Burnsville, Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Broccoli Beef

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Super easy and delicious! I wish the sauce was thicker though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelli1111
Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mona's Easy Refrigerator Pickles

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Love these! I always want a batch of these in the fridge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelli1111
Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shelli1111

Kale Salad with Sprouts and Seeds

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Very good! I used sweet onions instead of red onions. I added more kale to it 6 hours later to crisp it up again for dinner and it was even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelli1111
Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Soup Base

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This was so quick and easy! I cut the recipe in half, added garlic powder, dill, pepper and broth from cooked chicken in the crock pot. It turned out great. Really tasty! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I was trying to find something new for low-calorie lunches for work and this fit the bill perfectly! After reading the reviews of how salty the recipe can get with a packet of taco seasoning (and trying to keep to a low sodium diet), I omitted the packet and used McCormicks Salt-Free Southwest Seasoning. I halved the recipe and only used about 2 Tbls. of salsa (since that is loaded with sodium), and threw in a whole can of low sodium petite diced tomatoes. I also had some red onion and added about 1/4 cup of those. Those were the only changes I made and it was so delicious. Served on a whole wheat tortilla with light sour cream and low-fat cheddar cheese made for yummy lunches that were the talk of the office!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Bolognese with Homemade Noodles

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
add a pork chop for extra flavor and 1 TBSP beef boullion to kick up a notch!!! This sauce ws delicios and easy to make and only improves with time and cook for several hours, adding water as needed. Its fabulously authentic Italian Bol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nessiegrrl78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

Simple Spiced Rice

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
in my humble opinion, you can omit the onion and add a TBSP whole cloves and about 6-8 pods of whole green cardamom, this makes a delightful Indian style spiced basmati rice. Make a "bouquet garni", or a little bulb of spices wrapped in a piece of cheesecloth, for easy removal. Perfect with rich indian dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nessiegrrl78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I have been searching for a recipe like this for years after falling in love with the dressing at a favorite Greek restaurant back East. I made it as written the first time and it was really good, but then made some slight changes to make it my own. First off, what home cook makes 4 quarts of dressing at a time?! I scaled it down to 10 servings and got enough dressing for 4 large entree salads. For the vinegar, I used a combination of white wine and white balsamic vinegars, plus some fresh lemon juice to make it almost equal parts oil and vinegar. The last addition was some fresh, smashed garlic. I put it all in a medium sized canning jar and shook it up, then left it in the refrigerator overnight and shook it like crazy again the next day! I also use this dressing to marinate tomatoes for "Mama's Best Broiled Tomato Sandwich", found on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Broccoli Rice Casserole II

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This is a really great recipe that you can easily customize to suit your own taste. Although, I do agree with some of the other reviewers when they say that it is a little bland as is, and really REALLY creamy! I ended up using half Velveeta and half sharp cheddar for that extra tangy-ness, about 1 tsp. salt, and using almost double the amount of rice. Since it was just adults eating this, I added a lot of fresh ground pepper. Next time I may try adding some salsa or some diced tomatoes. It makes a lot, but you will be surprised how quickly it is gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Parmesan Garlic Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I was so pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I thought it was going to be your standard "herbed butter", but it was so much better! The addition of parmesan cheese (I used freshly grated) really punches up the flavor. I did tweak it slightly, based on what I had on hand. I didn't have any rosemary or garlic salt, so I substituted oregano and just used a total of 1 1/2 Tbls. garlic powder. Oh, and I didn't melt the butter, I just softened it and mixed everything in with a fork. This is now my new "go to" toasted garlic bread recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Chocolate Butter-Creme Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is a really quick and easy frosting. Don't panic if the powdered sugar/butter mixture doesn't get light and fluffy right away. It takes a couple of minutes to come together. It is not a super chocolaty frosting, it has a lighter flavor which goes well with dark chocolate cake or cupcakes. If you want a stronger chocolate taste, you could add more or darker chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
OMG...these are so good. I have made them twice now and both times they came out great (and i am not a baker!) If i could give it more then 5 stars, I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Broccoli Chicken Divan

