Coon Rapids, Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I've served this many times, and it always gets rave reviews. As Patty Cakes mentions, it isn't necessary to spend the extra money on pre-shredded broccoli slaw. I just use stems and shred them in the food processor. Then I have the "trees" ready to use in my next day's meal. This easy recipe is nutty, crunchy, tasty, and healthy. It's also easy to mix things up a little by adding toasted seeds or nuts, herbs, or other flavorings (honey mustard instead of half the vinegar? yes, please).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I enjoyed this, but we had thinner filets and I think the coating overpowered the fish a little. I would use a little less of the topping to fish next time, but would definitely make it again. We used light mayo and a little less butter to make it healthier and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Spiced Coleslaw

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I made this quickly one morning because I planned on having ribs for dinner that night and had some leftover cabbage to use. I didn't have celery seed or cider vinegar so used celery salt and red wine vinegar instead and it was delicious! Very quick and simple to make and so tasty. My husband loved it with the BBQ ribs - great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Balsamic Cauliflower

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I made this with whole garlic cloves (several) based on the other reviews and marinaded for about an hour. I think another Tbsp of olive oil would have been better. Delicious and easy! My husband said this is his new favorite way to eat cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Swedish Cream

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This dessert is a staple at one of the ski lodges in the north shore of Lake Superior. This recipe tastes just how I remember it. Delicious and so easy to make. It's wonderful with tart berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waldorf Salad I

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I like this recipe but not a fan of using so much mayo. I used about 2 tablespoons of mayo and 1/2 cup of vanilla flavored yogurt for the dressing. The nutmeg really adds a good twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Rudberg LeRoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rita's Spinach Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I totally revamped this recipe following many of the other suggestions. I added onion, garlic, mushrooms, a jar of pasta sauce, black olives, basil, oregano, black pepper. I left out the sour cream, although would like to try it next time and I cut down the amount of pasta. I mixed all ingredients together except for 1 cup of cheese, which I placed on top. I baked this for 25 minutes. This was a saucy and delicious recipe that could handle almost any kind of variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Pepper Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and let marinade overnight. The chicken was juicy and had a great lemon flavor. My family and guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Read the reviews first then did the most recommeded, double ham and cheese, use milk, and layer. I also greased my crock with shortening to avoid crusties. Glad I did. Would recommend cutting the slices in half unless they are very thin to get them cooked well. Had some friends over and it was a hit! No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie Peter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Becker, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I made this for the first time and it turned out awesome. Didn't have curry, but it was super creamy!! I used a can of sliced carrots and choped them up because that it what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie Peter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Becker, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican-Style Goulash

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
My family LOVED this recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Pudding II

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
FABULOUSE RECIPE!!! This was my first time making Bread Pudding ever.... We usually enjoy my brother in laws. Had leftover hamburger and hotdog buns so it was time :) My husband told me "Mine is better than his brothers!!" I did add nutmeg also. Thank You for this "keeper" recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb-blueberry Dream Bars

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Excellent with just a few changes - cut back on the butter, sugar, and salt. Used 3/4 cup butter - very cold cut into flour and powdered sugar using a food processor. Used 2 cups white sugar - plenty. 1 tsp of salt was plenty. Also - did not have enough rhubarb so used 1/2 blueberries - very nice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb Dream Bars

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Excellent with just a few changes - cut back on the butter, sugar, and salt. Used 3/4 cup butter - very cold cut into flour and powdered sugar using a food processor. Used 2 cups white sugar - plenty. 1 tsp of salt was plenty. Also - did not have enough rhubarb so used 1/2 blueberries - very nice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lebanese Garlic Sauce

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I made this in a much smaller batch, for just two people. Used more garlic, less lemon juice, in proportion, and added some black pepper. Used a Magic Bullet and it turned out beautifully. It definitely needs to go for a few minutes, but turns out fluffy and looking almost like humus. For those who said it turned out runny - you did not process it long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamed Cabbage Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Absolutely WONDERFUL !!! My husband who isn't a big fan of cabbage couldn't get enough of this. My 14 yr old daughter kept up with her father on the bowl count.... lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Snack Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Upside down Banana Loaf Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Hollandaise Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I used only about 2 Tbsp of lemon juice based on other reviews and thought it had a nice flavor. I would hold on adding the water until you have it all together and whisked because I thought it could have been a little thicker and wished I hadn't put the water in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Coleslaw

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was a nice change from cold cole slaw and I love balsamic vinegar however the measurements seem a bit off. I used about 3 cups of bagged slaw mix and there was clearly not enough slaw for the amount of vinegar. A full bag of slaw mix or about 1/2 the vinegar for 3 cups would have been perfect. Good taste that would have been better with the right mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 84) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States