Ohio - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Bahamian Baked Grouper

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I thought this recipe was amazing, first of all this is such an easy recipe! Secondly, I loved that I didn't have to fry this fish to get a nice flavor. The lime does a good job of getting that fishy smell and taste out of the fish. I would definitely recommend staying with the grouper, or any white fish that flakes in big chunks, as the grouper did a fantastic job staying together after baking. I did make a few minute adjustments: I did not marinate and the fish came out superb! No real reason, I saw the recipe that day and didn't have time to marinate as suggested. I skipped the bell peppers, didn't have any on hand. I didn't use red pepper flakes, afraid it'd be too spicy for the kids, instead I used a regular fish seasoning I've had for forever, with a touch of salt. As far as the time, 25 minutes was all I needed! The fish was moist, flavorful, and easy! Love this fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Freeport, Bahamas
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This is the very first recipe on this site that I haven't liked. We found it very blah. I doctored it up quite a bit before it was just okay. We won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlbetterly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Baked Eggs

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Delicious. Swapped the red pepper for some hot sauce. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

Smoked Salmon Spread

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
We had smoked trout, didn't have Worcestershire sauce, still amazing. 3 yr old cleaned the bowl. Oh, and I substitute horseradish for green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops Italiano

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I tried to add a photo because it was just beautiful, but I guess it didn't fit the AllRecipes requirements. This dish just as written is perfect. I used Italian stewed tomatoes with boneless chops and it turned out tender and tasty. I made some roasted potatoes, carrots and asparagus to go with it. Yum. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Parrotta Adkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Theodore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Cabbage II

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This is pretty much how I remember my grandmother making her fried cabbage. The cabbage came from her garden, and she would use a half a pound of real thick sliced bacon because she was feeding a lot of people usually. She would cut the bacon into "lardons", and when it was cooked crisp, take it out and put it aside and then cook the cabbage, salt, pepper and only a teaspoon of sugar until the cabbage was carmelized in areas and soft and fragrant. She would put it all in a serving bowl, add the bacon back in, mix it with a serving spoon, and put the vinegar cruet right next to it on the table. Amazing! She has been gone many years, but every time I see this recipe I think of her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I followed the exact recipe. It was overwhelmingly sweet and soggy:( I had to pour at least a cup of the syrup off after it was baked. I think I would follow the modifications others made and decrease the sugar and butter. (I like sweet-but this is just too much) I don't know why I had so much liquid left either?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohiocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Pumpkin Gingerbread

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This is delicious! I always read a number of the reviews before I try a new recipe, to see how others may have tweaked it to get it to the next level, so, this is what I did differently: I used 2 cups of sugar. I baked a 9 x 7 loaf at 325 for about 80 - 90 minutes and it came out perfectly, as did the 3 smaller ones baked for about 40 - 50 minutes. I followed the rest of the recipe, but I think the amount of spices could easily be increased by maybe 50%. Just a great way to start off the fall. I plan on using this recipe again - soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME

Applesauce Baked Oatmeal

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
SUPER easy, incredibly adaptable, and DELICOUS!! I made it 50-50 white and brown sugar (will prob. go all brown next time), added raisins and cinnamon, and, as suggested, baked it in a 8 x 8 square Pyrex pan. Topped it w/more applesauce. Next time might add yogurt!! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Pretty good recipe but nothing outstanding. I followed the recipe exactly. After adding the beef broth & sherry, I realized I should have definitely doubled the gravy. I wound up adding another half cup of beef broth & the gravy was still thick enough. So I think you could easily add another full cup & not add more flour. I didn't feel like the gravy had enough depth to it, so I added a dash of Kitchen Bouquet (careful, just a little will do & too much will ruin your dish). Added the beef back to the gravy & simmered. The patties were fork tender, practically falling apart. A very good dish, but not out of this world. I think comparing it to an old fashioned TV dinner is selling it a bit short. It's better than that. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alter Aries

Vinegar Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This was a nice little quick easy snack to make. The first batch I made was a little too done (15 minutes) so for the second batch I left it in there for about 6-7 minutes (brown edges) and then turned the oven off. Very thin and crispy. I also added chocolate chips to the second batch I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsey

Salsa

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Instead of Adding the cilantro I added green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA
Photo by molina411

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Delicious! I took advice of others and doubled the sauce which was def a good idea. My husband was running late from work the night I made this and the chicken cooled off by the time he arrived. I took another poster's advice and popped it in the oven for 15 min at 350 degrees F. Perfect solution! Followed the recipe exactly. My husband and I both loved it! Will for sure make again. Oh, forgot to mention that I took another's advice and flavored the chicken with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder when I cut them into chunks and marinated for an hour in the fridge. I also added a teaspoon of garlic powder in the flour mixture. I would suggest doing this as it will give the chicken more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molina411
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Hoisin Pork Chops

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Very simple and easy for a weeknight meal. I served with yellow rice and broccoli. Very nice indeed..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Photo by RainbowJewels

Peppercorn Roast Beef

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
What a wonderful meal! I followed this exactly as Chef John wrote it. It was my first time using green & pink peppercorns, they were so flavorful and pretty. We do like our meat a bit less pink, so I cooked this to medium-well. The meat was simply amazing. I served it with baked potatoes and sliced, honey glazed carrots. Don't skip the pan sauce, it really makes the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA

Apple Squares

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I received many compliments from my co-workers for baking these Apple Squares. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9x13" pan for 33 minutes. As suggested by other reviewers, I used both cinnamon and pumpkin pie spices, increased the amount of chopped apples (2 medium apples-about 2 1/4 cups for the doubled recipe), and sprinkled the pecans on top. The next time I bake these, I will decrease the white sugar to half as they were just a tad sweet for me! Great recipe and worth a 5 star status!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobettern

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alter Aries

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Very very tasty meatloaf! I put bread slices at the bottom of the loaf pan and instead of putting the brown sugar mixture at the bottom, it was placed on top. I cooked it for one hour uncovered, came out super moist and good. Oh and I used breadcrumbs instead of crackers (didn't have any) and omitted the onions (don't like them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Buffalo Wings

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
These are right up there with the fried version. As long as you refrigerate them as some of the reviewers stated, you'll be good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA

Cream Cheese Corn

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This was super easy, but needed a little more flavor. I added some garlic and onion powder and cayenne to give it a little more something. Overall, reallly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA

Super Easy Hummus

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Super easy doesn't even do this justice! I could not believe how simple this was, AND it doesn't have tahini?? Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States