Cincinnati - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by lutzflcat

Carrots and Cranberries

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
A nice fresh side dish with 4 mins in the microwave, that works for me! I used some sweet organic carrots which got a little punch of tartness from the cranberries and little spice from the cinnamon. The carrots were so sweet that I'll probably cut back on the brown sugar next time. Followed the recipe to the letter with the exception of substituting vegetable broth (open box in the fridge) for the chicken. Mine were cooked perfectly in just 4 minutes, so watch your time because you certainly don't want them to turn to mush. Thanks myvallie for a great new carrot side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Super Easy Microwave Strawberry Jam

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This recipe does not specify what microwave power to use, so I cooked for 2 mins on high in a dish with a lid (again, recipe didn’t indicate this), and it boiled over, splattering all over the walls of the microwave, even with a lid on it. Understanding that I already had a mess to clean up, I decided to continue to cook at half power for another 2 mins, and it did the same thing again. At that point, I took it out of the oven, transferred it to a small saucepan, and finished it on top of the stove. Maybe it should have cooked at a very low temperature, but if that’s the case, you might as well cook on the stove, since you’re not saving time. Did it taste good? Sure, I knew it would, since it’s nothing but strawberries and a little sugar. Don’t know what happened here and I’m the first reviewer, so I don’t want to discourage others from trying (good luck to you). I know that I don’t have a “mega-watt” microwave, but I ended up with a sticky mess to clean up making this not “super easy.” I'm giving this 2 stars based solely on the taste and the fact that it was eaten. My apologies LAURELJ for the bad review, but this just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Tonya's Terrific Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I made this for 40 people. Quick, easy and tasty. I did add some red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Brown Mustard Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This is a somewhat unique creamy potato salad with the addition of the dill and the tangy spicy brown mustard. This house enjoys potato salad, and this is a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Banana Lassi

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Used a combo of vanilla and plain Greek yogurt and didn't feel the need for the sugar for our tastes, so I omitted it. A lassi is very similar to a smoothie, and I must admit that I love them. I've tried many different smoothies and a few lassis on this site, and I think this is one of the easiest and the best, perhaps because of its simplicity. It's just pure banana flavor with a little tang from the yogurt. Very, very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

White Fiber Mini Shells with Cherry Tomatoes, Basil and Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Another reviewer suggested chilling this, so I did, and we liked it! I also used Extra Virgin Olive Oil with Chili to saute the veggies which gave it a little kick of heat (loved it). Served with a green tossed salad, warm baguette, and some slices of TJ’s Italian fresh mozzarella. It just doesn’t get much easier than this to put a nice meal on the table, and less time in the kitchen during a hot summer definitely is for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Delicious Grape Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I used reduced fat sour cream and cream cheese, and chocolate graham crackers, since that's what I had on hand. Particularly liked the cream cheese layer, and I think its flavor would marry equally well with fresh strawberries and cherries. The brown sugar sprinkle bleeds into the cream cheese topping pretty quickly, so if you want even nicer presentation, chill and then add that last. Simple preparation and nice to have another option for a grape dessert, other than a nice fresh fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Mauigirl's Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Have never had Kalua Pig before, but we just really enjoyed this recipe. The garlic is not excessive, it adds incredible flavor to the meat, and those cabbage leaves really do insulate the roast when cooking resulting in juicy and moist pork. Plan to use leftovers for burritos, Bahn Mi sandwiches, and some pulled pork sandwiches (if I have enough left!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I was really disappointed with this recipe. With such high ratings and so many great reviews, I just wasn't expected more. I wasn't expexting the typical cream cheese icing, because others had expressed that fact. But after following the recipe to-the-letter, I iced a yummy dark chocolate cake for company. Other readers commented that they couldn't get nice peaks in the frosting; I had no trouble getting beautiful peaks, and the cake looked lovely. But many of my guests (and myself) scraped the icing off, not complaining, but obviously not enjoying. I'm so sorry to not be able to give this recipe more stars. It just wasn't right for us. The best way I can describe the flavor is that it almost reminds me of a New York style cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Choconananut Smoothie

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
First chocolate smoothie I've ever had, and I enjoyed it. I used dark chocolate soy milk and added a little more crushed ice to reach the consistency that I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Cold Tropical Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I used a fresh pineapple that I had on hand, and frozen peas instead of canned peas. One change that I made was cutting back on the number of hard-boiled eggs, concerned that the eggs would just take over the salad. This was a superb side dish to Kalula Pork (slow cooker) and such a nice break from the same-ole macaroni salad. Love the sweetness from the pineapple and the crunch from the apple. I also love that this can be made early in the day for a no-fuss dinner on a hot summer day. Thanks, Alicia, we enjoyed this new macaroni salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Fresh Cherry Shortcake

