Bloomington, Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Broiled Parmesan-Lemon Tilapia

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Too salty by far! The overall flavor also completely overwhelmed the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nikki's Best Rhubarb Dessert Ever

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
VERY GOOD added 1 tsp real vanilla and 1/4 tsp freshly grated nutmeg it says 4 cups which is perfect for this NOT 4 pounds as gogogadget stated as "to much" 4# would be way to much .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Szechuan Beef

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Followed the recipe and ended up with a terribly bland meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beezy Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cola Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Good and EASY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sahall46

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This recipe is excellent if you like a spicy and slightly soft cookie. We doubled all spices except the cloves and added 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. Cut outs are very difficult. What we do is roll out on parchment paper and then cut out the shapes but place them in the fridge. Then with the cutout metal still in place we remove the surrounding dough so they keep their shape. We bake them on the same parchment paper. We get rave reviews on these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggnog Cheesecake III

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Prepared as written with substituting rum extract 2 tsp for rum needed more flavor even with fresh nutmeg grated on top it needed vanilla and nutmeg / cardamon. Texture was the problem ----did it in processor and it was like a soft pudding not the mouth feel of cheese cake nor softness of silk pie --1-2 minutes in processor or just use a whip on a mixer ---needs texture---- As for comments on being to flat --check pan size I have 4 sizes of spring molds most used is my 12" not the 9" as called for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cucumber Melon Salsa

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Absolutely amazing! I could eat it all day. So refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NinaMN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I made these cookies for my daughter's wedding dessert bar and everyone loved them! I have made them several times since then and they always turn out well. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy No-Bake Milk Chocolate SMore Bars

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Just not good. Too many marshmallows. They overpowered the whole thing. I'm sure a variation of this could be tasty. But as written, I won't use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by codeseven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

World's Greatest Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I thought this was terrible. Not sure how the feedback that I read was positive, but these did not turn out. It seems there was not enought flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sahall46

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Very delicious! A hit at work! I followed the recipe completely except for the ginger. I replaced the ground and crystallized ginger with about 2 tsp of chopped ginger (in the jar). Next time, I'll use a full tbsp of chopped ginger. I made maple cream cheese frosting - very rich but that way you need very little. The cupcake batter will be thicker than most recipes, but don't worry, they'll turn out just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by codeseven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

Terri's Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
LOVED this recipe. It was easy, quick and had an amazing taste. It is the perfect combination of sweet (BBQ sauce & sugar) and sour (mustard & vinegar). We will be keeping this one close on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These are delicious and very easy to make. This recipe makes a HUGE batch. Very fun - easy.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corrales, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Pecan Shortbread Squares

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These were easy to make and really delicious. My suggestion is to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corrales, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This salad was definitely good, very flavorful and makes raw broccoli taste great. But, given the reviews I expected a little more. I made very minor changes, mostly with quantities and not ingredients, which is why I think my review is still warranted. I used a 2lb bag of broccoli florets (trimmed the stems even more). I doubled the dressing since I had a lot of broccoli (2 cups mayo, 3 tbsp white wine vinegar, 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar, 3 tbsp sugar, 1 tbsp Splenda-equal to 10 packets), then a 4 oz bag of precooked turkey bacon, roasted slivered almonds (about 20 min in 300 degree oven), and NO raisins but I added salt. I also didn't add the bacon and almonds until it was time to eat. Again, very good recipe, but for someone who loves sugar I found it too sweet. There was enough sweetness in the dressing so I'll probably use one less tbsp of sugar next time (so 3 tbsp instead of 4 for the quantity I made.) It's not needed to let the broccoli sit in the dressing for the flavors to meld, but it helps soften the broccoli. The salt I added balanced the sweetness a little, and it just needed salt. Regardless of my critique, I still recommend this recipe and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by codeseven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

Classic Goulash

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Made exactly as written (except I didn't have any bay leaves) and this was yummy! Just like I ate growing up in Minnesota. I topped with a bit of shredded cheddar cheese and that was excellent also! Only made 1/2 of the recipe and still had leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Hash Browns

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Rinsing out the starch and squeezing the moisture out with a ricer worked great. Didn't even need to pat dry. Always wondered why my fresh hash browns got so mushy. Used canola oil and seasoned salt with great results. Thanks for your tips!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edina, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Great flavor but too many noodles. The very simple dressing was a great, balanced flavor, but there were way too many Ramen noodles and almonds; it overpowered the cabbage especially when eaten later after sitting in the fridge for a bit. 1 package of Ramen noodles and 1/2 cup of almonds is enough. I'd use the dressing on other salads; it was great tasting and refreshing. The only thing I changed was I added sliced cherry tomatoes to the salad. Make sure to wait to add the sesame seeds to the pan. Since they're small they fall to the bottom of the pan and can burn before the noodles get browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by codeseven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and I got 3 loaves of amazingness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beezy Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rubber Soul

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Fantastic! The flavors go together perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States