Cincinnati - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Made it the first time a few weeks ago exactly as written. Hubby thought it was good but a little sweet. I cut down on the honey and made it slightly hotter with some extra crushed red pepper flakes for tonight. We may never order pizza for delivery again! Yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Venezuelan Swirled Ham Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Interesting combination of flavors with nice presentation. I only wished that I'd been able to roll out the dough a bit more to get a swirled/pinwheel effect when slicing. Simply couldn't get it rolled out any wider, it just kept springing back, so I just filled, sealed, and baked it. Before filling the bread, I cut it in half, served one today and froze the other one for later. The melted apricot preserves really complement the bread's filling. Very quick & easy to make and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Simply Good Eggs

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
These eggs were good but, honestly, I didn't think there was anything to really distinguish them from many other recipes. If I were to make again, I'd probably add more dill relish because that may be the one thing that could differentiate them from deviled eggs that I've made all my life. And please don't take this review as negative because they were tasty, but I guess I was looking for something really different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

FISH TACO SLAW

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I love a room temp. slaw on fish taco's. This is my go-to recipe. Hope you enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Cinnamon Roll Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Used MacIntosh apples (what I had on hand), and used only 5 of them which completely covered the top of the crisp. I don't like to make changes to a recipe first time through, but I just knew that this would have too much sugar and cinnamon for us (personal taste preference), so I cut back on both. The house smelled wonderful while this was baking, and we could barely keep ourselves from cutting into it after it came out of the oven. This was a sweet and juicy apple crisp with a flavorful cinnamon roll base, just delicious. The most time consuming part of this recipe is peeling and slicing the apples, but it's time well invested because this one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Quick Crispy Parmesan Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Pretty darn good! I used chicken tenders, so the cook-time was even shorter, and everyone liked them! Definitely a do-again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenonymous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Catfish Cakes

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This is a great recipe! I baked the fish as many have suggested and used toasted breadcrumbs and higher portion of Old Bay seasoning. I paired this with a creole rice and salad. Turned out great with no leftovers! This made my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent Laman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Mashed Cauliflower with Coconut Milk

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Followed the recipe to the letter except I steamed the cauliflower in the microwave for 2-1/2 minutes instead of boiling. First, I must say that this breaks down incredibly well nutritionally, but I must be honest and say that the coconut flavor was negligible. In spite of that, the onion and garlic powders add nice flavor to bland cauliflower, it does have a pretty smooth consistency, so this one's a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Tasty Breakfast Smoothie

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I didn't have any fresh apricots on hand (seldom even see them in my stores), so I added 4 dried apricots. I used plain vanilla Greek yogurt but would use vanilla Greek yogurt in the future or add some vanilla extract. I used a frozen banana and added some crushed ice because we prefer our smoothies on the thicker side. Enjoyed this for breakfast today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Strawberry-Marshmallow Blondies

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
The batter/dough was very thick, and I was concerned about how this would turn out. Not to worry because it turned out great! The marshmallows folded into the batter totally melted helping to keep the cake moist but didn't interfere with the blondie "texture," and the strawberries give just enough sweetness. I made a few substitutions using Egg Beaters® and Splenda Brown Sugar Blend® but kept the measurements in the correct proportion. I did think 1 Tbsp of vanilla would be overpowering, so I cut that in half. Experimenter, this is a very nice blondie recipe, and thanks for sharing, we enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
My husband and I loved it. Followed directions and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Curried Coconut Egg Drop Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Wow, really enjoyed this for lunch today. I added a bit more ginger, salt & pepper. The curry flavor is subtle, and I would have liked a little more spiciness, so I'll try red curry paste the next time to suit our personal tastes. This made two servings (appetizer size that you'd get at an Asian restaurant). Thanks for sharing, I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Buryl's Ice Box Pickles

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Very tasty and VERY sweet. I'll reduce the amount of sugar in the future, but then, we've been trending toward less sweet these days (so this is a personal taste preference). Just good, old fashioned comfort food pickles that folks have been making for years. Thanks, bhoff, for sharing Buryl's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Simple Breakfast Smoothie

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
What's not to like here??? Used vanilla yogurt, so I left out the vanilla extract, and used flaxseed meal. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Cheesy Quinoa Pilaf with Spinach

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I bucked my usual trend and made this recipe for the first time almost exactly as written. Regular gouda because I couldn't find goat gouda, and I added onion in with the garlic step. I also couldn't find raw sunflower seeds (life is hard at the ghetto grocery store), so I tossed the roasted ones in as the garlic and onion were finishing. I tripled the recipe, three of us ate it as a light meal, and I had two good sized servings left. We all were extremely pleased with the flavor, and I definitely will be making this again. A 5 oz. package of fresh baby spinach was just perfect for the triple recipe. Interestingly, I liked the flavor just as much when I sampled it cold as I was putting it away. I'm taking it for lunch tomorrow, and I'm going to try eating it without reheating to see how it is. If it works as a leftover at room temperature, I'll have to bump my 5 stars up to 10! Thanks very much for posting this recipe. I needed a fresh take on quinoa; I was tired of the several recipes I've been using for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ruby French Dressing

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
So simple, so fresh, so SO yummy! Thank you for sharing WYNDEN SKIE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This is excellent (spicy) chili! I had to make a few changes, due to dietary needs. I used no green prpper, no green chilis and no beer. And it was still fabulous! If I was making this for myself, I'd have used everything but the kitchen curtains, but sometimes we are forced to be considerate of our fellow human beings. Thanks for posting MIGHTYPURDUE22!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This recipe is one (of two) recipes I always use. This one is a "man and kid" pleaser. It always gets yumms all around! This is the one I always serve when my grandchildren are in town. There is never a morsel left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Healthy Chocolate Mug Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Should have read the reviews before I made this. I would strongly recommend that you pour this mixture into 2 mugs because my single regular-size mug overflowed big time. Scooped and scraped it all up and put into a bowl, but it would make more sense just to make this 2 servings which also makes it "healthier." It was eaten, but I did not think the flavor was rich chocolate, and I doubt I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Spicy Salmon Salad Sandwiches

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I drained the salmon, reserved the juice and would do that in the future. I would suggest you do the same, and add more of the liquid if needed. Even without the liquid, the consistency was "very" moist, but with the liquid, would have been soupy. On the positive side, we enjoyed the sandwich, and although you do get a little kick of heat, it by no means overwhelms. This was a nice break from traditional tuna salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States