Cottage Grove, Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Rosenmunnar

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Great recipe, minimal ingredients, tasty. Not sure it makes 6 dozen as noted, I doubled it for Christmas and got maybe 5 dozen. Maybe I made my cookies too big. Followed the exact recipe, would add vanilla next time around. Anyway a great option for those that have an egg allergy, which was my main reason for making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAMROKSHANNON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Pumpkin Risotto

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I made this almost exactly as is and it was delicious. I added a little more cheese but I'm kinda cheese obsessed. This was a great way to use all the pumpkin I have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lansdowne, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spanish Rice Bake

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I couldn't wait to make this recipe from the second I saw it. It was really good. Next time I'll omit a little chili sauce and replace with Catsup (prefer taste). I accidentally added 1 tablespoon of brown sugar...a little too sweet that way. I also mixed in the cilantro and that tasted a little too strong. Despite all that, I enjoyed every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2as1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gramma's Old Fashioned Chili Mac

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Nice and sweet chili mac. Did anyone else notice the picture shown with this recipe has no celery but does have corn. Not quite accurate, but very delicious looking. I'm GF so I combined tomato sauce with corn starch and sugar to replace the soup. I also added corn (looks nicer and improves flavor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2as1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Fettuccine Alfredo

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Eating this right now omg love it! It was so easy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha Kramer
Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Chicken and Broccoli Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This was a great recipe!!! I added cooked penne noodles with the broccoli and chicken in a bowl and poured that as the bottom layer. Then added real bacon bits on top of the cheese (I used more cheese then suggested, because I love cheese) with the crushed corn flakes on top which added a ton of flavor. I will definitally be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHAMROKSHANNON

Chuckwagon Stew

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I liked this recipe - very easy. Because I don't like sausage I omitted that and increased the beef. I also browned the meat prior to putting it in the crockpot (per recommendations). I used Bush's Grilling Beans (they have any variety to suit your tastebuds) and the peppers in the beans gave it some good color - the moisture from the beans created plenty of sauce for the meal. I added corn because I thought it needed more starch - LOL. Since it made so much I shared with a few neighbors and they really like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAMROKSHANNON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Cinnamon Breakfast Quinoa

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
There was not enough liquid when it was time to add the apples - I added at least 1/3 cup more water and apple juice to cook the apples. I also added raisins just for fun. I agree with others that it is a little bit bland. I also think there was too much cinnamon. I would cut it in half if I try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAMROKSHANNON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This was amazing! It was my first time preparing lamb and it did not disappoint. I didn't make any changes. The lamb was so flavorful and the balsamic reduction is the best I have ever had! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lansdowne, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Sacred cows, this is fantastic! I, like others before me, have doubled, nay, tripled the mushroom count in this recipe, and also have added cream to make the sauce thicker. Other than that - just grabbed a decent California Marsala wine for about $6.00 or so, and I didn't use the cooking sherry, it turned out GREAT. Served it over a nice pile of angel hair pasta. I DEFINITELY suggest making extra sauce, as the chicken comes out nice and moist, but the noodles are, well...... noodles and they need some sauce. Very good dinner recipe and it took me about 1 hour total, from start to finish, to prepare and cook and serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omegasupreme5000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Family loved it, "Better than Taco Bell."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2as1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Poppy Seed Chicken II

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I remember my mom making this for me 30 years ago.... And this tastes just the same! Very nice! As always, though of you who know me.... I like to add some heat. So... I put about a teaspoon of Spanish paprika, about 10 clicks of fresh ground black pepper and garlic powder. In addition - 2 dashes of oregano and 2 dashes of basil. I used 2 large chicken breasts, cut them into uncooked chunks and mixed them with 1 can of cream of mushroom soup and 1 can of cream of chicken soup. Of course at least 1 cup of sour cream... Finally, instead of regular saltines, try Keebler Club Crackers!!!!!!!! Then, the 1/2 cup butter works just fine. I cook for 30 minutes, check it and usually let it ride another 10 to 15 minutes. DO NOT OVERCOOK or the crackers taste terrible.... All-in-all, this goes great with garlic mashed potatoes, rice (white or otherwise) or pasta. A truly versatile dish! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omegasupreme5000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic German Potato Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Ich bin ein Berliner!!!!! No.... I'm not a jelly doughnut..... But this german potato salad COMPLETELY RULES!!!!!!!!!!!! I made this 5 days ago, and followed the recipe to the letter. VERY good, but I have to say, I made it again tonight with these changes and I like my changes.... Mmmmmmmmmmmm I cut my potatoes into cubes, but smaller cubes, so I can cram more of them into my mouth, and... so they cook faster.... 4 slices of bacon?...... If I was on a diet! I use 6 to 8 slices depending on how much I have left in the fridge. As for putting in half and mixing and then 1/2 on top at the end, that's good for show, so if you're taking it to a group outing or cook-off, then do that for show, but if you're eating it on your own, just put 100% in the pan and mix together for best results. I also use Apple Cider Vinegar and more like 1/3 cup for this many potatoes. Apple Cider Vinegar is DEFINITELY worth it, as it adds a little kick to the 'taters. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omegasupreme5000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I used some beans that were originally fresh, and then frozen for months.... so, essentially - frozen beans... Turned out VERY nice. I added garlic salt and put pepper in the mix as well. Because I love Tabasco, I put some original Tabasco as well, SOOOOOOOO worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omegasupreme5000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetable Cheese Soup I

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
No one in my family liked this. Creamed corn was too sweet to be mixed with processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2as1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2as1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Uh.......... THIS RECIPE IS FANTASTIC!!!!!!!! I just used it for the first time last night. Made two batches - one for the kids (identical to the recipe) and one for me (added a few ingredients). For the kids, it was PERFECT, seriously, the best fried chicken I've made in a frying pan in my kitchen to date. They LOVED it! The only reason I made a batch for me is because I wanted to spice it up a little.... So I put some garlic Tabasco sauce in the egg mixture and some Cajun dry seasoning in the flour/cracker mixture, and it made for some tasty, yet spicy, fried chicken! Oh, I also fried up some bacon before, and used the remaining bacon grease along w/ oil to fry up the chicken. The chicken came out golden, crispy, juicy and literally perfect. The best thing - didn't have to use a deep fryer! Just used a pan w/ higher sides! Nice! I will admit prep-time was a little longer, because of the two batches..... but it was well worth it! If you like restaurant style chicken fingers, then use this recipe to make your chicken, just be sure to crumble the crackers the best you can, don't short yourself on that or you will get big chunks of crackers in your breading.... GREAT recipe, can't say enough good things about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omegasupreme5000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This is my "famous" holiday cookie recipe. I crush candycanes by putting them in a bag (and put another bag over it, in case the bag punctures) and wacking them with a hammer. I put about a tsp of the fine dust into the batter and then decorate by putting the candycane bits on top of the "frosting". It is a HUGE hit at the office every year. A co-worker loves them so much that he has been known to eat NINE in one 3 hour period. I am not allowed to make anything else during the December pot-luck. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcjoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Beans and Rice Mix

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I fixed this as an Ode to Dave Ramsey. Problem is...I still don't like any type of sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2as1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Chili Mac

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2as1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 62) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States