Cincinnati - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Garlic Butter

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
The first time I made this, I used salted butter. DON'T! The recipe needed some tweeking, but the second time I made it, it was excellent. I used UNSALTED butter (don't use margarine); garlic paste (1 TBS) in place of the minced garlic; garlic powder instead of garlic salt and fresh grated Parmesan cheese. Oh my goodness! Great on toasted Italian bread or as a dip for your favorite cracker, pretzel or corn chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Sweet 'n Creamy Peanut Butter Apple Sandwich

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Used reduced fat peanut butter, low fat ricotta, and Pepperidge Farm® Cinnamon Bread. I didn't add any sugar after tasting the peanut butter mixture, just felt it didn't need it. I had it for lunch today, but this would make a good breakfast, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Bed and Breakfast Baked Oatmeal

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This may not be pretty, but oh my, did we like this! My first time eating "baked oatmeal," and it was the bomb. Not only does this taste divine, it also breaks down pretty well nutritionally. Another nice thing about it is if made the night before, it's one of those "grab & go" breakfasts on your way to work. It was completely cooked at 45 minutes, so do watch your time. It was so good that I could eat this for dessert. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Mocha Coffee Mix

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This is great. I was looking for some sugar free hot chocolate and this is great. I also use it in my coffee for some chocolate creamer. I changed the Splenda to 2 cups and the unsweetened cocoa powder to 1 1/4 cups. I love sweet and chocolatey. If I use it in my coffee I amy add a packet of Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Hall

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Midway City, California, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Ah-So-Easy Ramen Peanut Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Unfortunately, the ramen noodles soaked up the thick peanut sauce very quickly and became "gummy" and dry. If I were to make this again, I'd add some additional liquid (water/soy sauce/vinegar), thinning out the peanut sauce a bit. I used rice vinegar, reduced-sodium soy sauce, and added sliced red bell pepper for a pop of color and some sweetness. This was just OK, and I'm not sure that I'll even try tweaking it to get the consistency I'm looking for. Sorry, Nancy Melsheimer Rudolph, as the first reviewer, I wish I'd been able to give this a better review. Please don't let this discourage others from trying, as we all have different opinions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Mother Earth's Baked Beans

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This reminds me somewhat of Calico Beans which I bake in the oven. It definitely has a good blend of flavors and beans. I’m not convinced that it needs 6 hours in the slow cooker, then refrigerated overnight, and reheated in the slow cooker for an hour the next day. I slow-cooked it today, we ate it today, and it was very good! Slow cooking may be a convenience for some, but I think cooking stovetop or even baking in the oven also would be fine. I did omit the liquid smoke which we don’t care for. Terra, thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Cranberry Fluff

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Refrigerated the marshmallow, cranberry, sugar mixture for about 6 hours, and it had solidified. There was no way, I’d be able to stir in the apples, grapes & walnuts, so I popped it in the microwave for two 10-second intervals just to soften slightly...it worked. I was able to then fold in the fruit and whipped cream, and it did end up tasting pretty good. Think this would be a good Holiday dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Mango, Carrot, and Arugula Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Liked this salad, but there are a few things that I would do differently in the future. I scaled the recipe down to 2 servings which called for 1 large shredded carrot...too much for us, would cut the carrot amount in half. Personal taste preference, but I think dried cranberries would be a good option to the raisins, and they would give the salad a little pop of color. Instead of mixing the raisins (or cranberries) and peanuts into the salad, I would plate the salad and then garnish with these two items, as they just fall to the bottom of the salad bowl. You need to be a serious arugula lover to thoroughly enjoy this salad. I wonder if a blend of spinach and arugula might be more palatable to many folks, as the arugula on its own is very peppery. Nice dressing, and right amount, as it didn’t drench the salad itself. Also, I would add the zest to the dressing, not to the salad itself, as I think it will be better distributed in the salad. This easily could be changed into a main course salad with the addition of some grilled shrimp or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Baked Tortilla Chips

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I don't know why I waited so long to try this recipe. In this house, we prefer flour tortillas to corn tortillas, so that's what I used. Watch your time baking, mine were done (some a little too brown) at 11 minutes. There's a short window between getting them crisp (not soggy), but not burnt. I always have flour tortillas in the house, so I'll probably just keep a small spray bottle of the oil-lime juice mixture on hand, as I think I'll be making these chips often. These tortilla chips are just so much better than what you buy at the supermarket in a bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Joe's Hummus with Pine Nuts

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Cut back a little on the reserved bean liquid which gave me the consistency that I like. I used a meat mallet to crush the peppercorns, but I think if you have a pepper mill, using the "coarse" grind on it would work fine. I will say that the pepper is important in this hummus. Wouldn't change anything on this recipe, it had the perfect balance of ingredients for us. JOEKLUGER, thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Romanian Apple Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I made this for my office birthday treat. Everyone liked it. This very simple cake can serve as a breakfast coffee cake treat or a dessert. It has a nice apple and spice flavor that everyone can enjoy. I used Granny Smith apples. I noticed that the dough was very stiff when I folded it into the baking pan. I worried that I had left out some liquid ingredient because it seemed so stickey. Don't worry, it poofs up nicely in the oven into a more cake-y texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Easy Coleslaw Dressing

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I was a little concerned about the measurements on this recipe, but not to worry. It turned out well, and I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Used 7 eggs and added mushrooms and a jar of pimientos. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoonOfArc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Love this chili! Only change I make is to not mash the beans. We prefer the beans left whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Ground Beef and Chopped Cabbage

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This was a satisfying meal, nothing fancy, but just good, old-fashioned, home-cooked food. I did find it a bit little weak on flavor, so I did add more seasoning. Enjoyed, and thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This is one of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahWilks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Corn Fritter Pancakes

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I’d give this a 5 for taste and a 2 for the recipe as written because I think there’s something wrong. Since the recipe doesn’t say if the can of corn should be drained, I used it with the liquid. What I ended up with was a bowl of batter that ran all over the place when dropped onto the griddle (threw the first batch out). I used a box of Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix which is 8.5 oz. The recipe calls for 6.5 oz of cornbread mix, so I measured it out on the scale. I ended up adding the rest of the Jiffy mix hoping to thicken it...still runny. I think you either need to cut the milk in half (at least) if you’re not draining the can of corn and if you use Jiffy, use the entire pkg, or simply drain the corn. The consistency of the pancake was almost like a crepe, and I would have preferred something a bit thicker. On the positive side, they are very tasty, easy to make, and I do think it’s worth trying again. Just use your best judgment on the consistency of the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Power Drink ***THE ORANGE***

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This one surprised the heck out of me, I wasn't quite sure what I'd end up with. Well, it was EXCELLENT! I drink a lot of smoothies, and I'd rank this one in my Top 5. I scaled this down to one serving, used Greek yogurt, and cored but didn't peel my red MacIntosh apple which enhanced its eye appeal. Followed the recipe to the letter (except no salt), loved its creaminess and bright flavor, and wouldn't change a thing. Thanks, michimama, for a new and healthy breakfast smoothie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Super! No need to change a thing! I do have to eliminate the pecans because of a tree nut allergy in my home. I add raisins instead. That's it! I'm sure it would still be wonderful with the pecans. I've had many complements on this cake. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

PBJ French Toast

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I didn't have challah bread but did use some really good quality homestyle bread from the bakery. I really couldn't taste the raspberry liqueur, and if I were to make this again, think I'd just use raspberry extract. It was good, but I'm a PBJ gal, so I knew this one was a sure thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States