Coon Rapids, Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

'Unstuffed' Cabbage with a Kick

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I really liked the flavors in this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and made brown rice on the side which cuts the spice down quite a bit. It was not too spicy once you added the rice and in fact, I might make it a little spicier next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hummus Pizza

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
We used a whole wheat crust from Target, hummus, feta cheese, mushrooms, onions, peppers, grape tomatoes, spinach and broccoli, topped with mozzarella. I precooked the mushrooms until browned in olive oil, with a bit of garlic salt. Then cooked the onions and spinach, too. This was just wonderful! I rarely make the same thing twice, but my husband wants me to make this again. The hummus was a nice change. But, only if you love hummus and would eat it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Pork Chop Marinade

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
We just made these tonight and it was the best pork chop I have ever had! I followed the recipe except I didn't have any mesquite seasoning, so used a regular grill seasoning blend instead. I had four smaller cut chops so did not butterfly. We grilled them after marinading about 4-5 hours and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey-Lentil Chili

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Unbelievably good. We used our leftover turkey meat from Thanksgiving and followed the rest of the recipe exactly. My husband and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatball Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This recipe was a great starting point: I found I added some of my own stuff to make it to my liking! But thank you for a great start! I found that I liked using 1 can of diced tomatoes in addition to the tom sauce, and I added a can of tomato soup. I used about 6 C of water and a lot more beef bouillon. My favorite part about this soup was that it was almost like a minestrone, plus the meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sebeka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Suzanne's Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I was asked to make a vegetarian quiche for a brunch and found this recipe. I made a couple quick alterations because of ingredients I had handy using 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup heavy cream in place of the yogurt. I used a small diced onion instead of the green onion and mushrooms. I wrapped the edges of the crust in tinfoil to prevent burning. It baked perfectly and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emonga

Applesauce Oatie Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Theses are awesome cookies! I have tried them with milk chocolate and white chocolate and we have decided that they taste better with white chocolate. Instead if white sugar I used Xylitol which is good for teeth health.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emonga

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I didn't have pepper jack so I used baby brick and added about two tablespoons of chopped jalapeno peppers which was just the right bang. Also, On the lenghwise I halved my three chicken brests to make six thin and so easy to pound down a little more. My husband would call this "fancy food" and usually hates it, but this he loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Pickles Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Very good! It makes a little too much crumb topping though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Feisthamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Rice II

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I didn't care for this recipe. I followed the recipe as instructed and it took quite a bit longer than stated and it turned out bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Feisthamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Artichokes

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Artichokes seem like a lot of work for such a little bit of food. All considered, I loved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Pickles Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guacamole

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I didn't have any tomatoes or cilantro, but it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Feisthamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I've served this many times, and it always gets rave reviews. As Patty Cakes mentions, it isn't necessary to spend the extra money on pre-shredded broccoli slaw. I just use stems and shred them in the food processor. Then I have the "trees" ready to use in my next day's meal. This easy recipe is nutty, crunchy, tasty, and healthy. It's also easy to mix things up a little by adding toasted seeds or nuts, herbs, or other flavorings (honey mustard instead of half the vinegar? yes, please).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I enjoyed this, but we had thinner filets and I think the coating overpowered the fish a little. I would use a little less of the topping to fish next time, but would definitely make it again. We used light mayo and a little less butter to make it healthier and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Spiced Coleslaw

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I made this quickly one morning because I planned on having ribs for dinner that night and had some leftover cabbage to use. I didn't have celery seed or cider vinegar so used celery salt and red wine vinegar instead and it was delicious! Very quick and simple to make and so tasty. My husband loved it with the BBQ ribs - great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Balsamic Cauliflower

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I made this with whole garlic cloves (several) based on the other reviews and marinaded for about an hour. I think another Tbsp of olive oil would have been better. Delicious and easy! My husband said this is his new favorite way to eat cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Swedish Cream

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This dessert is a staple at one of the ski lodges in the north shore of Lake Superior. This recipe tastes just how I remember it. Delicious and so easy to make. It's wonderful with tart berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rita's Spinach Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I totally revamped this recipe following many of the other suggestions. I added onion, garlic, mushrooms, a jar of pasta sauce, black olives, basil, oregano, black pepper. I left out the sour cream, although would like to try it next time and I cut down the amount of pasta. I mixed all ingredients together except for 1 cup of cheese, which I placed on top. I baked this for 25 minutes. This was a saucy and delicious recipe that could handle almost any kind of variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Pepper Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and let marinade overnight. The chicken was juicy and had a great lemon flavor. My family and guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Read the reviews first then did the most recommeded, double ham and cheese, use milk, and layer. I also greased my crock with shortening to avoid crusties. Glad I did. Would recommend cutting the slices in half unless they are very thin to get them cooked well. Had some friends over and it was a hit! No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie Peter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Becker, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 84) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States