Cincinnati - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by lutzflcat

Cold Tropical Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I used a fresh pineapple that I had on hand, and frozen peas instead of canned peas. One change that I made was cutting back on the number of hard-boiled eggs, concerned that the eggs would just take over the salad. This was a superb side dish to Kalula Pork (slow cooker) and such a nice break from the same-ole macaroni salad. Love the sweetness from the pineapple and the crunch from the apple. I also love that this can be made early in the day for a no-fuss dinner on a hot summer day. Thanks, Alicia, we enjoyed this new macaroni salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Fresh Cherry Shortcake

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I used a combo of Rainier and Bing cherries and used the food processor for making the shortcake dough. This makes BIG shortcakes, and in the future I will make them smaller (personal preference). I must say that the shortcake was very different from any that I’ve ever had, primarily due to the addition of the cinnamon and cardamon, but particularly the cardamom, a spice I like. The lemon zest gives a nice tang to the cherries, so don’t omit it. The shortcakes are a bit dense, and I would have liked more cherry juice to saturate the cakes better; they were a little on the dry side. In the future, I will add more sugar and a bit of water to the cherries while they’re mascerating, producing more juice for the shortcakes. Very nice change from traditional strawberry shortcake, we liked it, and this was dessert for the 4th of July!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Simple Cantaloupe Smoothie

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Used vanilla Greek yogurt (what I had on hand)t, added a few more ice cubes and ended up with a really creamy breakfast smoothie. I had a perfectly ripe cantaloupe and just eyeballed the amount, adding a more than 1/2 cup I'd say, but the OJ still slightly overpowered the cantaloupe flavor. Didn't really matter that much, as it was perfectly sweet, and I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

RITZ Push-Cart Hot Dog Bites

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
We used the push-cart onions the traditional way, topping a hot dog. What a nice change from same-ole mustard and sweet pickle relish. I added a little more Louisiana hot sauce which gave this just the perfect zing for us. Thanks, Lillian, for developing this recipe, it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Real German Potato Salad (No Mayo)

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I've had many different type German potato salads, but I have never had one with fresh dill in it...but I liked it. Hot/warm potatoes really soak up liquid quickly. I had to add a considerable amount of additional broth and vinegar, so the potatoes were not dried out. I asked my husband to taste after I'd finally mixed all up, and at that point, he said to add more vinegar. When I next make this, I also think I would use bolder apple cider vinegar, maybe just a taste preference for us. And by means, do add the "optional" bacon, I think it's very important to the flavor of this dish. Served this evening with good, old-fashioned grilled German bratwursts. Enjoyed, and i would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Italian Sausage Soup w/ Adjustments

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This soup is amazing! I never change a thing when I first try a recipe. This is absolutely PERFECT without a single adjustment. Served it with garlic pull-apart bread. YUM! Also made Baked Ziti I,which is excellent, but I won't serve these two dishes together again as the soup usurped the Ziti's place as the star of the dinner table. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Sangria (White)

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Our favorite white sangria is mixed tableside at a local Spanish restaurant. They use brandy instead of rum, and leave a cinnamon stick in the pitcher. This actually measured up pretty well. If you you don’t put ice in your glass, the frozen grapes certainly would help chill the sangria a little (but go ahead & add ice). Today I used what I had on hand (chardonnay), but next time, I think I’ll try pino gris, brandy instead of the rum, and add the cinnamon stick. Thanks themistycat (my second cat was named Misty) for a nice refresher on a blistering hot Florida day. I’ve always enjoyed white sangria more than the traditional red, and your recipe is a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Slow Cooker Vanilla Tapioca Pudding

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I sub’d Truvia for the sugar which worked out fine in case you want to use a sugar substitute. Slow cookers are like microwaves, cooking temperatures vary widely. Mine was done in about 3 hours, so I would caution you to keep an eye on your cooker so it doesn’t burn. The pudding was rich, loaded with vanilla flavor, and very creamy. Although I’m not a huge slow cooker fan, this is one recipe that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Made a few modifications per user reviews, plus some of my own. DELISH!! Worth the time to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Dad's Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I didn’t have spiral pasta, so I used farfalle/bow ties. Not so sure that we really cared for the addition of pasta to the potato salad, perhaps, we’re too traditional. I measured everything so I know proportions were correct, but my hubby’s comment was that it tasted more like a pasta salad than a potato salad. If I were to make again, I’d cut the amount of pasta in half (personal taste, perhaps). We did like the dressing very much and the addition of the dill pickles. One final comment, even scaled down, this makes a LOT. I changed servings to 4, and there was enough for 6+ servings in this house. I don’t want to discourage others from trying. It was OK, just not my favorite, but with all recipes, personal taste does kick in on reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

