Ohio - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pollo Fajitas

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
We have used this recipe numerous times on a much larger scale (65 servings). We made the honest mistake of adding the lemon juice to the marinade and it worked so well we continue this method ;) Also, we didn't realize we were out of hot sauce once so we adlibbed with cayenne pepper and it still turned out great! You can also used store bought minced garlic instead of fresh if you don't have any, as well as 100% concentrate lemon juice. We ALWAYS marinate overnight and we consistently get asked to make this recipe :) We serve ours, topped with Mexican cheese blend, (home made) salsa and sour cream & a side of arroz con gondules. Ole'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Ann Claudio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Frog Eye Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This recipe has been in our family for over 40 years. I have changed it over the years by using a large cook and serve vanilla pudding and making it with the mandarin orange juice. I also use a carton of "lite" whipped topping. This recipe does make a lot, it doesn't freeze well. It's so yummy that a whole batch gets eaten in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
So simple, so delicious! We've made this multiple times and it is requested often by my children, as well as guests we've had over for soup meals
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Hirschler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mussels in Curry Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
outstanding. I tossed it with red pepper flakes for a added kick. I also served with pieces of baguettes with the curry sauce drizzled over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tzag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
We tried this and liked it. However, we added Worcestershire sauce instead of apple cider vinegar, plus Woeber's sweet and spicy mustard to the wet mix. It added lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Copycat Panera® Broccoli Cheddar Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This was very good! I followed the recipe except I didn't have any celery so I used celery salt to season. The texture was decent, but I think I will try like the others and wait until closer to the end to add the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
If you enjoy the Pillsbury slice & bake cookies, you will love these, plus you get more for your money and KNOW what's going into them! I did use salted butter and made them 3 Xs the suggested 1 tsp. size (spaced out on cookie sheet, adding an extra 10 minutes)but, otherwise, followed it to the letter & they turned out perfectly! Will be returning to this recipe for sure :)I will likely double the vanilla though, as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Ann Claudio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
We had these for supper tonight - one of those great "breakfast for dinner" meals! They mixed up quick and easy and turned out perfect. My only complaint is that the recipe says it makes 10-12 waffles - so based on that I cut the recipe in half as it's just the two of us. I only got 3 waffles, so I have no idea what size waffle they are talking about. It was just enough since I had plenty of other breakfast foods to go with them. At least I now know I would have to double this recipe to get a dozen waffles. I will use this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

Pear Pie III

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Almond instead of vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Triple Lemon Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
this is a sure keeper bread.my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bward88

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chauncey, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Buttercream-Coconut Cake Icing

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I'm not a coconut fan, but my hubby is. I made this for him and he oohed and aahed over it for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Loved it! I cooked it for family and the absolutely loved it. I passed on the recipe to my brother, who is learning to cook, and it turned out great for him. I love how easy it is to throw it in the crockpot and come back to a meal. I couldn't find cream of onion soup, so I used an extra can of cream of mushroom. I used bone in porkchops and it turned out great. I added seasoning salt, garlic powder, and onion powder because I thought it was going to be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Tilapia

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Followed recipe pretty close - did add the red pepper - but I'd go from 1/8 to 1/4 tsp. -- also, used cilantro instead of basil- and finally, crisped it up at end of cooking by turning on broiler ( HI ) for 3-4 minutes - made the topping crunchy and good. overall, pretty good recipe for tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SycamoreMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I made this in the crockpot, for about 6 hours on low. It was too cold to grill today. I shredded the tenderloins and then let the meat cook in the juices a little longer to soak up more flavor. Delicious! I used dark amber, real maple syrup. Next time, I'll add more sesame oil and some cayenne pepper or red pepper flakes for heat. I can't wait to try it on the grill, once it's warm outside. Hubby loved it. I served over rice with corn on the side. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleburg Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Cream of Chicken Bake

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Simple and easy...and sooo tasty! My family asks me to bring this to every holiday gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamfam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Impossibly Easy Breakfast Bake (Crowd Size)

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Asked hubby what he thought of this recipe. He said, and I quote, "Loved it!" I didn't change a thing from the original recipe. I plan to make two pans of this for Easter brunch for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamfam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Turned out better than expected! I loved the fact that it was easy to cut the veggies up, throw it in the crackpot, go to bed, and wake up Sunday morning with dinner prepared. I changed some things: *I cooked it for nine hours on low instead of high. The meat came out perfect! It wasn't overcooked or too tough. *I left out the beer. I am not a beer drinker and didn't want to buy a beer for this recipe. While I try my best NOT to leave ingredients out of a recipe, I am glad that I did this time. *I added seasoning salt, garlic powder, and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I thought it needed a little more seasoning the first time I made it, but my hubby and I both really enjoyed it. The second time I made it, I added a little garlic and some of my favorite seasoning blend that I like for ground beef. I also added a little garlic powder to the broth mixture as well. I served over mashed potatoes. It was very quick and easy to make. I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleburg Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker, Easy Baked Potato Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I thought this was very good. I'm not a fan of bacon bits, but aside from that, this was my choice to try a crockpot potato soup. I used diced ham instead of bacon bits and used cooked crumbled 'real' bacon as a garnish. I also wanted this to be 'meatier' for my husband's taste, so that is another reason I used diced ham. I did not have the Ranch dressing mix, but I"m going to try it with that the next time I make this. I used the entire 3 lb bag of small red potatoes. I did mash up the potatoes a bit with a manual potato masher after I added the milk, which thickened up the soup perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleburg Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carol Castellucci Miller

Spelt Flat Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
This is a quick and very flavorful flatbread. This bread is crisp on the edges and moist inside. I used it as a base for avocado salad and pizzas. The topping for flatbread are endless. If you are looking for a flatbread recipe, this one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Castellucci Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States