Saint Paul - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Wonderful flavor. Great presentation. Major oven mess. Be sure to have a very open lattice so the caramel can get into the apples. Watch the video! I've made two. First one was a major mess in the oven but was eaten so fast at the potluck that I didn't get any. So I made another the next day. Not as big a mess, but a mess just the same. I will perfect this one. It's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Romaine

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I've made this a number of times. I use Italian dressing brushed on before grilling. I fry up some bacon real crisp and dice up some tomatoes or halve cherry or grape tomatoes and saute them in the bacon grease. When the lettuce is done, throw the bacon and tomato on the top. Drizzle a little more Italian dressing over the top and it's a BLT grilled salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHI_C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mcloud, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peach Cobbler Dump Cake I

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Just made this tonight and it is fantastic!!! I did follow some of the suggestions made in the reviews: *I used 3 regs sized cans of Delmonte Freestone Peaches - two with the juice and one drained. *Sprinkled cinnamon over the peaches and on top of the cake mix *Sprinkled brown sugar on top of the cake mix *Sliced the butter and arranged evenly over the top of the cake mix *Baked for an additional 10 minutes because it looked a bit runny after the 45 minutes. I can't wait to try this again with other fruit and cake mixes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Pecan Frosting II

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
made this exactly as recipe stated... yummy... had more than enough for a 9x13 cake, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Quiche

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Love this recipe! Delicious, quick, and easy! Topped with additional cheese last two minutes of baking time and then garnished with additional bacon bits. Ham would be a great addition as well. This is the perfect recipe to make ahead of time; hours or even the day before. Reheat individual slices for a few seconds in the microwave. For me, it was even more flavorful the next day. Served with fruit for a nice balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne with Asparagus and Mushrooms

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I know everyone hates when you change the recipe, but hubby and I are having a compeition to see if we can lose 10 pounds in a month. That being said we cut way down on the olive oil and cut out the heavy cream. Use two cans of diced tomatoes (blended because we like pasta saucy). I also had some fresh basil in the fridge that I tossed in along with red pepper flakes and viola - a nice healthy meal. Oh, we topped with some fresh parm cheese (we're are not perfect!). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Glazed Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Yum, came across this recipe trying to use up my chili garlic sauce in the fridge and used it on some chicken tenders from the freezer. Add some veggies and serve over rice and it's a winner! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

RWOP Finalist: Asparagus and Parmesan Cream Pastry

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
We really enjoyed this! I agree with others that there is too much cream cheese filling and the lemon was a tad overpowering. I did love the addition of fresh basil. Ate it with a salad for a light supper. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Mouthwatering Baked Ravioli

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I thought this was very good. I did have to make some modifications because I was so excited to try it, but am really trying to clean out the freezer/pantry. So I used Italian sausage and butternut squash ravioli. Good combo, I omitted the salt because the sausage has enough I think. I like the lightness of the sauce, but I might puree it next time as I didn't like the tomato chunks (personal preference I know!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Korma

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Indian cuisine is one of our favorites, so I was super excited to try this recipe! It turned out better than I expected! My one issue was getting the potatoes to cook. I used two heaping spoonfuls of hot curry powder and one spoonful of maharajah curry powder (I buy mine from Penzey's, super worth it, very flavorful!!) Next time, I'm thinking about omitting the potatoes and using garbanzo beans instead. I also think I will take note of a few of the other suggestions and use coconut milk instead of heavy cream and adding cauliflower to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I usually make homemade chicken soup for sick kidletts but this looked more interesting for the "faker" who was dying of an unknown mystery tiredness illness. Needless to say, he recovered nicely as soon as I made this chicken at lunchtime, and also after a nice nap while I cooked. Hubby & his younger sister also enjoyed the "leftovers" I did not have to make for dinner. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Gruber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Erin's Indonesian Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
We really enjoyed this! I doubled the sauce as other have mentioned because I like it saucy. Next time I make it (and I will make again) I think I might add more/different vegetables. Mushrooms, broccoli, carrots might be a good addition. Thanks for sharing this super easy and tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by waterbugkek

Rosemary Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I thought this recipe was fantastic, but I made some changes: double the water, half the noodles (and I used egg noodles, as is traditional with this kind of soup, not penne pasta), add some chicken bullion for flavor. I also cooked my chicken for only 35 minutes before taking it out and shredding it, added the carrots ahead of the noodles, and then boiled the noodles in the soup according to the directions on the package of noodles before adding the shredded chicken back in and boiling it for another couple of minutes. In the long run, this turned out to be an excellent dish. I happen to like rosemary, so I thought that proportion was correct. One more tip: this is also good with some celery (added a few minutes after the carrots). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waterbugkek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I didn't have canned pie filling, so sauteed some sliced apples in a bit of maple syrup & butter... I used raisin bread & added some chunks of cream cheese in one layer. Rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Oat Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
made exactly as stated... I used old fashioned oats, so they have a nice chewy texture. They would be good with added nuts or coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthy Coconut Oatmeal

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Made with coconut milk 'cause I didn't have soy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggless Tofu Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is perfect for those that are allergic to egg and miss eating quiche. My husband who hates tofu loved this too. If you are not a strict vegetarian adding some bacon is a nice touch to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pistachio Crusted Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
We enjoyed it! Made exactly as written and while it was very good, the pistachios made it a little too heavy tasting. Glad I made it, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Minestrone Soup I

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Pretty tasty! Needed a little more seasoning in my opinion, but healthy and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mud and Worms

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I made this years ago for my worm eater, Nathan. He ate a real worm, then I saw this recipe and made it for my oldest boys often! Very fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Gruber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States