Winona, Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Dutch Rhubarb Pie

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This is a wonderful pie. I like streusel toppings rather than top crusts. The only thing I did differently was added some chopped walnuts to the topping mix. I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Hamburger Buns

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I've made these several times now...awesome! Let them rise to 3X...they will do it! Really light and "store bought like (albeit infinitely better)," which is not often a good thing but for a burger bun it sometimes is...sometimes you want a sturdy bun...sometimes this is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fantastic Black Bean Chili

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Very good recipe. I did follow the directions, but added more tomato's, excellent. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Teriyaki and Pineapple Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Made it as the recipe stated and my family loved it. I didn't think the sauce was to thick, it was just right. Very good recipe, will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Chicken and Broccoli Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I didn't change anything and it turned out perfect. My family loved it, we can't wait to try this the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

No-Knead Artisan Style Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I made this exactly like the recipe except to make it into 2 10" baguettes. Just like the breads we make in the bakery, just not the hefty pricetag to go with it. Anyone complaining about the texture is not looking for this type of artisan bread, because it literally was the perfect texture and taste just as it was written. Chewy inside, denser than regular bread, crispy crust. Delicious. Maybe I will try some fresh herbs in it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Delicious. Just like I get at the neighborhood deli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

Chef John's Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I've been baking Lemon Bars for a lot of years and never thought of making a meringue to top them. Always just dusted with powdered sugar. Today I used Chef John's idea of making a meringue topping. They turned out wonderful. Next time I'm going to try this recipe with orange juice and orange zest instead of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Very good and easy. The family couldn't get enough of it. Will make it again, without changing the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Better Than Sex Cake I

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I've been making this cake for at least 20 years now. After preparing the batter, I sprinkle 1 cup of mini chocolate chips over it before baking. I use the 14 oz can of sweetened condensed milk followed by a 17 oz jar of Mrs. Richardson's Butterscotch Caramel topping. Just before serving, I sprinkle 1/2 cup of toffee bits and 1/2 cup finely chopped pecans over the Kool Whip. Because it is so rich and so sweet, I find I can cut the 13 by 9 cake into 24 pieces and everyone is satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crustless Cranberry Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I made it exactly as written and it was WONDERFUL. I love pies that make their own crusts. I bought several bags of cranberries over the Christmas holidays and just threw them in the freezer. I wanted to be able to make this pie again in the heat of the Summer. I love making things that are totally unexpected for the season...like homemade ice cream in January and Rosettes for the 4th of July.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Norwegian Lefse

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I used 2.5 pounds of potatoes, halved everything else. For my first attempt this went amazingly well! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I live in Minnesota so I will not be able to dig out my grill until May. I decided to cook the chicken on the George Foreman grill. It turned out wonderful. I made a few minor changes in the Tzatziki sauce. I used a good Greek yogurt but wanted it extra thick so I strained it through a coffee filter. After grating the cucumber I put it in a strainer with a hefty pinch of salt and let the water come out. I then put it on paper towels and squeezed out any remaining liquid. Instead of vinegar I used fresh lemon juice as the acid. I added 1/2 teaspoonful of dill weed and a small amount of fresh mint. I believe Tzatziki sauce would be good on a flip-flop. Thanks, Bakermom. This is a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Asparagus Strata

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I used an equivalent weight of jumbo croutons for the stuffing mix. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I think next time I will use either Cream of Onion or Cream of Potato soup. I didn't like the greenish tint that the Cream of Asparagus soup gave to the strata. Otherwise, it was delicious and was well accepted by my guests. Thank you Campbell's Kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Cream Cheese and Pineapple Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I've been making this dip for years. The only thing I do differently is add about an inch of grated ginger. It tastes like Hell when you first make it. Resist the temptation to make and serve. Let the flavors meld in the refrigerator for at least 24 hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham, Potato and Broccoli Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I used hash browns instead of fries, Cream of Onion soup instead of Cream of Mushroom and cheddar instead of Parmesan cheese. I was a little hesitant about adding the mayonnaise but I used it. My friends gobbled it up. Served it as an Easter morning brunch with date/nut bread, mixed fresh fruits and berries. I'm planning on serving it again for Christmas morning brunch. I love these types of recipes for brunch because I can make them the night before and just pop them in the oven the morning of the brunch. I know they will fill up my guests and I can spend my creative side making special baked goods like nut breads or croissants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant Style Sausage Gravy and Biscuits

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
excellent!!!! no changes were made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

The Best Meatloaf

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
very good recipe, no changes were made and the family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Classic Caramel Corn

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Excellent recipe, I didn't change a thing, and my family now wants me to make this once a week for family night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Very good recipe, I didn't change anything with this recipe, my family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States