Cincinnati - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Carrot Chips

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Used sweet organic carrots and sliced thinly with a mandolin. There’s a fine line between not being crisp enough and over browned (yeah, I had a few), so watch them closely. On the positive side, even the over browned ones were incredibly sweet. The carrot slices shrink substantially, so keep that in mind when you’re thinking about number of servings. For us, this recipe would equate to 2 servings, not 4. They may not be pretty, but trust me, you won’t be able to eat just one, they are surprisingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Georgia peaches soon will be gone, so I thought I'd make my "annual" fresh peach pie. Seriously, I think this is the best peach pie I've ever made. The only thing different that I did was add a couple Tbsp of Minute Tapioca because my peaches were very ripe, and I didn't want a runny filling. Simply.the.BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Mango-Pecan Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Oops, forgot the pecans (darn it, I had them, too). I did add a little bit of sliced red bell pepper and used red onion to give this a little color and make it more eye appealing. This was good, but I think it would have been better had the chicken been marinated, giving it more flavor. The mango topping was good, and really is the star of this recipe, because the chicken simply doesn’t have much flavor. Made the mango topping early in the day, warmed it up in the micro, and grilled the chicken breasts. Good, but I think it could be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Mawmaw's Simple Fried Green Tomatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
These are appropriately named because they really were SIMPLE to make. No dipping in flour, then egg, and then in bread crumbs. Just right out of the ice water into the flour-cornmeal mixture and into the skillet. The tomatoes didn’t turn to mush, and they had a nice thin crust which stayed on well, not a heavy breading like many recipes have which often can interfere with the actual green tomato flavor. The only thing I did differently was to lightly sprinkle some sugar on the tomatoes instead of salt. This is always the way I’ve eaten them, and I think it works well with the tartness of the tomato. Enjoyed your recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I used dark brown sugar for the streusel because I know we like it better, but other than that these muffins were amazing. I did not use liners and they stuck to the pan a bit despite greasing them first. I will just use the liners next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheflady12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Sugar Free Peach and Banana Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
The nutritional breakdown on this recipe intrigued me, and I had some very ripe peaches and bananas which needed to be used soon. I used Truvia for the sugar substitute, and although the peach-banana portion of the dessert was very good, I didn’t care for the cobbler topping. The recipe says to “...pour batter,” but it was so thick, I just had to drop spoonfuls on the top. And that’s OK, but I was disappointed in the taste of the topping. Followed the recipe to the letter, with the exception of using regular Georgia peaches (what I had on hand) instead of white. Really wanted to like this, and although the recipe writer says it's good for diabetics and it may be a compromise that person's willing to make, it's doubtful I’ll make again. I’m the first reviewer, so I don’t want to discourage others from trying, personal taste is always a factor. SandiNicol for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Guacamole My Way

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Sent my hubby to the store with a grocery list, and he came home with avocados instead of mangos...hmmm? I know we’re in the minority, but we’re not huge fans of avocados, although we don’t totally dislike them either. We enjoy a little guacamole every now and then, and this recipe is a good one. I did add a bit more lime juice and some chopped cilantro, personal taste preference. We enjoyed the creaminess and fresh flavor of this guacamole and definitely how easy it came together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Peanut Butter Mango Smoothie

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
All of these ingredients work well together, very creamy smoothie. In the future, I will a little vanilla extract, think that will enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Brussels Sprouts and Feta Pastry Roll

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I liked everything about this recipe except its eye appeal. Unfortunately, the brussels sprouts filling turned brown after baking making it look like ground beef. The most important thing is how it tastes, and it was good, but its presentation was a disappointment. I know, I know, this is purely aesthetics, but we do eat with our eyes as well, and I would never know that this was a veggie side dish if I hadn’t made it. Followed the recipe to the letter, except for letting it bake longer to brown the pastry crust, and it was quite easy to prepare. The balsamic vinegar really comes through in this recipe giving the filling just a little tang, and you’ll definitely taste the feta as well, both good things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

My Amazing Tomato Basil Soup (Like Applebee's®)

