Winona, Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Peppermint Patties

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
just mediocore
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

Gelatin Poke Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I make this several times a year. Raspberry Jello with fresh berries on the Kool Whip for Valentine's Day, lime Jello with green sanding sugar for St Patrick's Day, Orange Jello with orange and black sanding sugar for Halloween, and Strawberry Jello with navy blue and red sanding sugar for the Fourth of July. The recipe has been around almost longer than I have and it doesn't require any baking skills. That's my kind of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey and Stuffing Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I followed the recipe pretty closely. I did add some frozen peas and carrots and about 1/4 cup of dehydrated onions. I topped it with French's French Fried Onions. I put it in three 9 x 9 square cake pans...one for dinner tonight, one for a friend and one in the freezer for a future meal. I will certainly make this again. I always seems to have lots of canned cream soups in the pantry. This was a good recipe for using up a couple of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Awesome...I added 1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hash Brown Casserole II

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Very good. Made it in the crockpot for Christmas morn, turned on high 4 hours but could have gone even five hours. Skipped the topping and sprinkled parm cheese on instead. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Delicious! Made all kinds of fancy Christmas cookies for the holiday and this one was the favorite. Saved to my recipe box for sure. Loved the cinnamon sugar coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

Tempura Batter

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Made exactly as the recipe. Puffed up nicely on the onion rings and fish I made but was very light in color and bland tasting. Ended up adding one yolk for a double batch and that helped along with some basic spices to liven the taste up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

Day Before Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This was delicious! Used half white and half brown sugar and added 1/4 tsp cinnamon. This will be my new cranberry sauce recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

Pumpkin Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
It was a good savory soup. Would roast garlic with it next time. Used 1% milk and it still was creamy and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

Uber-Braten Kielbasa and Sauerkraut Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly except that I used extra sharp cheddar cheese. It was fantastic. Perfect for these cool Autumn days. I sent half of it home to a friend and he thought it was wonderful too. I will definitely make again throughout the Winter. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
very good, would definately make again. I omitted the cream of tartar and added 1/8 t baking powder instead. Used cookie scoop and resprinkled with cinn-sugar after they came out of oven. 8 min was just right for meDelicious>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

Dutch Rhubarb Pie

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This is a wonderful pie. I like streusel toppings rather than top crusts. The only thing I did differently was added some chopped walnuts to the topping mix. I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Hamburger Buns

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I've made these several times now...awesome! Let them rise to 3X...they will do it! Really light and "store bought like (albeit infinitely better)," which is not often a good thing but for a burger bun it sometimes is...sometimes you want a sturdy bun...sometimes this is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fantastic Black Bean Chili

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Very good recipe. I did follow the directions, but added more tomato's, excellent. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Teriyaki and Pineapple Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Made it as the recipe stated and my family loved it. I didn't think the sauce was to thick, it was just right. Very good recipe, will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Chicken and Broccoli Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I didn't change anything and it turned out perfect. My family loved it, we can't wait to try this the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

No-Knead Artisan Style Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I made this exactly like the recipe except to make it into 2 10" baguettes. Just like the breads we make in the bakery, just not the hefty pricetag to go with it. Anyone complaining about the texture is not looking for this type of artisan bread, because it literally was the perfect texture and taste just as it was written. Chewy inside, denser than regular bread, crispy crust. Delicious. Maybe I will try some fresh herbs in it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Delicious. Just like I get at the neighborhood deli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

Chef John's Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I've been baking Lemon Bars for a lot of years and never thought of making a meringue to top them. Always just dusted with powdered sugar. Today I used Chef John's idea of making a meringue topping. They turned out wonderful. Next time I'm going to try this recipe with orange juice and orange zest instead of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States