Plymouth, Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Megan's Granola

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Perfect as written! Best granola ever, loved all the nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Easy Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
this was so amazing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mushy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Insanely Amazing Jalapeno Cheese Dip

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
My family devoured this at Thanksgiving! We only used about 1/4 of a can of jalapenos due to taste preference, but mixed it up the night before, so the flavors really blended. Very important to use SHREDDED parmesan and not the powdered stuff. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Nahr

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marshmallow Treats

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
A trick I've been using lately to press them: take a hand-sized piece of plastic wrap and spray one side with Pam. Use it to press them..nothing sticks. I used Kraft cinnamon bun marshmallows and they were great..I also mixed in coconut -flavored m&ms. Both the cinnamon and coconut flavors were mild. Everyone loves them! I also use 6 cups of marshmallows and they are still a little gooey and yummy. To get a good height on the bars you need to use a smaller pan or use 1.5 times the recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramel Popcorn

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Perfect just as. My husband said he was "very impressed" and that it "was much better than he had thought it would be". I will definately make this again. So much better and cheaper than the kind you can buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Perfect as written! Thanks Woody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Cream of Mushroom Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Used baby bellas & added a bit of dried thyme and a cup of white wine (+ T. cornstarch) - delicious! I was afraid it wouldn't have enough flavor without these additions, but think it would be great as written also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Photo by GLORIA LEE

Nana's Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I did make this easy recipe a little more complicated! I used this as my base and based upon other reviews and other recipes, made the following changes: I used 8 small Haralson apples and 2 unripe pears (you could leave the pears out and add a couple more apples). I mixed them with 1/4 cup white sugar, 1.5 teaspoons cinnamon, 1/4 cup flour, 1 tsp each lemon and orange zest, and 2 Tablespoons each fresh squeezed lemon juice and orange juice. Poured into pan and then dotted with the 1/4 cup cold butter. I used brown sugar for the topping, added another 1.5 tsp of cinnamon, and added a cup of chopped pecans. Baked for 50 to 55 minutes..can't remember! The citrus note was nice for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Banana Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I followed the instructions on the cake mix (used sugar free chocolate cake mix) plus added 2 medium mashed bananas, 3 tablespoons cocoa powder, 2 tablespoons splenda, and 1/8 teaspoon salt...came out moist and delicious! Used sugar free frosting recipe on this site that uses cream cheese, sf pudding, and sf cool whip. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Very good! I was a bit hesitant about adding the Mountain Dew, but made a delicious caramel sauce. I also halved the recipe because there are just 2 of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNGIRLYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Chocolate Banana Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
First time I made these sugar free by substituting splenda for the sugar. Also used 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour and 2 cups AP flour. 2nd time I made these, *not sugar free*, used 1 cup WWP flour and 2 cups AP flour, 1 cup toasted chopped walnuts, 1 cup packed brown sugar plus 1 cup white sugar and a 1/4 teaspoon salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butterscotch Oatmeal

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Delicious! I used less than half the brown sugar and added raisins with a sprinkle of cinnamon and a dash of salt. This tastes like my grandmother's rice pudding & I love that it has a bit of protein in it to make it a power breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Photo by GLORIA LEE

Dark Chocolate Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Good sauce! Here are the changes I made to better suit my palate: omitted the vanilla, added 6 tablespoons salted butter, used 2/3 cup packed brown sugar, used 2/3 cup milk, 1/4 cup milk chocolate melting wafers to cut the bitterness. Sauce was like shiny velvet! Thanks for the basic recipe and GOOD IDEA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough + Cupcake = The BEST Cupcake. Ever.

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Rich and delicious - topped with the Chocolate Frosting recipe on the Baker's unsweetened chocolate box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Lemon-Cream Cheese Cupcakes

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
mmmmm! A dash of vanilla in the frosting, decorated with lemon zest and a fresh raspberry. So pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Sweet and Sour Drumettes

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
The author does not tell us at what temperature to fry the chicken. Since I seldom fry anything, I had no idea at what temperature to cook the chicken. I first had it too hot, and then too cold as I tried to adjust. So although chicken was cooked through, some had a darker breading than others - a problem for small children. Flavor was good however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
If I could give this ten stars, I would. I only altered the recipe by adding two super large cans of chicken stock. (This liquid amount was deducted from the water amount, to ensure correct measurement.) When I boiled the chicken I added the bouillon with the chicken. I also made the noodles separate because I doubled this batch. I have a house full of summer cold victims and I make the noodles as we go. I simple salt and bouillon the water for the noodles and add them (cooked) into the individual bowls of my family. This ensures that the noodles wont get mushy and a happy helping to each lil belly. The Lemon Grass in this made it AWESOME!!! Thank you, THANK YOU for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
These need a bit more salt to be outstanding. Otherwise a little too sweet. Nestle's Toll house recipe calls for 2 sticks salted butter plus 1 teaspoon salt for the same amount of sugar as this recipe has. I don't think Toll house recipe is too salty. This recipe has 1/2 teaspoon total. I used salted butter plus the 1/2 teaspoon salt. I also added a 1/4 teaspoon almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mongolian Beef and Spring Onions

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Delicious! Doubled the beef and made 1.5 times the sauce. Used 2/3 cup sugar not packed at all. Perfect! I need to work on my frying technique, but that was just me. My family loved this dish and can't wait until I make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Holiday Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Delicious as written! I added a sprinkle of garlic powder to the dressing, but may not have been needed. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States