Rochester, Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I'm sorry I didn't follow the recipe but only because I forgot to write it down and so I made it from memory of what I read. So I forgot the bacon and used kale rather than spinach and measured the other ingredients by eye. I did add Italian seasoning, black pepper and some kosher salt to taste. This soup I'm going to label amazingly delicious and super addictive (even though I missed the bacon). After eating nearly the whole pot myself two days ago I plan on making it again tomorrow even if it is 88 degrees out. Thank you this is so much better than the restaurant's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grill-Steamed tilapia

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
This is my recipe, and I am rating it 5 stars not just because I am biased ;-), but because this was not only a delicious fish that was flaky tender and flavorful, but because it was also super easy. The spices used in the recipe could be adjusted based on your preferences, but I would suggest giving this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Great recipe! I have my dad's recipe for meatloaf with ground beef that my family loves. But we have been trying to eat healthier and cheaper with ground turkey. This recipe is great! I did add chopped onions, Worcestershire sauce and some garlic to the meat mixture. And used barbeque sauce instead of ketchup. This is a very moist and tasty meatloaf. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Double Chocolate Cherry Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Wow! Fabulous! To me they are like cherry, almond fudge brownies. I followed the recipe exactly except that I followed the recommendation of another reviewer to mix the chocolate chips with the dry ingredients and since this was for an Easter brunch, I made them in mini loaf pans and added slivered almonds to the top. Pure decadence! Thanks for posting. This one is going into my book of recipes for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
A good, basic meatloaf recipe, but it seemed a bit bland. I sautéed onions, red peppers, and garlic in butter, waited for it to cool, then added it to the meat mixture. I also added a few Saltine crackers as well Italian bread crumbs. In addition, I added about 1 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce and a dash of A-1 steak sauce. I doubled the sauce, but only added approximately 1 tablespoon of brown sugar as I don't care for sweet things. I found that I had to bake it for approximately 1 hour and 20 minutes. Overall, a good, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TashaAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Basic Crepes

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I've been making this recipe for over 10 years and it has never let me down. The only adjustments I make is that I usually half the recipe and make 2 large crêpes and I add a bit more salt. I don't like a lot of sweets so I generally make this for a savory breakfast. I add scrambled eggs and hash browns with veggies (and occasionally bacon) then I top it with Hollandaise sauce and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TashaAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Beignets

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Loved this. I found them easy to make and they were delicious. It makes a ton of dough though, a lot more than what my small family could eat, so I am going to try the cinnamon roll idea, that another member suggested, with the left over dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Red Skinned Potato Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This is delicious as written but I always have to change based on my own preference. My modificaiton is use green onions or purple onion, add a couple of tablespoons of Dijon mustard and instead of celery I cut up baby dill pickles. Also, I think it is important to make this and blend while the potato and eggs are still warm, then chill it once it is assemble. IMO, all the flavors blend better when warm verse chilled and then mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLESF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Ultra Easy Cream Cheese Dip

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Delicious! I added a few drops of Worcestershire sauce and only used one brick of low-fat cream cheese and this turned out great! Honestly, I think you could use any combination of your favorite seasonings to adapt it to your tastes and your chip flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Flores

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Benito, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Enchiladas I

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Yum! I used flour tortillas and mild green chile sauce and lottsa cheddar cheese! Delicious! Great for freezing individual serving to heat later too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msbehaving

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
These were super yummy! I made them for a crowd at Christmas and they were totally devoured. I did have a little browning around the edge of my crock pot, but it turns out, I liked that part the best. I scraped it all off the sides after the pot was empty and it tasted like a twice baked potato. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polly625

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

All Natural Strawberry Lemonade

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Best strawberry lemonade recipe! The proportions are perfect. I was worried it wasn't enough strawberry at first, but was pleasantly surprised. We sugar the rim of our glasses to serve. This is a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polly625

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Key Lime Pie VII

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
This pie is perfect and delicious. I added a pinch of salt and that made everything pop. I have made it twice and will make it again. Super simple and super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polly625

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grapefruit Margaritas

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I made this for Memorial Day and everyone loved it. I did substitute tonic water for the tequila to make it non-alcoholic. I keep all other ingredients the same. We will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polly625

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Very easy and tasty. Like that it is an option that is lower is sodium without compromising flavor. If you can't find orzo you can use angel hair, linguini, ect and break into small pieces. I had to do this while out of town because the local store just wasn't as good as mine when it can to great products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLESF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Dark Chocolate Cake II

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Didn't change a thing except to add the vinegar to the milk and let it sit for 5 minutes. What a great cake!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Hard-Boiled Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Added some Worcestershire sauce to the sauce and sprinkled paprika on top. Served it over toast. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Wow that's good! I made it as is. I can see why you'd want to adjust it to lower the fat but the original recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Five Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Loved the recipe, very easy to throw together. Only change I made was that I added some hamburger, turned out excellent. I'm saving this one for future use. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Schlee Moseng

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hastings, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Original Nestle® Toll House® Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
My Nana was an experienced baker. And this was the only chocolate chip cookie recipe she would ever use. She said they were the best. Make sure your butter (use real butter) and eggs are at room temperature. Double the vanilla and chill for at least an hour. And let them rest on the cookie sheet after baking until they firm up. Perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States