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I used a combo of Rainier and Bing cherries and used the food processor for making the shortcake dough. This makes BIG shortcakes, and in the future I will make them smaller (personal preference). I must say that the shortcake was very different from any that I’ve ever had, primarily due to the addition of the cinnamon and cardamon, but particularly the cardamom, a spice I like. The lemon zest gives a nice tang to the cherries, so don’t omit it. The shortcakes are a bit dense, and I would have liked more cherry juice to saturate the cakes better; they were a little on the dry side. In the future, I will add more sugar and a bit of water to the cherries while they’re mascerating, producing more juice for the shortcakes. Very nice change from traditional strawberry shortcake, we liked it, and this was dessert for the 4th of July!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Simple Cantaloupe Smoothie

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Used vanilla Greek yogurt (what I had on hand)t, added a few more ice cubes and ended up with a really creamy breakfast smoothie. I had a perfectly ripe cantaloupe and just eyeballed the amount, adding a more than 1/2 cup I'd say, but the OJ still slightly overpowered the cantaloupe flavor. Didn't really matter that much, as it was perfectly sweet, and I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

RITZ Push-Cart Hot Dog Bites

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
We used the push-cart onions the traditional way, topping a hot dog. What a nice change from same-ole mustard and sweet pickle relish. I added a little more Louisiana hot sauce which gave this just the perfect zing for us. Thanks, Lillian, for developing this recipe, it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Real German Potato Salad (No Mayo)

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I've had many different type German potato salads, but I have never had one with fresh dill in it...but I liked it. Hot/warm potatoes really soak up liquid quickly. I had to add a considerable amount of additional broth and vinegar, so the potatoes were not dried out. I asked my husband to taste after I'd finally mixed all up, and at that point, he said to add more vinegar. When I next make this, I also think I would use bolder apple cider vinegar, maybe just a taste preference for us. And by means, do add the "optional" bacon, I think it's very important to the flavor of this dish. Served this evening with good, old-fashioned grilled German bratwursts. Enjoyed, and i would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Italian Sausage Soup w/ Adjustments

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This soup is amazing! I never change a thing when I first try a recipe. This is absolutely PERFECT without a single adjustment. Served it with garlic pull-apart bread. YUM! Also made Baked Ziti I,which is excellent, but I won't serve these two dishes together again as the soup usurped the Ziti's place as the star of the dinner table. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Sangria (White)

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Our favorite white sangria is mixed tableside at a local Spanish restaurant. They use brandy instead of rum, and leave a cinnamon stick in the pitcher. This actually measured up pretty well. If you you don’t put ice in your glass, the frozen grapes certainly would help chill the sangria a little (but go ahead & add ice). Today I used what I had on hand (chardonnay), but next time, I think I’ll try pino gris, brandy instead of the rum, and add the cinnamon stick. Thanks themistycat (my second cat was named Misty) for a nice refresher on a blistering hot Florida day. I’ve always enjoyed white sangria more than the traditional red, and your recipe is a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Slow Cooker Vanilla Tapioca Pudding

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I sub’d Truvia for the sugar which worked out fine in case you want to use a sugar substitute. Slow cookers are like microwaves, cooking temperatures vary widely. Mine was done in about 3 hours, so I would caution you to keep an eye on your cooker so it doesn’t burn. The pudding was rich, loaded with vanilla flavor, and very creamy. Although I’m not a huge slow cooker fan, this is one recipe that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Made a few modifications per user reviews, plus some of my own. DELISH!! Worth the time to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Dad's Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I didn’t have spiral pasta, so I used farfalle/bow ties. Not so sure that we really cared for the addition of pasta to the potato salad, perhaps, we’re too traditional. I measured everything so I know proportions were correct, but my hubby’s comment was that it tasted more like a pasta salad than a potato salad. If I were to make again, I’d cut the amount of pasta in half (personal taste, perhaps). We did like the dressing very much and the addition of the dill pickles. One final comment, even scaled down, this makes a LOT. I changed servings to 4, and there was enough for 6+ servings in this house. I don’t want to discourage others from trying. It was OK, just not my favorite, but with all recipes, personal taste does kick in on reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States