Saint Paul - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Maple Walnut Scones

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
These are so yummy!!! I am usually not a fan of scones, but this recipe makes wonderfully moist and delicious scones! I did have to add a bit more half and half. The recipe does state to combine until it resembles fine crumbs, but after watching a video for scones that suggested that the dough should be handled gently, leaving some of the butter in larger chunks helps to make a more moist scone, I took that suggestion. I first shaped the dough into a rectangle and sprinkled with cinnamon sugar, then folded the dough over, patted it down gently and then shaped into a circle for cutting. Instead of adding walnuts to the dough, I topped some of the triangles with maple glazed sliced almonds (some in my family do not like nuts) after brushing each triangle with maple syrup. I then sprinkled each with cinnamon sugar. Baked in 325 degree oven for 20 minutes. This is a must try scone recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crisp Apples with Citrus Dressing

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I used the measurements just as stated but used an orange because that was all I had. I also diced some of the oranges and added them. It was great and oh so easy! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grands!® Monkey Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This recipe is easy, quick to make and tastes FANTASTIC. My family loved it and asked that I make it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alisha's Scalloped Potatoes and Ham

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
With the changes I made, my family loved this. I liked it OK. What I did differently: 1/2 cup of cheese blended with the mashed potato mixture; 1/2 sauteed onion added; 3 cloves garlic added. What I'd change in the future -- try to figure out how the make the mashed mixture so the texture's not so gluey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Yum! Used craisins and omitted onions due to personal taste. Most popular dish at work pot luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Excellent. I also used the butter flaky pie crust to go with it. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Campers57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Coffee Cake II

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I made this recipe as written, and it came out delicious but a bit on the sweet side (and I am not a person who frequently complains of things being oversweet). I think all that brown sugar is the culprit--next time I will try reducing to 3/4 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cheese Garlic Biscuits II

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Since so many stated that their biscuits were flat I took the advice of others and baked mine in a 12 count prepared cupcake pan and doubled the baking powder. Cut cold butter into small pieces or use grater for ease in mixing with the flour. I used a cookie scoop to place the sticky dough into the pan. They turned out beautifully. Easy and quick recipe that requires no rolling or cutting of dough. This is an extra plus since the less you handle a biscuit dough the fluffier the biscuits will be. For added flavor, next time I will be adding garlic to the dough instead of just brushing tops with garlic butter. I decreased my oven temperature to 375 degrees. This recipe definitely is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dutch Oven Mountain Man Breakfast

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I don't use coals on the top, it gets hot enough to bake. She's right though, this makes allot!!! I also used a 10 inch oven and cut the recipe and half. Still made enough for breakfast for a few day's. It freezes and refrigerates good too for the next time. Maybe try with extra ingredients next time, but like it the basic way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Campers57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Pork Chops

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This has quickly become a staple meal for me. I love it because it's something you can throw together at the last minute. I love adding a little grated parmesan and dried parsley to the cracker mixture, and per other reviewers I bake covered for 25 minutes, then uncovered for the remaining 20. If I have extra crumbs, I add those on when I uncover the dish--this, along with the uncovered baking, helps alleviate any sogginess. I also use only teeny tiny slivers of butter--you definitely don't need nearly as much as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bakes

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
can't really go wrong here - only change I made was to use soy milk and I add the PB to the chocolate and let it melt together, THEN remove from heat and add the oats - way easier to get a good coating and uses fewer dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
just threw everything in a boal, mixed it up and put in the casserole dish - didn't microwave anything. Adding cheese in w/o putting on top was perfect. I put some FF onions in the mix, too, as well as on top - just a light sprinkling - turned out great - not good when the sides are better than the bird! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon and Orange Glazed Carrots

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
super simple and easy - we just used a bag of baby carrots instead of chopping/cleaning the reg carrot stalks - great way to make a carrot for a nice meal - takes it up a notch w/o having to try too hard. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herbed Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I tweaked just a little bit - I threw some slabs of butter under the skin - they didn't have whipped veggie cr chs, so used whipped chive instead - dbl'd all other seasonings - used a 6lb turkey breast....put the spread on the bird the night before and threw it in the crock pot it a small amt of low sodium chicken broth in the bottom - threw it in the next morning and cooked on high for close to 6 hrs but didn't need that long - trying to get the darn bird out of the crock pot, it basically imploded it was so tender - FELL APART - no carving necessary! extremely tender and juicy even after it cooled and reheated next day - this will be our standard Thxgiving recipe from now on. holy yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato Chicken Stew

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I liked this dish! It was simple to put together, had everyone on hand and was very tasty! It was filling on a cold Minnesota night. Served with biscuits, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Tastes like what you get at restaurants! Forgot the lettuce and added shredded carrots. Only made hoisin dipping sauce. Took a little practice to assemble but fairly easy once you get the hang of it . FYI rice vermicelli was called cellophane noodles at my grocery store. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Dip I

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
A classic, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garden Veggie Pizza Squares

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Good stuff, made as directed but threw in a little sour cream that needed to be used up. Didn't last long at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Artichoke Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
So, I have some ammendments to this recipe after making it a few times for friends w/ diet restrictions - this weekend, i only had 2 cans of artichoke for this recipe - and I dbl'd the veggie's and spices. I thought it was WAY BETTER. Still super artichokey, but was more diverse in flavor. Also used half heavy whipping cream and half soy milk - didn't turn out as thick like a dip, but was still creamy. gluten/dairy free option! use 3 tblsp diluted cornstarch instead of flour - use soy milk instead of whipping cream. worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marshmallow Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This is just way too sweet for my family -- even my tweens, who love sweets, didn't finish their portion. We love apple crisp but the marshmallows in this variation almost made our teeth hurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States