Saint Paul - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Mouthwatering Baked Ravioli

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I thought this was very good. I did have to make some modifications because I was so excited to try it, but am really trying to clean out the freezer/pantry. So I used Italian sausage and butternut squash ravioli. Good combo, I omitted the salt because the sausage has enough I think. I like the lightness of the sauce, but I might puree it next time as I didn't like the tomato chunks (personal preference I know!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Korma

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Indian cuisine is one of our favorites, so I was super excited to try this recipe! It turned out better than I expected! My one issue was getting the potatoes to cook. I used two heaping spoonfuls of hot curry powder and one spoonful of maharajah curry powder (I buy mine from Penzey's, super worth it, very flavorful!!) Next time, I'm thinking about omitting the potatoes and using garbanzo beans instead. I also think I will take note of a few of the other suggestions and use coconut milk instead of heavy cream and adding cauliflower to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I usually make homemade chicken soup for sick kidletts but this looked more interesting for the "faker" who was dying of an unknown mystery tiredness illness. Needless to say, he recovered nicely as soon as I made this chicken at lunchtime, and also after a nice nap while I cooked. Hubby & his younger sister also enjoyed the "leftovers" I did not have to make for dinner. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Gruber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Erin's Indonesian Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
We really enjoyed this! I doubled the sauce as other have mentioned because I like it saucy. Next time I make it (and I will make again) I think I might add more/different vegetables. Mushrooms, broccoli, carrots might be a good addition. Thanks for sharing this super easy and tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by waterbugkek

Rosemary Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I thought this recipe was fantastic, but I made some changes: double the water, half the noodles (and I used egg noodles, as is traditional with this kind of soup, not penne pasta), add some chicken bullion for flavor. I also cooked my chicken for only 35 minutes before taking it out and shredding it, added the carrots ahead of the noodles, and then boiled the noodles in the soup according to the directions on the package of noodles before adding the shredded chicken back in and boiling it for another couple of minutes. In the long run, this turned out to be an excellent dish. I happen to like rosemary, so I thought that proportion was correct. One more tip: this is also good with some celery (added a few minutes after the carrots). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waterbugkek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I didn't have canned pie filling, so sauteed some sliced apples in a bit of maple syrup & butter... I used raisin bread & added some chunks of cream cheese in one layer. Rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Oat Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
made exactly as stated... I used old fashioned oats, so they have a nice chewy texture. They would be good with added nuts or coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthy Coconut Oatmeal

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Made with coconut milk 'cause I didn't have soy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggless Tofu Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is perfect for those that are allergic to egg and miss eating quiche. My husband who hates tofu loved this too. If you are not a strict vegetarian adding some bacon is a nice touch to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pistachio Crusted Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
We enjoyed it! Made exactly as written and while it was very good, the pistachios made it a little too heavy tasting. Glad I made it, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Minestrone Soup I

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Pretty tasty! Needed a little more seasoning in my opinion, but healthy and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mud and Worms

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I made this years ago for my worm eater, Nathan. He ate a real worm, then I saw this recipe and made it for my oldest boys often! Very fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Gruber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Irish Soda Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I left out the golden raisins but otherwise made no modifications. Excellent, I really enjoyed this. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Bread Machine Swedish Coffee Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Since I don't have a bread machine, I warmed the milk before adding the yeast to it. I then used my KitchenAid mixer to complete the process of mixing and kneading. After about 10 minutes I had a beautiful smooth ball of dough. The dough was very easy to work with; it makes a gorgeous loaf of bread that slices and toasts easily. I used the suggestion of another reviewer and put the loaf in a previously warmed oven to rise. Heat oven for one minute at 400 degrees, then turn off. Immediately place loaf in oven until double in size. So happy to be adding this recipe to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage 'n Stout Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This is a great recipe! I did make a couple of adjustments: I browned the kielbasa a bit to start; instead of green onions, I used a regular yellow onion that I sauteed a bit; I used chicken stock instead of plain water; and I used one Cider Beer and one Guinness. I think next time I will add some carrots, celery, and a bit more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta e Fagioli II

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Healthy, easy and tasty! I used bloody mary mix in place of the tomato juice. Added a lot of flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Prosciutto-Wrapped Cherry-Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
made this for a valentines day dinner and it was wonderful. Definitely make the sauce and drizzle over the chicken, it really brought out the flavor. Will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This soup was just wonderful! I followed the advice of others and added 1/2c. carrots, onion, celery, and two garlic cloves. sauteed the onion and garlic in olive oil, then added the carrots and celery. Add this to your chicken/water/broth mixture and you're good to go! So delicious, and with the added ingredients it makes for a heartier soup. I also made homemade breadbowls in my breadmachine and it was fabulous. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cathy's Banana Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Only change I made was to use butter instead of margarine... I never buy margarine. I made 24 muffins. Next time I'll add some nuts & coconut, perhaps chocolate chips...I like that these seem lighter than some of the recipes for dense, heavy muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Swedish Wafers

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Quick,easy, and delicious recipe! These do spread, so be sure to not use more then a teaspoon of dough. Baked for 8 minutes at 325 degrees using nonstick pans. These are very fragil cookies and need to be handled with care. Cooled for 1 minute before loosening them with a thin spatula, left on pan until completely cooled. Since they are such a thin cookie I decided to make them into sandwich cookies using a chocolate ganache that I had on hand. I then coated some with powder sugar and drizzled others with melted chocolate chips. I was able to get 30 individual cookies (15 sandwich cookies).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States