12-Second Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Used Thousand Island Dressing III from AR and added some chile paste for the hot sauce. This had just the right amount of heat and right amount of tang from the mellow rice vinegar. I really have never seen angel hair-style shredded cabbage, just tried to thinly slice some green cabbage and threw in a little shredded carrot. This one’s a “no brainer” folks, we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Corn-Onion Pudding

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Followed the recipe to the letter, and there's nothing not to like about this. The texture of the pudding is firm, but still plenty moist and juicy, the corn was crisp, and it simply tasted good. Very nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Thirty Minute Bread and Butter Pickles

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Instead of a large cucumber, I used four mini gourmet cukes which I had in the fridge, and sliced both the cukes and onion in the food processor (this took about 2 mins). The cucumbers were smaller, so I knew they would require less time than the recipe specified, and these were done in less than 3 minutes. Of course, the cooking time will depend on the power of your microwave, but mine were perfectly crisp-tender. I would caution you to start with fewer minutes, and if needed, just add more time. You don’t want to end up with a jar of mushy pickles. And the way these break out nutritionally, you can eat as many as you want! Very nice, this one’s a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I made this as written except I changed to recipe to feed 48 (rather than 12). It actually made five 9 X 13 pans. Very yummy. Easy to make. Lots of people asked for the recipe. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reuben Sandwich II

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
These are tremendous. I make them with my own corned beef briskit made in a slow cooker the day before. The meat tastes better but I don't have the ability to shave it like a deli can, so there is a trade-off. Also I mix the kraut and dressing together before I spread it on the bread. The kraut stays on better that way. It helps to mash the sandwiches a little with the spatula while they're cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Man

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Thai Peanut Chicken Lo Mein

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Honestly, the only chow mein noodle that I’m familiar with is the fried type that you buy in the can. I hope you know what type noodles the recipe calls for because I couldn’t find them and ended up using Trader Joe’s Fresh Rice Noodles which turned to mush. If I make this again, I’ll use my old stand-by for lo mein, “thick” Barilla spaghetti. The sauce is good and with the exception of the noodles, we enjoyed this dish. I did add some snow peas, sliced red bell pepper for color, and a garnish of some chopped peanuts. In the future, I’ll most likely add a sprinkle of red pepper flakes to suit our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Crab Legs with Garlic Butter Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I'm giving this five stars because the flavor was wonderful. I'll never make it again tho. It was much too messy!! Crab legs are messy enough without coating them in butter! I will make the herbed butter again and use it to dip the crab meat in. Thanks for a great recipe to enhance the taste of one of my favorite foods. Hubby loved it, but also thought it was too messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Asian Glazed Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I have made allot of Asian dishes and this is my favorite. I did not have Asian chili garlic sauce on hand so I subbed with Fish Sauce, 1/4 teas garlic powder and 1/2 tablespoon of Frank's Hot Sauce. So good and my kids loved it. Also did not have time to bake it so I cooked the chicken in the wok and then added sauce. Let that cooked by boiling hard for about 10 minutes, last 5 minutes I added a fresh head of chopped broccoli and served with white rice. This will be family staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLE01

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

7UP Winter Mint Sherbet Punch

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Easy and delicious punch recipe! Made it for a baby shower I was hosting (with white rum on the side) and it was hit. I made ice balls with fresh mint and garnished the punch with it as well. Will definitely make it again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Shoepeg Corn Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This was a pleasant chilled side dish to grilled BBQ'd bone-in chicken breast. The shoepeg corn is crisp, and the dressing has a nice tang to it. This was a welcome change from my typical mac or potato salad that I often serve with grilled chicken. Thanks, HotGrandma, for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States