Coon Rapids, Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I made this for the first time and it turned out awesome. Didn't have curry, but it was super creamy!! I used a can of sliced carrots and choped them up because that it what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie Peter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Becker, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican-Style Goulash

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
My family LOVED this recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Pudding II

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
FABULOUSE RECIPE!!! This was my first time making Bread Pudding ever.... We usually enjoy my brother in laws. Had leftover hamburger and hotdog buns so it was time :) My husband told me "Mine is better than his brothers!!" I did add nutmeg also. Thank You for this "keeper" recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb-blueberry Dream Bars

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Excellent with just a few changes - cut back on the butter, sugar, and salt. Used 3/4 cup butter - very cold cut into flour and powdered sugar using a food processor. Used 2 cups white sugar - plenty. 1 tsp of salt was plenty. Also - did not have enough rhubarb so used 1/2 blueberries - very nice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb Dream Bars

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Excellent with just a few changes - cut back on the butter, sugar, and salt. Used 3/4 cup butter - very cold cut into flour and powdered sugar using a food processor. Used 2 cups white sugar - plenty. 1 tsp of salt was plenty. Also - did not have enough rhubarb so used 1/2 blueberries - very nice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lebanese Garlic Sauce

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I made this in a much smaller batch, for just two people. Used more garlic, less lemon juice, in proportion, and added some black pepper. Used a Magic Bullet and it turned out beautifully. It definitely needs to go for a few minutes, but turns out fluffy and looking almost like humus. For those who said it turned out runny - you did not process it long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamed Cabbage Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Absolutely WONDERFUL !!! My husband who isn't a big fan of cabbage couldn't get enough of this. My 14 yr old daughter kept up with her father on the bowl count.... lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Snack Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Upside down Banana Loaf Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Hollandaise Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I used only about 2 Tbsp of lemon juice based on other reviews and thought it had a nice flavor. I would hold on adding the water until you have it all together and whisked because I thought it could have been a little thicker and wished I hadn't put the water in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Cole Slaw

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was a nice change from cold cole slaw and I love balsamic vinegar however the measurements seem a bit off. I used about 3 cups of bagged slaw mix and there was clearly not enough slaw for the amount of vinegar. A full bag of slaw mix or about 1/2 the vinegar for 3 cups would have been perfect. Good taste that would have been better with the right mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Potato Pancakes

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
OMG, these are just like my Polish mother made when I was a little girl. The story is that my great uncle Louis ate 18 of them at one sitting. I believe it. These are delicious. Made them per the recipe, but didn't really measure anything. Used peanut oil to fry them - marvelous!! Ate them with cottage cheese or sour cream. These are like a cross between hashbrown potatoes and latkas. So much flavor when beautifully browned. I questioned your timing - but used a timer and found 3 minutes on each side was really good, but turned the heat up a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chipotle Tilapia Tacos with Mango-Cilantro Salsa

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This was a fantastic version of fish tacos and worth the effort. Some of the other reviews said it was too spicy or too salty, but I think it is possible too much of the rub was used. You will make more seasoning rub than needed so just lightly coat the fish and either save or toss the rest. We also used a poblano pepper instead of jalapeno because that is what we had in the house so that may have reduced the spice a little. It was spicy, but if you like a little spicy, you will enjoy. We also used only 1 can of black beans and I didn't put the rice on my tacos although my husband did and we both loved how we made them. We also used smaller corn tortillas and each had 3 tacos with about 1/2 of the fish leftover for another night. Based on another review, we used 1/2 mayo and 1/2 sour cream which was delicious. I used light versions of both to keep the calories down. The combination of all the flavors blended so well. Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweet Pickles Mom

Greek-Mediterranian Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
So good and just "hits that spot" when you are craving something out of the ordinary with a little spice, vinegar and heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Pickles Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek-Mediterranian Chicken Salad II

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
A great summer salad, one you could take to any outing. Tasty and wil please anyone, even the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Pickles Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

BANANA, WALNUT BREAD

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
The BEST. My husband ate up two loaves in two days. He said, "yah, that was good banana bread and I don't even like banana bread."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Pickles Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

INDIAN POT ROAST

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Very tasty and the potatoes are really flavorfull. Would make this anytime when I am looking for a little "spice."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Pickles Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Emma's Belgian Waffles

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
These are good waffles, but they are NOT Belgian waffles. Without the yeast, they just don't taste like the real deal. And I went and bought sefl-rising flour just to make these. With cupboard space at a premium, that was a mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Perfect! Very rich and delicious. Followed the directions exactly - you MUST beat the eggs into the mixture for the 5 minutes each in order to get the volume needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
very good and easy bread. hard to just eat one or 2 slices when it comes right out of the oven with some butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jiffins45

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 84) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States