Duluth, Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Zucchini Nut Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
The cake itself is great, but I wish I would've skipped the topping. It stuck to the pan, despite the pan being adequately greased, and the cake looked pretty rough when it finally came out. Next time I'll leave the candied walnuts off the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This recipe is excellent just how it is. It is also very forgiving if you want to make changes depending on what you have. I have made this recipe probably 10 times, and on more than one occasion I have run short of bananas. Substituting with other wet fruit puree works great. I have also met the last 1/2c or so of volume with chai tea mix - which was INCREDIBLE! Add the spices (nutmeg, cinnamon, etc) you like or leave it as is. It's a winner overall. The last time I made this, I used 100% whole wheat all purpose flour. I reduced the volume of flour by 1/3 c to accommodate for the denser flour and it worked out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Liz

REALLY Real Strawberry Cupcakes

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I made these for a baby shower (mama is having a girl, so pink strawberry cupcakes seemed perfect). Everyone ate them and liked them, but I wouldn't make them again. The batter was too thick to pour, as noted in other reviews, and the texture after baking was more like a muffin than a cupcake. The strawberry flavor was not strong at all in the cake, so I ended up making an intense strawberry frosting with more dried strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Oatmeal Pancakes

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Great multi-grain pancakes. Good flavor and texture. Maybe not the best recipe for you if you like fat, fluffy, doughy pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine Gizak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Sauteed Apples

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
True, butter and sugar are not necessary to make an apple saute topping. But, when my teenagers try to eat at Family Donut for a weekend breakfast, this recipe entices them to stay home and eat breakfast from scratch. I pair this recipe with Buttermilk Oatmeal Pancakes http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Buttermilk-Oatmeal-Pancakes/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine Gizak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Absolute Best Pancake Syrup

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Tried this after I ran out of maple syrup. It tastes like corn syrup. Next time, I will make caramel sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine Gizak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Banana Bread VII

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
The recipe is great. Only thing is that I don't make it in a loaf pan since it expands so much. I make it in my cast iron skillet and cut the baking time in half. I just love this recipe, it's almost cake-like. I do recommend the 1/2 white sugar 1/2 brown sugar. It just gives it a little extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by npottsk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fish Tacos

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Excellent recipe all around. Used shredded cabbage/broccoli mix instead of just cabbage and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWORLEY
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Game Day Chili

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Excellent recipe. I made an adjustment and only used the can of cream corn instead of 1/2 a can of normal corn and 1/2 a can of creamed corn. The consistency was exactly what I was looking for. Creamy and pudding like! Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

Dominican Style Oatmeal

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Can't believe I am about to leave 5 stars for a bowl of oatmeal... but prepared as stated, 5 stars! Love to add a bit of jam or raisins at the end for an added touch. Can't wait till I get my hands on some maple sugar....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORKIDECAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

Anise Seed Borrachio Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Liked these A LOT! Very light and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking in Duluth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butterfinger Chunkies

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Made these today-very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tallen20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Kale Chips

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I just didn't know what all the buzz was about Kale Chips. I bought a bunch of Kale, followed the recipe and LOVE them! I made mine in my convection oven and found about 7 min. was perfect. What a great snack! Who knew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mavis Tobin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was really delicious! Like eating candy chicken! Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tater Tot Bake

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Nacho Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was very delicious! I recommend using mayonnaise instead of miracle whip if you want less of a dressing flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Secret Pie Crust

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I've used this recipe for over 40 years with only a few minor changes. #1 I only use lard for pie crusts and Vodka for the ice water. Always flakey and perfect. The vodka cooks out with baking and leaves the best crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Matteson, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp IV

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
It will be hard to finish the pan. It is mushy and seems like a lot of butter and sugar on apples rather than apple crisp. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eleva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No-Cook Eggnog Ice Cream

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is very simple and quick to make, but I think it's extremely sweet. That's to be expected with sweetened condensed milk, I suppose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States