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is such a great recipe, in the respect that it is so easy to customize. Make it first, as written and then play with it going forward. Whether you use cream of broccoli or cream of chicken soup, whether you use fresh or frozen broccoli, milk instead of sour cream...it is still really good. The most important thing to do with this is to season all of your layers with what ever spices your family likes. It is a little bland as written, but I think that is on purpose, because you can use your spice rack accordingly. I seasoned with lemon pepper, seasoned salt (from Penzey's), and a little cajun spice. Also, I used a really good sharp cheddar and ritz crackers instead of bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Standard Henning Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is, by far, the best recipe for chili that I have found. You should definately take the time to let it simmer the full 1 1/2 hours, if not 2 hours, as it will thicken up. I only use 1/2 of the tomoato juice and no kidney beans (I use chili beans that I add the last 20 minutes of cooking time), and it turns out perfectly every time. This is the only recipe for chili that you will need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Goulash Supreme

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This recipe is exactly as my mother made it! Rich delicious and perfect fora cold weather meal! Real stick to your ribs food! All the ingredients are perfect, however I always like it with a can of kernel-style corn thrown in. Also, you may consider cutting the tomato paste by half and always cook the pasta seperateely and you can eat it right away, as soon as the noodles are incorporated into the meat sauce! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nessiegrrl78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

Tom and Jerry Mix

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Instead of milk and rum, my family always does a half oz of rum and an ounce of brandy. I know, Strong Drinks, right, but so delicious! I have honestly been looking for a recipe that didn't use flour in it, as the flour taste comes thru so much that it ruins the experience. Thank Goodness for a recipe that I can follow to a "T" and it comes out perfect, EVERY time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nessiegrrl78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by C R Henning

Broccoli Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This is a really great recipe that you can easily customize to suit your own taste. Although, I do agree with some of the other reviewers when they say that it is a little bland as is, and really REALLY creamy! I ended up using half Velveeta and half sharp cheddar for that extra tangy-ness, about 1 tsp. salt, and using almost double the amount of rice. Since it was just adults eating this, I added a lot of fresh ground pepper. Next time I may try adding some salsa or some diced tomatoes. It makes a lot, but you will be surprised how quickly it is gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Broccoli Chicken Divan

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This is such a great recipe, in the respect that it is so easy to customize. Make it first, as written and then play with it going forward. Whether you use cream of broccoli or cream of chicken soup, whether you use fresh or frozen broccoli, milk instead of sour cream...it is still really good. The most important thing to do with this is to season all of your layers with what ever spices your family likes. It is a little bland as written, but I think that is on purpose, because you can use your spice rack accordingly. I seasoned with lemon pepper, seasoned salt (from Penzey's), and a little cajun spice. Also, I used a really good sharp cheddar and ritz crackers instead of bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Quick Chicken Piccata

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I LOVED this recipe! I have tried 2 other recipes for Chicken Piccata in the last month that were much more difficult and took over an hour to prepare, so I was looking for something simpler. This recipe had fewer steps and took 20 minutes to throw together. I usually pound out my chicken when I get it home from the grocery store and Food Save it, so I had chicken ready to go. The only changes I made were to season the dredging flour (salt, pepper & dried lemon peel) and using half white wine and half chicken broth (for my picky husband who doesn't like the taste of wine in his food!) Absolutely delicious! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Jamaican Burgers

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Beautiful! These burgers were absolutely delicious and even the leftovers were tasty the next day! I served mine in basically the same way as Hannah, however I used a lovely whole wheat bun and some Swiss Lorraine cheese. I also used my own recipe of pineapple and onion relish, puree half a white onion and a can of pineapple chunks in a blender. then I top it all off with a little mayo and shriracha mixed together for a spicy kick! Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nessiegrrl78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States