Cincinnati - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by lutzflcat

Carrots with Apricot Preserves

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Used Polaner Apricot Fruit Spread, steamed the carrots in the microwave, and used diagonally-cut organic carrots instead of baby carrots. I did add a garnish of some chopped pecans which gave it an interesting crunch. I did not see the need to bake in the oven, the carrots were cooked perfectly and I didn’t want to see them cook to mush, and the sauce was plenty thick. It’s a bit on the sweet side, but bursting with apricot flavor. So many carrot recipes are partnered with orange, it’s nice to see the variation with the apricot which really works. No complaints here, it was easy, everybody liked it, and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Grammy's German Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
We liked the dressing, and it has a good balance of sweet and sour. Followed the recipe to the letter, and we were happy with the taste, but there are just a couple things I will do differently in the future. I will cook the potatoes whole, leaving the skins on, and then cube. That’s just the way I cook potatoes for potato salad, and I like the texture a little better, just a personal preference. There’s absolutely no color in the finished potato salad, and I think visually it ends up looking kind of bland...which it isn’t. I garnished with chopped parsley which I think helped, maybe adding a little chopped celery would be good, but leaving the skins on will add some color, as will some crumbled cooked bacon which is the next thing I definitely will add. This is a really easy potato salad to make, and it comes together quickly. While the potatoes are cooking, go ahead and make your dressing, so you’re good to go when the potatoes are cooked. One other thing to mention, this is good served warm or chilled. Thanks KFREESE for sharing your family’s long-time recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
We have a winner! I had never cooked bok choy before but had to deal with the two heads that came in my friend's share of a CSA while she was on vacation. We loved it! I used slightly less ginger and added shitake mushrooms. I will definitely make this quick veggie dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Nancy's Butter Beans

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Set aside some of the liquid in the can when draining the beans because you will need to add a little bit of it, otherwise, you'll have very dry beans. I liked the flavor that the brown sugar brings to this recipe, but this was just a little too sweet for us. In the future, I will reduce the brown sugar to 1 tsp and sauté some chopped onion in the bacon fat to add to the beans. Small thing, but melt your butter first, stir in the brown sugar, and then add your drained beans and crumbled bacon. We like butter beans, but they're something that I seldom think about serving on their own as a side dish, but we enjoyed them with pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Tangy Ginger Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This was a nice dipping sauce for chicken fingers and carrot and celery sticks. You'll have to adjust the hot sauce to your taste, I added more to give it a little zing. It has just a hint of Asian flavor from the soy sauce. It's sort of a multi-purpose dip that would go with many things. Now that I've made it and tasted it, I could see it as a dip for fried shrimp, but not served as a dip for boiled shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Fresh Homemade Salsa

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
It's summer, and tomatoes just don't get any better than right now. I didn't have any canned chiles on hand, but I did have a jalapeño, so that's what I used. Mixed up, tasted, and then added another squeeze of fresh lime juice and a tad more salt. There are a bunch of good salsa recipes, and you can add this one to the list. Enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Mango Cherry Smoothie

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
The nutritional breakdown on its own is enough for most of us to try this one. I used frozen mango, so I did reduce the ice a little, and since I like smoothies a little on the thick side, reduced the water as well. I must admit that I've developed a taste for smoothies with a little Greek yogurt, so as a personal taste preference, I will add about 1/3 cup vanilla Greek yogurt next time. However, this is simply pure sweet fruitiness from a combination of perfectly-ripe summer fruit, and it gives you a real pop of vibrant flavor. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Basil Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This was a great sauce, I made a few modifications- Half & half instead of cream which I used about 8oz + 2T of butter. Also, I threw everything in the food processor at once except for the olive oil, it didn't seem necessary to do it in 2 steps. Added more garlic because I always add more garlic :) Tossed it with fusilli, some of the pasta water and two large, diced, tomatoes. My boyfriend and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Cranberry-Hazelnut Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
The cake description says “...fine, cake-like texture and swirls of cinnamon sugar.” Although moist, the cake itself was dense, and dark in color from all of the brown sugar, so you could not see any “swirls.” The best way to describe the flavor is sort of like a spice cake. I didn’t deviate from the recipe at all (and I did use cake flour), but I think both the cranberries and the hazelnuts need to be doubled. I had a hard time finding hazelnuts, and when I did, they were very expensive. If you have the same situation, IMO pecans would make a good substitution. I checked at 70 minutes, and it already was a bit overdone. I’d recommend you start checking at about 60-65 minutes, acknowledging that oven temps can vary greatly. Don’t need to sound negative, it was good, but the texture and the appearance just weren't what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Georgia Peach Smoothie

