Coon Rapids, Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I really like this as a healthy side dish or great vegetarian alternative. I used about twice as much broth as the recipe called for though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Cinnamon Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I wish some authors would identify when they are making an ethnic dish so that people who read it will recognize it will not be like the pancakes they usually make. This thin batter is more of a Swedish pancake and should be very thin. We loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pancake

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Delicious, although I did change it to use dark brown sugar and reduced the amount. It gave it a wonderful caramel flavor. But, the basic recipe is very good and familiar as a Dutch or German pancake. Those who say it is too eggy have apparently never had this type of pancake before, or never ate at the old Pannekuechen restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No-Cream Pasta Primavera

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I followed the recipe with just an assortment of vegetables I knew my friends would like and it was perfect. I wanted a side dish for my husband's beer-can chicken and smoked ribs that would be filling, but not overpowering since his meat was the star of our party. This was a perfect side giving both fresh vegetables and pasta in one dish. You could easily add some chicken (or tofu if you want to keep it vegetarian) and have a one-pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Spaghetti Squash Stir Fry

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I made this tonight and it was absolutely fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly except I did not have tomato sauce on hand. I used a 6 oz can of tomato paste to with 1 cup water and Italian seasonings and used all of it. I had a couple of moments of confusion - the "1 cube of chicken bullion" should read 1 cup of chicken broth as you need the liquid and could use actual broth or cube or granules to make broth. The other was that you really want to start the turkey mixture before the squash is ready or your squash will get cool. Excellent taste and very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mediterranean Zucchini and Chickpea Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
My husband made this last night with only a couple of substitutions - I don't care for chickpeas so he used great northern beans instead, roma tomatoes from our garden instead of grape tomatoes, and we didn't have white balsamic vinegar so he used a little regular balsamic and white vinegar combined. Delicious!!! We ate as a side dish with grilled chicken and it was a perfect meal. I brought some for lunch today and cannot wait to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Lentil, Kale, and Red Onion Pasta

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I made this with a few adjustments: cut the pasta in half (I think you could leave it out completely), substituted ground pork for the vegan sausage and chicken broth for the vegetable broth, added tomatoes and mushrooms, and use dried instead of fresh herbs. Use extra liquid as the lentils will continue to soak it up. Delicious and heated up well for leftovers - my husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

'Unstuffed' Cabbage with a Kick

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I really liked the flavors in this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and made brown rice on the side which cuts the spice down quite a bit. It was not too spicy once you added the rice and in fact, I might make it a little spicier next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I used a pre cooked garlic/mozzarella chicken sausage, red pepper, onion, and a jalepeno. We sauted the peppers and onion. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Ester Swonger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hummus Pizza

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
We used a whole wheat crust from Target, hummus, feta cheese, mushrooms, onions, peppers, grape tomatoes, spinach and broccoli, topped with mozzarella. I precooked the mushrooms until browned in olive oil, with a bit of garlic salt. Then cooked the onions and spinach, too. This was just wonderful! I rarely make the same thing twice, but my husband wants me to make this again. The hummus was a nice change. But, only if you love hummus and would eat it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Pork Chop Marinade

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
We just made these tonight and it was the best pork chop I have ever had! I followed the recipe except I didn't have any mesquite seasoning, so used a regular grill seasoning blend instead. I had four smaller cut chops so did not butterfly. We grilled them after marinading about 4-5 hours and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey-Lentil Chili

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Unbelievably good. We used our leftover turkey meat from Thanksgiving and followed the rest of the recipe exactly. My husband and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatball Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This recipe was a great starting point: I found I added some of my own stuff to make it to my liking! But thank you for a great start! I found that I liked using 1 can of diced tomatoes in addition to the tom sauce, and I added a can of tomato soup. I used about 6 C of water and a lot more beef bouillon. My favorite part about this soup was that it was almost like a minestrone, plus the meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sebeka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Suzanne's Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I was asked to make a vegetarian quiche for a brunch and found this recipe. I made a couple quick alterations because of ingredients I had handy using 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup heavy cream in place of the yogurt. I used a small diced onion instead of the green onion and mushrooms. I wrapped the edges of the crust in tinfoil to prevent burning. It baked perfectly and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deltrece Craven-Roth

Applesauce Oatie Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Theses are awesome cookies! I have tried them with milk chocolate and white chocolate and we have decided that they taste better with white chocolate. Instead if white sugar I used Xylitol which is good for teeth health.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deltrece Craven-Roth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I didn't have pepper jack so I used baby brick and added about two tablespoons of chopped jalapeno peppers which was just the right bang. Also, On the lenghwise I halved my three chicken brests to make six thin and so easy to pound down a little more. My husband would call this "fancy food" and usually hates it, but this he loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Pickles Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Very good! It makes a little too much crumb topping though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Feisthamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Rice II

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I didn't care for this recipe. I followed the recipe as instructed and it took quite a bit longer than stated and it turned out bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Feisthamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Artichokes

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Artichokes seem like a lot of work for such a little bit of food. All considered, I loved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Pickles Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guacamole

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I didn't have any tomatoes or cilantro, but it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Feisthamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 84) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States