Blaine, Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Kristen's Bacon Ranch Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Great recipe! I left out the shredded cheese because I didn't get low fat sour cream and I wanted to cut out some fat. Added the crumbled bacon when it was served so it would add some crunch. I haven't had much success with potato salad in the past, and even though I over cooked the taters this was delicious! I did a half batch and there was a little too much of the Ranch mixture. But I loved this recipe and will be making it over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Schoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Photo by RobynB

Spinach Artichoke Quiche

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This was yummy and pretty - perfect for a Sunday brunch with friends or family. One change that's needed is to increase the amount of milk/cream in the recipe (I recommend 1 cup). It was a bit too "eggy" and not quite the creamy quiche texture I prefer. The overall taste was a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Bay, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I have never made chicken parmesan before. I made this tonight for dinner and it was wonderful. Chicken was so tender. I changed a few things because I had it on hand but it was basically different cheeses. I cooked some spaghetti noodles and warmed some spaghetti sauce on the side. When serving we did noodles, sauce, & then the chicken. Along with a Caesar salad & breadsticks. It was to die for. My husband & I really enjoyed these. I have put the recipe into my recipe box and will be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I didn't really have a lot of time, so I turned the slow cooker on high and at about 1.5 hours shredded the chicken and turned it to low. I also added a cup of water. I forgot the butter, but it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kielbasa Made Easy

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
There really is no way to damage this recipe. Tasted great, I used turkey kielbasa and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough + Cupcake = The BEST Cupcake. Ever.

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Great recipe, got rave reviews at work! Ensure the cookie dough is frozen and don't over bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Fettuccine Alfredo

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This recipe was definitely one of the best! The sauce was absolutely incredible! But I tweaked my sauce recipe a little buy adding only 1/2 cup of the butter, and you could taste the butter just fine, so if you add the entire 1 cup of it Im sure it'll turn out way to buttery. And for the parmesan cheese, make sure to add all of it, because I didn't, thinking that it'll be too salty, and once I added it to the fettuccine it wasn't salty enough. But the sauce itself was perfect! And also don't add the sauce to the pasta, just add it on your own when you eat it, that way the pasta wont turn crumbly, and I think it'll taste a lot better too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Kretsu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

Sweet and Sour Drumettes

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
The sauce itself was very good and easy to make! But the inside of the chicken turned out kind of dry :/ So you have to fry it pretty much all the way through (and to make the coating better you need to dip the chicken into the flour first, then in the egg batter, and in the flour again. That way there will actually be some coating on the chicken.) and then when you roast it, it'll finish faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Kretsu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

Slow Cooker Stuffing

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Thought this was good. Did as others suggested and added liquid as needed and not all at once. Did not need to cook as long as indicated - 2 hours max.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgadison
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

Roasted Pork Shoulder with Pomegranate Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgadison
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

Harvest Rice Dish

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Wonderful flavor. Served this along side the Roasted Port Shoulder with Pomegranate Sauce from this website and they worked very well together. Will probably reduce the amount of cranberries next time though. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgadison
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Amazingly delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandysGlassesRock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I knew that when I saw flour in the ingredient list this was more of a bechemel sauce than a cream sauce. A little tackier texture than what I was after. Good flavor though, but wasn't what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie 'Wilken' Epp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Burrito Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
So I made one modification and instead of salsa used enchilada sauce. I also added onion to the soy crumble mixture. It tasted good. Next time though, I think I will eliminate the tomatoes and add enchilada sauce and onions to the soy crumble, i think that should perfect it for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Turned out great, no modifications made. I used a frosting recipe found with the red velvet cake by Eleanor johnson, worked really well. Especially with adults who don't like extremely sweet icing and cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brisket with BBQ Sauce for 30

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Great flavor. We cook brisket in the smoker during the summer and this was just as good. Added water to the bottom of the pan to keep the meat from drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgadison
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

Chocolate Butter-Creme Frosting

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Don't change a thing! Excellent recipe! I had no problem with doubling the recipe. I did however use unsalted butter don't know if that was intended or not but it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wagon Wheel Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Followed recipe exactly turned out really nice. A little bitter for my taste, but people at work seemed to really like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Velvet Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
If you follow directions there is no reason this cake won't turn out. I would however watch the video to ensure you have the steps down. Also, there are few other steps I followed reading another reviewer, Kristin's comments:check the cake after 20 mins and then check it every 3 or 5 minutes until its done; don't wait too long to bake after adding in the vinegar & baking soda mixture. The icing is to die for!! I haven't tasted such amazing icing in a long time. I will use this on all my other cakes. My co-workers told me, if i got to tired of making a cake, just bring in a trough of this icing! I also accidently used baking powder instead of baking soda, it turned out fine. I will try making it again with baking soda and see what the difference is Everyone at the office loved this! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Crepes

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Amazing, followed recipe no modification necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States