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Rather than opening a can of coconut milk, I used the boxed soy coconut milk which I already had open in the fridge, vanilla Greek yogurt, skipped the 1% milk, and added some crushed ice for a thicker texture. My peaches actually were Georgia peaches which I bought yesterday, and they were perfectly ripe. This was a really creamy smoothie bursting with peach flavor, and was so yummy, I felt like I was having dessert for breakfast. Thanks, Megan, this is a winner smoothie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Zucchini Mint Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Other than using the Paderno spiralizer for the squash, I made exactly as written, tasted, and thought the olive oil dominated too much. I then squeezed another half lemon onto the salad, and it was just a about perfect for us. In the future, I'll use a ratio of 2 parts lemon juice to 1 part olive oil, but again, personal taste preference kicks in here. It's crisp, bursting with freshness, and a very nice light salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Ultra-Simple and Delicious Red Radish Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I thought this was pretty bland as written and could benefit from some acid. I didn’t want to start adding a bunch of things, since that would ruin its simplicity. I gave half a fresh lime a good squeeze, and that brightened the flavor. And I wouldn't skip the parsley, it adds color to the salad as well as flavor (which it needs). Although its eye appeal is pretty nice when initially made, it wilted quickly, darkened in color, and after chilling, ended up more like a relish than a salad. If I were to make this again (doubtful), I would cut the olive oil back to 1 Tbsp (or less), and I would shred the radishes and refrigerate, if I want to prep early in the day. I would then mix up right before serving to preserve freshness and crunchiness, and boost the salad's presentation. Sorry for the less than favorable review, I really wanted to like this, but it just didn’t work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Super Moist Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
It’s summer, and there are a lot of salads, sandwiches, and soups served in this house. I made half a recipe specifically for meatloaf sandwiches, good old-fashioned comfort food. Since 1 lb will not fill up a regular-size loaf pan, I baked in two mini loaf pans and reached the 160 degree temperature in about 30 minutes. The only change I made was using Heinz Chili Sauce instead of ketchup, and I might add a little chopped garlic next time. If you don’t overbake, this really is a moist meatloaf and made some tasty sandwiches. Jessica, thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Saigon Noodle Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
The lime really brings a nice tartness to the dressing. I would have preferred a thicker dressing, so it would have coated the salad and noodles better. It was very watery, and just fell to the bottom of the plate. I didn’t have any rice noodles, and accidentally cooked fettucine instead of linguini, so the noodles were a little fatter than they should have been. That could have accounted for the fact that I thought there was an awful lot of noodles in relation to the salad. I mixed up the dressing, tasted, and added more Sriracha, since we wanted it a little spicier. I did all the prep work in the morning. I marinated the shrimp, grilled it, and then into the fridge. Mixed up the dressing, chopped and sliced all of the veggies, and into the fridge. Right before dinner, I assembled the salad for an easy evening dinner with an easy clean-up. I wouldn’t add the dressing until you’re ready to eat, or you’ll have a soggy salad. This was good, but there are a lot of ingredients and a lot of chopping and slicing. Wouldn’t say it’s my favorite Asian noodle salad recipe on this site, but we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Honey Vanilla Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Wanted to serve this tonight, I didn’t have enough time to chill the custard in the fridge for four hours, so I decided to use an ice bath. I placed the smaller custard bowl into a larger bowl filled with ice, and whisked regularly for about 25-30 minutes until the temp reached about 38 degrees F, then into the Cuisinart ice cream maker. We love Rainier cherries (sorry they’re available for such a short time), and I decided to add some to the custard. The tan color is not great for eye appeal, so next time, I think I’ll split the sugar into half white and half brown; maybe it’l be a little more white like you expect from vanilla ice cream. Thoroughly enjoyed, a real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Crunchy Cauliflower and Tomato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
The dressing softens the tomatoes, but the cauliflower stays crunchy. Good idea to try to get the tomatoes and the cauliflower florets about the same size. I didn't chop the cauliflower, just trimmed the floret stems a little and broke them apart which I think makes for a nice presentation. Just a really nice salad/side dish with a tasty dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Honey Dressing with Poppy Seeds

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Was a little puzzled about seasoned salt in this recipe, but I added it, and there really was no reason for concern, it was good. At this time of year, I always have a fridge full of fresh fruit, but the fridge was just a little too full right now, so I decided to mix up a big fruit salad. This dressing really brought some life to the perfectly-ripe fruit, a little tang from the vinegar, and some extra sweetness from the honey...good balance. I did end up adding more poppy seeds simply because we like them. Thanks, charles coello, we enjoyed your recipe.***UPDATE 7.19.14*** Just an FYI. I had some of the fruit salad left where I'd used this dressing, so I threw it in the blender, added some vanilla Greek yogurt, crushed ice, and it made a delicious breakfast smoothie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Thin Spaghetti with Garlic, Red Pepper and Olive Oil

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
There are times when simple is best, and that's the case with this recipe. My hubby (who's a dedicated carnivore) didn't even complain that there was no meat in this. We both thoroughly enjoyed this for lunch today. To give this a little punch of flavor, I sauteed the garlic in extra virgin oil with chili, keeping the red pepper flakes as well, and mixed in the chopped parsley at the end to retain its bright green color. We actually prefer the bold taste of pecorino romano over parmigiano reggiano, so that was a sub I made. Photo doesn't show this, but it was served with shaved romano on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Chocolate, Strawberry, and Banana Smoothie

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Thought this was OK, but I really was missing the strawberry flavor in this smoothie. In the future, I will double the strawberries and use vanilla Greek yogurt which should bring this up to my personal taste expectations. And this is not to say that there's anything wrong with the recipe, it's just that it tasted too much like chocolate milk and less like a fruity smoothie to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Thick Spaghetti with Marinara Sauce, Arugula and Parmigiano Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Haven't bought a jar of marinara pasta sauce in MANY years, since I have my own favorite that's always stocked in the freezer. What a pleasant surprise this recipe was...we loved the Barilla marinara sauce! It's totally different from my homemade sauce, and I assure you that it now will be a staple in my pantry. And WOW, did we like the addition of the arugula which added incredible flavor. The arugula transforms what some may think is an ordinary plate of pasta and spaghetti sauce into something that is quite special. And finally, it's easy to prepare. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States