Plymouth, Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Thighs on Rice

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I cut out the butter and got fluffy rice. Even with white meat chicken, the rice doesn't get too dry. I used: 1c Jasmine Rice (rinsed) 2c Water 3 tsp Orrington Farms Chicken Broth Base 1 tsp Curry Powder 1 tsp Turmeric 1 Lb dark or white meat chicken -boneless 1c Broccoli or Mixed Veg (we used frozen but I imagine you can use fresh)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SybilK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ever Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Easy to make and tastes good. I did cut down on the sugar by 1/4 cup because I added an extra banana so I had banana all the way to the top of a 1 cup liquid measuring cup. Frosted it with home made cream cheese frosting with 1 teaspoon of added orange extract to the frosting. YUMMY! Frosting: 1 8 oz stick cream cheese 1 stick (1/2 cup) butter 1.5 cups powdered sugar 1 T milk. 1t orange extract. Blend all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Monster Cookies VI

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I used crisco butter flavored instead of butter this seems to make any cookie much better, I also used Christmas M&M's because it's close enough to the past holiday and these are as ever always amazing. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Mattson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angel Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I made this dish and maybe I added a little more wine but the result was amazing, the man raved and even went for seconds until he could not move, I was worried it would be too salty but once it baked it was perfect. We used whole wheat pasta also and there was no difference, the ONLY thing I might change next time is to double the sauce so when I have leftovers there is enough to cover the pasta ratio.. Thank you this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Mattson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
My brownies came out tasting too buttery, not chocolatey enough, and pretty cake like. I would up the cocoa, reduce butter to half and sub unsweetened applesauce or plain yogurt and maybe add milk or reduce the egg to one.Next time I will try revisions and possibly add some Nutella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SybilK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ropa Vieja

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I make it spicier but, the recipe is delicious and I've made it numerous times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab and Orzo Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I've made this numerous times for special events and large gatherings and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mu Shu Pork

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I might try it again adding matchstick carrots and pea pods, as well as strips of bamboo shoots and celery, oyster mushrooms, bean sprouts, and water chestnuts. It just needed more to it. The sauce was OK but a bit thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Arugula and Watermelon Salad

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This is almost the same recipe....add a 1/2 LB of crispy chopped bacon....you'll never make this without it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by visualjohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kale, Quinoa, and Avocado Salad with Lemon Dijon Vinaigrette

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Would have given it 5 stars, but too much salt in the dressing. Otherwise I can't stop eating it. I read the reviews and here are my changes. (No change to the quinoa). I used the whole cucumber, avocado, and red pepper. I used 6 tablespoons of mild sweet chopped onion. 4 tablespoons feta. I doubled the dressing ingredients EXCEPT FOR THE SALT. 3/4 teaspoon was not too much as long as you double the rest of the dressing ingredients. I soaked the chopped leaves in hot tap water for about 10 minutes. Then I drained them and followed others advice and massaged (kneaded really) the leaves with a few shakes of salt, then rinsed them. I also left out the pepper. It is a beautiful and delicious salad. You could add chicken to make it a heartier meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy, Eggless Strawberry Ice Cream

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This is delicious ice cream that I made a little less fattening by incorporating the following changes: Instead of the 2 cups whole milk, I used 1 cup of 1%, 1/4 cup cream, and 3/4 cup of fat-free half and half. I left out the vanilla. No food coloring. I used 2 cups of pureed (in a blender) strawberries. Because my strawberries were not sweet enough, I needed to add another not quite 1/4 cup of sugar. The frozen ice cream will taste less sweet than the unfrozen base so take that into consideration when testing for sweetness. I used a fine mesh strainer and poured the unfrozen ice cream through it a few times to remove the seeds. My husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I didn't really have a lot of time, so I turned the slow cooker on high and at about 1.5 hours shredded the chicken and turned it to low. I also added a cup of water. I forgot the butter, but it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kielbasa Made Easy

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
There really is no way to damage this recipe. Tasted great, I used turkey kielbasa and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough + Cupcake = The BEST Cupcake. Ever.

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Great recipe, got rave reviews at work! Ensure the cookie dough is frozen and don't over bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brownie In a Mug

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I think that cooking oil ruins the flavor of most things in the baking category. I try to avoid it at all costs. I tried this recipe (and several others around the net) and they all pretty much weighed in the same- just OK. I set out to make my own version which is lower calories, better single serve portion and can be made in the microwave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SybilK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Bread - Quick Bread for Machines

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Very moist. I reduced the cooking oil to 1 tbsp and added 3 tbsp of sour cream. I used the quick bread setting on my machine as others suggested. I also added cinnamon and nutmeg. Very good base recipe for sweet bread in the machine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SybilK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ninety Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Favorite in my house. Super easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SybilK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Great cakey recipe. I actually added sour cream and applesauce in place of oil and used it as a cake recipe! Very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SybilK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Bread rose nicely. I agree with getting a kick-start on the yeast. The cautionary tale of yeast not touching wet ingredients is great for delayed baking. Easy to make but for me and my family, a little flavorless. I could taste the vegetable oil too much. I tried a few times with different oils; canola, blended vegetable, and extra light tasting olive oil. All really came out the same having too much of a cooking oil taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SybilK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Biscuits and Gravy

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was by far my best biscuits and gravy. The kids loved it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Mattson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States