Saint Paul - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Bahamian Style Peas and Rice

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I made this mostly as written and found it to be pretty bland. Overall a little disappointing, I've been looking forward to trying this for a long time and it just didn't live up to expectations. Probably won't make again but I'm glad I tried it. Just to clarify my rating has nothing to do with authenticity. The submitter clearly states it is "Bahamian Style" which means to me it is her interpretation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthy Garden Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This recipe was amazing! So good! I'll make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherryse Corrow

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elk River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

It's Chili by George!!

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Good basic chili recipe. The only modification I made was to use a 14.5 oz can of tomato sauce and omit the cayenne (so my toddler would eat it). It makes a ton so I will be enjoying it for lunch this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I read all the helpful reviews on this recipe and made some alterations accordingly. This recipe turned out just like it's name AWESOME!! Fresh herbs are definitely the way to go.I made this outside the bird and added more stock. I was worried since there is no real measurement for the additional stock, but you can tell if it needs more stock as you cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana Antonissen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Quick and easy recipe....and so delicious!!!! I blended the egg with the additional 1/2 cup of cold milk before adding it to the hot mixture, this step should help to prevent the problem of the egg cooking and becoming lumpy, as some reviewers have experienced. As I always do with rice pudding, I topped it with cinnamon. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dglvr

Herb and Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Easy for a quick weeknight dinner. Great blend of spices with a little kick! I have made this recipe multiple times and it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dglvr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Made exactly per recipe... very good & chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Stuffed Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
As written, it is very bland. This recipe needs salt and pepper. If you look at all the 5 star reviews, they were all modified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wild River Bloody Mary Mix

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Excellent mix! Brought it to a tailgating party before the Vikings game and everyone was asking me what was in the mix. It's better and cheaper than the pre-made stuff! I do prefer a thinner mix, so next time I might try half V8 and half Clamato juice. That is just personal texture preference though. I also added the juice of half lemon. Perfection!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Antipasto Salad II

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Added mosticiolli noodles (8 oz), green onions,and parmesan cheese (dried). Used fresh peppers and omitted artichokes. Because of the addition of noodles I increased the olive oil (to 4 Tablespoons) and seasonings (to taste). To add zest, I added a few flakes of dried red peppers. Refrigerated for 3 hours. Wonderfully refreshing in weather too hot to start the oven. Served with breadsticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Krystal's Perfect Marinade for BBQ or Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Great marinade, we really enjoyed it. I'm just mad at myself for not cutting my chicken into smaller pieces or pounding them out so they could soak up more flavor. Followed recipe exactly using low sodium soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Buttermilk Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I really enjoyed these! Had some buttermilk to use up and didn't want to do pancakes again and found this! Threw in some frozen mixed berries from the freezer to use up and skipped the nutmeg (didn't think it would go). Yummy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruity Fun Skewers

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
We have been making these all summer and the kids (not to mention the grown ups who come over for BBQ) gobble them up! My 7 yo daughter helps make them, from choosing the fruit to making "patterns" on the skewers. Last time we put them in the freezer until our food was ready. Big hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Gruber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Bad Burgers

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I'm so sorry to give this a low rating. Made this over the weekend, followed the recipe exactly. We both didn't care for it, it was like the burger was too soft and meatloaf like instead of burger like. Thanks for sharing, it was worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Wonderful flavor. Great presentation. Major oven mess. Be sure to have a very open lattice so the caramel can get into the apples. Watch the video! I've made two. First one was a major mess in the oven but was eaten so fast at the potluck that I didn't get any. So I made another the next day. Not as big a mess, but a mess just the same. I will perfect this one. It's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Romaine

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I've made this a number of times. I use Italian dressing brushed on before grilling. I fry up some bacon real crisp and dice up some tomatoes or halve cherry or grape tomatoes and saute them in the bacon grease. When the lettuce is done, throw the bacon and tomato on the top. Drizzle a little more Italian dressing over the top and it's a BLT grilled salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHI_C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mcloud, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peach Cobbler Dump Cake I

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Just made this tonight and it is fantastic!!! I did follow some of the suggestions made in the reviews: *I used 3 regs sized cans of Delmonte Freestone Peaches - two with the juice and one drained. *Sprinkled cinnamon over the peaches and on top of the cake mix *Sprinkled brown sugar on top of the cake mix *Sliced the butter and arranged evenly over the top of the cake mix *Baked for an additional 10 minutes because it looked a bit runny after the 45 minutes. I can't wait to try this again with other fruit and cake mixes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Ball

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Pecan Frosting II

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
made this exactly as recipe stated... yummy... had more than enough for a 9x13 cake, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Quiche

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Love this recipe! Delicious, quick, and easy! Topped with additional cheese last two minutes of baking time and then garnished with additional bacon bits. Ham would be a great addition as well. This is the perfect recipe to make ahead of time; hours or even the day before. Reheat individual slices for a few seconds in the microwave. For me, it was even more flavorful the next day. Served with fruit for a nice balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne with Asparagus and Mushrooms

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I know everyone hates when you change the recipe, but hubby and I are having a compeition to see if we can lose 10 pounds in a month. That being said we cut way down on the olive oil and cut out the heavy cream. Use two cans of diced tomatoes (blended because we like pasta saucy). I also had some fresh basil in the fridge that I tossed in along with red pepper flakes and viola - a nice healthy meal. Oh, we topped with some fresh parm cheese (we're are not perfect!). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States