Cincinnati - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Banana Muffins II

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Only chage I made was subbing 1/3 of the white flour for whole wheat. Otherwise, followed exactly and they were delish. I would be interested to know if I can make them as tasty without so much butter next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ever Meat Loaf

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Forgot to add the onions (my bad), but this still was delicious. Cut the salt in half and used AR's Tangy Meatloaf Sauce for the topping. Really like what the cheese brings to this meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Kofta Kebabs

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
This was very good. I used ground chuck and doubled te recipe. I kept the measurements in proportion but just heaped them and didn't level them off. I'm glad I did. This has a nice flavor that was well balanced. Served in pita with cucumber yogurt sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
This salad is so delicious and a great summer time cook out salad due to there not being any mayonnaise or eggs. The ratio of cous cous to stock was perfect, as well as the ratio of salad ingredients to dressing. I did sub out the lemon juice for lime and also added a bit of zest. didn't bother with the vinegar and just added extra lemon juice. replaced a can of black beans with chic peas. a few tomatoes and green olives. This would serve as an excellent base for a more Mediterranean flair by subbing the cilantro with parsley, and the cumin with mint. thanks so much for this recipe that is sure to be a repeat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Rice Pudding with Rose Water

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
This was delicious and so easy to make with such few ingredients. Perfectly sweet. I used basic plain white rice and the texture was perfect. Not a solid mass but not soupy. Sets up very nicely. Great served with fresh fruit. I would like to try it by switching out the rose water with orange blossom water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RCParkFlyer

Grandma's Corn Pudding

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I found a great deal for fresh cob corn so 3 ears worth of it went into this dish, and everyone loved it. Definetly just like Grandma used to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Vanilla Cherry Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I read the reviews, and did make a few adjustments. We're not into overly sweet anything these days (3/4 cup of sugar sounded like a lot), and I really wanted to enjoy the pure creamy flavor of the decadent whipping cream (a treat for us), so I cut the sugar to 1/3 cup which worked perfectly (just a person taste preference). I also cut the almond extract by half to 1/2 tsp, and that was more than enough to not dominate. I wanted the tasty Rainier cherries to be the flavor star, not the almond extract. That being said, this was the perfect dessert, with a great balance between vanilla and cherry, for a July 4th grilled steak dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Italian-Style Bruschetta

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Fantastic appetizer to a 4th of July grilled steak dinner. The only thing that I changed was adding a bit of salt, nothing else. After tasting the tomato mixture, I almost added more red wine vinegar. Glad I didn't, because the balsamic drizzle brought just the perfect balance of acidity to this bruschetta. Thoroughly enjoyed, thanks for sharing! And it really is "light and fresh."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Peach Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I substituted nectarines for the peaches. The fruit was very sweet, very ripe and very juicy, and I was a little concerned that I'd end up with a runny pie filling. I added 2 Tbsp of Minute Tapioca and about 1 tsp of cornstarch to the nectarines, and cut the sugar in half (personal taste preference). Ended up taking about 1 hour for the pie to bake and start to brown. Good pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Iranian / Persian Salad Shirazi

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
such a nice light summertime salad. I did add a bit of chopped fresh parsley as well and some of the zest of the lemon for extra citrus flavor without the tart. thank you for this light and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Al Kabsa - Traditional Saudi Rice and Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
this was very very good and very easy. I used boneless/skinless chicken thighs. I have Khabsa spice(which is a blend of all the above except for the lime leaf) so I used 3 tsp of it, and a bit extra allspice simply because we love the flavor. added some chick peas. this makes a lot which is great for feeding a group or for leftovers; however i knew this going in based on the amt. of rice. the ratio of liquid to rice was just perfect. The addition of raisins was really nice to get that occasional bite of sweet/savory. thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Satay

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Excellent! Marinated 24 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese I

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Had a day dedicated to yard work and some time in the pool afterward, so I wanted a meal that could be prepared early in the day and good-to-go at dinner time (salmon patties, coleslaw, and mac & cheese). I think the key to success on this recipe is to not overcook it. I used 2% Kraft® sharp cheese, skim milk (plus evaporated) and followed the directions with the exception of the cooking time. I read the reviews, and many said it was done at 3 hr instead of 5 to 6, so I checked at 2 hr 45 minutes. At that point, it already was a little overdone, so in the future I'll turn off the heat at 2-1/2 hr. The center of the mac cheese may be a little soupy, but if you check around the edges, they're very brown, a bit dry, but the elbow macs are cooked. Once you give it a stir, it will be creamy (as long as you don't overcook it). I wouldn't say that I like this better than my homemade mac & cheese made with a cheese sauce and baked in the oven. But I will say that this was pretty darn good for basically mixing everything together (not even cooking the macaroni), pouring it into a crock pot, and letting it do its thing. For taste, I'd give this a 5, but the timing is so off, that I'm giving it a 4-star rating. Just start checking for doneness at about 2-1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Mango Sorbet

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
This is delicious! We will definitely make this again. Go for the ripest mangoes you can, and then reduce the sugar slightly. This recipe made about a quart in my Cuisinart ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sudie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: York, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Lemon Pie WW

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Great quick, easy and relatively low in points for Weight Watchers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Slow Cooked Collard Greens

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
A neighbor gave me some fresh collard greens from his garden. Seriously, these may be the best collards that I've had, either homemade or in a restaurant. Two things that I really liked about this recipe are the rich flavor that the chicken stock adds and the little kick from the fresh jalapeño peppers. I know many people add crushed red pepper flakes to collards, but the jalapeños brought a different flavor (I added a pretty good sized pepper). And the fact that this is a slow cooker recipe, keeping me out of the hot kitchen at dinner time, is a bonus. Served with a splash of vinegar at the table. 3 D's Mom, thanks for sharing your recipe, we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Berry Baked Oatmeal

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
The layer of strawberries on the bottom not only adds some sweetness, it keeps the oatmeal moist. I didn't have any dried orange peel, so I just added orange zest to the oat mixture. I think vanilla/almond milk would make this even tastier, and I even had some in the fridge (darn it!). This had just the right amount of sweetness for me, and the juicy blueberries just pop in your mouth. A great, tasty breakfast and a filling one, too. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Sweet & Spicy Asian Style BBQ Back Ribs

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
We thought these were a nice change of pace but, honestly, we still prefer the more traditional BBQ sauce pork back ribs. It took much longer than 15 minutes for the sauce to slightly thicken (the consistency was as thin as a marinade initially), and I was a bit disappointed that there wasn't more of an "Asian" flavor in the sauce...maybe a bit too much honey IMO. The sauce was just a little too sweet for us, so I did add some crushed red pepper flakes while simmering. I served these ribs with grilled fresh pineapple with chili oil and Asian slaw. I will say that these were the meatiest pork back ribs that I've ever had, plenty moist, and they did grill up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Steak House Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Didn't have any heavy cream, so I used all FF half-and-half which worked out fine. I put in a layer of sliced potatoes (used the food processor), then added some sliced onion (added good flavor), and layered the rest of the potatoes on top. Certainly was easy to make, timing was spot on, just not as creamy as I would have liked, but we still enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Spinach Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I made these using the " best enchilada sauce" recipe from this site. Delicious. I used fresh spinach and threw it in with the onions for a quick saute before adding to the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States