Ohio - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Enchiladas I

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Loved the seasoning but leave out the tomato sauce & water and sub in enchilada sauce. Now it won't be so soupy and it will taste more like real Mexican enchiladas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAROLC80

Slow Cooker BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwiches

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
We love pulled pork sandwiches, but not with the slaw. Also, we preferred ours with the sauce on the pork, not mixed in. The spices were good, I always add liquid smoke to my cooking liquid. This recipe is flavorful and lends itself well to use in Mexican preparations also. I used the pork to make pork nachos also. Easy clean-up using the slow cooker liner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pot Roast Dips

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This was very simple and tasted great. Will make more next timw for left overs. Thanks you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Chicken Pesto a la Lisa

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
When my husband exclaimed, "MMMM!" when he hadn't even chewed 3 times on his first bite, I knew we had a winner. 5 stars for yumminess, ease, and flexibilty. I made this recipe as-written except for the one big thing- I had a grocery store rotisserie chicken on-hand instead of boneless, skinless breasts. I sautee'd a bit of the chicken skin before adding two chopped zuchinnis. I still wanted to get that "pan-dripping" flavor from the chicken since I wouldn't be cooking any new chicken. My broth was homemade and probably a bit more rich than store-bought, too. Other than those (admittedly significant) changes, I followed the directions to a T and I KNOW I will be making this again! Used prepared pesto from Aldi (a special in the cooler section, not their regular jar pesto in the pasta section).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Microwave Blueberry Muffin in a Mug

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
The key to this is to cook it until it's done, but don't overcook it. I think I overcooked mine because it was a little dry and rubbery, but the blueberries (I used frozen) were plenty juicy which gave it moisture, and all was good in the end. The only thing that I didn't care for was the whole wheat flour, and I will switch to all purpose white flour (personal preference) in the future. It may not have been pretty, but it was big enough for two of us to split for breakfast, and pretty tasty. Have to wonder if a little streusel topping on this might improve its eye appeal. This certainly has potential, just need to get the timing figured out for your own microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Mood-Improving Strawberry Cocoa Smoothie

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
The thing that drew me to this smoothie was the nutritional breakdown because, yes, it certainly is healthy. I drink a lot of smoothies and, unfortunately, simply didn't care for anything about this one. The cocoa powder totally dominates, there's no strawberry flavor at all, not even a hint of vanilla...unsweetened cocoa powder was all I could taste. The smoothie was "chalky" for lack of a better word and left the inside of my mouth coated. Sorry, Melissa Hart, for the unfavorable review. This is the first review, and I don't want to discourage others from trying, but this recipe just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Sarah's Applesauce

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Lost a star because it's too much water. I doubled the recipe with apples we picked this weekend. I ended up bailing out about 3/4 cup liquid before I mashed the apples. Next time, I'll use APPLE CIDER! YUM! That would make this even better. I could probably reduce the sugar that way too. This was a great base recipe but it needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anchovy

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anchovy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pataskala, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bexley, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crikkitt

Sausage and Tortellini Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was a great soup! I used a spinach and chicken ravioli instead of the tortellini and I forgot to put in the zucchini. Oops! We will definitely be making this one again. Next time we'll just cut the sausage pieces in half instead of quarters, I wanted bigger pieces in my bites. We served this with a fresh salad and a crusty bread. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Hawaiian Ham and Cheese Sliders

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Been making these for a long time...copycat recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa MC.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I make these everytime I have a football party.Everyone asks me for the recipe and I make these as written......no changes.Wonderful recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa MC.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by birdluv4ever

Fast English Muffin Pizzas

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was so good. We did not have any English muffins at the time that I needed to make these but, we had plain bagels and it was a great substitution and caused to make a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdluv4ever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Muffin Tin Potatoes Gratin

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I love the portion control and lovely presentation of this recipe. I think a little bit of onion would be a good addition. The only thing that I did differently was put in about half of the potato slices, then a little dollop of the cheese sauce and then add the rest of the potatoes and top with the sauce. The sauce is very thick, and I was concerned that the sauce wouldn't drizzle down through all of the potatoes. GnarlyCow, thanks for a tasty and portable potato recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by msavam

Boar's Head® Maple Honey Turkey Waldorf Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This is absolutely delicious, although I did change the recipe a little. I made more than four servings. I substituted mayonnaise with miracle whip, I used one 5 ounce tub of Greek yogurt. And added a little more miracle whip of course I had to use more sugar. Instead of sprinkling walnuts on top I added walnuts to the mixture along with dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msavam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady

Chicken Paprika

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Made for Recipe Group. As my MIL is Hungarian, I have been making Chicken Paprikas for years. This I thought is a good quick substitute for it. Tasted pretty good to me, hubby thought it needed something, but didn't know what. I think he just wanted more gravy! I served with homemade spaetzle. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Curried Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I thought this was a very solid dish. I did my best to follow the recipe exactly, but I had some canned whole tomatoes that I substituted for the tomato sauce. I think that went a long way toward making the flavor amazing (they were tomatoes from my garden), though also made the curry a bit soupy because of water content. This was really yummy! My husband loved it too. We had it over regular rice one night, then sushi rice another night (real curry connouisseurs would shudder I'm sure), and leftover mashed potatoes another time. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Shambach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Perfect Apple Chips

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
The sweetness of the apples intensifies as the apple slices bake, and although a cinnamon-sugar mixture is traditional on apple chips, I think the sea salt provides a fabulous contrast to the sweetness. I baked these for four hours at 170 degrees F, and they weren't even close to being done, so I bumped up the temperature to 225 for the fifth and final hour. These apple chips are divine, but in the future, I will try cooking them at 225, five hours is just too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Sauteed Apples

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as written. It was super good on pancakes! Next time I will probably cut the brown sugar somewhat, but that is a personal preference. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cucumber Salad With Thai Sweet Chili Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I was bored of my regular cucumber salad so I tried this. It seems like the quantities are way off here. I used twice the amount of cucumbers but between the vinegar and chili sauce the salad was so sharp. It was edible the first time I served it, but after marinating for another day we just couldn't stomach it. I'm not trying this again, but if you want to try it, I'd highly recommend cutting the vinegar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dry Ranch Style Seasoning for Dip or Dressing

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This is a great base for dressings. I cut the seasoned salt and added 1/2 teaspoon dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States