St. Cloud - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar)

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Delicious. We absolutely loved it. This is more than just plain meatballs. Although the 40 minutes cooking is too much. I did a little over 20 and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hoolihan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Roasted Acorn Squash

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
A wonderful, different, easy way to make squash. A great side dish or appetizer (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmac

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Blackberry and Brandy Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
It's a good treat, I made it for some guests and they loved it. Best part is there was little prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Melo Hall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Sisters Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I debated on adding spices, I was worries it would be bland. Im glad I didnt! This soup was fantastic the way it is written. I did do a few alterations to make it vegan though, used vegetarian broth and olive oil. Fantastic, will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKYSIMONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

Chia Seed Jam

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Quick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Melo Hall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ratatouille

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I've never had ratatouille before, so I wasn't sure what I was to be expecting-but it's a nice refreshing dish. I only made half of what the recipe originally called for. I left out the eggplant, the boyfriend and I just plain don't care for it no matter how we prepare it. Used two zucchini to kind of make up for the eggplant, plus we LOVE zucchini. I did not layer it, I mixed everything together and put the tomatoes on top. Added just a touch more cheese, like I do with practically everything. I think the biggest change I made that would help this dish is ADD some seasoning! Had I not, I feel I would have been rather disappointed. I served over some white rice. It's not a 5 star dish, but for the amount of effort it took it's something I would again make after a long day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitwhit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

Manhattan Filet with Pan Sauce Bordelaise

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Wow! Just wow! This is the best steak I've ever had - and I cooked it. I actually made this for a family meal, and boy-o-boy did the family feel special. Drying the stead prior to cooking did help in creating a beautiful crust. The only thing I did wrong, was I did not use a low-sodium stock, so the bordelais was a bit too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
If I could give this 100 stars, I would! This review is mostly for the sauce: This is hands down the best, easy spaghetti sauce I've ever made. It's better than anything from a jar - and just as easy to use. The batch is enormous - so you can make it and freeze half, and have it on hand for those emergency dinners when you don't know what else to make. The first several times I made it, I followed the recipe exactly. I now triple the onion, double the garlic and basil, and add an equal part of oregano to the basil. Delicious and oh-so-flavorful. The meatballs are delicious and tender but no any better than any others that I've had. I do like that you cook them in the sauce, and it does add another flavor dimension to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Mushroom Chicken Barley Risotto

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This dish is a hearty, filling dish that is easy to make vegetarian. The barley is an interesting substitution for rice that lends this towards a winter meal. I followed the directions exactly, and it turns out creamy, with just the right amount of chew. I'd recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
So much better than the frozen ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitwhit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

Marinated Rib-Eyes

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
It was okay. I would almost prefer a plain old steak with just salt and pepper then this though. The Worcestershire sauce was all I could taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitwhit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Jason Melo Hall

Bacon Tacos

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
It's a crowd pleaser... tastes good and everyone can choose their own toppings! Best with the recipe Taco Seasoning I on all recipes as the taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Melo Hall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Chiffon Cake

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Amazing! This is one of the best cakes I have ever made. I made two changes - I substituted ½ of the water with lemon juice, and I used lemon curd mixed with the whipped cream for the frosting. Thanks for the stellar recipe. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This soup is full of flavor. I make with Guinness for a bold flavor. The only reason that I didn't give it four stars is because it does have a slightly grainy texture that Beer Cheese Soup I've ordered at restaurants doesn't have. But I've made the recipe three times, so that's not enough to discourage me from eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Daddy's 'If They'da had This at the Alamo we would'ha WON!' Texas Chili

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This is the best chili I have ever had - and I lived in Texas for two years. I do a couple of things - most notably ¼ cup of dark chocolate. It really adds some complexity to the flavors. I came in 2nd in a neighborhood Chili Cook-Off with this recipe - everyone raved about it. I think I would have won if the winner didn't bring their entire, extended family to vote for theirs - but shhhsh - told tell anyone I said that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Delicious - and sooo easy. Just the right amount of salty - just make sure you used the amount of water called for in the recipe. The most creamy potatoes I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by Pandoraly

Slow Cooker Chicken Tinga

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
DELICIOUS! I did make a slight alteration since I was afraid of the heat - I omitted the red pepper flakes and only used 1 jalapeño - and the heat is definitely manageable. Next time I will use 2 jalapeños and I think it will be perfect for my taste buds. This recipe is pretty average until you add the chorizo and then, BAZINGA!, flavor overload. I served it between stacked tostadas, layered with "mexican mix" shredded cheese, chopped tomato, sliced avocado, and lite sour cream. An amazingly delicious dinner. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This makes great french dip sandwiches. Use the best cut of meat that you can afford. No real need for the butter on the rolls if you use the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Fondant Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I fear it may have been user-error, but when I made these they turned out good, but certainly not great considering the amount of work and clean-up. I went back over the instructions and believe that I did all that was required, so I'm not sure where I went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Ken's Kickin' Posole

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is one of the best recipes I have found on this site. I make no changes to it and it turns out delicious every time. It does have a small kick, so for those of you sensitive to heat, I would be wary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States