Coon Rapids, Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
With the number of reviews this recipe has received, it goes without saying that this is a great apple pie. Like so many others, I held back a bit on the water and added about a teaspoon or so of vanilla, as well as cinnamon and nutmeg. I let the filling simmer under low heat while I made my crust (Pie Crust IV on this site), and mixed the apple slices with the filling before adding to the crust. I tried a full top crust with some decorative patterns cut out, but it didn't work well - there ended up being a gap between the top and the apples. Using a lattice top crust really is the way to go. Thanks for sharing Grandma Ople's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Griffin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ranch Crispy Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I thought this was great and my kids ate it with no fuss. Taking hints from other people I added some dry mustard, celery salt, Pepper, and garlic seasoning to add a little more taste and Double the bread crumbs. Only question I have is How so you get the mix to brown up more I can never get it to brown for me in the oven I think I am doing something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barefoot Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

Raspberry Ice Cream

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Delicious, rich ice cream. I pureed two 10 ounce packages of frozen raspberries and then strained them through a mesh strainer. I then cooked the sugar with the raspberry puree and cooled the mixture before mixing it with the other ingredients. I omitted the vanilla because I feel it makes the raspberry flavor less bright. My husband had requested raspberry ice cream with chocolate swirls, so after processing the mixture in the ice cream maker, I layered the semi-soft ice cream with fudge sauce before freezing it hard in the freezer. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Did not alter recipe. Tasted great, a little too much salt for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duchessmellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fiery Fish Tacos with Crunchy Corn Salsa

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Overall the recipe is good, but the seasonings are a little too much. Very salty and too much cayenne pepper. I recommend reducing the amount of seasoning you make and sprinkling it lightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Feisthamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anne Rudberg LeRoy

Grilled Stuffed Swordfish

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This was my first time using ginger - very tasty! I substituted spinach for the stuffing and it was delicious. I made a reduction of the leftover marinade and spooned that over the fish as it cooked on the grill to keep it moist. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Rudberg LeRoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Paprika Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This recipe was perfect. I only had three porkchops but the sauce was just enough. I am adding it to my keep pile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duchessmellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Sheet Cake III

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Excellent. I made some variations on the frosting. I browned the butter, and instead of using confectioners sugar I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and brought it to a boil after mixing in the sugar. My guests couldn't get enough of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasties II

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Excellent!! Just like the ones my husband and I have each time wn visit Michigan. Flakey crust, fabulous way to use up left over roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angel Icing

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
My aunt Leona Lamusga made this when I was a little girl. My mom never made it, so it was a special treat from Aunt Lee. Thank you for bringing back a wonderful memory of an Aunt I loved very much. And, I have never made this successfully until following your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweet Pickles Mom

Grilled Lamb Chops with Curry, Apple and Raisin Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This terrific recipe can also be made on an indoor, or stovetop grill. Be sure you have an exhaust fan though as does smoke quite a bit. When I first made this recipe, the chops were grilled on an indoor, stovetop grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Pickles Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nanna's Banana Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
i didn't have any buttermilk so i substituted it for the same amount of peach yogurt. I didn't feel like digging up a loaf pan either so i put it into a 9x13 jelly roll pan and cooked it for about 20 minutes, and it came out amaaazing and super moist. definitely making this again! instead of blending the ingredients together i just mashed the bananas into a plastic bag and cut a corner to squeeze it out; saves some dishes to clean and it was still yummyyy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Old Fashioned Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I used this simple recipe with the sour cream recipe I found on here and I finally got it right. I used whole legs, next time I'll just use drumsticks. You are going to need more than a tablespoon of oil. Not a low fat recipe, but a great comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie Peter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Becker, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Cookie Frosting

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Too sweet for me but my husband loved the frosting! I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ErinS

Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
The BEST Dutch Apple Pie ever!! I got this recipe about 3 months ago and have now made it twice already by request from family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

Butter Icing for Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This recipe worked great on my gingerbread men, but it wasn't anything special. I followed the exact directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duchessmellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I liked the "origional" better. I would call this a "new recipe" which was OK. On the origional, I gave it Five Stars. I know that when I follow a recipe I "often" have the urge to "improve" it with my own little twists. I have learned over the years to follow the trusted recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Pickles Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Layered Enchilada Bake

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
My husband loved this!!!! It was very tasty and made great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Outstanding Chicken Dinner

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was great...very rich especially since I was on the phone an grabbed the whipping cream instead of the 1/2 & 1/2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was way to sweet for us however we did pan fry the leftovers for lunch the next day so it didn't go to waste. I'm sure there are plenty out there that will like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 84) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States