. I used 4 egg yolks, 3/4 cup of fresh squeezed key lime juice instead of the listed amount. I also added 1 tsp of lime zest. It makes it that much more "lime" intense. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Twice Baked Cauliflower

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Used 2% cheddar cheese, but other than that, made no change to the recipe. First, don't think of this as a substitution for mashed potatoes because you'll be disappointed. You never can get mashed cauliflower the same texture as mashed potatoes. However, this is a very nice cauliflower side dish, loaded with flavor. We did add salt and pepper at the table, so I'd probably add that before baking next time, but other than that, wouldn't change a thing. We're not vegetarians, but we enjoyed this vegetarian side dish! Rachel, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Baked Peaches

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Wow, did this one surprise me. How can something so easy, taste so good, and you can enjoy it with no guilt. The recipe doesn't say to defrost the peaches, but I had some concerns about frozen peaches releasing water in the baking dish, so I defrosted them. The recipe author says "if you prefer to use brown sugar, use the same amount as the replacement." I used Splenda Brown Sugar Blend, and you use half the amount of brown sugar, so just a word of caution if you don't use the substitute. This had just the right amount of sweetness for us, takes no time to make, and you can enjoy this dessert without guilt. Thanks, libton, for a yummy, quick and easy dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Roasted Sweet Potato Fries

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
The oven temperature was too high, one side burned at 20 minutes, and the potatoes were cooked at that point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Soccer Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Sweet, crunchy and light. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Meacham Craig Barillas
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Simple Strawberry Salsa

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Breakfast today was this salsa served with cinnamon-sugar baked tortilla chips. If you need a recipe for the tortilla chips, see Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips on this site. I had fresh pineapple, so I used that instead of canned, and the orange, strawberries, and kiwi were perfectly ripe, so I didn't need the sugar. Just simple, fresh fruit flavor at its best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Hobo Beans

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This is a really good combination of beans, ground beef, and bacon, and the taste is similar to a traditional Calico Beans. I knew 1 cup of brown sugar would be way too sweet for our tastes, so I cut that in half, and we were happy with the level of sweetness. Enjoyed this with some mini jalapeño corn muffins. Thanks for sharing, this one's easy and gets a thumbs up in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Texas Ranch Potato Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I have been looking for "the" potato salad recipe for over a year! This is it! Easy, make ahead, and WOW - tastes great! I, too subbed the scream for 1 c. of mayo. and did not use bacon, but I bet that's even better. I'm making a 2nd time today and am having to sub the gr. onions for chives, so we'll see. 2nd day is even better! I just could NOT STOP eating this stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I used 2.5 pound roast and the full amount of spices and the meat just didn't have any Italian flavor to it. It was bland pot roast on bun with good melted cheese. Doubt I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITCHENKATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Zucchini Noodle Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I hate to make major modifications to a new recipe, so I followed this recipe to the letter, put into a 425 degrees F oven, checked at 20 minutes, and the mozzarella cheese was totally burned. I pulled it off, sprinkled on more mozzarella, and cooked for about another 8 minutes, until it was just starting to brown. In the future, I would cover this casserole with foil for half the time (at least), remove the foil, and then back into the oven, allowing the cheese to melt. Better yet, I think cooking this at 375 would be even better but, again, covering it with foil for part of the time, so the cheese doesn't burn. I added the Italian seasoning to the sauce rather than sprinkling on top of the cheese. A lot of water cooked out of the zucchini, and the bottom of dish was pretty deep with water. I just poured it off, and then cut into serving sizes. The Greek yogurt mixed in with the marinara made a really flavorful sauce. A few tweaks, but it did end up tasting really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Tri-Color Slaw with Lime Dressing

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
The amount of carrots in relation to the two types of cabbage seemed disproportionate, so I cut that back to have equal portions of all three ingredients. I tasted the dressing and added more lime juice, and ended up with a very nice cole slaw. This has good eye appeal and good taste, a winning combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I was a little apprehensive about this when I read the ingredients, but I'm really glad I tried it. It's easy to fix and delicious. The only change I made was adding a couple peeled and quartered russet potatoes to the cooker about 3 hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Man

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Italian Beef Sandwiches

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
When I come across this recipe As I flip through My Recipe Box, my mouth litteraly waters, EVERY time! Rump roasts can sometimes be a little tough and flavorless, but not so in this recipe! I made Au Jus and then placed the meat on hoagie rolls, with Pepper Jack cheese and sliced it diagonally for dipping. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herb Roasted Pork

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I made this for Easter dinner for my family of six. Even my pickiest little one liked it. I'm glad I read the. Reviews, though; several raters suggested doubling the sauce. I did, and was glad. We used it to dip Brussels sprouts in, and even my picky little guy gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tarragon Tartar Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This was delicious!! Esp. The next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States