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I’ve never had tomato basil soup at Applebee’s, but I can only hope that it’s as good as this. The fresh herbs and marinara add layers of flavor, and the croutons (mine were garlic & butter) and freshly-grated parmesan are the perfect topping. This soup has the bold and rich flavor that you get with homemade tomato soup when tomatoes are at their peak. Do allow it to simmer the 15 mins listed in the directions, as the flavors do intensify. Trust me, nobody will ever know that this soup wasn’t made from scratch (no need to tell them, either) because it doesn’t taste like you started with a can of tomato soup. Honestly, the quality of this soup surprised me. Thanks lainalee for sharing your recipe, this was a very nice lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Banana Peach Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
The first reviewer is right, neither baking powder nor baking soda is included in this recipe (assuming accidentally). I added 1 tsp of baking soda which made the bread rise beautifully. I baked this bread in three 6”x3-1/2” mini loaf pans for 40 minutes, and ended up with some of the best banana bread I’ve ever had, moist and just loaded with flavor. Although the banana flavor is dominant, the peach flavor is subtle. In the future, I will add some chopped peach to the batter to see if that will elevate the peach flavor. I’m sending a note to AR customer service to see if they’ll add the baking soda to this recipe because it’s too good to have people not try this because of what's most likely an accidental ingredient omission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Zucchini Egg White Frittata

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
O.K., I’ll admit it, I still like a whole egg frittata better than an egg white frittata, but this was pretty good. I bought a container of liquid egg whites, and they worked well. The single thing that boosts flavor is the thyme. This may be a compromise for many, but if you’re watching your cholesterol or just trying to eat healthier, this recipe is a super star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Rosy Ginger Peach Smoothie

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
As cook suggests in her notes, do freeze either the peach or the strawberries, otherwise, you'll find yourself adding ice, diluting the flavor. The one ingredient that I could not taste was the ginger, so I'll add a bit more in the future. Very, very nice smoothie which also breaks down well nutritionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Baked Denver Omelet

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I made this in a 10-inch round baking dish as directed and found it to be overcooked and somewhat dry. I did take it out at 20 minutes but feel that 400 degrees might be too high of a temperature. If I made this again I would bake it at 350 for about 20 minutes and perhaps use an 8-inch round baking dish. It was tasty, though, and was good reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This is one delicious, healthy smoothie! I used frozen pineapple and used the whole lemon and lime, peeled and segmented. Just for the health of it, I used coconut water. It did taste mojito-ish! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Key Lime Pie Smoothie

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Oh yeah, this is a good one. I make a lot of breakfast smoothies, and it's been a while since I've rated one 5 stars, but this one is deserving. I just eyeballed the ice and added a bit too much, so I did need to thin it out a bit. I had some coconut milk in the fridge, so I used that which added even more flavor to this smoothie. Garnished with a dollop of whipped cream and some lime zest. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Chicken Quesadillas

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I was looking for a good Salmon or Halibut Quesadilla recipe but there were none to be found so I decided to try this one and substitute. The Halibut was phenomenal I haven't tried it with the salmon yet but I will be soon. I grilled it on the George Foreman so they could be made to order which was good since my family just kept coming back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Marinated Green Beans with Olives, Tomatoes, and Feta

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Microwaved the green beans for just 1-1/2 minutes to get the perfect doneness. For the best presentation, mix in the tomatoes and top with the feta right before serving. Wouldn't change a thing, liked everything about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Brown Sugar Meatloaf with Ketchup Glaze

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I ran out of ketchup, so I sub’d Heinz Chili Sauce which I prefer on meatloaf anyway. I used garlic & butter croutons which added great flavor. In the future, I would cut back the salt; 1-1/2 tsp was WAY too much for our tastes. Although I typically like things less sweet these days, I did enjoy the glaze, the meatloaf was plenty moist, and this will make good sandwiches, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Easy Summer Gazpacho

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I enjoy cold soups, and this is a good one. Using the tomato and basil sauce as a base is a great idea because you're already starting off with something that's bold and loaded with flavor. I find many gazpachos watery, but the tomato and basil sauce in this recipe gives it good consistency right at the start. The fresh veggies give it some crunch and layers of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States